Anna Woodbine

Anna Woodbine - Designer

Bath, United Kingdom

Award winning jacket designer & illustrator specialising in typographic, illustrated & fiction covers.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

I'm Anna, typography-loving book jacket designer and illustrator. I formerly worked as a designer in-house at Hodder & Stoughton but recently fledged the London nest to get a desk with a view in Wiltshire. I have 9 years design experience, the odd design award and a whole bookshelf of books to my name. I've designed for bestsellers, cook books, non fiction, literary fiction, women's fiction, bibles, diet books - you name it. I'm always happy to discuss a project, just drop me a line.
Languages
English
Fiction
Anthologies
Classics
Literary Fiction
Women's Fiction
Young Adult
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs
Nature
Parenting & Families

Awards

  • Shortlisted for the ABCD cover design award for Best Crime/Thriller for HEX (Art Direction)
  • Winner at The MacLehose Press Design Competition 2013

Work experience

Director/Designer

Self-employed
April, 2017 – Present (over 2 years)

I'm an experienced freelance designer offering book jacket design and illustration services. I have 10 years design experience and have designed hundreds of book jackets for leading authors including David Mitchell, Chris Cleave, Jodi Picoult, Melvyn Bragg, Thomas Kennealy Sophie Hannah and Jonathan Sacks

Senior Designer

Hodder & Stoughton
June, 2013 – April, 2017 (almost 4 years)

Jacket Designer at Hodder and Stoughton working across all imprints and genres.

Portfolio (8 selected works)

My Past Is a Foreign Country: A Muslim feminist finds herself

Zeba Talkhani

'A brave new voice that reaches out to us all' Miranda Doyle, author of A Book of Untruths 27-year-old Zeba Talkhani charts her experiences growing up in Saudi Arabia amid patriarchal customs reminiscent of The Handmaid's Tale, and her journey to find freedom abroad in India, Germany and the UK as a young woman.Talkhani offers a fresh perspective on living as an outsider and examines her relat... read more

'A brave new voice that reaches out to us all' Miranda Doyle, author of A Book of Untruths 27-year-old Zeba Talkhani charts her experiences growing up in Saudi Arabia amid patriarchal customs reminiscent of The Handmaid's Tale, and her journey to find freedom abroad in India, Germany and the UK as a young woman.Talkhani offers a fresh perspective on living as an outsider and examines her relat... read more

Jakob's Colours

Lindsay Hawdon

Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief. Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other... read more

Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief. Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other... read more

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra: Baby Ganesh Agency Book 1

Vaseem Khan

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve...But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai - from its richest mansions ... read more

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve...But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai - from its richest mansions ... read more

Toast & Marmalade

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Thomas McGee

I'm a book cover designer who specializes in market-centric, well-researched, book jackets and covers.

Bonney Lake, WA, United States

Berenice Smith

Award-winning cover & interior page designer, project manager, 20 years experience in print & ebook

Cambridge, United Kingdom

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy