Close this message

Anna Woodbine

Anna Woodbine - Designer

Bath, United Kingdom

Award winning jacket designer & illustrator specialising in typographic, illustrated & fiction covers.

Overview

I'm Anna, typography-loving a book jacket designer and illustrator. I formerly worked as a designer in-house at Hodder & Stoughton but recently fledged the London nest to get a desk with a view in Wiltshire. I have 9 years design experience, the odd design award and a whole bookshelf of books to my name. I've designed for bestsellers, cook books, non fiction, literary fiction, women's fiction, bibles, diet books - you name it. I'm always happy to discuss a project, just drop me a line.

Services
Languages
English
Fiction
Anthologies Classics Literature Thriller Women's Fiction Young Adult & Teen
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Nature Parenting & Families Self-help & Self-improvement

Awards

  • Shortlisted for the ABCD cover design award for Best Crime/Thriller for HEX (Art Direction)
  • Winner at The MacLehose Press Design Competition 2013

Work experience

Designer

Self-employed
April, 2017 – Present (9 months)

I'm a freelance designer offering book jacket design and illustration services. I have 9 years design experience and have designed hundreds of book jackets for leading authors including David Mitchell, Chris Cleave, Jodi Picoult, Melvyn Bragg, Thomas Kennealy Sophie Hannah and Jonathan Sacks

Designer

Hodder & Stoughton
June, 2013 – April, 2017 (almost 4 years)

Jacket Designer at Hodder & Stoughton working across all imprints and genres.

Portfolio (7 selected works)

Jakob's Colours

Lindsay Hawdon

Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief. Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other... read more

Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief. Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other... read more

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra: Baby Ganesh Agency Book 1

Vaseem Khan

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve...But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai - from its richest mansions ... read more

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve...But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai - from its richest mansions ... read more

A Game for All the Family

Sophie Hannah

'One of the great unmissables of this genre - intelligent, classy and with a wonderfully Gothic imagination' - The Times He's not your son. It's not up to you to save him. But you have to try. After escaping London and a career that nearly destroyed her, Justine plans to spend her days doing as little as possible in her beautiful home in Devon. But soon after the move, her daughter Ellen start... read more

'One of the great unmissables of this genre - intelligent, classy and with a wonderfully Gothic imagination' - The Times He's not your son. It's not up to you to save him. But you have to try. After escaping London and a career that nearly destroyed her, Justine plans to spend her days doing as little as possible in her beautiful home in Devon. But soon after the move, her daughter Ellen start... read more

Toast & Marmalade

Fell

Jenn Ashworth

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 700+ profiles.

197caf69e4c035b0479ce8fed4299677ad96c137

Andy Catling

UK based international illustrator of children's books.

Brighton, United Kingdom

Bd3c884239419c9c3f9ba46667e24e09f95fb630

Dominik Nawrocki

Full book cover design and artwork for children's books. Marketing materials design and character design.

Warsaw, Poland

To view 700+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 700+ more profiles, Join Reedsy