Close this message

Kelley Townley

Kelley Townley - Ghostwriter

Bath, United Kingdom

Content editor & ghostwriter: children's fiction (picture books to YA) & mass market adult esp. sci-fi / fantasy / historical.

Overview

Hello. I'm a published British content editor and fiction writer with nearly twenty years of experience in the UK book market. I have a wide knowledge from all fields of publishing, have featured at conferences, given talks and seminars, and hold an MA in Creative Writing from Bath Spa University.

As an experienced CONTENT EDITOR I act as a mentor to authors, helping them develop their art.
I critique fiction offering structural / developmental / content editing whereby we look at the story not the text e.g. plot structure, characterisation, tension, suitability for target audience, etc. This is different from what a proofreader / copy-editor offers.

I WRITE original fiction as a GHOST WRITER, or under my own name, specializing in children's literature (from picture books to YA) but also adult mass market, esp. fantasy / sci-fi / historical. I can appropriately target text to a variety of ages and genres and I have been commissioned to writer over 25 books ranging from rhyming picture books to adult fiction novels.

There is a knack to knowing how to reach different-aged children with the right tone and language. I have a developed a niche in adapting classics for modern children to digest. At Clue Norge I worked on a series of classics for mid-grade children such as Dickens, Austen, Conan Doyle, Shakespeare, etc. and for Harpendore I wrote a 13 book series on the Arabian Nights tales. I often get asked to produce rhyming picture books and have turned podcasts and musicals into novelisations.

Currently working freelance for a number of publishing houses (Acorn Independent Press & House of Editors), I am also available to hire independently.

I am also nice and friendly to work with :-)

Services
Languages
English (AUS) English (CAN) English (NZ) English (SA) English (UK) English (US)
Fiction
Adventure Children's - Middle Grade Children's Picture Books Classics Fantasy Historical Fiction Science Fiction Young Adult & Teen
Non-Fiction
Children's Books (Non-Fiction)

Certifications

  • MA Creative Writing

Work experience

Content Editor

Acorn Independent Press Ltd
May, 2016 – Present (over 1 year)

Here I am employed to mentor authors from initial reader's reports to full on in-depth developmental edits on both children's and adult titles.

Freelance content editor & ghostwriter

Self-employed
April, 2013 – Present (over 4 years)

I continue to build an excellent reputation with many repeat customers. I have done a variety of work mentoring authors as a content editor and also as a ghostwriter producing fiction books for publishers and independent authors.

Committee member & FOH management

Bath Festival of Children's Literature
April, 2007 – October, 2014 (over 7 years)

I was on the original committee that helped set up this celebrated national literature festival and still continue to help out in a variety of ways, from assisting authors in the green room to selling books at signings.

Children's book reviewer

Writeaway
January, 2005 – December, 2012 (almost 8 years)

I was an experienced children's book reviewer helping people navigate what books to buy.

Senior Bookseller

Waterstone's Booksellers Ltd
March, 2003 – Present (almost 15 years)

Being on the front-line of the book buying process is one of the best ways to understand the publishing market. I have up-to-date information constantly at my fingertips and get a real feel for what readers want - and WILL want in the future...

Portfolio (11 selected works)

Guy Erma and the Son of Empire

Sally Ann Melia

Here is S A Melia's genuine masterpiece of modern science fiction, bringing together the best the genre has to offer: savage blade-wielding space militias, vile cyborgs controlled by unknown enemies, secret telepaths and enigmatic shapeshifters with opaque motivations, planet-killing viruses, and ferocious interplanetary piracy. Fast action adventure from page one, transports you to a universe... read more

Here is S A Melia's genuine masterpiece of modern science fiction, bringing together the best the genre has to offer: savage blade-wielding space militias, vile cyborgs controlled by unknown enemies, secret telepaths and enigmatic shapeshifters with opaque motivations, planet-killing viruses, and ferocious interplanetary piracy. Fast action adventure from page one, transports you to a universe... read more

Attrition of the Gods: Book 1 of the Mystery Thriller series Gods Toys.

P.G. Burns

For fans of A G Riddle and Neil GaimanA brilliantly imagined dystopian tale and a breathtaking action thriller rolled into one.Attrition of the Gods is the hunger games for over eighteens.What the reviewers are saying? "Incredibly Imaginative" - Kirkus indie reviews Simple the best book I have ever read - Twitch.tv/Bigdaddy “A #1 thriller that will leave you questioning everything you thought ... read more

For fans of A G Riddle and Neil GaimanA brilliantly imagined dystopian tale and a breathtaking action thriller rolled into one.Attrition of the Gods is the hunger games for over eighteens.What the reviewers are saying? "Incredibly Imaginative" - Kirkus indie reviews Simple the best book I have ever read - Twitch.tv/Bigdaddy “A #1 thriller that will leave you questioning everything you thought ... read more

Between Two Seas

Marie-Louise Jensen

'Travel to Skagen and find him. Give him my letter. Seek a better life, Marianne! Promise!' Bound by a vow made to her dying mother, Marianne sells her few belongings and leaves Grimsby. Her destination? Denmark, where she will search for her father, Lars Christensen-the golden-haired fisherman her mother fell in love with many years before. The journey will be long-and dangerous for a young g... read more

'Travel to Skagen and find him. Give him my letter. Seek a better life, Marianne! Promise!' Bound by a vow made to her dying mother, Marianne sells her few belongings and leaves Grimsby. Her destination? Denmark, where she will search for her father, Lars Christensen-the golden-haired fisherman her mother fell in love with many years before. The journey will be long-and dangerous for a young g... read more

Aladdin and his Wonderful Lamp (Arabian Nights Adventures)

Harpendore, Kelley Townley

!!A perfect read for Aladdin the Disney musical or film!! Aladdin is a poor boy who lives with his mother in the ancient kingdom of Cathay. One day a strange man appears offering untold riches! Aladdin is not so sure, yet he's sorely tempted. Join Aladdin on his incredible adventures and visit the cave of treasures. A world of magic awaits you, but watch your step - there's mischief lurking at... read more

!!A perfect read for Aladdin the Disney musical or film!! Aladdin is a poor boy who lives with his mother in the ancient kingdom of Cathay. One day a strange man appears offering untold riches! Aladdin is not so sure, yet he's sorely tempted. Join Aladdin on his incredible adventures and visit the cave of treasures. A world of magic awaits you, but watch your step - there's mischief lurking at... read more

My Way Home. Personalized Children's Gift - A Unique Personalised Story Book - Custom Made - Great Gift for Kids

Jessica Stall

▶ My Way Home is a Personalized Travel Adventure Story Book for Kids It's an ideal BIRTHDAY gift - delivered right to your special child's doorstep. ▶ What is My Way Home? My Way Home is a custom travel adventure, a PERSONALIZED kids story where the main character is ... YOUR CHILD! This book takes each child on their own journey, from their very own bed through lands afar - all the way back t... read more

▶ My Way Home is a Personalized Travel Adventure Story Book for Kids It's an ideal BIRTHDAY gift - delivered right to your special child's doorstep. ▶ What is My Way Home? My Way Home is a custom travel adventure, a PERSONALIZED kids story where the main character is ... YOUR CHILD! This book takes each child on their own journey, from their very own bed through lands afar - all the way back t... read more

The Ghostly Ghastlys Book 1: FINDING A HOME (The Ghostly Ghastlys Series)

Barbara Godwin

The Ghastly family are ghosts. They live in the castle above the town. Other ghosts live there too, because it is a haunted castle. Mr and Mrs Ghastly are singers and always busy with rehearsals and performances, so the little Ghastlys often do what they like.What they like doing is to make the visitors scream. The little Ghastlys are very good at playing tricks, and people love to come and be... read more

The Ghastly family are ghosts. They live in the castle above the town. Other ghosts live there too, because it is a haunted castle. Mr and Mrs Ghastly are singers and always busy with rehearsals and performances, so the little Ghastlys often do what they like.What they like doing is to make the visitors scream. The little Ghastlys are very good at playing tricks, and people love to come and be... read more

A Gift Wrapped in Love/ Un Regalo Envuelto En Amor

Irma Luna

In Irma's book, A Gift Wrapped in Love/ Un Regalo Envuelto en Amor Yolanda is in Mexico for her grandmother Mama Chelo's 95th birthday. She recaptures the whimsy and innocent memories of special moments she spent with her grandmother. She takes Mama Chelo to see her big birthday surprise, but it turns out that Yolanda gets an unexpected surprise of her own. _____ En el libro de Irma, A Gift wr... read more

In Irma's book, A Gift Wrapped in Love/ Un Regalo Envuelto en Amor Yolanda is in Mexico for her grandmother Mama Chelo's 95th birthday. She recaptures the whimsy and innocent memories of special moments she spent with her grandmother. She takes Mama Chelo to see her big birthday surprise, but it turns out that Yolanda gets an unexpected surprise of her own. _____ En el libro de Irma, A Gift wr... read more

My Two Mommies

Tierra Williams

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 700+ profiles.

99008c34bd37a29ee5c2611e5a19dd07a741e3ff

J. E. Bright

I'm a full-time freelance writer with more than 115 books published for children and young adults. Let's tell your story together.

New York, NY, United States

4b55c874adad546da2450ff45deb57ef59dd0b4e

Jenna Glatzer

Bestselling author and ghostwriter for fascinating people.

Long Island, NY, United States

To view 700+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 700+ more profiles, Join Reedsy