Joe Hall

Joe Hall - Editor

London, UK

Copy-editor and proofreader with experience working with major publishers. "One of the most thorough copy-edits I’ve ever had" — Sarah Lotz.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

I'm a freelance copy-editor and proofreader, with three years' experience of working on books for major publishers and an excellent track record of feedback from editors and authors alike.

Since 2016, I've worked particularly closely with Hodder & Stoughton, and regularly provide both copy-editing and proofreading services for them. I've worked on both fiction - the likes of Sarah Lotz's latest thriller, and Brian Catling's new release - and non-fiction (John Grindrod's 'Outskirts', for example). Author Sarah Lotz commented as follows on my edit for her book, 'Missing Person':

"I count myself extremely fortunate to have had the opportunity to work with Joe. One of the most thorough copy-edits I’ve ever had. Extraordinary attention to detail, unparalleled fact-checking, and what you want most in an editor or copy-editor: a safe pair of hands."

I've also worked with Phaidon, for whom I copy-edited a large chunk of their multi-edition culinary anthology,
'Where Chefs Eat'.

And holding a PhD in History, I know what it's like to have written a 100,000-word manuscript!

I pride myself on combining assiduous attention to detail with the flexibility to allow an author's voice to be preserved. And I also believe that professionalism and friendliness can, and do, go hand in hand.

So, if you're interested in my services, please feel free to get in touch - I'd love to hear from you.

Languages
English (UK)
Fiction
Mystery & Crime
Thriller & Suspense

Work experience

Copy-editor and proofreader

Self-employed
March, 2016 – Present (over 6 years)

I have been providing freelance copy-editing and proofreading services to major publishers since 2016, working with Hodder & Stoughton and Phaidon. In that time, I have copy-edited and proofread a number of titles - predominantly fiction, but also including non-fiction.

Portfolio (9 selected works)

Earwig

Brian Catling

Missing Person: The unputdownable new thriller from the author of The Three

Sarah Lotz

'The finest thriller I've read in years . . . completely unputdownable' - Sunday Times bestselling author Sarah Pinborough on The Three Missing-linc.com comprises a group of misfit sleuths scattered across the States. Their macabre passion is giving names to the unidentified dead. When Ellie Caine starts investigating the corpse known as the Boy in the Dress, the Boy's killer decides to join t... read more

'The finest thriller I've read in years . . . completely unputdownable' - Sunday Times bestselling author Sarah Pinborough on The Three Missing-linc.com comprises a group of misfit sleuths scattered across the States. Their macabre passion is giving names to the unidentified dead. When Ellie Caine starts investigating the corpse known as the Boy in the Dress, the Boy's killer decides to join t... read more

These Dividing Walls: Shortlisted for the 2018 Edward Stanford Travel Writing Award

Fran Cooper

Step into Paris as you have never seen it before. . ., SHORTLISTED FOR THE HAYES & JARVIS FICTION WITH A SENSE OF PLACE, 2018 EDWARD STANFORD TRAVEL WRITING AWARD'An engaging debut that throws light on a hidden side of Paris' Woman and Home'A sensitive, necessary, brave book.' Laura Barnett, author of The Versions of UsWhat building doesn't have secrets? How much does anyone know of what goes ... read more

Step into Paris as you have never seen it before. . ., SHORTLISTED FOR THE HAYES & JARVIS FICTION WITH A SENSE OF PLACE, 2018 EDWARD STANFORD TRAVEL WRITING AWARD'An engaging debut that throws light on a hidden side of Paris' Woman and Home'A sensitive, necessary, brave book.' Laura Barnett, author of The Versions of UsWhat building doesn't have secrets? How much does anyone know of what goes ... read more

The Way Back to Us: The book about the power of love and family

Kay Langdale

'Kay Langdale has got the knack of writing books that you carry on sitting in an empty carriage for a few extra minutes to finish, to stay a little longer with her characters' Lucy Dillon (author of A Hundred Pieces of Me)'There's no doubt Langdale is a wonderful writer, plots beautifully and is brilliant at showing her characters' inner worlds' Daily Mail What happens when difficult mothering... read more

'Kay Langdale has got the knack of writing books that you carry on sitting in an empty carriage for a few extra minutes to finish, to stay a little longer with her characters' Lucy Dillon (author of A Hundred Pieces of Me)'There's no doubt Langdale is a wonderful writer, plots beautifully and is brilliant at showing her characters' inner worlds' Daily Mail What happens when difficult mothering... read more

Outskirts: Living Life on the Edge of the Green Belt

John Grindrod

Forgotten edgelands, furious battles, suburban mysteries - discover the secret history of our green belts.Green belts are part of the landscape and psyche of post-war Britain, but have led to conflicts at every level of society - between conservationists and developers, town and country, politicians and people, nimbys and the forces of progress.Growing up on 'the last road in London' on an est... read more

Forgotten edgelands, furious battles, suburban mysteries - discover the secret history of our green belts.Green belts are part of the landscape and psyche of post-war Britain, but have led to conflicts at every level of society - between conservationists and developers, town and country, politicians and people, nimbys and the forces of progress.Growing up on 'the last road in London' on an est... read more

Where There's a Will: Can love find a way? THE fun, uplifting and romantic read for summer 2019

Beth Corby

Would you take the chance that could change everything?After leaving university at the age of twenty-five with no idea what to do with her life, Hannah is stunned when she is left a mystery bequest by her rich, estranged great-uncle Donald. But there's a catch: before she can find out what she's inherited, she must undertake a series of unknown tasks alongside Alec, Donald's reluctant (but rat... read more

Would you take the chance that could change everything?After leaving university at the age of twenty-five with no idea what to do with her life, Hannah is stunned when she is left a mystery bequest by her rich, estranged great-uncle Donald. But there's a catch: before she can find out what she's inherited, she must undertake a series of unknown tasks alongside Alec, Donald's reluctant (but rat... read more

The Turning Tide (Dandy Gilver Book 13)

Catriona McPherson

The 14th in the Dandy Gilver series. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.

The 14th in the Dandy Gilver series. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Richard Arcus

A 10-year track record at Hachette UK, editing Booker-nominated authors and Sunday Times bestsellers. Memoir, Lit Fiction, Crime/Thriller.

London, UK

Sara DeGonia

Editor/indexer with 15 years for Chronicle, Design Studio Press, AMMO, etc. Specialties: providing fresh eyes to help you tell your story.

Des Moines, IA, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy