Jon Papernick

Jon Papernick - Editor

Boston, MA, USA

I am a writing coach and editor who works closely with writers as they develop their manuscripts. Your manuscript matters.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

I’m a novelist and short story writer who has twenty years of experience teaching fiction writing. I am the founder of Paper&Ink Editorial and specialize in manuscript coaching and editing.
Languages
English (US)
Fiction
Coming of Age
Contemporary Fiction
Fantasy
Historical Fiction
Horror
New Adult
Science Fiction
Short Story

Certifications

  • MFA Creative Writing, Sarah Lawrence College, 2000

Work experience

Writing coach and editor

Self-employed
January, 2019 – Present (almost 2 years)

Paper&Ink Editorial is novelist, short story writer, teacher and storyteller Jonathan Papernick. He has been teaching fiction writing for the past twenty years and has worked with thousands of writers in the classroom and beyond, helping to create moving and powerful works of fiction. He serves as Senior Writer-in-Residence in the Department of Writing, Literature and Publishing at Emerson College, in Boston, where he has taught since 2007. He has also taught fiction writing at Pratt Institute, Center for Creative Youth, GrubStreet, Brandeis University, BIMA, and Bar Ilan University, in Ramat Gan, Israel.

His first collection of short stories The Ascent of Eli Israel was published by Arcade in 2002. Writing for the New York Times Book Review, Noah Richler wrote, “There is a muscular certainty to the best of Papernick's stories that is altogether harrowing...Papernick's penetrating clear-sighted stories ring true.”

His second collection There Is No Other was published in 2010. Novelist Dara Horn wrote, “Papernick is an utterly original writer...Every story delivers a knockout punch that will leave you reeling -- and revising your thinking on what life and love really mean.”

Papernick's dark literary thriller The Book of Stone was published by Fig Tree Books in 2015 about which New York Times bestselling author Caroline Leavitt wrote “The Book of Stone is going to have everyone on the planet talking. Blistering smart, provocative and passionate, Papernick’s astounding novel layers a complex father and son story onto the Jewish/Arab conflict, where fierce loyalties and stunning betrayals are about to detonate. Nothing is as it seems in this divided American world: the political becomes personal, religious faith overrides family, and fear can shatter the possibility of love. An astonishing achievement that’s sure to ignite dialogue -- and as the best works of art do, push us to see the world differently.”

Testimonials:

Jon's respect and encouragement early on in the writing process gave me the confidence I needed as a new writer. As my manuscript progressed, his keen editing eye and attention to detail was an essential part of making my first novel a reality. Sara Novic, award-winning author of Girl at War.

It was a pleasure to have such a great storyteller review my work. If you're looking for feedback on a manuscript, I recommend Jon Papernick. R.L. Maizes, author of We Love Anderson Cooper.

Jon Papernick brings a critical eye and great insight to any manuscript he critiques. His abilities as an editor are top-notch, and he brings years of experience and good instinct to the table. If Jon offers advice on your manuscript, you would do well to listen. Scott A. Johnson, author of Shy Grove: A Ghost Story and The Stanley Cooper Chronicles.

Portfolio (5 selected works)

Girl at War: A Novel

Sara Novic

For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE • ALEX AWARD WINNER • LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST • LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN’S P... read more

For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE • ALEX AWARD WINNER • LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST • LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN’S P... read more

We Love Anderson Cooper: Short Stories

R.L. Maizes

In this quirky, humorous, and deeply human short story collection, Pushcart Prize-nominated author R.L. Maizes reminds us that even in our most isolated moments, we are never truly alone.In We Love Anderson Cooper, characters are treated as outsiders because of their sexual orientation, racial or religious identity, or simply because they look different. A young man courts the publicity that c... read more

In this quirky, humorous, and deeply human short story collection, Pushcart Prize-nominated author R.L. Maizes reminds us that even in our most isolated moments, we are never truly alone.In We Love Anderson Cooper, characters are treated as outsiders because of their sexual orientation, racial or religious identity, or simply because they look different. A young man courts the publicity that c... read more

The Book of Stone: A Novel

Jonathan Papernick

The Book of Stone examines the evolution of the terrorist mentality and the complexities of religious extremism, as well as how easily a vulnerable mind can be exploited for dark purposes.Matthew Stone has inherited a troubling legacy: a gangster grandfather and a distant father—who is also a disgraced judge. After his father’s death, Matthew is a young man alone. He turns to his father’s belo... read more

The Book of Stone examines the evolution of the terrorist mentality and the complexities of religious extremism, as well as how easily a vulnerable mind can be exploited for dark purposes.Matthew Stone has inherited a troubling legacy: a gangster grandfather and a distant father—who is also a disgraced judge. After his father’s death, Matthew is a young man alone. He turns to his father’s belo... read more

The Ascent of Eli Israel: And Other Stories

Jonathan Papernick

Short fiction set in modern-day Israel, from an author whose “penetrating clear-sighted stories ring true” (The New York Times Book Review). In a land where sudden death is an everyday fact of life, a boy dodges bullets and searches through rubble for news of his soldier father. A middle-aged man comforts his Holocaust-survivor mother as, facing senility, she is convinced that Nazis are conspi... read more

Short fiction set in modern-day Israel, from an author whose “penetrating clear-sighted stories ring true” (The New York Times Book Review). In a land where sudden death is an everyday fact of life, a boy dodges bullets and searches through rubble for news of his soldier father. A middle-aged man comforts his Holocaust-survivor mother as, facing senility, she is convinced that Nazis are conspi... read more

There Is No Other

Jonathan Papernick

From the streets of modern Israel to the barrooms of Brooklyn to a suburban New England synagogue, the characters in these 10 stories search for love and acceptance in a world scarred by loss and loneliness. In “The Madonna of Temple Beth Elohim,” an Iraq war veteran sees a vision of the Virgin Mary on the eve of the Jewish high holidays. In “My Darling Sweetheart Baby,” a working-class drunk ... read more

From the streets of modern Israel to the barrooms of Brooklyn to a suburban New England synagogue, the characters in these 10 stories search for love and acceptance in a world scarred by loss and loneliness. In “The Madonna of Temple Beth Elohim,” an Iraq war veteran sees a vision of the Virgin Mary on the eve of the Jewish high holidays. In “My Darling Sweetheart Baby,” a working-class drunk ... read more

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Kirsten Bakis

I'll help bring your novel to life. Award-winning novelist with 25 years experience as a writing coach, developmental editor, and teacher.

New York, NY, USA

Chayenne Skeete

Hands-on, collaborative editor with a passion for literary fiction who brings a background in psychology to the editorial process.

New York, NY, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy