Allie Larkin

Allie Larkin - Editor

California

Internationally bestselling novelist with extensive critique and mentoring experience.

Request a quote
Reedsy profile URL https://reedsy.com/allie-larkin
Verified identity Lock

Overview

As a writer, I know the nuances of editorial notes can have a major impact on motivation. I'm passionate about giving constructive feedback that considers the balance of the work, the nature of the characters, and your creative spirit. I also know that the best books start with a mess of ideas. I'm thrilled to help you polish a fully realized piece, but you can also feel free to show me your messy drafts so we can figure out your next steps together.

I come from a theatre background and have a specific interest in character development. My first two novels — STAY and WHY CAN'T I BE YOU — were published by Penguin (Dutton/Plume), and in eight additional languages. STAY was a People Pick, a Wall Street Journal Bestseller, and a Piemme Bestseller in Italy. My short fiction has been published in the Summerset Review and Slice Magazine, and nonfiction in the anthologies, I'M NOT THE BIGGEST BITCH IN THIS RELATIONSHIP (Berkley) and AUTHOR IN PROGRESS (Writer’s Digest Books). I’ve been a contributor to (a Writer’s Digest Best Websites for Writers winner) writing about the emotional aspects of creative writing work. My next novel, SWIMMING FOR SUNLIGHT, will be published by Touchstone in 2019.

A New York State native, I live in the San Francisco Bay Area, with my husband, Jeremy, and our fearful, faithful German Shepherd, Stella.

Languages
English (US)
Fiction
Literature
Short Story
Women's Fiction
Non-Fiction
Publishing

Work experience

Novelist

Self-employed
February, 2009 – Present (almost 10 years)

Portfolio (5 selected works)

Stay: A Novel

Allie Larkin

Girl meets dog in this effervescent "feel-good debut" (People) by the author of Why Can't I Be YouSavannah "Van" Leone has been in love with Peter Clarke since their first day of college. Six years later, Peter is marrying Van's best friend, Janie. Loyal to a fault, Van dons her pumpkin-orange, maid-of- honor gown and stands up for the couple, struggling to hide her true feelings even when she... read more

Girl meets dog in this effervescent "feel-good debut" (People) by the author of Why Can't I Be YouSavannah "Van" Leone has been in love with Peter Clarke since their first day of college. Six years later, Peter is marrying Van's best friend, Janie. Loyal to a fault, Van dons her pumpkin-orange, maid-of- honor gown and stands up for the couple, struggling to hide her true feelings even when she... read more

Why Can't I Be You: A Novel

Allie Larkin

Soon to be a Major Motion Picture"An engaging and smart novel with rich characters.”—She Knows Red Hot Book of the WeekAt one time or another, everyone has wished they could be someone else. Exploring this universal longing, Allie Larkin follows up the success of her debut novel, Stay, with a moving portrait of friendship and identity. When Jenny Shaw hears someone shout “Jessie!” across a hot... read more

Soon to be a Major Motion Picture"An engaging and smart novel with rich characters.”—She Knows Red Hot Book of the WeekAt one time or another, everyone has wished they could be someone else. Exploring this universal longing, Allie Larkin follows up the success of her debut novel, Stay, with a moving portrait of friendship and identity. When Jenny Shaw hears someone shout “Jessie!” across a hot... read more

Swimming for Sunlight

Allie Larkin

When recently divorced Katie Ellis and her rescue dog Bark move back in with Katie’s grandmother in Florida, she becomes swept up in a reunion of her grandmother’s troupe of underwater performers—finding hope and renewal in unexpected places, in this sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook.Aspiring costume designer Katie gave up everything in her divorce to gain custody... read more

When recently divorced Katie Ellis and her rescue dog Bark move back in with Katie’s grandmother in Florida, she becomes swept up in a reunion of her grandmother’s troupe of underwater performers—finding hope and renewal in unexpected places, in this sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook.Aspiring costume designer Katie gave up everything in her divorce to gain custody... read more

Author In Progress: A No-Holds-Barred Guide to What It Really Takes to Get Published

Therese Walsh, Writer Unboxed

Empower your writing through craft and community! Writing can be a lonely profession plagued by blind stumbles, writer's block, and despair--but it doesn't have to be. Written by members of the popular Writer Unboxed website, Author in Progress is filled with practical, candid essays to help you reach the next rung on the publishing ladder. By tracking your creative journey from first draft to... read more

Empower your writing through craft and community! Writing can be a lonely profession plagued by blind stumbles, writer's block, and despair--but it doesn't have to be. Written by members of the popular Writer Unboxed website, Author in Progress is filled with practical, candid essays to help you reach the next rung on the publishing ladder. By tracking your creative journey from first draft to... read more

I'm Not the Biggest Bitch in This Relationship: Hilarious, Heartwarming Tales About Man's Best Friend from America's Favorite Hu morists

An anthology of bark-out-loud original essays about dogs from some of today's most popular writers. Critically acclaimed memoirist Wade Rouse has gathered some of America's best known humorists- authors, comedians, and actors-to offer biting commentary on what it means to share a life, and a heart, with a dog. From battling for bed space to trying to transform a pampered NYC pup into a Texas r... read more

An anthology of bark-out-loud original essays about dogs from some of today's most popular writers. Critically acclaimed memoirist Wade Rouse has gathered some of America's best known humorists- authors, comedians, and actors-to offer biting commentary on what it means to share a life, and a heart, with a dog. From battling for bed space to trying to transform a pampered NYC pup into a Texas r... read more

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

C5ad2eb4abd3a39ab9bbea46543e277f7752862d

Jessica Verdi

I've edited well over 200 romance, YA, and MG novels, and spent six years as Senior Editor at Simon & Schuster/Crimson Romance.

New York, NY, USA

55c5606cf2ea76044886ca106d569e2e3a499596

Julie Fergusson

I am a professional and experienced fiction and non-fiction editor accustomed to working with publishers and authors.

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy