Laurel Sills

Laurel Sills – Editor

An award-winning editor specializing in thrillers, women's and SFF. Bookseller rising star with over ten years of editorial experience.

Overview

Editor and co-founder of the award-winning Holdfast Magazine (British Fantasy Society award for Best Magazine) Bookseller Rising Star, and CIEP (Chartered Institute of Editing and Proofreading) professional member, I have over ten years of experience working in the publishing industry as an editor. I currently work on a freelance basis with a variety of publishing houses. I am comfortable working on a wide range of fiction, from women’s fiction to thrillers, SFF to historical romance, with a specialism in science fiction and fantasy. Whether you want to prepare your manuscript for submission to industry professionals or polish your book for self-publication, together, we can get your work ready for the next stage of its journey.


My time at Canelo and Bloomsbury have given me a breadth of experience not only as an editor, but also as a proofreader and seasoned submission reader.


I thrive on working with writers in a kind and professional way - together we can elevate your writing to the next level.


'The best thing about working with Laurel (apart from her overflowing energy and enthusiasm) was her ability to put her finger on things that weren’t quite right in my book. There were inconsistencies that had bothered me for ages, and loose ends that needed to be tidied up properly – Laurel found them all and made gentle suggestions that helped me make a better book' – Helen Wright, author of A Matter of Oaths

Services
Fiction
Dystopian Historical Fiction Mystery & Crime Science Fiction Thriller & Suspense Urban Fantasy Women's Fiction
Languages
English (UK)
Awards
  • Bookseller Rising Star
Certifications
  • MA Creative and Life Writing from Goldsmiths University
  • Digital Proofreading - Publishing Training Centre
  • Introduction to Editorial Skills: Copy Editing and Proofreading - Publishing Training Centre
  • CIEP Professional Member

Work experience

Orion Publishing

Feb, 2024 — Present

I have worked on some fantastic SF books as a copyeditor for Orion.

Solaris Books

Dec, 2023 — Present

I have worked as a copyeditor and proofreader for Solaris on Fantasy and Science Fiction titles.

Joffe Books

Aug, 2020 — Present

I have been privileged to work regularly with Joffe as a freelance substantive editor (similar to a developmental edit) and copyeditor on a range of commercial titles.

Rebellion Publishing

Aug, 2020 — Present

I have worked on a range of SFF titles as a copyeditor with Rebellion Publishing.

Canelo

Jan, 2020 — Present

I work regularly with Canelo as a copyeditor and proofreader on a range of commercial women's, historical and fantasy fiction.

Canelo

Nov, 2017 — Oct, 2019 (almost 2 years)

Bloomsbury Reader

May, 2015 — Nov, 2017 (over 2 years)

Holdfast Magazine

Jun, 2013 — May, 2015 (almost 2 years)

Bloomsbury Reader

Jun, 2012 — May, 2015 (almost 3 years)

Portfolio

Copy Editing
Copy Editing
Copy Editing
Copy Editing
Copy Editing
Copy Editing
Proofreading
Copy Editing
Lady Eve's Last Con

Fraimow, Rebecca

Copy Editing
Copy Editing
Copy Editing
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Copy Editing
Developmental Editing
Copy Editing
Developmental Editing
Copy Editing
Copy Editing
A Vision of Light

Judith Merkle Riley

A village girl receives a divine vision that will lead her into the chambers of the English Inquisition...Young, wealthy and twice married, Margaret has a modest enough ambition: she wishes to write a book. But this is 1355, and the notion of a woman wanting t... read more
A devastating Viking raid leads Corban on an epic quest – the first in an extraordinary adventure series.Corban and Mav are twins born to the lord of an Irish coastal farmstead. Mav has the Second Sight, and is her father's favourite; Corban, however, is a dee... read more
An epic Medieval adventure of the Hundred Years WarWhen Martin Kemp joins the English army in order to avoid the hangman, he may just be delaying the inevitable. While he remains hopeful that at least there’s the chance for some heroics, the reality is very di... read more
After twenty-five long years serving in the Roman Legions, Carbo returns to Rome to retire in peace. Life has moved on in the time he’s been at the front, and he finds himself friendless and homeless.But when he comes across Rufa, a childhood friend he swore a... read more
A race against time on a perilous journey through Siberia with a murderous demon, in this gritty fast-paced horror thriller.Con-artist Amanda Coleman lives in a London rife with undercover mag... read more
Developmental Editing
A Matter of Oaths

Helen S. Wright

'A compelling, mind-bending future that's finally come home to the present' – Becky Chambers, author of The Long Way to a Small, Angry PlanetWhen Commander Rallya of the patrol ship Bhattya hi... read more
Copy Editing
Gods and mortals collide in the thrilling second instalment in the historical Greek fantasy the Olympus Series.When Prince Odysseus is sent on a quest to recover his family honour, he’s led to... read more
Developmental Editing
A prophecy condemns him, a goddess binds him, but what will set Odysseus free? A thrilling tale of a legendary Greek adventure, perfect for fans of Madeline Miller and David Gemmell.Young Prin... read more
Developmental Editing

Laurel has 54 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Andrew S.

Andrew S.

Mar, 2024

Laurel once again has helped me patch up my novel! Her attention to detail is unmatched, especially those pesky little details (like hair waviness) that can sneak in and knock the astute reader out of the story! I can now re-release my novel Libera with confidence that it's a clean, well-organized story. Well, I will be able to once I get the edits integrated. If you have the opportunity to wor...
Read more
Laurel S.
Thanks so much for your kind words, Andrew. It is always such a pleasure to work with you!
Anna S.

Anna S.

Feb, 2024

I had a great experience working with Laurel. Her editorial assistance was invaluable, providing insightful feedback that significantly enhanced the quality of my work. I'm truly grateful for her contributions and look forward to the opportunity to collaborate again.
Matthew D.

Matthew D.

Jan, 2024

Laurel did a developmental edit on my thriller novella, and I'm pleased with the results. She gave me excellent advice on how to make it the best story possible, even going so far as to provide examples. I'm confident that my readers will be more than pleased with the novella when it releases! Highly recommend her developmental editing services.
Wendy E.

Wendy E.

Sep, 2022

I would recommend Laurel as a highly-qualified and a detail oriented editor. Not only has she given me great feedback, she has given me suggestions and tips to develop a better story. When I had a question or needed to contact her, she promptly responded to my message.
Jurgen A.

Jurgen A.

Sep, 2023

Laurel offered me an extensive list of notes and tips with several crucial things to consider. Her feedback was incredibly valuable.

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Laurel and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Laurel

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

NaNá Stoelzle

NaNá S.

Editing is my bag: literary fiction, world fiction, memoirs--you name it! Making books the best they can be is my life's work.

Casper, WY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Lydia Unsworth

Lydia U.

Managing editor with 5+ years' experience in literary fiction, non-fiction, memoir, translated fic. Published prose poet with 6 collections.

Manchester, UK

96% reply rate

View profile
Samantha Z

Samantha Z.

Samantha has nearly a decade of editorial and marketing experience, primarily working at a big five publisher in Manhattan.

New York, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile