Cyn Balog

Cyn Balog – Ghostwriter

All-genre fiction ghostwriter of 100s of novels, book doctor and author of 11 acclaimed YA novels with Random House, Sourcebooks, and more!

Overview

PLEASE NOTE: I usually book out about 3 months ahead of time and regular novel-length ghostwriting projects start at about $20,000. Book doctoring, where I take your book and revise it, and any combination of doctoring and ghostwriting, can often cost MORE as it's more time consuming! Please keep this in mind before inviting me to quote for your job. Thank you and I look forward to helping you! :)

Your ideas, my expertise. Tell the story only YOU can with help from a pro. I am the author of 11 novels (Random House, Sourcebooks, Harlequin), mostly YA paranormal romance, dystopian, thriller/suspense, and dark contemporary. However, I am experienced in writing all fiction, including adult (thriller, mystery, steamy romance, etc), young adult, mid-grade and more. I've been nominated for a Romance Writers Association of America RITA in YA fiction. I write quickly and on deadline for numerous satisfied clients.

My main specialty is novels-- all I do is fiction! I've worked with several NYT and USAT bestselling authors to help them fill out their stable of self-published titles. I pride myself on getting "your" style and seamlessly adapting to it. I can write like Nora Roberts or Stephen King. Whatever your style, I can pull it off. I work quickly and can usually finish a GOOD 50k-word novel in 1 month, based on your outline.

If you are a writer, struggling to get traditionally published, I can help. Wondering if you have to sell your soul to attract an agent? Let me take a look at your query letter or book and give you an honest assessment as to why agents have passed you by. Written yourself into a corner? I am a born plot-whisperer who loves to brainstorm and help you find your way out. I offer coaching services, including full-novel critiques and developmental edits, as well as query critiques and career advice. I am proud that I have my name in the acknowledgments of dozens of traditionally published novels, and I would consider it an honor to help you reach your dream of publishing your novel.

The last thing you need to know about me is that I'm not a diva. This is business, and I don't deal in "special." When you contract with me, you can rest assured I will deliver what you want, when you want it. I want us to have fun together, too. I love writing and put my passion and excitement into every word, because I want you to love the process and your finished book. I can't wait to work with you!



Services
Fiction
Cozy Mysteries Dystopian Horror Middle Grade Psychological Thriller Romance Women's Fiction Young Adult
Languages
English (US)
Awards
  • RWA - RITA Nominated
  • Scholastic Book Club Selection
  • VOYA - Starred Review
  • ALA Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers List

Work experience

Self-employed

Jun, 2009 — Present

Writer

Portfolio

Lost Cause

Callie Sparks

“It doesn’t matter how many times I tell them I’m fine. They don’t believe anyone can possibly go through what I’ve gone through and come out okay. And the more they tell me that, the more I’m starting to think they’re right.”Shy, awkward Noah Templeton will a... read more
Up in the Air

Callie Sparks

Sometimes the best things in life are unplanned . . .The last thing Hannah Bliss wants to do this weekend is go to her perfect aunt Alex’s engagement party. She’d rather get high. Hole up in her bedroom, turn on her webcam and make some money.After losing the ... read more
Down to Earth

Callie Sparks

Is there no such thing as a match made in Heaven?Cicily and Caden are made for each other. Even if they’re the only ones who know it.Caden is busy in the City, working on building his family’s investment business, while Cicily is now off at her first semester ... read more
Playing with Fire

Callie Sparks

At 22, Alex Bliss is the first female who might be able to break the glass ceiling that’s been firmly in place at Williams and Williams, and she isn’t about to give that up. Not with an autistic brother and a disabled mother to care for. But the man who has be... read more
Hot Water

Callie Sparks

Cicily Chase can't stand the idea of spending her last summer before college in a cramped office. But that's exactly where she'll be, as summer intern at a stuffy investment firm.Caden Williams is brilliant, gorgeous, and much older. Not to mention that he's C... read more
Starstruck

Cyn Balog

Gwendolyn "Dough" Reilly doesn't think she has much going for her--she carries a few extra pounds, her family struggles with their small bakery in a town full of millionaires, and the other kids at her New Jersey high school don't seem to know that she exists.... read more
Dead River

Cyn Balog

My friends and I are spending prom weekend at a remote wooded cabin on the Dead. The Dead River. I thought it was going to be just us.I was wrong. Nothing is what it seems in this creepy paranormal thriller by Cyn Balog.
Drowned

Nichola Reilly

Coe is one of the few remaining teenagers on the island of Tides. Deformed and weak, she is constantly reminded that in a world where dry land dwindles at every high tide, she is not welcome. The only bright spot in her harsh and difficult life is the strong, ... read more
Fairy Tale

Cyn Balog

A captivating and witty dark fantasy that will have girls lusting after it.Morgan Sparks has always known that she and her boyfriend, Cam, are made for each other. But when Cam’s cousin Pip comes to stay with the family, Cam seems depressed. Finally Cam confes... read more
Touched

Cyn Balog

Nick Cross always listens to the voice in his head. Because if he doesn't? Things can go really, really wrong. Like the day he decided to go off script and saved a girl from being run over . . . and let another one drown. Trying to change the future doesn't wo... read more
Sleepless

Cyn Balog

Eron DeMarchelle isn't supposed to feel this connection. He is a Sandman, a supernatural being whose purpose is to seduce his human charges to sleep. Though he can communicate with his charges in their dreams, he isn't encouraged to do so. After all, becoming ... read more
That Night

Cyn Balog

The perfect teen thriller for readers of One of Us Is Lying and The Darkest Corners!Some secrets are best left buried...It's been a year since Hailey's boyfriend Declan died, and Hailey is still far from okay. She's lost almost all her friends, her grades are ... read more
Called "a PG-13 version of Gone Girl" by Kirkus, Unnatural Deeds is a novel of infatuation and obsession with an electrifying ending that readers won't see coming."Victoria Zell doesn't fit in, not that she cares what anyone thinks. She and her homeschooled bo... read more
Alone

Cyn Balog

This must-read for lovers of Stephen King's The Shining will leave readers breathless as Seda and her family find themselves at the mercy of a murderer in an isolated and snowbound hotel. Get ready for what Kirkus calls "A bloody, wonderfully creepy scare ride... read more

Cyn has 17 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Arthur B.

Arthur B.

Oct, 2023

Was a pleasure to work with!
Cyn B.
Thank you, Arthur!
Cynthia R.

Cynthia R.

Oct, 2023

Cyn has done a wonderful job on helping my MG manuscript become stronger through doctoring. She provided me with an editorial letter for the items to be addressed and for the items I agreed to be worked on then she added the changes to my story and greatly helped improve it so it’d become more submission-ready. Her changes were shown in my manuscript through track changes where I could accept o...
Read more
Cyn B.
Thank you so much, Cynthia! I loved working with you and feel so fortunate to have had a chance to read such a fun manuscript that I know kids are going to love! Good luck with your submissions and...
Read more
Heather Y.

Heather Y.

Aug, 2023

Cyn is my go to for all my ghost writing needs. Her writing is fun, funny, and really paints a picture for the reader. I feel lucky I found her and she took a chance on my story.
Cyn B.
Thank you, Heather! It's always a pleasure working with you!
Nancy S.

Nancy S.

Jun, 2023

Cyn did a fantastic job on our 1000-word sample. Very professional, communicates well, pays attention to detail, and provides a quick turnaround. I hope to work with her again in the near future. Definitely recommend her services!
Cyn B.
Thank you Nancy, was a pleasure working with you and would love to collaborate again. Best of luck in the future!
Sarah R.

Sarah R.

Jan, 2023

Amazing work and finished the project early! Will definitely work with her again!
Cyn B.
It was so great working with you Sarah! Love your ideas and know readers will, too. I keep thinking about the world you created and am so excited to pick up my own copy when it comes out!

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Cyn and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Cyn

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Ellen Goodlett

Ellen G.

Versatile author and ghostwriter specializing in romance, fantasy and young adult fiction

New York, NY, United States

99% reply rate

View profile
Joel Canfield

Joel C.

I've been ghostwriting for about 12 years, helping clients with books and screenplays. I currently ghostwrite for Forbes Books.

Redondo Beach, CA, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Doug Wagner

Doug W.

Your voice is my guiding force. Only you can write your book, and it needs to be as distinct as you are.

Conifer, United States

100% reply rate

View profile