Claire Stetzer

Claire Stetzer – Editor

Children's book editor specializing in Middle Grade and Young Adult fiction, with 9 years of experience at HarperCollins and Bloomsbury.

Overview

Hi there! I'm Claire, and it's nice to meet you.


I'm an editor based in New York City with nine years of experience at publishing houses (Inkyard Press/HarperCollins, Bloomsbury Children's Books), with a particular focus on Middle Grade and Young Adult fiction. I want to help you bring your vision for your story to life, whether you're just starting out on your writing journey or are in the midst of your career.


I view the editing process as a conversation and collaboration, and I'm here to offer guidance so your book can reach its highest potential. My editorial assessments and developmental edits are thorough and encouraging, and if you're looking for a final polish, I bring a sharp eye to copyedits and proofreading. I love everything about the editing process, especially when I can use my experience to help make an author's dreams come true.


I'm especially the right fit for:

- YA romance/contemporary, grounded fantasy

- MG contemporary, fantasy, grounded fantasy


I would love the opportunity to work with you—let's chat about how I can fit into your creative process!



"On both the developmental level and the line level, Claire offers incredibly smart, valuable suggestions that help you fully realize your vision in ways you couldn’t have thought of yourself. It can be difficult to trust someone with your words, but I would trust Claire wholeheartedly with anything I write." - Ann Liang, author of If You Could See the Sun


“Claire's feedback always made my books more streamlined, high-stakes, and emotionally resonant. She is not only tremendously fun to work with but also an incredibly talented editor who helped me figure out how to make my books the best they could be.” -Kylie Lee Baker, author of The Keeper of Night and The Scarlet Alchemist


"Claire is one of the staggeringly gifted editors who knows how to help a writer make their book better, in a voice that still feels uniquely them. Her patience, kindness, and willingness to dive deep into a book that needed a lot of work helped me publish something I'm so proud of." - Eric Smith, author of With or Without You and Jagged Little Pill: The Novel


"Claire deeply connects with your work, and offers insightful, straightforward feedback that not only helps you strengthen your voice, but hone your craft. Your story will sparkle and shine with her support." - Alechia Dow, author of The Sound of Stars and A Song of Salvation


"I worked with Claire for several years on a middle grade fantasy trilogy, and her editorial process and communication skills were fantastic, and her notes always elevated my stories. It was an absolute pleasure working with her." - Rex Ogle, author of The Supernatural Society series

Services
Fiction
Middle Grade Middle Grade Fantasy Young Adult Fantasy
Languages
English (US)

Work experience

Inkyard Press, HarperCollins

Mar, 2021 — Aug, 2023 (over 2 years)

Acquired and edited commercial middle grade and young adult novels across genres, with a particular focus on diversity. My titles received starred reviews, have landed on best book of the year lists, have been JLG and Indie Next/Introduce selections, and have been picked up for major book boxes.

Bloomsbury Children's Books

May, 2015 — Mar, 2021 (almost 6 years)

Acquired and edited picture books, chapter books, middle grade, and young adult novels across genres, including: NEVER LOOK BACK by Lilliam Rivera (winner of a Pura Belpré Honor); A TASTE OF MAGIC by J. Elle, and DON'T HATE THE PLAYER by Alexis Nedd.

Assisted the publisher, executive editor, and senior editor on their lists of bestselling and acclaimed authors, including: Renée Watson, Brigid Kemmerer, Danielle Paige, Tonya Bolden, Sara Holland, Emery Lord, Nikki Grimes, Kate Messner, Gillian McDunn, and Kamilla Benko.

Portfolio

The Name Drop

Susan Lee

"Susan Lee always writes the exact book I want to read!" —Ali Hazelwood, New York Times bestselling author of The Love HypothesisNew from the author of Seoulmates comes a story of mistaken identities, the summer of a lifetime, and a love to risk everything for... read more
Kismat Connection

Ananya Devarajan

"A warm, feel good read." —Ali Hazelwood, New York Times bestselling author of The Love Hypothesis“A gorgeous debut." —Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling authors of The Unhoneymooners In this charming YA debut, a girl who’s determined to prove her st... read more
Salt and Sugar

Rebecca Carvalho

The grandchildren of two rival Brazilian bakeries fall in love despite their families’ feud in this delicious debut rom-com perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Gloria Chao. Trust neither thin-bottomed frying pans nor Molinas. Lari Ramires has always known this... read more
"The most delightfully snarky romance I’ve read this year." —New York Times bestselling author Ashley Poston This charming YA rom-com follows Margo, who suddenly realizes that she’s gay but has no clue how to express her identity, so she enlists out-and-proud ... read more
"Joyful, thoughtful, and real." —Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling authors of The Unhoneymooners"Rom-com perfection." —Rachael Lippincott, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Five Feet Apart New from Eric Smith comes a delightful YA rom-com abou... read more
From the author of The Sound of Stars and The Kindred comes a YA space opera about a reincarnated god and a grumpy pilot on a mission to save a beloved space DJ and stop an intergalactic war. Zaira Citlali is supposed to die. After all, she’s the god Indigo re... read more
The Scarlet Alchemist

Kylie Lee Baker

"A dark and glittering jewel of a book." —Judy I. Lin, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of A Magic Steeped in Poison"Visceral to the core." —Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent DelightsNew from the author of The Keeper of Night c... read more
The Empress of Time

Kylie Lee Baker

“Sharp and seductive…a fantasy with teeth.” —Julie C. Dao, author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns on The Keeper of Night In this riveting sequel to The Keeper of Night, a half Reaper, half Shinigami soul collector must defend her title as Japan’s Death Goddes... read more
Out There

Saundra Mitchell

Into the queer new yonder!To conclude the trio of anthologies that started with critically acclaimed All Out and Out Now, Out There features seventeen original short stories set in the future from fantastic queer YA authors.Explore new and familiar worlds wher... read more
Waking Fire

Jean Louise

"Propulsive and full of heart." —Sara Holland, New York Times bestselling author of Everless and HavenfallThis incendiary YA fantasy debut follows a girl who will stop at nothing to save her village after it’s discovered by a dangerous warlord and his army of ... read more
“An enchanting adventure that will leave readers hungry for more.” – Kwame Mbalia, #1 New York Times bestselling authorNew York Times bestselling author J. Elle makes her middle grade debut in this magical new series about a Black girl who learns she's a witch... read more
"I can't wait for readers to explore Hong Kong with Holly-Mei. I have no doubt they will love both as much as I did." —Erin Entrada Kelly, 2018 Newbery Medalist and 2021 Newbery HonoreePacked with humor and heart, this debut middle grade series follows a girl ... read more
"Monsters have never been so much fun." –Stuart Gibbs, New York Times bestselling author of the Spy School series"Frightening and fun!" –Neil Patrick Harris, New York Times bestselling author of The Magic MisfitsReaders will be scared silly in this spooky and ... read more
Totally Psychic

Brigid Martin

This debut middle grade series stars a Cuban-American tween medium navigating friends, family and ghosts! Paloma Ferrer is psychic. In fact, everyone in her family line has “the gift.” Now that Paloma has come into her powers, she dreams of becoming a famous m... read more
"Impossible to predict... Your new obsession." —Mark Oshiro, co-author of #1 New York Times bestseller The Sun and the StarThis new middle grade fantasy series follows Keynan's quest to unlock his freestyling magic and unravel the secrets of Peerless Academy.K... read more

Claire has 10 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Alan R S.

Alan R S.

Apr, 2024

Thank you, Claire, for taking on this “new guy” who certainly needed your expertise. Review: Claire’s “eyes on target” critical impact was that she understood my voice. She brought clarity to the story in my head that was not fully developed on the page. Claire explained each edit from her perspective and how it related to my characters, the development of the story, and the intertwining of loc...
Read more
Edward P.

Edward P.

Mar, 2024

I can highly recommend Claire. She was upbeat, positive and professional. Her feedback helped me make significant improvements to my manuscript.
Ann H.

Ann H.

Mar, 2024

It was awesome to work with Claire. Her developmental edit was thorough. As someone whose first lagnauge isn't English, I have to say her feedback was clear and concise. Not only that, it's clear she knows what she's talking about. I really appreciate the opportunity to have my manuscript in her hands for this edit. Claire pointed out where my story was strong and where I could improve to reach...
Read more
Sharon F.

Sharon F.

Feb, 2024

I was so encouraged by Claire's assessment of my stories that I feel a renewed energy to get to work and complete the project following her suggestions. It's always rewarding when a professional gives positive critiques along with notes for improvement. I will not hesitate to work with Claire again! Thank you, Reedsy, and thank you, Claire.
Cody A.

Cody A.

Feb, 2024

I hired Claire as the last stop before publishing my book. My manuscript had been edited professionally a couple of times already, but my spidey sense said it wasn't tight enough. Wow. Claire exceeded all expectations, she found issues small and large that were missed by all others. I now have a polished work. I highly recommend Claire and only wish I had her involvement earlier on. Thank you C...
Read more

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Claire and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Claire

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Tove Innis

Tove I.

Meticulous proofreader & copyeditor who loves working with marginalized creators. Sliding-scale rates. Queer, neurodiverse, disabled.

Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Kayla Ramoutar

Kayla R.

English Lit graduate with a post-grad degree in Publishing. There's no greater adrenaline rush than copyediting.

Ajax, Ontario, Canada

99% reply rate

View profile
Amie Norris

Amie N.

I'm a copy editor and proofreader specializing in great stories. My preferred genres are fantasy, memoir, YA, and dystopian.

Las Vegas, NV, USA

100% reply rate

View profile