Carrie Jones

Carrie Jones – Editor

I'm Carrie, an internationally & New York Times bestselling author, editor, and human. I'd love to help you make your best book!

Overview


I specialize in writing for children and young adults. I have been an award-winning newspaper editor, columnist, arts and features writer. I gave all that up to attend Vermont College of Fine Arts where I received an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults.

Halfway through the program, I landed my first book contract. That book won the IPPY and numerous other awards. Since then I have been titled a Distinguished Alumna of Vermont College, made New York Times and international bestsellers lists and had books published in dozens of countries.

I have taught, edited, and presented in a whole multitude of venues. I am the co-editor of the anthology, Dear Bully, and have published contemporary, fantasy, science fiction and nonfiction with Bloomsbury, Tor, Lerner, Harper Collins and Flux. My published books range from picture books, middle grade, YA, to adult novels, fiction and non-fiction.

As a writing coach, editor, and internationally-bestselling author, I love helping authors craft the best stories that they can, building them word by word and paragraph by paragraph.

WHAT PEOPLE HAVE SAID ABOUT CARRIE:

WRITING COACH OF YOUR DREAMS

Carrie is the writing coach I always dreamed of having. She has such a great balance in her feedback between singing your praises at what is working and giving you honest criticism at what still needs development. Carrie goes above and beyond in her editorial letters, giving very clear and detailed feedback, and her eagerness to answer any questions makes the whole experience of critique—which can be a very vulnerable experience—make you feel like you’re with a trusted friend that you’ve known for years (even though you just met). - Jason Gallagher, author of WHOBERT, WHOEVER. OWL DETECTIVE.

STELLAR WRITING COACH

Carrie is not only whip-smart, savvy, and insightful, she is kind, generous, and real. A stellar writing coach and human being, she gives me priceless creative and professional guidance, but most of all she gives me hope. Her joyful, honest approach to writing is a bright and guiding light. - Nancy Stone

Gentle Encouragement and an Occasional Kick in the Pants

One of the things I enjoyed the most about working with Carrie is that she helped me write the book I wanted to write, not the book she would have preferred I write, or the book she would written in my place. She was vested in helping me express my vision as a writer and as a human being.

One special thing about Carrie as a writing coach and teacher is her understanding of writing psychology. She’s well familiar with the pits of uncertainty and the swamps of despondency a writer can step into, and seems to know just the right thing to say to get the struggling person going again, from gentle encouragement to straight-ahead course correction to even the occasional kick in the pants. - Cathy Carr

Services
Non-Fiction
Children’s Non-Fiction
Fiction
Coming of Age Fantasy Horror Middle Grade Paranormal Romance Young Adult Fantasy
Languages
English (AUS) English (CAN) English (UK) English (US)
Awards
  • IPPY, CYBILS, LAMBDA, MAINE BOOK AWARD
  • Vermont College Distinguished Alum
Certifications
  • MFA
  • BA

Work experience

The Writing Barn

Dec, 2018 — Present

I help authors (published and pre-published) bring their novels to completion.

The Writing Barn

Jan, 2017 — Present

I teach the six-month long Write! Submit! Support! class for the Writing Barn in Austin, focusing on helping authors build their literary life, making connections and support, and also helping them develop their craft.

Rotary International

Jul, 2016 — Present

Marketing and public image trainer for Canada and northern parts of the United States for a 1.2 million-member service organization.

Self-employed

Jan, 2007 — Present

NYT and internationally bestselling author, editor, writing coach and award-winning photographer.

Published in more than 20 countries. Edited more than 500 novels.

Teacher at the Writing Barn's Write! Submit! Support! program focusing on nurturing writers work and helping them to land agents and publishers.

Editor of Dear Bully, an anthology of 70 children's book authors including R.L. Stine, A.S. King, Z Brewer and more.

Part of the Class of 2k7, a marketing writing collective including Jay Asher, Cassandra Claire and Melissa Marr.

Courier Publications

Feb, 2001 — Aug, 2007 (over 6 years)

Award-winning newspaper editor, photographer, columnist and reporter.

Received Maine Press Awards for best column writing, best editorials, sports features, action photos and more.

Flying Course Review

Jan, 1998 — Jan, 2002 (about 4 years)

Poetry editor for literary journal.

Portfolio

Made with Reedsy
Bewilderness: Book One

Cox, Kevin

Sometimes Brave

Wilson, Trista

Developmental Editing
Don't miss this excellent catalyst for one-on-one and classroom discussionToday's top authors for teens and young people come together to share their stories about bullying—as bystanders, as v... read more
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Time Stoppers

Carrie Jones

"A wild and fresh take on fantasy . . . I freaking loved it!" --Lisa McMann, New York Times bestselling author of The Unwanted seriesDiscover the magical town of Aurora in this exhilarating first book in the Time Stoppers series--perfect for fans of Percy Jack... read more
Need

Carrie Jones

In this first book in a YA fantasy series from New York Times bestselling author Carrie Jones, Zara discovers that magic is stirring in her sleepy Maine town . . . and herself.Zara collects phobias the way other high school girls collect lipsticks. Little wond... read more
The humorous and heartfelt tale of a pet earthling finding home. Zira finally gets her own pet earthling, Rolo! Life as a pet is easy, but over the years, Rolo grows bored and starts wondering... read more
Editorial Assessment
Copy Editing
FROM THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF NEED AND CAPTIVATE People keep changing who they are & defining themselves by their own choices, and that's cool most of the time, but not all the time. No, it's not cool all the time at all. Belle is closing in on... read more
Girl, Hero

Carrie Jones

FROM THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF NEED AND CAPTIVATE After landing a lead role in the high school musical, freshman Liliana Faltin is hoping for some stability and happiness in her life. But her mom's live-in boyfriend has a thing for booze, touchi... read more
FROM THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF NEED AND CAPTIVATE Winner of the 2008 Maine Literary Award! Dylan is Belle's true love-maybe even her soulmate. Until one day when Dylan drops the ultimate bomb: he's gay. Where, Belle wonders, does that leave her?... read more
After Obsession

Carrie Jones

Aimee's deceased mother struggled with mental illness & hallucinations, & Aimee thinks it could be hereditary. Alan is Aimee's best friend Courtney's cousin. He is in touch with a kind of spiritual mysticism from his Native American heritage. In a desperate pl... read more
Moe Berg is not a typical baseball player. He's Jewish―very unusual for the major leagues in the 1930s―has a law degree, speaks several languages, and loves traveling the world. He also happens to be a spy for the U.S. government. When World War II begins, Moe... read more
New York Times bestselling author Carrie Jones introduces sassy alien-hunting cheerleader Mana in Flying, the launch of a sparkling new YA Science Fiction series.People have always treated seventeen-year-old Mana as someone in need of protection. She's used to... read more
"A wild and fresh take on fantasy . . . I freaking loved it!" --Lisa McMann, New York Times bestselling author of The Unwanted series, on Time StoppersReturn to the magical town of Aurora in this exhilarating second book in the Time Stoppers series--perfect fo... read more
"Will entice younger fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson." --School Library Journal on Time StoppersNew York Times bestselling author Carrie Jones's sweeping middle-grade fantasy trilogy comes to an epic conclusion as Time Stopper Annie and her friends vent... read more
In the Woods

Carrie Jones

New York Times bestselling author Carrie Jones teams up with acclaimed cowriter Steven Wedel in the supernatural mystery, In the Woods…It should have been just another quiet night on the farm when Logan witnessed the attack, but it wasn’t.Something is in the w... read more

Carrie has 169 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Matthew R.

Matthew R.

Mar, 2024

I would highly recommend Carrie. She was great to work with and provided great feedback.
Joshua B.

Joshua B.

Feb, 2024

Carrie was wonderful to work with. Enthusiastic, supportive, and willing to go the extra mile.
Andrew L.

Andrew L.

Feb, 2024

Carrie was wonderful to work with, thoughtful and thorough!
Joshua B.

Joshua B.

Feb, 2024

I enjoyed working with Carrie who was enthusiastic friendly and skilled. Would definitely recommend.
Ian H.

Ian H.

Feb, 2024

My collaboration with Carrie was terrific! You know how, every once in a while, things turn out better than you ever could have imagined? Working with Carrie was like that. She was kind and understanding when I had questions, she was patient when I experienced software issues and when I needed to take time away from my book to care for my mom. I have enough story ideas floating around in my hea...
Read more

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Carrie and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Carrie

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Jenny DePierre

Jenny D.

Expert editor of genre and literary fiction as well as creative nonfiction, including work with NYT bestselling authors.

New York, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Parul Bavishi

Parul B.

Professional editor with 10 years of experience at Random House, Quercus. Cofounder: London Writers' Salon. Genre: Thrillers, NonFiction, YA

London, United Kingdom

96% reply rate

View profile
Jennifer Udden

Jennifer U.

Former literary agent with 10+ yrs of experience with NYT bestselling and award-winning authors of Scifi/Fantasy/YA/MG/Romance

New York, NY, USA

99% reply rate

View profile