Sophia Kaufman

Sophia Kaufman – Editor

I currently work as an editor at HarperCollins. I love working collaboratively with writers, at all stages of the process!

Overview

I'm an editor based in Manhattan; I'm currently at HarperCollins, and have been a reader for New York Review Books and The Paris Review, and a culture editor for MAYDAY Magazine. I have also worked as a bookstore manager, so I know what kinds of books sell well from the shelves!

While I specialize in developmental, structural, and line edits and working with debut authors, I'm happy to work with you at any stage of your process, from outlining and shaping the initial structure to the final edits before you begin querying. I've worked with previously published authors and writers new to the process, and am happy to meet you where you are!

I love the collaborative process of editing, so I'd be happy to set up a phone call to talk about your project before getting started.

Services
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Humanities & Social Sciences
Fiction
Coming of Age Contemporary Fiction Literary Fiction Romantic Comedy Women's Fiction
Languages
English (US)

Work experience

HarperCollins Publishers

Mar, 2021 — Present

I shepherd my authors through all the steps of publishing, from acquisition to publication, while also assisting a Director and Associate Publisher with their titles. I meet frequently with agents, authors, and scouts, predict market trends, and develop backlist reissues. I also meet with historians, journalists, and culture critics to introduce them to trade publishing and develop potential book proposals.

MAYDAY Magazine

Aug, 2020 — Sep, 2023 (about 3 years)

I developed the culture vertical from scratch, fielded pitches, commissioned essays, edited all pieces for publication, attended pitch meetings, and advised the managing editorial team on growth strategies

The Paris Review

Sep, 2019 — Dec, 2021 (over 2 years)

I read slush submissions in fiction, nonfiction, and poetry, both in the office and on Submittable weekly, provided feedback for editors, recommended certain stories for publication, and sent tiered rejections.

Book Culture

Sep, 2018 — Present

I ordered books for literary fiction and nonfiction genres; hired and managed staff; negotiated with indie presses; evaluated libraries and priced rare and used books; liaised with sales reps and publicists; organized events. I still work here part time as a rare/used book buyer.

Portfolio

“Others Were Emeralds kept me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. With lyrical and moving prose, Lang tells a stunning tale of love, loss, and the true power of friendship. A deep, beautiful novel." — Etaf Rum, New York Times bestselling author of A ... read more
Escape to Florence

Kat Devereaux

Moving between the Second World War and the present, an exhilarating debut novel in the vein of Jennifer Robson, Kate Quinn, and Natasha Lester, about two women, decades apart, whose fates converge in Florence, Italy.Only fourteen, Stella Infuriati is the youn... read more
Pandora

Susan Stokes-Chapman

#1 Sunday Times Bestseller“Lush, evocative and utterly irresistible.”—Jennifer Saint, author of AriadnePrepare to lift the lid on a lush reimagination of the mythological Pandora….Susan Stokes-Chapman’s atmospheric debut, PANDORA, immerses the reader in the da... read more
The Shadow Key: A Novel

Stokes-Chapman, Susan

Sophia has 5 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Rachel K.

Rachel K.

Mar, 2024

Sofia's guidance and expertise as an editor were invaluable to me as a debut author. Her professionalism and dedication to her craft were evident from the start as she patiently answered my every question about the process. Her attention to detail and commitment to quality made me feel confident that my novel would be well-received by agents and publishers alike. Through the developmental edit...
Read more
Will S.

Will S.

Mar, 2024

Sofia copy edited my book of short stories and provided me with a thorough list of corrections and suggestions. Her work and communication through the entire process was professional and courteous. I have no doubt my book will be stronger because of her edits and would happily work with her again!
Craig H.

Craig H.

Mar, 2024

Sophia was the first person to respond of the several people I highlighted, agreeing to take me on as a client. We talked back and forth several times over a couple of weeks while I was making my decision. Finally, I felt comfortable pulling the trigger and signed her on. I was pleased with Sophia's several-page letter detailing her reactions to my book and ideas for improvement. They cluster...
Read more
Steve H.

Steve H.

Feb, 2024

Two of the three parts of our agreement were not completed, due to the large amount of work needed to complete the basic editing portion of the agreement. Sophia was very helpful, but was not able to complete the project as it was presented.
Anne G.

Anne G.

Feb, 2024

Sophia provided an outstanding editorial assessment and query letter review. She is an insightful, dedicated, and generous editor. Her assessment. covered everything from advice about historical context and building up a specific relationship to considering the nuances of a character’s name. She caught issues that other readers had missed, and read changes I made based on her feedback. For my q...
Read more

Professionals similar to Sophia

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Linda Epstein

Linda E.

Literary Agent and Developmental Editor (contemporary/historical/literary fiction, romcom, speculative/SFF, BIPOC, LGBTQ+). Query help, too!

New York, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Jenny Page

Jenny P.

Hello! I’ve worked on bestsellers by Elton John, Candice Carty-Williams, Erica James and Louise Pentland. Love crime and women's fiction.

London, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Margaret Milton

Margaret M.

Highly experienced Project Editor and Proofreader specialising in children's books and non-fiction books for primary education.

Edinburgh, UK

99% reply rate

View profile