Maxim Mitenkov

Maxim Mitenkov - Designer

Minsk

I am a freelance digital artist and illustrator specialized in book covers design and illustrator with over twenty years of experience.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

I am a digital artist and illustrator specialized in book covers design and illustrator. With over twenty years of experience in digital arts, half of them dedicated exclusively to creating illustrations and covers for the international publishing market.

I’m specializing in book covers and illustrations, though I also do an illustration for video and board games, matte painting for cinema etc. Major clients include a HarperCollins Children Books and McGraw-Hill Ryerson.

When I work on a specific project the idea of future illustration is very important to me. When I think of the idea, more often I can already see how it will look. So, when it comes to the idea to implement, I know what I need for this project. I can say that I’m not working too long on changes, trying to achieve what I saw in my imagination. Priority areas of work: surrealism, emotions, dark art. I will try to make your project memorable, bright, original.
Languages
English
Fiction
Action & Adventure
Dystopian
Fantasy
Horror

Awards

  • SICAF'12 Jury special prize on 6th International Digital Cartoon Competition, Korea

Work experience

Freelance illustrator and designer

Vimark Media
January, 2001 – Present (almost 20 years)

Worked as a designer in advertising agencies of Minsk, engaged in the development of corporate style and design web sites. Since 2006 he also worked as a freelancer and worked on creating their own art. In 2012 received a special Jury prize on 6th International Digital Cartoon Competition (SICAF'12, Seoul, Korea). Worked with publishing houses like a HarperCollins Children Books (USA) and McGraw-Hill Ryerson (Canada) on creating art for book covers and illustrations.

Portfolio (4 selected works)

Quake (Pulse Book 3)

Patrick Carman

Set in a cinematic world where telekinetic powers dominate, Quake is the pulse-pounding finale to an epic story of love and revenge for fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner.Faith and Dylan may have stopped the Quinns from destroying the Western State the last time but now the twins have joined forces with Hotspur Chance—the lethal mastermind behind Intels and pulses—and there’s no tell... read more

Set in a cinematic world where telekinetic powers dominate, Quake is the pulse-pounding finale to an epic story of love and revenge for fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner.Faith and Dylan may have stopped the Quinns from destroying the Western State the last time but now the twins have joined forces with Hotspur Chance—the lethal mastermind behind Intels and pulses—and there’s no tell... read more

Tremor (Pulse Book 2)

Patrick Carman

Tremor, the second book in bestselling author Patrick Carman's Pulse trilogy, is filled with more action-packed scenes and romance. Tremor will excite fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner with its richly developed characters and electrifying story of love and revenge.In the year 2051, some people have a second pulse. Like all who have "the pulse," Faith Daniels and Dylan Gilmore have t... read more

Tremor, the second book in bestselling author Patrick Carman's Pulse trilogy, is filled with more action-packed scenes and romance. Tremor will excite fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner with its richly developed characters and electrifying story of love and revenge.In the year 2051, some people have a second pulse. Like all who have "the pulse," Faith Daniels and Dylan Gilmore have t... read more

Pulse

Patrick Carman

Fans of action-packed sci-fi thrillers such as I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will love bestselling author Patrick Carman's Pulse, with its epic action scenes and memorable love story.In the year 2051, Faith Daniels discovers that she can move objects with her mind. This telekinetic ability is called a "pulse," and her mysterious classmate, Dylan Gilmore, has the talent, too.In riveting ... read more

Fans of action-packed sci-fi thrillers such as I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will love bestselling author Patrick Carman's Pulse, with its epic action scenes and memorable love story.In the year 2051, Faith Daniels discovers that she can move objects with her mind. This telekinetic ability is called a "pulse," and her mysterious classmate, Dylan Gilmore, has the talent, too.In riveting ... read more

The Druggist

Todd Croak-Falen

It's been five years since Eric Halman's young daughter was drugged and kidnapped by a man who stalks his victims only on Halloween. Since then he's made it his life's mission to do what the police can't seem to do -- capture this predator (and maybe torture him). But he'll have to be careful, because the worst thing that could happen would be if the druggist somehow got the upper hand and dru... read more

It's been five years since Eric Halman's young daughter was drugged and kidnapped by a man who stalks his victims only on Halloween. Since then he's made it his life's mission to do what the police can't seem to do -- capture this predator (and maybe torture him). But he'll have to be careful, because the worst thing that could happen would be if the druggist somehow got the upper hand and dru... read more

Maxim has 6 reviews

Professionalism
Professionalism
Quality
Quality
Value
Value
Communication & Punctuality
Communication & Punctuality

Tom Fussell
It was an absolute pleasure working with Maxim Mitenkov. With a remarkable ability to bring concepts and words into a visual world, and his blend of the real with the surreal, his skillset fit my book and how I wanted to portray it visually to perfection. This was technically my second time working with Mr. Mitenkov, although it is for the same book Idioms in the Dark for which he has now mad...
Read more

Tom Fussell, November 2020

Maxim Mitenkov
Thank you, Tom.

Reply from Maxim Mitenkov


Tom Fussell
Maxim Mitenkov work and vision exceeded my expectations on both of the illustrations I needed. I immediately requested his continued collaboration on the rest of my project with the utmost confidence in his skill and professionalism.

Tom Fussell, October 2020


garrick skalnor
Did the job in a quick and reasonable frame. As a first time writer he helped me through the process and delivered a great product at the end. He even did some light changes due to my inexperience in giving out needed details. Highly recommend.

garrick skalnor, October 2020


Carlos Serna
After a recent positive engagement with Maxim, I asked him to produce FIVE! illustrations, which he did with excellent quality and speed. I like his imagination, very much fitting the atmosphere I was looking for. I will surely come back for more!

Carlos Serna, August 2020


Donald Cartier
Maxim was professional, quick, and his artwork is amazing. I will use his services without hesitation next time. I highly recommend.

Donald Cartier, August 2020

Read more reviews

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Dan Van Oss

I specialize in Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Thriller covers, and will work with you to make sure your cover is both creative and commercial.

Solon, Iowa, USA

Anthony Christou

I have been a full-time freelance artist for over 5 years. I specialise in the genres of fantasy, horror and sci-fi.

Seaview Downs SA, Australia

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy