Antonia Reed

Antonia Reed - Editor

Former English Editor at Book on a Tree specializing in YA and speculative fiction. Career highlights include writing comics for Disney.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

During my time as English Editor for Book on a Tree and on the editorial team of The Mechanics’ Institute Review, I was involved in all stages of the book development process, from initial brainstorming to proofreading and final tweaks. I can help you step back and make sure the components of your story are working together, and in the best position they can be. I also have a great eye for detail and consistency and have proofread a wide range of fiction and academic pieces, so if it’s a close reading you need, your manuscript is in safe hands with me.

I understand how painful it can be hearing your ‘baby’ isn’t perfect yet. However, writers have praised me for my sensitivity and my ability to articulate how I believe certain changes could improve their story. I am also a sucker for a good redemption arc, so if you want help making your reader cry, I’m your editor!

Ailsa Wood has said: “I worked with Antonia Reed for about a year on my YA novel. She helped me shape, develop and vastly improve the story and structure but was also prepared to spend time discussing any and all aspects of the characters and plot, offering support and advice as well as insightful suggestions and honest criticism. She is well-informed, extremely professional and thorough, with faultless attention to detail and an excellent understanding of the genre we worked on. I enjoyed our discussions and valued her input greatly, and would warmly recommend her as an editor.”
Languages
English (UK)
Fiction
Anthologies
Comics & Graphic Novels
Contemporary Romance
LGBTQ (Fiction)
Magical Realism
Picture Books
Short Story
Young Adult Fantasy

Certifications

  • English BA (1st) University of Cambridge
  • MA Creative Writing (module in Publishing) Birkbeck, University of London

Work experience

Freelance Copy Editor

Bold Books AS
April, 2019 – Present (over 1 year)

English Editor

Book on a Tree
February, 2017 – January, 2019 (almost 2 years)

One of the highlights of this role was being the first editor on the manuscript of The Cutting Edge, a zeitgeist celebration memoir from the man who cut the Beatles' hair, before the book was taken on by Alma Books.

Freelance Writer, Editor and Proofreader

Book on a Tree
December, 2015 – February, 2017 (about 1 year)

Editorial Team

The Mechanics' Institute Review
October, 2011 – September, 2012 (11 months)

Portfolio (9 selected works)

A Shard of Amber Light (Unbroken Book 1)

S.M. Baker

For fans of "The Gender Game" and "Divergent." Enter a world ruled by blood, sacrifice, and slavery.South Dakota, once a part of the United States, is now ruled by warlords. Cienna, a berserker, escapes her ‘master’ Xiao-Chin after years of faithful service, on a bloody battlefield. But she knows Xiao-Chin will not let go easily. With a child, she's desperate to protect, and a man as close as ... read more

For fans of "The Gender Game" and "Divergent." Enter a world ruled by blood, sacrifice, and slavery.South Dakota, once a part of the United States, is now ruled by warlords. Cienna, a berserker, escapes her ‘master’ Xiao-Chin after years of faithful service, on a bloody battlefield. But she knows Xiao-Chin will not let go easily. With a child, she's desperate to protect, and a man as close as ... read more

Disney Storied Places

Rhona Cleary, Eduardo Jauregui, Various

A collection of comics stories built around the magical locations of animated feature films from Disney and Pixar. Visit castles, oceans, jungles, circuses, cities, deserts, and more--set before, during, and after the films!Disney invites you to take a tour through the myriad of places you know and love--from the castles of the Disney Princesses to the diverse cities around the world. Run wild... read more

A collection of comics stories built around the magical locations of animated feature films from Disney and Pixar. Visit castles, oceans, jungles, circuses, cities, deserts, and more--set before, during, and after the films!Disney invites you to take a tour through the myriad of places you know and love--from the castles of the Disney Princesses to the diverse cities around the world. Run wild... read more

The Little Hen With Poop In Her Backpack

Phoenix, H. L., Phoenix, H. L.

The Mechanics' Institute Review Issue 9

Nick Alexander, Jenn Ashworth, Julia Bell, Alison MacLeod

This extraordinary collection of short stories traverses many different worlds. From the smoky banks of the Ganges to the breaking waves of Bali, the characters teeter on the edge of life-changing moments. Problematic false teeth, festering limbs and deadly weapons are all par for the course. Quaff expensive wine and discover the real danger of smoking. The ninth issue of The Mechanics’ Instit... read more

This extraordinary collection of short stories traverses many different worlds. From the smoky banks of the Ganges to the breaking waves of Bali, the characters teeter on the edge of life-changing moments. Problematic false teeth, festering limbs and deadly weapons are all par for the course. Quaff expensive wine and discover the real danger of smoking. The ninth issue of The Mechanics’ Instit... read more

The Cutting Edge: The Story of the Beatles’ Hairdresser Who Defined an Era

Leslie Cavendish

The Beatles' hair changed the world. As their increasingly wild, untamed manes grew, to the horror of parents everywhere, they set off a cultural revolution as the most tangible symbol of the Sixties' psychedelic dream of peace, love and playful rebellion. In the midst of this epochal change was Leslie Cavendish, hairdresser to the Beatles and some of the greatest stars of the music and entert... read more

The Beatles' hair changed the world. As their increasingly wild, untamed manes grew, to the horror of parents everywhere, they set off a cultural revolution as the most tangible symbol of the Sixties' psychedelic dream of peace, love and playful rebellion. In the midst of this epochal change was Leslie Cavendish, hairdresser to the Beatles and some of the greatest stars of the music and entert... read more

A Spell of Wanderlust (Sisters of the Silk Veil)

Cathryn Petit

Why this sudden, fiery curiosity over Aniela and her studio? She heard Kage shift in the bed and pictured his sleeping face, the muscles running down his exposed back. How could she possibly be unhappy?After a traumatic year, Jewell is loving her leisurely life in Southbridge. A new and ambitious term of belly dancing classes is about to start, her work and friends are wonderful, and she and b... read more

Why this sudden, fiery curiosity over Aniela and her studio? She heard Kage shift in the bed and pictured his sleeping face, the muscles running down his exposed back. How could she possibly be unhappy?After a traumatic year, Jewell is loving her leisurely life in Southbridge. A new and ambitious term of belly dancing classes is about to start, her work and friends are wonderful, and she and b... read more

The Mechanics' Institute Review: Issue 11

Hari Kunzru, Alex Preston

In its eleventh annual issue, The Mechanics' Institute Review continues to showcase the best work from Birkbeck's creative writing students, with new stories from award-winners Hari Kunzru and Alex Preston that complement these strong impressive voices. Teeming with life and energy, this compelling collection offers a remarkable range of styles, themes and settings. Beginning with a mushroom a... read more

In its eleventh annual issue, The Mechanics' Institute Review continues to showcase the best work from Birkbeck's creative writing students, with new stories from award-winners Hari Kunzru and Alex Preston that complement these strong impressive voices. Teeming with life and energy, this compelling collection offers a remarkable range of styles, themes and settings. Beginning with a mushroom a... read more

Lydia: A Sisters of the Silk Veil Prequel

Cathryn Petit

The tightening net twists ever and ever more closely around LYDIA CALDWELL as circumstance after circumstance backs her into a corner. Her narrowing world and shoddy coping mechanisms lead to drastic measures. Everyone deserves a chance to tell their story. This is Lydia’s story. Read this Sisters of the Silk Veil short-story prequel to discover the course of events forever altering JEWELL CAL... read more

The tightening net twists ever and ever more closely around LYDIA CALDWELL as circumstance after circumstance backs her into a corner. Her narrowing world and shoddy coping mechanisms lead to drastic measures. Everyone deserves a chance to tell their story. This is Lydia’s story. Read this Sisters of the Silk Veil short-story prequel to discover the course of events forever altering JEWELL CAL... read more

Antonia has 11 reviews

Professionalism
Professionalism
Quality
Quality
Value
Value
Communication & Punctuality
Communication & Punctuality

Timeless novel
It was an absolute pleasure working with Antonia. First, she is a professional, very well informed and with wide general knowledge. The books in her mind are just uncountable. Most important of all, she is very honest and detailed in her assessments, feedbacks, and advices.

Timeless novel, November 2020


Judah M
Working with Antonia was a pleasure. I hired Antonia for an editorial assessment. My book was in the region of 120K words; I received a 40-page word document in return which covered the plot, characters, world-building, pacing, set-up, scene-setting, structure, narrative voice and style, and much, much more. I felt as though Antonia was invested in the project, she'd clearly taken time t...
Read more

Judah M, October 2020


Pablo Mendez
Great job overall. Antonia went far and beyond what I expected and besides editing the story so it would flow better, also provided a ton of useful comments to improve it.

Pablo Mendez, September 2020


Upshur Whittock
Ms. Reed was just flat outstanding. I’ll be able to make my story immeasurably better because of her work. She caught the things I couldn’t see, and gave me specific and detailed thoughts about how I could fix them.

Upshur Whittock, July 2020


Sarah Whitfield
Working with Antonia has been a pleasure. She was professional and helpful throughout and surpassed my expectations. She made meaningful comments and corrections without putting me on the defence. She encouraged me throughout and has made me a stronger writer as a result. She went above and beyond and I look forward to working with her again. Thank you Antonia for all your hard work.

Sarah Whitfield, April 2020

Read more reviews

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Alexandra Antonel

Word nerd of 10+ years. Hails from Harlequin. Copy editor/proofreader. I'll bolster your dangling modifiers and harmonize your homonyms.

Windsor, ON, Canada

Jill French

Over 15 years of editorial experience I copyedit and proofread for authors of fiction and creative non-fiction.

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy