Antonia Reed

Antonia Reed – Editor

Former English Editor at Book on a Tree specializing in YA and speculative fiction. Career highlights include writing comics for Disney.

Overview

During my time as English Editor for Book on a Tree and on the editorial team of The Mechanics’ Institute Review, I was involved in all stages of the book development process, from initial brainstorming to proofreading and final tweaks. I can help you step back and make sure the components of your story are working together, and in the best position they can be. I also have a great eye for detail and consistency and have proofread a wide range of fiction and academic pieces, so if it’s a close reading you need, your manuscript is in safe hands with me.

I understand how painful it can be hearing your ‘baby’ isn’t perfect yet. However, writers have praised me for my sensitivity and my ability to articulate how I believe certain changes could improve their story. I am also a sucker for a good redemption arc, so if you want help making your reader cry, I’m your editor!

Ailsa Wood has said: “I worked with Antonia R. for about a year on my YA novel. She helped me shape, develop and vastly improve the story and structure but was also prepared to spend time discussing any and all aspects of the characters and plot, offering support and advice as well as insightful suggestions and honest criticism. She is well-informed, extremely professional and thorough, with faultless attention to detail and an excellent understanding of the genre we worked on. I enjoyed our discussions and valued her input greatly, and would warmly recommend her as an editor.”
Services
Fiction
Children's Comics & Graphic Novels Contemporary Fiction Dystopian LGBTQ Fiction Magical Realism Short Story Young Adult Fantasy
Languages
English (UK) English (US)
Certifications
  • English BA (1st) University of Cambridge
  • MA Creative Writing (module in Publishing) Birkbeck, University of London

Work experience

Bold Books AS

Apr, 2019 — Present

Book on a Tree

Feb, 2017 — Jan, 2019 (almost 2 years)

One of the highlights of this role was being the first editor on the manuscript of The Cutting Edge, a zeitgeist celebration memoir from the man who cut the Beatles' hair, before the book was taken on by Alma Books.

Book on a Tree

Dec, 2015 — Feb, 2017 (about 1 year)

The Mechanics' Institute Review

Oct, 2011 — Sep, 2012 (11 months)

Portfolio

Made with Reedsy
A Shard of Amber Light (Unbroken Book 1)

S.M. Baker

For fans of "The Gender Game" and "Divergent." Enter a world ruled by blood, sacrifice, and slavery.South Dakota, once a part of the United States, is now ruled by warlords. Cienna, a berserke... read more
Proofreading
Made with Reedsy
Anna

Taylor, R T

Editorial Assessment
Made with Reedsy
Neela: The Blue Pearl

Woods, T.K.

Editorial Assessment
Copy Editing Proofreading
A collection of comics stories built around the magical locations of animated feature films from Disney and Pixar. Visit castles, oceans, jungles, circuses, cities, deserts, and more--set befo... read more
Copy Editing Proofreading
Why this sudden, fiery curiosity over Aniela and her studio? She heard Kage shift in the bed and pictured his sleeping face, the muscles running down his exposed back. How could she possibly b... read more
Copy Editing
Made with Reedsy
Sisters of the Silk Veil: A Troupe Emerges

Petit, Cathryn

Copy Editing
Made with Reedsy
Lydia: A Sisters of the Silk Veil Prequel

Cathryn Petit

The tightening net twists ever and ever more closely around LYDIA CALDWELL as circumstance after circumstance backs her into a corner. Her narrowing world and shoddy coping mechanisms lead to ... read more
Copy Editing
In its eleventh annual issue, The Mechanics' Institute Review continues to showcase the best work from Birkbeck's creative writing students, with new stories from award-winners Hari Kunzru and Alex Preston that complement these strong impressive voices. Teemin... read more
The Beatles' hair changed the world. As their increasingly wild, untamed manes grew, to the horror of parents everywhere, they set off a cultural revolution as the most tangible symbol of the Sixties' psychedelic dream of peace, love and playful rebellion. In ... read more
This extraordinary collection of short stories traverses many different worlds. From the smoky banks of the Ganges to the breaking waves of Bali, the characters teeter on the edge of life-chan... read more
Developmental Editing Copy Editing Proofreading

Antonia has 25 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Michelle M.

Michelle M.

Feb, 2024

Antonia's work is exceptional. She always kept me up to date with the progress of her current projects and was available for further clarification following the completion of her work with me. Antonia was thorough and thoughtful in her report. I felt that she considered the text deeply and gave great insight into how the reader might respond. This is exactly what I needed to make my work strong...
Read more
Antonia R.
Thank you so much Michelle. Can't wait to work with you again!
Shelley F.

Shelley F.

Dec, 2023

I cannot speak highly enough of my experience working with Antonia. She is communicative, professional, and thorough. She clearly paid a great deal of attention to my manuscript, and this was borne out in the actionable and considered feedback she gave. Everything ran incredibly smoothly and on-schedule. This was some of the best money I have ever put towards my writing, and I feel very confide...
Read more
Antonia R.
Thank you so much Shelley. It's been a pleasure working with you, I can't wait to see where your fabulous story goes from here!
George A.

George A.

Nov, 2023

Antonia did a marvelous, painstaking review. No detail was too small to catch her eye, and she even did a lot of fact-checking on my historical novel. At the same time she sensitively evaluated its arc and pacing. It was a joy to read her insightful and often surprising comments. She clearly liked the main character, and went all-out to wrestle her story into a more powerful form. I was satisfi...
Read more
Antonia R.
Thank you very much George, it's a pleasure working with you.
Kevin R.

Kevin R.

Nov, 2023

Antonia was incredibly professional and supportive. She is incredibly knowledgeable, but I think the most valuable thing she provided me in my developmental edit was the outside reader's perspective. She took the time to give me insight that an average reader might have and that is incredibly useful information. I'd happily work with her again!
Antonia R.
Thank you Kevin, can't wait to work with you again.
Edward V.

Edward V.

Aug, 2023

Working with Antonia was one of the very best decisions I could make in regards to my work. She is professionallisum incarnate! The feedback she gave me was in depth and flowed for easy understanding. I found all of her points to be valid and she helped me see where I could improve and what other options were open to me when it came to approaching my work. It is because of her that I now see my...
Read more
Antonia R.
Thank you so much Edward! It's been a pleasure working with you, and I look forward to helping you again in the future.

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Antonia and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Antonia

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Olive Wexler

Olive W.

Current literary scout and writer with a specialty in YA titles--from pitch to final draft I'll bring positivity and trade market knowledge!

New York, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Adam Rau

Adam R.

17 years experience editing graphic novels at Scholastic's Graphix imprint, as well as picture books, Middle-Grade novels, and YA novels.

Jersey City, NJ, USA

99% reply rate

View profile
Griffin Smith

Griffin S.

Book Editor | Fiction Developmental Editor | Copyediting and Proofreading Services.

Park City, UT, USA

100% reply rate

View profile