Antonia Reed

Antonia Reed - Editor

Leicester, UK

Former English Editor at Book on a Tree specializing in YA and speculative fiction. Career highlights include writing comics for Disney.

Request a quote
Reedsy profile URL https://reedsy.com/antonia-reed
Verified identity

Overview

Reviews (4)
During my time as English Editor for Book on a Tree and on the editorial team of The Mechanics’ Institute Review, I was involved in all stages of the book development process, from initial brainstorming to proofreading and final tweaks. I can help you step back and make sure the components of your story are working together, and in the best position they can be. I also have a great eye for detail and consistency and have proofread a wide range of fiction and academic pieces, so if it’s a close reading you need, your manuscript is in safe hands with me.

I understand how painful it can be hearing your ‘baby’ isn’t perfect yet. However, writers have praised me for my sensitivity and my ability to articulate how I believe certain changes could improve their story. I am also a sucker for a good redemption arc, so if you want help making your reader cry, I’m your editor!

Ailsa Wood has said: “I worked with Antonia Reed for about a year on my YA novel. She helped me shape, develop and vastly improve the story and structure but was also prepared to spend time discussing any and all aspects of the characters and plot, offering support and advice as well as insightful suggestions and honest criticism. She is well-informed, extremely professional and thorough, with faultless attention to detail and an excellent understanding of the genre we worked on. I enjoyed our discussions and valued her input greatly, and would warmly recommend her as an editor.”
Languages
English (UK)
Fiction
Anthologies
Comics & Graphic Novels
Contemporary Fiction
LGBTQ (Fiction)
Magical Realism
Young Adult Fantasy

Certifications

  • English BA (1st) University of Cambridge
  • MA Creative Writing (module in Publishing) Birkbeck, University of London

Work experience

Freelance Copy Editor

Bold Books AS
April, 2019 – Present (8 months)

English Editor

Book on a Tree
February, 2017 – January, 2019 (almost 2 years)

One of the highlights of this role was being the first editor on the manuscript of The Cutting Edge, a zeitgeist celebration memoir from the man who cut the Beatles' hair, before the book was taken on by Alma Books.

Freelance Writer, Editor and Proofreader

Book on a Tree
December, 2015 – February, 2017 (about 1 year)

Editorial Team

The Mechanics' Institute Review
October, 2011 – September, 2012 (11 months)

Portfolio (6 selected works)

A Shard of Amber Light (Unbroken Book 1)

S.M. Baker

For fans of "The Gender Game" and "Divergent." Enter a world ruled by blood, sacrifice, and slavery.South Dakota, once a part of the United States, is now ruled by warlords. Cienna, a berserker, escapes her ‘master’ Xiao-Chin after years of faithful service, on a bloody battlefield. But she knows Xiao-Chin will not let go easily. With a child, she's desperate to protect, and a man as close as ... read more

For fans of "The Gender Game" and "Divergent." Enter a world ruled by blood, sacrifice, and slavery.South Dakota, once a part of the United States, is now ruled by warlords. Cienna, a berserker, escapes her ‘master’ Xiao-Chin after years of faithful service, on a bloody battlefield. But she knows Xiao-Chin will not let go easily. With a child, she's desperate to protect, and a man as close as ... read more

Lydia: A Sisters of the Silk Veil Prequel

Cathryn Petit

The tightening net twists ever and ever more closely around LYDIA CALDWELL as circumstance after circumstance backs her into a corner. Her narrowing world and shoddy coping mechanisms lead to drastic measures. Everyone deserves a chance to tell their story. This is Lydia’s story. Read this Sisters of the Silk Veil short-story prequel to discover the course of events forever altering JEWELL CAL... read more

The tightening net twists ever and ever more closely around LYDIA CALDWELL as circumstance after circumstance backs her into a corner. Her narrowing world and shoddy coping mechanisms lead to drastic measures. Everyone deserves a chance to tell their story. This is Lydia’s story. Read this Sisters of the Silk Veil short-story prequel to discover the course of events forever altering JEWELL CAL... read more

Disney Storied Places

Rhona Cleary, Eduardo Jauregui, Various

A collection of comics stories built around the magical locations of animated feature films from Disney and Pixar. Visit castles, oceans, jungles, circuses, cities, deserts, and more--set before, during, and after the films!Disney invites you to take a tour through the myriad of places you know and love--from the castles of the Disney Princesses to the diverse cities around the world. Run wild... read more

A collection of comics stories built around the magical locations of animated feature films from Disney and Pixar. Visit castles, oceans, jungles, circuses, cities, deserts, and more--set before, during, and after the films!Disney invites you to take a tour through the myriad of places you know and love--from the castles of the Disney Princesses to the diverse cities around the world. Run wild... read more

The Mechanics' Institute Review: Issue 11

Hari Kunzru, Alex Preston

In its eleventh annual issue, The Mechanics' Institute Review continues to showcase the best work from Birkbeck's creative writing students, with new stories from award-winners Hari Kunzru and Alex Preston that complement these strong impressive voices. Teeming with life and energy, this compelling collection offers a remarkable range of styles, themes and settings. Beginning with a mushroom a... read more

In its eleventh annual issue, The Mechanics' Institute Review continues to showcase the best work from Birkbeck's creative writing students, with new stories from award-winners Hari Kunzru and Alex Preston that complement these strong impressive voices. Teeming with life and energy, this compelling collection offers a remarkable range of styles, themes and settings. Beginning with a mushroom a... read more

The Mechanics' Institute Review Issue 9

Nick Alexander, Jenn Ashworth, Julia Bell, Alison MacLeod

This extraordinary collection of short stories traverses many different worlds. From the smoky banks of the Ganges to the breaking waves of Bali, the characters teeter on the edge of life-changing moments. Problematic false teeth, festering limbs and deadly weapons are all par for the course. Quaff expensive wine and discover the real danger of smoking. The ninth issue of The Mechanics’ Instit... read more

This extraordinary collection of short stories traverses many different worlds. From the smoky banks of the Ganges to the breaking waves of Bali, the characters teeter on the edge of life-changing moments. Problematic false teeth, festering limbs and deadly weapons are all par for the course. Quaff expensive wine and discover the real danger of smoking. The ninth issue of The Mechanics’ Instit... read more

The Cutting Edge: The Story of the Beatles’ Hairdresser Who Defined an Era

Leslie Cavendish

The Beatles' hair changed the world. As their increasingly wild, untamed manes grew, to the horror of parents everywhere, they set off a cultural revolution as the most tangible symbol of the Sixties' psychedelic dream of peace, love and playful rebellion. In the midst of this epochal change was Leslie Cavendish, hairdresser to the Beatles and some of the greatest stars of the music and entert... read more

The Beatles' hair changed the world. As their increasingly wild, untamed manes grew, to the horror of parents everywhere, they set off a cultural revolution as the most tangible symbol of the Sixties' psychedelic dream of peace, love and playful rebellion. In the midst of this epochal change was Leslie Cavendish, hairdresser to the Beatles and some of the greatest stars of the music and entert... read more

Antonia has 4 reviews

Professionalism
Professionalism
Quality
Quality
Value
Value
Communication & Punctuality
Communication & Punctuality

Cathryn Petit
I am delighted to conclude another successful collaboration with Antonia. She is professional, efficient and talented. She has a keen manner of capturing the essence of my story and making it shine. I hope to continue to work with her on future projects.

Cathryn Petit, November 2019


Alison Weber
Great communication and eye for detail! She kept me updated at least once or twice a week with progress. Received my manuscript and am blown away with the quality of work! I am very happy with Antonia as my developmental editor. Definitely will be reaching out to her with future projects.

Alison Weber, August 2019


Cathryn Petit
Antonia quickly grasped the aim of my project. She reworked sentences to lend a smoother flow and struck through words or phrases with the potential to pull readers from my story. She responds quickly to emails and is very pleasant. I plan to work with her again and highly recommend her for your next project!

Cathryn Petit, July 2019


Sara Baker
If you're looking for one of the best professional, caring and detail-oriented editors, then hire Antonia Reed. She is wonderful to work with, and her feedback and edits are incredibly valuable and helpful. I would work with her on another draft if given the opportunity at any time.

Sara Baker, July 2019

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Loan Le

Associate editor at Atria (Simon and Schuster). Edits literary short stories and novels, women's fiction, psych thrillers. MFA in fiction.

New York, NY, USA

Fiona McLaren

Shaping novels into the best version of an author's vision. Former clients published by HarperTeen, Macmillan, and more. US and UK markets.

Limassol, Cyprus

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy