Sarah Fabiny

Sarah Fabiny – Editor

Children's book specialist with 30+ years experience and 50+ books published. Clients include Penguin Random House, Disney, and NickJr.

Overview

Let me help you take your children's book idea or manuscript to the next level!

I worked in the children's book publishing industry for over 30 years, most recently as Associate Publisher & Editorial Director at Penguin Random House. I have overseen publishing programs that include everything from board books for babies and fiction for middle schoolers, to leveled readers for beginning readers and non-fiction for tweens and teens. I'm also the author of over 50 children's books, which include picture books (fiction and non-fiction), board books, beginning readers, activity books, and non-fiction. I've also worked as a consultant for several book publishers and book packagers, in the US and the UK.

I am experienced with and excel at both developmental and big picture editing, am happy to do close-up and thorough line editing, and have a keen eye for proofreading. I'm a true word nerd and love nothing more than getting a turn of phrase just right. I'm experienced, reliable, and I deliver on time.

I'd love to discuss your project with you, whether it's just an idea or a finished manuscript. Together we can take your project to the next level. So please do get in touch.
Services
Non-Fiction
Children’s Non-Fiction
Fiction
Middle Grade Picture Books
Languages
English (US)

Work experience

Self-employed

Sep, 2018 — Present

Work with a variety of children’s publishers and book packagers to create book concepts and revise text across fiction and non-fiction categories.

Penguin Random House

Oct, 2011 — Sep, 2018 (almost 7 years)

Oversaw the publishing program across five children’s imprints within the Penguin Young Readers Group. Worked closely with Publisher to ensure that programs met creative and financial expectations. Liaised with Sales teams to create bespoke product for specific sales channels. Assisted Marketing and Publicity teams in development of plans for lead titles. Directly managed an editorial staff of 10 people.

Portfolio

Birthday on Mars!

Schonfeld, Sara

Tomorrow I'll Be Brave

Hische, Jessica

Are You Eating Candy without Me?

Malesevic, Draga Jenny

Rock Star #1 (Jada Jones)

Kelly Starling Lyons

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy engaging with science-loving Jada Jones in this easy-to-read chapter book.When Jada Jones's best friend moves away, school feels like the last place she wants to be. She'd much rather wander outside looking fo... read more
Dolly Parton lends the lyrics of her classic song "Coat of Many Colors" to this heartfelt picture book for young readers.Country music legend Dolly Parton's rural upbringing in the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee provides the backdrop for this special picture boo... read more
"Cute and familiar." - KirkusFrom New York Times Best-Selling illustrator, Kathryn Durst and Penguin Workshop editors and authors, Renee Hooker and Karl Jones comes a tale of a young girl who imagines her family as a pandemonium of parrots, a swarm of bees, a ... read more
Hank stars the same Hank as in the bestselling Hank Zipzer series, only this time he's in 2nd grade! Hank is a kid who doesn't try to be funny, but he somehow always makes the kids in his class laugh. He's pretty bad at memorizing stuff, and spelling is his wo... read more
Prepare to be amazed as Louise (AKA The Great Louweezie) predicts the future in the first book of this easy-to-read series!Arnold is a large black bear. His best friend, Louise, is a small chipmunk. But one day, Louise insists she is NOT Louise--she's the Grea... read more
Gustav and Fernie continue their journey through Dark Country in this new title!In the final installment of Adam-Troy Castro's creepy Gustav Gloom series, the fate of the Dark Country rests on Gustav and Fernie's shoulders. After weeks of traveling on a quest ... read more
For fans of Elephant & Piggie and Frog & Toad comes an easy-to-read series about another unlikely pair: Croc and Ally. These two best friends don't always see things the same way, but there's one thing they do agree on--their friendship comes first!Croc is gru... read more
Celebrate love with #1 New York Times Best-Selling Title! “You are the cherry on my cake; you make the sun shine brighter; you make my heart flutter.” Using a range of images from the World of Eric Carle, and featuring the Very Hungry Caterpillar, this special... read more
Discover the alphabet from a bird's-eye view!Geographer and designer duo Benedikt Gross and Joey Lee have taken the alphabet to new heights—literally! Using satellite imagery and computer technology, the pair has discovered "accidental letters" all over the wo... read more
The crayons are back and brighter than ever in this board book of colors from the creators of the #1 New York Times Best Sellers, The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home.It's Duncan's birthday, and all the crayons want to make him a card! Wi... read more
Act 1 (Jack & Louisa)

Andrew Keenan-Bolger

A show-stopping series about life in the spotlight from Broadway actors and internet sensations Andrew Keenan-Bolger and Kate Wetherhead Twelve-year-old Jack Goodrich was a Broadway star, with two shows under his belt and a third in rehearsals. But when his vo... read more
When Zia Donatella comes to live with the Bertolizzi family, little do Alfie and his older sister Emilia know what's in store for them. Zia Dontella is determined to show the kids how a home-cooked meal is better than even the best take-out pizza or burrito. A... read more
From New York Times best-selling authors Michael I. Bennett, MD and Sarah Bennett--a book for teens that shows readers that we all deal with crap in our lives and how to laugh at some of the things we can't control.Being a teenager can suck. Your friends can b... read more
The Disney Princesses sparkle and shine in this Mad Libs collection, complete with a pull-out sticker sheet.Ariel, Aurora, Belle, Cinderella, Jasmine, Merida, Moana, Mulan, Pocahontas, Rapunzel, Snow White, and Tiana star in an oversized book of fill-in-the-bl... read more
All paws on deck! The rescue pups of Nickelodeon's PAW Patrol are teaming up with Mad Libs Junior to bring you 21 ADJECTIVE new stories about their pawsome team!Anything is pawsible with Mad Libs Junior! This fun and interactive format is a take on traditional... read more
Without risking life or limb, readers can explore the wonders and beauty of the Amazon in this Where Is...? title.Human beings have inhabited the banks of the Amazon River since 13,000 BC and yet they make up just a small percentage of the "population" of this... read more
Find out all about NASA in this out-of-this-world addition to the What Was? series. The National Aeronautics and Space Administration, better known as NASA, began in 1958. With its creation, the United States hoped to ensure it won the space race against the S... read more
As a field reporter in the 1960s, Gloria Steinem worked hard to dig up important stories. She went undercover to expose the grim realities of gender inequality in America. As her message continued to grow, she became the spokeswoman of the women’s liberation m... read more
You can always recognize a painting by Kahlo because she is in nearly all--with her black braided hair and colorful Mexican outfits. A brave woman who was an invalid most of her life, she transformed herself into a living work of art. As famous for her self-po... read more

Sarah has 57 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Kaitlyn E.

Kaitlyn E.

Jan, 2024

I greatly appreciated Sarah's insight on my story; specifically the pacing notes were very helpful! I am confident that my story is better for working with Sarah. I am excited to say my book is now under contract with an illustrator. I look forward to hiring Sarah again for a final copy edit before we go to press!
Sarah F.
Thanks for the review, Kaitlyn. It was a pleasure working with you. I appreciated and admired your dedication and passion to making sure your story stayed true to your vision, while remaining open ...
Read more
roger R.

roger R.

Oct, 2023

Sarah was wonderful to work with. She is professional, experienced, and efficient. Sarah had great feedback and suggestions and I highly recommend her and will definitely work with her again in the future.
Sarah F.
Thanks, Roger! I really enjoyed my collaboration with Roger. He was professional, punctual, a great communicator, a good self-editor, and was genuinely interested in improving his work. I'd be happ...
Read more
Rita S.

Rita S.

Apr, 2023

Sarah did an outstanding job on my manuscript. She pointed out a plot discrepancy and offered suggestions on how to correct it. I appreciated her feedback and thanks to her my manuscript shines.
Sarah F.
Thank you, Rita; I enjoyed working with you. You were open to suggestions and genuinely wanted to hear how to improve your writing. I'd be happy to collaborate with you again.
Jacqueline P W.

Jacqueline P W.

Apr, 2023

Sarah's flexibility in working with my schedule was vital in getting the best out of this collaboration. But, I must note that her detailed review of my children's book manuscript provided great insight for me to improve the document.
Sarah F.
Thanks for this, Jacqueline. I enjoyed our collaboration. You were open to suggestions, asked great questions, and did a fantastic job revising. I'd be happy to work together again!
Patricia A.

Patricia A.

Mar, 2023

It was such a pleasure as to work with Sarah on my edits. She is professional, quick and very valuable. I highly recommend her for any type of editing. Thank you for helping me!! Patricia
Sarah F.
Thank you, Patricia. I admire your determination to improve your work and to get it out there in front of as many readers as possible.

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Sarah and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Sarah

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Malcolm Croft

Malcolm C.

Bestselling author, editor, commissioning editor, packager and publishing consultant. Will work for biscuits.

Bristol, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Ruth Austin

Ruth A.

Developmental editor specializing in children's picture books, board books, and activity books. Editor of a #1 New York Times Best Seller.

Seattle, WA, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Christie Hainsby

Christie H.

Professional editor specialising in writing, editing and proofreading prose and rhyming children's books.

Bracknell, UK

95% reply rate

View profile