Oonagh Stransky

Oonagh Stransky - Translator

Arezzo, Province of Arezzo, Italy

As editor of fiction and translator of Italian literature for the past 20 years, I want to help you polish your manuscript or sample text.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

I am available for editing and translating jobs. Tell me about your project.

Is it a short story, part of a novel, a complete manuscript?How long have you been working on it? What are your goals? How can I help you? Do you need it edited or translated from the Italian?

I'll read over your project let you know if I'm the right person for it. Then I'll make an offer and we can discuss the nuts and bolts of how I work. Keep in mind that when I finish editing or translating your work it will be ready for publication/submission. We can talk by phone, whatsapp, or skype.

In the past, I've worked with major publishing houses in both the US and UK (Penguin, Random House, Knopf, City Lights, Harvill, Maclehose Press) and my work has been reviewed in all major newspapers and magazines, such as the NYTimes, LA Times, Washington Post, Guardian, and others. Sometimes I collaborate with agents and publishers and I even scout out contemporary Italian writers that I think would appeal to the English language reading public.

In terms of genres, I've translated detective novels, historical novels, culinary history, children's writing, political writing, travel literature, short stories and personal essays. I've edited biographies, novels, and cookbooks.
Services
Book Translation
Languages
Italian to English
Fiction
Coming of Age
Historical Romance
Literary Fiction
Mystery & Crime
Short Story
Women's Fiction
Non-Fiction
Cooking, Food, Wine, & Spirits
Inspirational

Certifications

  • PEN member
  • ALTA member

Awards

  • Dublin Prize nominee
  • Silver Dagger Crime Award
  • The Florentine short story award

Work experience

TRANSLATOR OF ITALIAN LITERATURE

Self-employed
January, 2000 – Present (over 21 years)

I am a full-time freelance translator of Italian literature.

Portfolio (11 selected works)

Incroci

Tullio Pericoli

A volte sembra che Tullio Pericoli scriva con la stessa matita che usa per disegnare – magari quel mozzicone minuscolo che tiene sempre pronto in tasca per ogni evenienza. Ma la matita di Pericoli è anche il suo contrario, una gomma che serve per cancellare tutto quanto appare superfluo. Lo dimostra questo libro, dove Pericoli schizza a memoria ventidue profili di persone che ha incontrato, e ... read more

A volte sembra che Tullio Pericoli scriva con la stessa matita che usa per disegnare – magari quel mozzicone minuscolo che tiene sempre pronto in tasca per ogni evenienza. Ma la matita di Pericoli è anche il suo contrario, una gomma che serve per cancellare tutto quanto appare superfluo. Lo dimostra questo libro, dove Pericoli schizza a memoria ventidue profili di persone che ha incontrato, e ... read more

Cinquanta in blu

Aa. Vv., Gian Mauro Costa, Marco Malvaldi, Santo Piazzese, Francesco Recami, Alessandro Robecchi, Gaetano Savatteri, Giampaolo Simi, Fabio Stassi

Per i 50 anni della casa editrice alcuni autori Sellerio hanno tratto dallo scaffale un libro del catalogo per raccontarlo in una nuova avvincente trama. Ne sono nate otto avventure straordinarie.

Per i 50 anni della casa editrice alcuni autori Sellerio hanno tratto dallo scaffale un libro del catalogo per raccontarlo in una nuova avvincente trama. Ne sono nate otto avventure straordinarie.

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric crime noir series - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.Florence, 1967. It is winter, and one year has passed since the historic and devastating flood of the Arno, though the memories of that day still ... read more

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric crime noir series - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.Florence, 1967. It is winter, and one year has passed since the historic and devastating flood of the Arno, though the memories of that day still ... read more

The Watercolourist

Beatrice Masini

Winner of the Premio Selezione Campiello prize and the Premio Alessandro Manzoni award for best historical novel, The Watercolourist is the irresistible Italian bestseller from Beatrice Masini.Nineteenth-century Italy. A young woman arrives at a beautiful villa in the countryside outside Milan. Bianca, a gifted young watercolourist, has been commissioned to illustrate the plants in the magnifi... read more

Winner of the Premio Selezione Campiello prize and the Premio Alessandro Manzoni award for best historical novel, The Watercolourist is the irresistible Italian bestseller from Beatrice Masini.Nineteenth-century Italy. A young woman arrives at a beautiful villa in the countryside outside Milan. Bianca, a gifted young watercolourist, has been commissioned to illustrate the plants in the magnifi... read more

Happiness in This Life: A Passionate Meditation on Earthly Existence

Pope Francis

A collection of homilies, speeches, and “messages of the day” that brings together Pope Francis’s wisdom on finding happiness in the here and now For Pope Francis, the appreciation of our everyday lives is a spiritual undertaking. Joy is a divine attribute, and creating joy around us an essential part of faith. Every homily and speech in this book delivers, in warm, engaging language accessibl... read more

A collection of homilies, speeches, and “messages of the day” that brings together Pope Francis’s wisdom on finding happiness in the here and now For Pope Francis, the appreciation of our everyday lives is a spiritual undertaking. Joy is a divine attribute, and creating joy around us an essential part of faith. Every homily and speech in this book delivers, in warm, engaging language accessibl... read more

The Name of God Is Mercy

Pope Francis

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In his first book published as Pope, and in conjunction with the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy, Pope Francis here invites all humanity to an intimate and personal dialogue on the subject closest to his heart—mercy—which has long been the cornerstone of his faith and is now the central teaching of his papacy. In this conversation with Vatican reporter Andrea Torniel... read more

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In his first book published as Pope, and in conjunction with the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy, Pope Francis here invites all humanity to an intimate and personal dialogue on the subject closest to his heart—mercy—which has long been the cornerstone of his faith and is now the central teaching of his papacy. In this conversation with Vatican reporter Andrea Torniel... read more

Conclave

Roberto Pazzi

THE CONCLAVE, the gathering of the world’s Roman Catholic cardinals at the Vatican in complete isolation and secrecy after the death of the pope in order to elect a new spiritual leader, is the setting for Roberto Pazzi’s latest novel, a magical fable rooted in the realities of today. A week, a month, four months go by and still the cardinals cannot come to a decision. The world outside grows ... read more

THE CONCLAVE, the gathering of the world’s Roman Catholic cardinals at the Vatican in complete isolation and secrecy after the death of the pope in order to elect a new spiritual leader, is the setting for Roberto Pazzi’s latest novel, a magical fable rooted in the realities of today. A week, a month, four months go by and still the cardinals cannot come to a decision. The world outside grows ... read more

Born Twice (Vintage International)

Giuseppe Pontiggia

When a breach birth leaves Paulo severely disabled, his father, the articulate, unsentimental Professor Frigerio, struggles to come to terms with his son’s condition. Face to face with his own limitations, Frigerio confronts the strange way society around him handles Paolo’s handicaps and observes his surprising gifts. In spare, deeply affecting episodes, the professor of language explores the... read more

When a breach birth leaves Paulo severely disabled, his father, the articulate, unsentimental Professor Frigerio, struggles to come to terms with his son’s condition. Face to face with his own limitations, Frigerio confronts the strange way society around him handles Paolo’s handicaps and observes his surprising gifts. In spare, deeply affecting episodes, the professor of language explores the... read more

Almost Blue

Carlo Lucarelli

A serial killer is terrorising the students of Bologna. Rookie female detective Grazia Negro is determined to solve the case. Only one eye witness can positively identify the killer ...and he's blind. Simone spends his days in solitude, listening to Elvis Costello's "Almost Blue" and scanning the radio wave of the city to eavesdrop on other people's lives. He likes to imagine what people are l... read more

A serial killer is terrorising the students of Bologna. Rookie female detective Grazia Negro is determined to solve the case. Only one eye witness can positively identify the killer ...and he's blind. Simone spends his days in solitude, listening to Elvis Costello's "Almost Blue" and scanning the radio wave of the city to eavesdrop on other people's lives. He likes to imagine what people are l... read more

The Reprisal: A Novel

Bonanni, Laudomia, Stewart, Susan, Teardo, Sara

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Francesca Barbanera

Experienced and award-winning literary translator (English/Spanish into Italian) with almost 50 publications on the market.

Florence, Metropolitan City of Florence, Italy

Caroline Waight

Award-winning literary translator working from Danish and German into English. My clients include Penguin, Harper Collins and Hachette.

London, UK

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy