Cristina Popple

Cristina Popple – Translator

Bilingual translator for 15 years, avid reader for 35. I love translating because it opens new worlds, especially travel, art, and fiction.

Overview

I am now a full time translator, but in the past I worked at a Literary Agency (8 years) and as Acquisitions Editor for a young publishing house (2 years), so I am familiar with the entire publishing process. I have worked extensively with fiction and narrative non-fiction, both from English to Italian and vice versa. I particularly enjoy working in the areas of art, fantasy, sci-fi, literary fiction, and comic books, but I am quite versatile and curious. The most recent project I worked on was the script for a cartoon movie on the bear Wojtek. In general I like interacting with authors and am very open to suggestions and discussions, as long as all parties keep an open mind and tones are friendly. I am willing to either submit a finished translation at the end or deliver by instalments. The translation I deliver will always be edited, by myself or by a highly experienced colleague, but I will never entrust a third party with your book without your explicit written consent. If you want to know more about my work process, I'd love to chat on skype, whatsapp or any other platform to make sure we're on the same page before we begin.
Services
Fiction
Action & Adventure Comics & Graphic Novels Literary Fiction Psychological Thriller Urban Fantasy
Non-Fiction
Art Travel
Languages
English to Italian Italian to English

Work experience

Spider&Fish

Jan, 2013 — Jan, 2016 (about 3 years)

Nabu International Literary & Film Agency

Oct, 2007 — Jan, 2016 (over 8 years)

In this role I attended the major international fairs and selected foreign publishers and authors to represent in Italy. I also selected Italian authors to represent on foreign markets. My job included preparing materials and catalogs for both.

Self Employed

Mar, 2005 — Present

Portfolio

The epitome of the diva as artist, Maria Callas is brought vividly to life in this fantastic album-like compilation of archival photographs, personal documents and newspaper clippings from Callas’ own collection. The images and articles preserved by Callas are... read more
The Eye of the Storm

Ilaria Goffredo

Southern Italy, January 1943.Elisa is eighteen; she is a simple girl and lives with her father Vito and her older brother Antonio. Her life is marked by a sad and sometimes terrifying monotony: insufficient rations, submission to the men of the house, retaliat... read more
A story of rebirth and courage set in Verona, the romantic city of Romeo and Juliet.What would happen if one day you woke up and discovered the last five years of your life were just a dream? That the boy you loved and lost never existed?If you can’t trust you... read more
In this precious and delightful book, Felice Beato and his outstanding photos transport the reader to the world of fascination and mystery of 19th-century Japan. An extraordinary collection of eighty pictures from the Alinari Archives located in Florence, Ital... read more
What a Girl Wants

Angie Coleman

A heartwarming romance perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Sophie Kinsella. Gillian Bennett has always dreamed of opening a luxury hat shop, and when she finds the opportunity of a lifetime in the shape of a rent-free shop she thinks her dreams have come true... read more
Ogni giorno, al lavoro, trasmettiamo e rispondiamo a migliaia di messaggi non verbali. Per esempio i cenni di saluto e le occhiate, amichevoli o meno, che intercettiamo mentre attraversiamo un ufficio affollato; i movimenti facciali durante una riunione; l’esp... read more
Come la FIFA ha sepolto il più grande scandalo della storia del calcioIl racconto inedito dello scandalo che ha sconvolto la FIFA: uno dei casi più eclatanti degli ultimi anni, che ha coinvolto decine di paesi e non ha risparmiato nessun evento recente di uno ... read more
In onda su Netflix la serie The OriginalsBasato sulla serie cult The Vampire DiariesLouisiana, 1788. I vampiri più antichi della terra, i fratelli Klaus, Elijah e Rebekah, hanno scoperto a loro spese che condividere il territorio con altre creature soprannatur... read more
Ha rovinato la carriera di giovani geni promettenti.Ha polverizzato grandi fortune e ridotto aziende sul lastrico. Ha reso le avversità insopportabili e trasformato ogni sforzo in umiliazione. Qual è il suo nome? Ego. Il nemico dell’ambizione, del successo, de... read more
Il compito del team coach è semplicemente quello di far pensare meglio la squadra, di creare spazio e fornire protezione e ispirazione per una riflessione migliore su processi e pratiche della squadra. In definitiva, la riflessione è la chiave per costruire un... read more
Bookshots: una serie innovativa di romanzi originali ideata e realizzata dall’autore di thriller più venduto nel mondoVeloci. Avvincenti. Nuovi. Da leggere tutti d’un fiato. Il male ha trovato un nuovo divertimentoÈ un brutto colpo per David Shelley, ex agente... read more
Bookshots: una serie innovativa di romanzi originali ideata e realizzata dall’autore di thriller più venduto nel mondoVeloci. Avvincenti. Nuovi. Da leggere tutti d’un fiato. «Alex Cross, sto venendo a prenderti. Anche se dovessi tornare dall'inferno.» Gary Son... read more

Professionals similar to Cristina

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Marybeth Timmermann

Marybeth T.

ATA-certified French to English translator specializing in literature, academic writing, and copyediting/proofreading.

Greenville, IL, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Barbara Ostrop

Barbara O.

English to German. Experience of 27 years and 100 novels. Women´s fiction, historical novels, fantasy, crime fiction, thriller and more.

Stolberg, Germany

100% reply rate

View profile
Dolors Gallart

Dolors G.

In 30 years of career, I have translated more than 100 books, from English and French to Spanish. Every new book is still a thrill for me.

Barcelona, Spain

100% reply rate

View profile