tom sanderson

tom sanderson – Designer

Graphic designer and art director with over 15 years experience working in the publishing industry.

Overview

I have been lucky enough to work in the publishing industry as a book cover designer for many years. Some of the publishers I have worked with include Penguin Random House, Hachette Books, Simon and Schuster, Orion and Bloomsbury. I work across many genres, including, thrillers, fiction, Young Adult and teen fiction. Some of the authors I have designed covers for include, Philip Pullman, James Patterson, Douglas Adams, Roald Dahl and Stephen Hawking.

I am passionate about design and books. Making them look as great as possible is a very rewarding part of my job, and I look forward to giving your story a fantastic cover.
Services
Fiction
Fantasy Middle Grade Middle Grade Fantasy Mystery & Crime Thriller & Suspense Young Adult Fantasy
Awards
  • Shortlisted for the ABC Awards SciFi/Fantasy category 2014

Work experience

Self-employed

Feb, 2011 — Present

I have been running a successful design company since 2011.

Penguin Random House

Jan, 2005 — Jan, 2010 (about 5 years)

I was a designer at Penguin Children's Books for many years working on many cutting edge projects.

Portfolio

Kushiel's Dart

Jacqueline Carey

Winner of the Locus Award for Best First Novel.Kushiel’s Dart is an intoxicating fantasy of intrigue, betrayal and desire – perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer L. Armentrout.Servant. Seductress. Spy.All Phèdre nó Delaunay has known is a life of serv... read more
‘An ingenious marriage of comedy and crime.’ Olga Tokarczuk, 2018 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature Shortlisted for the EBRD Literature Prize 2022 For fans of The Thursday Murder Club and Frank Tallis's Vienna Blood comes the thrilling sequel to the crit... read more
The Break

Steve Cummings

The gripping and revealing autobiography of one of Britain's most successful international cyclists of the modern era'Getting in a break was my one chance of winning. The hard part was working out, again and again, how to make that chance count'Sharp, resource... read more
Resurrection Bay

Emma Viskic

SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA GOLD DAGGER AWARDSHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA NEW BLOOD DAGGER AWARDWinner, The Ned Kelly Best DebutWinner, The Davitt Best Adult NovelWinner, The Davitt Best DebutWinner, The Davitt Readers' ChoiceBest Crime Book, iBooks AustraliaCaleb Zeli... read more
NYPD Red 5

James Patterson

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER____________________________The one who knows the secrets is the one who holds the power.The richest of New York's rich gather at The Pierre's Cotillion Room to raise money for those less fortunate. Detectives Zach Jordan and Kylie M... read more
Two sisters go into the family business they didn't know they had . . . catching killers. From the creator of the no. 1 bestselling Women's Murder Club thrillers.______________________________________Attorney Rhonda Bird returns home to LA to bury her estrange... read more
Blowback

James Patterson

He's America's most brilliant president ever. He's also a psychopath.US president Keegan Barrett swept into office on his success as director of the CIA. Six months into his first term, he devises a clandestine power grab with a deadly motive: Revenge.Presiden... read more
Video games have never been more murderous. Veronica wakes up trapped with four strangers in a sprawling manor house in a snow storm with a dead body, a mystery right out of an Agatha Christie novel. It feels so real – but it isn't. This is VR and this is THE ... read more
HEROES AND UNICORNS AS YOU’VE NEVER SEEN THEM BEFORE. The first book in the new bestselling fantasy adventure series for children age 9+, and fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Eragon and Amari and the Night Brothers.'Steadman has a vast imagination, her wor... read more
The Rise of Nine

Pittacus Lore

Discover the explosive third instalment in the Lorien Legacies series by Pittacus Lore, the bestselling author of I AM NUMBER FOUR'Exhilarating . . . Each book grows more and more cataclysmic and heroic' 5***** Reader Review'This series is consistently captiva... read more
THE THIRD AND FINAL THRILLING BOOK IN THE BESTSELLING AND AWARD-WINNING A GOOD GIRL’S GUIDE TO MURDER TRILOGY. Soon to be a major BBC series! A Good Girl's Guide to Murder is The New York Times No.1 bestselling YA crime thriller and WINNER of The British Book ... read more
Dragon Mountain

Katie Tsang

Shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, the Children’s Book of the Year (British Book Awards) and longlisted for the Blue Peter Book Award. The first book in the ROARsome DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for those who love fantasy, ma... read more
Innocent by day, killer by night: a dark, twisting thriller about a teen assassin’s attempt to live a normal life. 'An electrifying debut!’ Chelsea Pitcher, author of This Lie Will Kill You Trained and traumatised by a secret assassin programme for minors, Isa... read more
George's pet pig breaks through the fence into the garden next door - introducing him to his new neighbours: the scientist, Eric, his daughter, Annie, and a super-intelligent computer called Cosmos. And from that moment George's life will never be the same aga... read more
WINNER- AUTHOR OF THE YEAR, BRITISH BOOK AWARDS SHORTLISTED- UK AUTHOR CATEGORY, NATIONAL BOOK AWARDS 2018 Philip Pullman's magnificent bestseller is now in paperback, with new additional illustrations. A coming of age story like no other . . .Malcolm Polstead... read more

tom has 3 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Brett M.

Brett M.

Nov, 2023

As always, Tom brings an amazing talent and understanding of my genre. He is great to work with and responsive to requests. I will definitely be working with him again.
tom S.
Great to work with you again Brett.
Brett M.

Brett M.

Aug, 2023

This was my second project with Tom. His skill and communication are both first rate. I'm looking forward to continuing to work with him.
tom S.
This is the second time that I have worked with Brett. He is very professional, gets back to me quickly with feedback, and is great fun to work with.
Brett M.

Brett M.

Jul, 2023

Tom was wonderful to work with. Everything about the experience was first rate. I am thrilled with my book cover designs, which, thanks to Tom, really look like something you'd see on a bestseller list. I absolutely plan to work with him again.

Professionals similar to tom

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Kelly Carter

Kelly C.

I love how good design can complete a writer's vision and make it engaging. Fantasy, thrillers, historical and fiction really get me going.

Wilmington, DE, United States

100% reply rate

View profile
Gene Mollica

Gene M.

Full-service design studio specializing in cover art & branding helping create many NY Times and USA Today Best Selling Authors.

New York, NY, USA

99% reply rate

View profile
Scott Balmer

Scott B.

Freelance illustrator who creates distinct and fun illustrations with bright bold colours.

Dundee, UK

100% reply rate

View profile