Samantha M Clark

Samantha M Clark - Ghostwriter

Austin, TX, USA

I'm an award-winning author, editor, and ghostwriter, who has been writing and editing professionally for more than 20 years.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

Everyone has a story to tell.


It's that thought that rolls around your head when you're driving, the idea that pesters you when you're showering and the voice that won't let you go to sleep.


But it takes revisions to hone those stories until they shine, ready for agents, editors and readers.


I've always been a storyteller. When I was a kid telling my mother about my day, I’d build it into a story. When I started working, I told real-life stories as a photojournalist, then as a managing editor/copy editor, I helped other writers hone their stories.


Today, I'm doing what I love best: Making stuff up and guiding writers to create their best work.


I'm the author of the middle-grade novels THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST; ARROW (S&S) and AMERICAN HORSE TALES: HOLLYWOOD (Penguin), plus the GEMSTONE DRAGONS chapter books (Bloomsbury). I've also ghostwritten for adult readers, and critiqued novels that have gone on to sign agents, get published and win awards.


As you can tell, I am passionate about stories, mine as well as yours. Stories aren't just ideas. They're characters growing and learning, fully imagined worlds, and wonderful pacing to keep readers wanting more.


I use my experience to help storytellers like you share your stories. I don't just edit—I teach, so you'll not only end up with a better story, you’ll also be a better writer.


EDITING PRAISE


“Exclamation-point exceptional, that’s how I would describe Samantha’s edits and her critique. Her comments were wise, clear, and made sense in respect to the whole concept of the book.” ~Raj Bijloll, writer


"Samantha approaches editing with the creative lens of an accomplished author and as someone intimately familiar with the publishing marketplace. Her notes are specific and so helpful along with kind. I'm grateful for her feedback as it has helped prepare my manuscript for submission!" ~J.L.A., writer


“Samantha’s insight to my story was invaluable! She helped me look at my characters from an entirely new perspective, and really flesh out the world I’m creating. I can’t thank her enough!” ~Seth Barton, writer


"Samantha’s skills as a writer are equaled only by her talents for editing. Her critiques are honest and insightful, cutting away the fat while leaving the heart and soul of the piece intact…She inspires revision—what does that tell you?” ~Laura Rackham, writer


"Your editorial skills are amazing. Thank you for so many thoughtful insights, nudges, and suggestions that carried me forward." ~J.S., writer


BOOK PRAISE


THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST (S&S, 2018)


“Lyrical and hauntingly beautiful…” ~Jennifer A. Nielsen, NY Times best-selling author of THE TRAITOR'S GAME


“An unforgettable, life-affirming tale.” ~Booklist


“This debut novel should be savored…” ~BookPage


“Masterful storytelling.” ~Bethany Hegedus, author of the GRANDFATHER GANDHI


ARROW (S&S, 2021)


"…a compelling adventure…" ~Lynne Kelly, author of the award-winning SONG OF A WHALE

Services
Short-Form Content
Languages
English (UK)
English (US)
Fiction
Fantasy
Magical Realism
Middle Grade
Middle Grade Fantasy
Young Adult

Awards

  • 1996 Pan American Health Organization Award for Excellence in Health Journalism
  • 2019 Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators TX/OK Crystal Kite Award for THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST

Work experience

Author

Bloomsbury Children's Publishing
June, 2020 – Present (over 2 years)

Author of the GEMSTONE DRAGONS four-book chapter book series. Perfect for fans of Unicorn Princesses, this sparkly new chapter book series stars a group of adorable dragons each with their own special gemstone magic.

In an enchanted world full of magical creatures, a group of Gemstone Dragons live in Sparkle Cave deep inside Mineral Mountain. Each dragon has a unique magical power that comes from their gemstone, and while the powers are fun, sometimes they get the dragons into trouble. But there's no problem the Gemstone Dragons can't overcome by working together.

Author

Penguin Random House
June, 2019 – Present (over 3 years)

Author of HOLLYWOOD, book two in the AMERICAN HORSE TALES middle-grade series about girls with their horse best friends. Set in modern-day California, this American Horse Tale is the story of a young girl who, along with her family's horse, is destined for the big screen.

Juniper is a young girl who dreams of making it big in the movies along with her horse, Able. In particular, Juniper is obsessed with getting Able onto her favorite television show, Castle MacAvoy, and will do anything, even slay dragons, to make that happen. Hollywood is part of a series of books written by several authors highlighting the unique relationships between young girls and their horses.

Author

Simon & Schuster
January, 2017 – Present (about 6 years)

Author of the middle-grade novels THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST and ARROW, both published under the Paula Wiseman Books imprint. Described as Hatchet meets The Graveyard Book, THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST is about a boy who wakes up on a mysterious beach with no memory and must face all his fears before he can find his way home. The book was released worldwide in English and translated into Turkish, Romanian and Italian. ARROW is described as Mad Max meets Jungle Book, with plenty of Fern Gully. The story follows a boy who has grown up the only human in a rainforest that's magically hidden from a world that has turned dry and dusty. When the magic begins to deplete and other humans find the forest, Arrow must choose between being accepted by his own kind or saving his home.

Editor

Yellow Bird Editors
January, 2013 – Present (about 10 years)

As an editor with Yellow Bird Editors, I have worked with numerous writers to help them hone their writing style and take their manuscripts to the next level. I've worked with clients writing fiction and non-fiction for adults and children. I specialize in helping writers find their own voice and style while telling a compelling story with characters that are fully developed and plots that keep readers turning pages. The same advice I give to my editing clients, I use in my own ghostwriting work bringing your vision to life.

Managing Editor

Reed Business Information
January, 2000 – January, 2010 (about 10 years)

Edited and wrote news articles and features for a weekly print and daily online B2B magazine in the home entertainment industry. Proofread and copy edited copy, adhering to AP style and the in-house style guide.

Managing Editor/Copy Editor

Emap Petersen
December, 1997 – January, 2000 (about 2 years)

Edited and wrote feature articles for various print consumer magazines in the automotive industry, including Mustang Monthly, Mopar Muscle, and Four Wheeler. Proofread and copy edited articles to the AP style guide, as well as in-house style guides for the company and each individual magazine.

Portfolio (13 selected works)

Witchtown

Oakes, Cory Putman

After the Ashes

Joiner, Sara K.

The Changelings

Soontornvat, Christina

Arrow

Clark, Samantha M.

Gemstone Dragons 1: Opal's Time to Shine

Clark, Samantha M., Anderson, Janelle O.

Gemstone Dragons 2: Ruby's Fiery Mishap

Clark, Samantha M., Anderson, Janelle O.

Sometimes Brave

Wilson, Trista

Samantha M has 3 reviews

Professionalism
Professionalism
Quality
Quality
Value
Value
Communication & Punctuality
Communication & Punctuality

Morgan Casper
Working with Samantha was a fantastic privilege and opportunity. As a first-time writer, her expertise was priceless.

Morgan Casper, January 2022


Debbie Widjaja
It was such a joy working with Samantha. She's a truly talented author who takes your idea and helps develop it in ways you can't imagine. Communication was easy and timely. I'm grateful to have the opportunity to work with Samantha.

Debbie Widjaja, August 2021

Samantha M Clark
Thank you so much for this lovely review, Debbie. I loved working with you and can't wait to see the final version of your book. I know it's going to be very special.

Reply from Samantha M Clark


Jeby Ballard
I had high hopes for this collaboration. The freelancer submitted completion dates way past the deadline that I requested. Then, rather than update and move our timeline forward since I told her the deadline I was on, she went back and amended the collaboration to add more hours. She completely destroyed my working timeline, cost me hundreds of dollars and Reedsy charged me as I tried to stop t...
Read more

Jeby Ballard, November 2020

Samantha M Clark
I am sorry this client was disappointed about this collaboration, but they received the work they paid for AND were refunded in full. The problem with the dates happened because of confusion on my...
Read more

Reply from Samantha M Clark

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Anna Katz

Versatile writer and editor with a passion for memoir and narrative nonfiction, literary and genre fiction, and all things comedy.

Seattle, WA, USA

Jennifer Banash

I'm a professional ghostwriter and editor with 15 years of experience working with private clients and major publishers.

New York, NY, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy