Nevin Mays

Nevin Mays - Editor Tick

Portland, OR, United States

My goal is to guide writers to their best work, to coach them in eloquence and clarity, to lead them to their best stories and storytelling.

Request a quote

Overview

Reviews (4)
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey

I'm a successful children's content editor with a 15-year track record of identifying great storytelling and coaching writers to their most delightful use of language. I love working with authors, helping to build and grow their careers.

I edited five books in a series called Complete and Explained for Scholastic Book Clubs' Storia e-book app. We selected documents that were on the Common Core exemplars list. These included the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution of the United States and the Bill of Rights, The New Colossus (poem on the Statue of Liberty), the Gettysburg Address, and the Declaration of Independence. These are docs recommended be read—and understood—by eleven- and twelve-year-olds. Even the briefest of these docs, however, are pretty dense and use archaic English, so we “translated” them. First, we included the text verbatim, then section by section, we re-wrote it, using modern language. Then we explained the context of the document and the reason the words were chosen. As an example, we explained what “we hold these truths to be self-evident” means using words today’s students understand, then we gave some background about why the writers of those words felt it was necessary to say so—that they wanted to make it clear that the rights they were claiming weren’t up for debate, but were inherent to the human race, no matter your country.

Note: Storia is a proprietary e-reading app available only to Scholastic Book Clubs teachers and schools, so the books described above are not available to the general public.

Languages
English (US)
Fiction
Children's - Middle Grade
Children's Picture Books
Fantasy
Literature
Romance
Short Story
Women's Fiction
Young Adult & Teen
Non-Fiction
Children's Books (Non-Fiction)
Education & Reference

Certifications

  • Certificate in Book Publishing, New York University School of Continuing and Professional Studies

Work experience

Storyteller

Green Bean Books
October, 2016 – Present (about 2 years)

I run baby storytime for Green Bean Books in Portland, Ore. Each week I select a different theme, and then read books and sing songs pertaining to that theme. For example, an "outdoors" theme includes songs about the weather, trees, and squirrels, and books with similar themes. I incorporate movement and parent-baby interaction as much as possible.

Owner

Self-employed
April, 2015 – Present (over 3 years)

I coach writers and authors in finding their voice, honing their plot, and identifying their target audience. I offer guidance about how to appeal to agents and editors, and in working with publishers of all sizes.

Editorial Manager, eBooks

Scholastic
March, 2012 – August, 2014 (over 2 years)

I edited nonfiction picture books for toddlers, kindergartners, and first graders, as well as a short series of e-books that explained and gave context for major historical documents and speeches for upper elementary students.

I was also the editorial manager for Storia, Scholsastic's proprietary e-reading app, which means I was a curator, of sorts. I created book bundles around seasonality, topic, reading level...you name it, using my deep knowledge and understanding of children's reading habits and interests.

Associate Acquisitions Editor

Penguin Random House
March, 2007 – March, 2012 (almost 5 years)

I selected the most exceptional, most interesting, most informative children's and teen books for inclusion on our children's audiobook list. We acquired from all major US and Canadian publishers, so I developed a high level view of the industry and an eye for what works.

Copyeditor

Government Technology magazine
August, 2000 – July, 2002 (almost 2 years)

Government Technology is a nationally distributed magazine the covers, as the name suggests, technology and its uses in the state and local government sector. Technology can be hard to cover for the layman, and government workings tend to be dry, so I worked with writers to craft articles that were informative and clear, but still eloquent. I ensured writers maintained the tone of the magazine without sacrificing their unique voice. And of course, I edited for accuracy, grammar, spelling, etc.

Portfolio (7 selected works)

Finding Yvonne

Brandy Colbert

For fans of Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour comes a striking novel about difficult choices from acclaimed author Brandy Colbert.Since she was seven years old, Yvonne has had her trusted violin to keep her company, especially in those lonely days after her mother walked out on their family. But with graduation just around the corner, she is forced to face the hard truth that she just might not be g... read more

For fans of Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour comes a striking novel about difficult choices from acclaimed author Brandy Colbert.Since she was seven years old, Yvonne has had her trusted violin to keep her company, especially in those lonely days after her mother walked out on their family. But with graduation just around the corner, she is forced to face the hard truth that she just might not be g... read more

Like the Red Sky at Morning (Forget Me Not Book 2)

Brielle Skye

The story of Maxie and Isaac continues in the sequel to SOLITUDE OF A BIRDCAGE as the two lovers learn that some memories can't be erased, and the past is never far behind. She had a choice, and she chose him, only to be left guilt-ridden and heartbroken. Now Maxie Shannen is determined to move on from the past she shared with Isaac Cole—especially since he still doesn't remember it.Seeking co... read more

The story of Maxie and Isaac continues in the sequel to SOLITUDE OF A BIRDCAGE as the two lovers learn that some memories can't be erased, and the past is never far behind. She had a choice, and she chose him, only to be left guilt-ridden and heartbroken. Now Maxie Shannen is determined to move on from the past she shared with Isaac Cole—especially since he still doesn't remember it.Seeking co... read more

Animal Travel (Mickey Mouse Clubhouse Smart Pad)

Travel around the world and meet animals with Mickey and the gang!

Travel around the world and meet animals with Mickey and the gang!

Princess Lessons (Sofia the First Smart Pad)

Discover the secret of princesses with Sofia!

Discover the secret of princesses with Sofia!

The Genetics of Health: Understand Your Genes for Better Health

Sharad P. Paul

Take charge of your health by understanding the connection between our evolutionary past and our future wellbeing with this practical guide to personalized health and nutrition—from distinguished physician Dr. Sharad Paul.Recognized as one of the best in his field, surgeon, academic, and philanthropist, Dr. Sharad Paul combines everyday health with evolutionary biology and explains how to impr... read more

Take charge of your health by understanding the connection between our evolutionary past and our future wellbeing with this practical guide to personalized health and nutrition—from distinguished physician Dr. Sharad Paul.Recognized as one of the best in his field, surgeon, academic, and philanthropist, Dr. Sharad Paul combines everyday health with evolutionary biology and explains how to impr... read more

Color Me Buddha: Express Yourself to De-Stress Yourself

Matthew Smith

Express your inner artist while finding your inner peace as you color the intricately lush and stunning drawings by artist Matthew Smith. His motifs bring to life mythic struggles of man versus beast that will rouse your creative muse. The exquisite details Matt weaves into each of his creations reels you back to a place of solemn contemplation with images of animal strength and feminine grace... read more

Express your inner artist while finding your inner peace as you color the intricately lush and stunning drawings by artist Matthew Smith. His motifs bring to life mythic struggles of man versus beast that will rouse your creative muse. The exquisite details Matt weaves into each of his creations reels you back to a place of solemn contemplation with images of animal strength and feminine grace... read more

Negotiating New York: Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Real Estate

Joanne R. Douglas, Alfred Renna

Foreward by Barbara Corcoran, star of Shark Tank and author of Shark Tales. Siblings and top real estate duo, Joanne Renna Douglas and Alfred Renna, bring readers along on an engaging and often hilarious journey into the world of New York real estate. An accounting that is more exposé than how-to, Negotiating New York will have you glued to the page from start to finish, as you delve into the ... read more

Foreward by Barbara Corcoran, star of Shark Tank and author of Shark Tales. Siblings and top real estate duo, Joanne Renna Douglas and Alfred Renna, bring readers along on an engaging and often hilarious journey into the world of New York real estate. An accounting that is more exposé than how-to, Negotiating New York will have you glued to the page from start to finish, as you delve into the ... read more

Nevin has 4 reviews

StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Professionalism
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Quality
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Value
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Communication
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey

Ursula Burger

Very helpful and I learned a lot, just from her communication. Excellent response time and knowledge.

Read more

Ursula Burger, March 2018


J.D. Havis

Nevin , as usual is a joy to work with. She is very professional and thorough. She is also quick and precise. I love working with her. I hope to work with her with all of my projects if she is available.

Read more

J.D. Havis, September 2017


Sue Hollowell

Nevin did a wonderful job on my proofread. Her offer was very clear and detailed. Her communication was very thorough. She met or exceeded all deadlines. I will use her services again for future books.

Read more

Sue Hollowell, May 2017


J.D. Havis

Nevin did a good job editing my work. She was professional and timely. She was patient with me and made my work better. I will use her again.

Read more

J.D. Havis, March 2017

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

1f6f535ebc1079f0c600b9baaa3b9a38cf23538a

Steven Bauer

Intuitive, expert editor with 30 yrs experience teaching fiction writing at a major university. Well-published, knowledgeable, honest, kind.

Vermont, United States

892624d49c407c99ab668fa5bc4037e62fbbfdf0

Loan Le

Assistant editor at Simon & Schuster. Edits literary short stories and novels, women's fiction, psych thrillers. MFA in fiction.

New York, NY, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy