Mary Sasso

Mary Sasso - Marketer

Philadelphia, PA, USA

Creative, detail-oriented, and collaborative book marketer with 10 years of experience at HarperCollins Publishers.

Request a quote
Reedsy profile URL https://reedsy.com/mary-sasso
Verified identity

Overview

I'm a book marketer with over 10 years of experience, most recently at HarperCollins where I was the Director of Marketing for the Harper Perennial imprint. I oversaw the marketing strategy and execution for 120 titles a year, incorporating digital, advertising, social media, email, influencer outreach, and more.

Bestselling campaigns include The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris, Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor, Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari, Commonwealth by Ann Patchett, Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter, Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance, and Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight.

I specialize in literary and commercial fiction, historical fiction, mysteries & thrillers, memoir, and essays.

I'm a voracious reader and love working closely with authors to bring their work to the widest possible audience!
Services
Metadata & Blurb Optimization
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs
Fiction
Crime & Mystery
Historical Fiction
Humor & Comedy
Literature
Thriller
Women's Fiction

Work experience

Director of Marketing

Harper Perennial, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
June, 2018 – April, 2019 (10 months)

• Led a team in strategizing and executing marketing campaigns for 120+ titles per year within the Harper Perennial imprint.

Marketing Manager/Sr. Marketing Manager/Associate Director of Marketing

Harper Perennial, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
November, 2012 – June, 2018 (over 5 years)

• Strategized and executed marketing campaigns for 120+ titles per year within the Harper Perennial imprint,

Portfolio (11 selected works)

The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel

Heather Morris

#1 New York Times Bestseller and #1 International BestsellerThis beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.“The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior exis... read more

#1 New York Times Bestseller and #1 International BestsellerThis beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.“The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior exis... read more

Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

From the creators of the wildly popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast comes an imaginative mystery of appearances and disappearances that is also a poignant look at the ways in which we all struggle to find ourselves...no matter where we live."Hypnotic and darkly funny. . . . Belongs to a particular strain of American gothic that encompasses The Twilight Zone, Stephen King and Twin Peaks, with... read more

From the creators of the wildly popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast comes an imaginative mystery of appearances and disappearances that is also a poignant look at the ways in which we all struggle to find ourselves...no matter where we live."Hypnotic and darkly funny. . . . Belongs to a particular strain of American gothic that encompasses The Twilight Zone, Stephen King and Twin Peaks, with... read more

The Boat Runner: A Novel

Devin Murphy

National Bestseller In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town ... read more

National Bestseller In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town ... read more

The Oracle Year: A Novel

Charles Soule

From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future—perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from ... read more

From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future—perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from ... read more

Alice Isn't Dead: A Novel

Joseph Fink

New York Times bestsellerFrom the New York Times bestselling co-author of It Devours! and Welcome to Night Vale comes a fast-paced thriller about a truck driver searching across America for the wife she had long assumed to be dead.“This isn’t a story. It’s a road trip."Keisha Taylor lived a quiet life with her wife, Alice, until the day that Alice disappeared. After months of searching, presum... read more

New York Times bestsellerFrom the New York Times bestselling co-author of It Devours! and Welcome to Night Vale comes a fast-paced thriller about a truck driver searching across America for the wife she had long assumed to be dead.“This isn’t a story. It’s a road trip."Keisha Taylor lived a quiet life with her wife, Alice, until the day that Alice disappeared. After months of searching, presum... read more

It Devours!: A Welcome to Night Vale Novel

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

A new page-turning mystery about science, faith, love and belonging, set in a friendly desert community where ghosts, angels, aliens, and government conspiracies are commonplace parts of everyday life. Welcome to Night Vale…“Brilliant, hilarious, and wondrously strange. I’m packing up and moving to Night Vale! –Ransom Riggs, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Pec... read more

A new page-turning mystery about science, faith, love and belonging, set in a friendly desert community where ghosts, angels, aliens, and government conspiracies are commonplace parts of everyday life. Welcome to Night Vale…“Brilliant, hilarious, and wondrously strange. I’m packing up and moving to Night Vale! –Ransom Riggs, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Pec... read more

Such a Perfect Wife: A Novel

Kate White

Blonde. Beautiful. A loving mother.And missing since Monday.On a sunny morning in late September, Shannon Blaine sets off for a jog along the rural roads near her home in Lake George, New York. It’s her usual a.m. routine, her “me time” after dropping the kids off at school…except on this day she never returns.Is her husband lying when he says he has no clue where she is? Could Shannon have sp... read more

Blonde. Beautiful. A loving mother.And missing since Monday.On a sunny morning in late September, Shannon Blaine sets off for a jog along the rural roads near her home in Lake George, New York. It’s her usual a.m. routine, her “me time” after dropping the kids off at school…except on this day she never returns.Is her husband lying when he says he has no clue where she is? Could Shannon have sp... read more

In Another Time: A Novel

Jillian Cantor

“Jillian Cantor’s In Another Time is a love song to the most powerful of all human emotions: hope. It is the story of Max and Hanna, two star-crossed lovers fighting to stay together during an impossible moment in history. It is gripping, mysterious, romantic, and altogether unique. I was enchanted by this beautiful, heartbreaking novel.” — Ariel Lawhon, author of I Was AnastasiaA sweeping his... read more

“Jillian Cantor’s In Another Time is a love song to the most powerful of all human emotions: hope. It is the story of Max and Hanna, two star-crossed lovers fighting to stay together during an impossible moment in history. It is gripping, mysterious, romantic, and altogether unique. I was enchanted by this beautiful, heartbreaking novel.” — Ariel Lawhon, author of I Was AnastasiaA sweeping his... read more

The Queen of the Tearling: A Novel (Queen of the Tearling, The)

Erika Johansen

A #1 Indie Next Pick and LibraryReads SelectionMagic, adventure, mystery, and romance combine in this epic debut in which a young princess must reclaim her dead mother’s throne, learn to be a ruler—and defeat the Red Queen, a powerful and malevolent sorceress determined to destroy her.On her nineteenth birthday, Princess Kelsea Raleigh Glynn, raised in exile, sets out on a perilous journey bac... read more

A #1 Indie Next Pick and LibraryReads SelectionMagic, adventure, mystery, and romance combine in this epic debut in which a young princess must reclaim her dead mother’s throne, learn to be a ruler—and defeat the Red Queen, a powerful and malevolent sorceress determined to destroy her.On her nineteenth birthday, Princess Kelsea Raleigh Glynn, raised in exile, sets out on a perilous journey bac... read more

Commonwealth: A Novel

Ann Patchett

#1 New York Times BestsellerThe acclaimed, bestselling author—winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize—tells the enthralling story of how an unexpected romantic encounter irrevocably changes two families’ lives.One Sunday afternoon in Southern California, Bert Cousins shows up at Franny Keating’s christening party uninvited. Before evening falls, he has kissed Franny’s mother, Bev... read more

#1 New York Times BestsellerThe acclaimed, bestselling author—winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize—tells the enthralling story of how an unexpected romantic encounter irrevocably changes two families’ lives.One Sunday afternoon in Southern California, Bert Cousins shows up at Franny Keating’s christening party uninvited. Before evening falls, he has kissed Franny’s mother, Bev... read more

The Last Mrs. Parrish: A Novel

Liv Constantine

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER AND DECEMBER PICK FOR REESE WITHERSPOON'S HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB"Filled with envy, deception, and power, it’s a great reading escape. And there is a thrilling twist at the end!!" —Reese Witherspoon“Will keep you up. In a ‘can’t put it down’ way. It’s ‘The Talented Mr. Ripley’ with XX chromosomes.”—The Skimm“Deliciously duplicitous. . . . equally as twisty, spellb... read more

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER AND DECEMBER PICK FOR REESE WITHERSPOON'S HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB"Filled with envy, deception, and power, it’s a great reading escape. And there is a thrilling twist at the end!!" —Reese Witherspoon“Will keep you up. In a ‘can’t put it down’ way. It’s ‘The Talented Mr. Ripley’ with XX chromosomes.”—The Skimm“Deliciously duplicitous. . . . equally as twisty, spellb... read more

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Graeme Williams

I'm available to help market your book and give your sales a boost. I've worked with top authors like Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Keith Richards.

London, UK

Elizabeth Psaltis

A 20-year publishing marketing veteran, I work with authors on proposals, social media presence, ads, influencer outreach, and more.

Chapel Hill, NC, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy