Madeleine Woodfield

Madeleine Woodfield - Editor

London, United Kingdom

Assistant Editor (fiction) at Penguin Michael Joseph. I have experience in structural editing, proofreading and reviewing submissions.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

I work as an Assistant Editor on the fiction team at Penguin Michael Joseph. I have been in the publishing industry for more than three years, and have experience with structural editing, proofreading and feeding back on submissions. The list I work on encompasses bookclub fiction, literary fiction and commercial fiction - authors include but are not limited to Fredrik Backman and Emma Straub, in addition to lots of exciting upcoming debuts! Prior to being at MJ I was an Editorial Assistant at Hodder & Stoughton, where I worked on authors including David Nicholls, Holly Bourne and Mike Gayle.

I am, of course an avid reader, and feel like editing fiction was always my calling. I can offer editorial advice on full manuscripts and partials, both structural and at a line level. I can also proofread an author's work, and feedback to authors concerning suitability for publication.
Languages
English (UK)
Fiction
Coming of Age
Contemporary Fiction
Contemporary Romance
Historical Fiction
Romantic Comedy
Short Story

Work experience

Assistant Editor

Penguin Random House
November, 2019 – Present (almost 2 years)

Editorial Assistant

Hodder & Stoughton
April, 2017 – November, 2019 (over 2 years)

Portfolio (5 selected works)

The Christmas Holiday

Sophie Claire

'A sumptuous Christmas romance' Woman & Home magazine'A cosy and heart-warming Christmas read - the perfect festive treat' Heidi Swain'A fun and festive read' Trisha Ashley***Can a trip away lead you home?After a bad break-up, eternal optimist Evie Miller has moved to the small village of Willowbrook to finally pursue her dream of opening a craft shop. Unfortunately, with money worries and an ... read more

'A sumptuous Christmas romance' Woman & Home magazine'A cosy and heart-warming Christmas read - the perfect festive treat' Heidi Swain'A fun and festive read' Trisha Ashley***Can a trip away lead you home?After a bad break-up, eternal optimist Evie Miller has moved to the small village of Willowbrook to finally pursue her dream of opening a craft shop. Unfortunately, with money worries and an ... read more

A Forget-Me-Not Summer

Sophie Claire

*Previously published as Her Forget-Me-Not Ex* The cosy and charming second novel from Sophie Claire, author of The Christmas Holiday. A perfect read for fans of Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley!It's taken years, but Natasha Brown's life is finally on track. Running a florists in the quaint village of Willowbrook, she's put her short-lived marriage to Luc Duval far behind her. That is, until he... read more

*Previously published as Her Forget-Me-Not Ex* The cosy and charming second novel from Sophie Claire, author of The Christmas Holiday. A perfect read for fans of Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley!It's taken years, but Natasha Brown's life is finally on track. Running a florists in the quaint village of Willowbrook, she's put her short-lived marriage to Luc Duval far behind her. That is, until he... read more

Snowflakes over Moon Cottage

Lucy Daniels

**Summer Days at Sunrise Farm, the new book in the Animal Ark revisited series, is currently available!**The perfect cosy winter romance featuring the characters from the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Holly Martin and Katie Fforde. 'A comforting Christmas read' - Woman's Own*****It's Christmas-time in the little Yorkshire village of Welford, and the... read more

**Summer Days at Sunrise Farm, the new book in the Animal Ark revisited series, is currently available!**The perfect cosy winter romance featuring the characters from the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Holly Martin and Katie Fforde. 'A comforting Christmas read' - Woman's Own*****It's Christmas-time in the little Yorkshire village of Welford, and the... read more

Summer Days at Sunrise Farm

Lucy Daniels

**Christmas at Silver Dale, the new book in the Animal Ark revisited series, is currently available for pre-order!**A romantic and charming holiday read from the Animal Ark Revisited series, featuring the series' original characters. The perfect summer read for fans of Cathy Bramley and Heidi Swain.****Summer has arrived in Welford, but does a new season mean new beginnings?Veterinary nurse He... read more

**Christmas at Silver Dale, the new book in the Animal Ark revisited series, is currently available for pre-order!**A romantic and charming holiday read from the Animal Ark Revisited series, featuring the series' original characters. The perfect summer read for fans of Cathy Bramley and Heidi Swain.****Summer has arrived in Welford, but does a new season mean new beginnings?Veterinary nurse He... read more

Christmas at Silver Dale

Lucy Daniels

The perfect Christmas romance for 2019 - featuring the original characters in the much loved Animal Ark series!**Summer Days at Sunrise Farm, the new book in the Animal Ark revisited series, is currently available!**Although Christmas should be the most wonderful time of year, Mandy Hope is struggling. Her relationship with Jimmy Marsh is on the rocks, while her best friend James has a gorgeou... read more

The perfect Christmas romance for 2019 - featuring the original characters in the much loved Animal Ark series!**Summer Days at Sunrise Farm, the new book in the Animal Ark revisited series, is currently available!**Although Christmas should be the most wonderful time of year, Mandy Hope is struggling. Her relationship with Jimmy Marsh is on the rocks, while her best friend James has a gorgeou... read more

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Natalie Young

I'm an experienced desk editor with a demonstrated history of working in the industry across fiction and non-fiction for half a decade.

London, UK

Eleanor Leese

Expert in women's fiction, romance, historical fiction and history non-fiction. Send me historical romance and I'll bite your hand off

Warwick, UK

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy