Katie Sadler

Katie Sadler – Marketer

I have over 14 years of book marketing experience, and now work with authors to clarify their marketing efforts & improve their sales.

Overview

I’m an award-winning marketer, with experience within Penguin Random House, Harper Collins, Hachette and Bonnier Books. Now I am taking my 14+ years of experience to help authors find their readers and sell their book.


My offers:


1/ Author Marketing Accelerator: If you want to make your author platform work harder, I will review your existing website, newsletter, social media channels and/or Amazon book page. You will come away with clarity on how to improve what you are doing to engage your readers more and deliver more sales. Following delivery on this report, I will check in on you every week for 4 weeks, to help you make progress and build momentum.


2/ Social media content lab: I will read your book, review your website and create a 30 day content plan, all captions and creative direction written for you. I can also create the graphics and videos for you, if that is something you want to outsource.


I am based in the UK, and work with authors around the world, from all genres. Please take our time difference into account in our communications. If there is something you'd need help with which doesn't fit into the criteria above, get in touch - I would love to help.


Please note that I work with authors who are either already published, or who have their publishing date ready to go. I am not a publishing consultant, so will not be able to advise on the best route to getting your book ready

for sale.

Services
Fiction
Mystery & Crime Psychological Thriller Romance Women's Fiction
Non-Fiction
Parenting & Families Self-Help & Self-Improvement
Awards
  • Book Marketing Society Guerilla Marketing winner - Q2 2020 for Peter May: Lockdown
  • Book Marketing Society Best Shoestring Campaign - Online Romance Festival
  • Futurebook 2014 - Highly Commended Best Use of Digital in a Marketing Campaign - Online Romance Festival
  • Book Marketing Society Best Debut Campaign - Q4 2023 for Days at the Morisaki Bookship (with Bonnier Books)

Work experience

Self-employed

Mar, 2019 — Present

As a freelance marketing consultant, I work with authors and publishers to create stand-out marketing plans that deliver results. Since going freelance, as well as working with many individual authors, I have also worked on campaigns / projects for:
- Little, Brown
- Quercus
- Orion
- Headline
- HarperCollins
- Ebury Publishing
- Profile Books
- Verve Books
- Bonnier Books
And many more.

Quercus Books, Hachette

Feb, 2018 — Mar, 2019 (about 1 year)

At Quercus, I planned and executed multiple campaigns per month for bestselling authors like Peter May and Elly Griffiths as well as debut authors, non-fiction titles, translated fiction and more. I also worked across their social media channels and acted as the email and CRM manager.

HarperCollins (Fiction)

Mar, 2012 — Feb, 2018 (almost 6 years)

Marketing a wide range of fiction titles, from bestsellers like Cecelia Ahern and Charles Cumming to launching the HarperImpulse romance list and working across the HarperVoyager fantasy list. Responsible for social media and email planning for HarperImpulse and HarperVoyager and wrote social media plans for authors.

Ebury Publishing, Penguin Random House

May, 2007 — Mar, 2012 (almost 5 years)

Responsible for ensuring that our major marketing campaigns feature a digital element whenever possible. This includes online advertising, social media marketing, digital asset creation and mobile marketing. Brand manager for Doctor Who, the Great British Bake Off and Gina Ford, as well as working on marketing campaigns across the list.

Projects

The Toolkit for Modern Life

I worked with Emma Hepburn (@thepsychologymum) on the marketing for her first book, The Toolkit for Modern Life. We worked on a robust social media plan for her Instagram channel, created really brilliant freebies for her audience, which promoted the book, developed some branded gifs for Instagram stories, and did a huge influencer mail out.

Sarah Knight - Calm the F**k Down

Planned and executed a social media plan around publication, and organised an influencer event when Sarah visited the UK. Coordinated a partnership with Blow Ltd, who came to give people mini manicures and back/hand massages, and Nails Inc provided free nail polish for the goody bags. We also set out a flatlay table so that instagrammers had a good backdrop to share the book against. Worked with Stylist (who also came to the event) to run a book plus 'Calm the F Down' tote bag giveaway through Emerald Street and the Stylist competitions mailing list. Activity from the influencer evening had the potential to reach over 250,000 people. Resulted in the highest sales of one of her books to date.

The Stranger Diaries - Elly Griffiths

The first standalone novel from Elly Griffiths. Created a social media and newsletter plan to engage her readers and crime readers generally. Very targeted outdoor and proof giveaway campaign to reach taste makers at the Theakston’s Harrogate Crime Festival. Ran targeted Facebook and Amazon advertising to drive sales. Sunday Times bestseller, with over 10k copies sold to date. The campaign helped raise her profile amongst retailers, reviewers and other authors in this area.

HarperImpulse

I worked on the launch of the HarperImpulse digital romance list, creating branding, recruiting bloggers, starting our social media accounts. Imprint launch was deemed a huge success, and won the Romantic Novelists Association Imprint of the Year award in its launch year. I also worked on the first ever digital romance festival as a way to build the brand and our relationship with authors/readers. Involving tens of authors, the hashtag was used thousands of times during the course of the festival, which was later highly commended for a Futurebook Innovation Award and won the Book Marketing Society Best Shoestring Campaign.

A Basket by the Door - Sophie Hansen

I created a social media plan for Sophie to showcase her beautiful cookery book. I suggested changes to her website to make the book more prominent, and suggested ways to make the book feel approachable to as many people as possible.

Portfolio

Lockdown

May, Peter

A POWERFUL AND PRESCIENT THRILLER FROM THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE.A REPORTER WITH NO FEARJaded Edinburgh journalist Neil Bannerman is sent to Brussels, intent on digging up dirt. Yet it is danger he discove... read more
This delightful cookbook takes you through the baking challenges from the second series of the Great British Bake Off and shows you how to achieve baking perfection. Throughout the book, Mary Berry and Paul Hollywood are on hand with practical tips to help you... read more
While some mothers take to breast-feeding like a duck to water, others just can't seem to get the hang of it. Clare Byam-Cook agrees that breast is best but she stresses that the most important thing is that your baby is fed - whether by the breast or bottle -... read more
From New York Times bestselling author, Jay Kristoff, comes a dangerous new fantasy world and a heroine edged in darkness.WINNER OF THE THE AUREALIS AWARD FOR BEST FANTASY NOVELMia Corvere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.Desti... read more
The No. 1 bestseller – perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fifth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.PARIS, 1585.A KING WITHOUT AN HEIRGiordano Bruno arrives in Paris to find a city on the edge o... read more
Payback

Kimberley Chambers

Family. They're supposed to watch your back. Not stab you in itWhen the enemy is one of your own, the payback is twice as hard.The Butler brothers are the Kings of the East End, and their motto is ‘what goes around, comes around’.In their world, family counts;... read more
Perfect for fans of THE NIGHT MANAGER and OUR KIND OF TRAITOR, Charles Cumming is ‘the master of the modern spy thriller’ (Mail on Sunday)Thomas Kell thought he was done with spying. A former MI6 officer, he devoted his life to the Service, but it has left him... read more
A gripping contemporary Gothic thriller from the bestselling author of the Dr Ruth Galloway mysteries: Susan Hill meets Gone Girl and Disclaimer.Clare Cassidy is no stranger to tales of murder. As a literature teacher specialising in the Gothic writer R.M. Hol... read more

Katie has 26 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Maria C.

Maria C.

Apr, 2024

Katie's marketing plan was comprehensive and really useful. She had looked at every angle and she advised me on a step by step approach. The ideas she gave were transferable to other novels, so the plan was excellent value for money. All in all this was a highly productive exercise.
Katie S.
Thank you so much, Maria, it was great to work with you. If anything comes up that you have questions on, please reach out!
rebeka S.

rebeka S.

Mar, 2024

Katie has been great to work with and I would definitely recommend her to any writer/author looking to give their social media a boost!
Katie S.
Thank you so much Rebeka! Best of luck with everything and I’ll see you on Instagram 🙂
Bea N.

Bea N.

Feb, 2024

I was basically fumbling through the dark with marketing, but Katie's expertise and recommendations made me feel much more confident. Her suggestions were spot on and helped sharpen all aspects of my author presence and marketing strategies! She's just delightful and I highly recommend her to anyone looking for guidance.
Katie S.
Thank you so much, Bea - it was a total pleasure to work with you.
Anne B.

Anne B.

Dec, 2023

Katie was quite simply brilliant. I was utterly confused about marketing and what to do when I hired her and she produced an incredibly helpful report which answered all my queries and gave me a schedule of what to do and how best to do it. She was very responsive in answering my further queries through the month and helping me to create a valuable marketing strategy that worked for me. She mad...
Read more
Britian B.

Britian B.

Nov, 2023

Katie was an excellent marketing consultant. Her audit gave key insights and recognized areas of improvement that have immediately helped me reach a more focused reader group and, in turn, will help me significantly increase sales.
Katie S.
Thank you so much Britian, it was an absolute pleasure to work with you.

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Katie and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Katie

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Rebekah Zink

Rebekah Z.

Avid knitter with a healthy love of Nic Cage - and +14 years experience marketing/design in publishing (traditional and indie).

London, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Ben Galley

Ben G.

Ben is a highly experienced self-publishing and marketing consultant, helping authors from around the world to publish and market books.

Vancouver, BC, Canada

100% reply rate

View profile
Liz Poder

Liz P.

I specialize in coaching authors how to self-publish and market their own books. My joy is in empowering you to take control of your books!

Belleville, ON, Canada

99% reply rate

View profile