Close this message

Julia Silk

Julia Silk - Editor

London, United Kingdom

Fiction editor specializing in commercial and accessible-literary fiction and fiction in translation. London based, ex-big five.

Overview

I am an editor and project manager with 18 years experience, specializing in commercial and accessible literary fiction. Most recently I spent a decade working as an editor and publisher at Orion Publishing Group (Hachette) in London. I also have experience editing translated fiction from a wide variety of languages - for Harvill and Bitter Lemon Press among others - so if you have a translation that needs knocking into shape, I'd love to help.

Services
Languages
English (UK) English (US)
Fiction
Classics Crime & Mystery Historical Fiction Literature Romance Thriller Women's Fiction Young Adult & Teen
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Parenting & Families

Certifications

  • BA Hons French with Spanish
  • MA Comparative Literature

Work experience

Editor and Publisher

Orion Publishing Group

August, 2006 – January, 2016 (over 9 years)

Most recently I launched and headed up The Murder Room, Orion's classic and contemporary classic imprint, making available for the first time in ebook crime and mystery greats of the twentieth century, such as Psycho and Cape Fear. I also brought NYT bestselling Longmire creator Craig Johnson's work to the UK, and published the backlist titles of such respected crime and thriller authors as Lesley Glaister and Margaret Murphy.

Freelance editor and project manager

Independent

February, 2000 – July, 2006 (over 6 years)

I worked in an out of house on commercial and literary fiction and non-fiction for publishers including Random House, Simon & Schuster, Mills & Boon and Bitter Lemon Press, copyediting, proofreading and project managing work by authors including Karin Slaughter, Trisha Ashley and Rowan Coleman.

Portfolio (14 selected works)

Sowing Secrets

Trisha Ashley

Watch out for temptation in the Garden of Eden! Fran March's life in the idyllic village of St Ceridwen's Well is coming up roses. Almost. If only daughter Rosie - the result of an uncharacteristic one-night stand 18 years ago - wasn't so curious about her real father, and if only husband Mal spent less time on his hobbies, everything would be bliss. But then a face from the past turns Fran's ... read more

Watch out for temptation in the Garden of Eden! Fran March's life in the idyllic village of St Ceridwen's Well is coming up roses. Almost. If only daughter Rosie - the result of an uncharacteristic one-night stand 18 years ago - wasn't so curious about her real father, and if only husband Mal spent less time on his hobbies, everything would be bliss. But then a face from the past turns Fran's ... read more

Growing Up Twice

Rowan Coleman

Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Dorothy Koomson and Liane Moriarty, this is an uplifting and heartfelt novel from the author of The Memory Book, which was featured in the Richard & Judy book club 2014'I immediately read The Memory Book and it's WONDERFUL ... I'm so happy because she's written other books and its so lovely to find a writer you love who has a backlist' Marian KeyesJenny, Rosie a... read more

Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Dorothy Koomson and Liane Moriarty, this is an uplifting and heartfelt novel from the author of The Memory Book, which was featured in the Richard & Judy book club 2014'I immediately read The Memory Book and it's WONDERFUL ... I'm so happy because she's written other books and its so lovely to find a writer you love who has a backlist' Marian KeyesJenny, Rosie a... read more

SOMETHING BORROWED

Emily Giffin

The wonderful debut novel by #1 New York Times and international bestselling author Emily Giffin. For every woman who has ever had a complicated love-hate friendship and has dreamt of love, sex and of doing the right thing – Something Borrowed will have you laughing, crying, and calling your best friend! Now adapted for the big screen in a major film starring Kate Hudson ("Almost Famous", “How... read more

The wonderful debut novel by #1 New York Times and international bestselling author Emily Giffin. For every woman who has ever had a complicated love-hate friendship and has dreamt of love, sex and of doing the right thing – Something Borrowed will have you laughing, crying, and calling your best friend! Now adapted for the big screen in a major film starring Kate Hudson ("Almost Famous", “How... read more

The Return Journey

MAEVE BINCHY

The Life of Kingsley Amis

Zachary Leader

The life of Kingsley Amis

The life of Kingsley Amis

Cape Fear

John D. MacDonald

'The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller' - Stephen KingA dark, psychological thriller, first published in 1957 as The Executioners and filmed by Martin Scorsese, starring Robert De Niro.Max Cady, a brutal rapist, has been in prison for years, nursing his hatred for the man who put him away, attorney Sam Bowden.When Cady gets parole, he begins stalking Bowden's family.A... read more

'The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller' - Stephen KingA dark, psychological thriller, first published in 1957 as The Executioners and filmed by Martin Scorsese, starring Robert De Niro.Max Cady, a brutal rapist, has been in prison for years, nursing his hatred for the man who put him away, attorney Sam Bowden.When Cady gets parole, he begins stalking Bowden's family.A... read more

Psycho

Robert Bloch

Marion is lost on a dark and lonely road; she's tired and hungry and afraid. She thinks she's dreaming when she sees a motel sign shining in the darkness: Bates Motel. But for Marion the nightmare is just beginning ...To most people Psycho needs no introduction, but although Alfred Hitchcock's film was largely faithful to the book, in the novel itself you will find a story more nuanced and - i... read more

Marion is lost on a dark and lonely road; she's tired and hungry and afraid. She thinks she's dreaming when she sees a motel sign shining in the darkness: Bates Motel. But for Marion the nightmare is just beginning ...To most people Psycho needs no introduction, but although Alfred Hitchcock's film was largely faithful to the book, in the novel itself you will find a story more nuanced and - i... read more

Honour Thy Father

Lesley Glaister

In a remote, crumbling house in the Fens live four sisters - Agatha, Milly, and Ellen and Esther - identical twins so closely linked as to be almost one person. They have lived there all their lives, trapped still by the fear of their dead father, who governs his daughters' lives from beyond the grave. And then there is George, another inhabitant, imprisoned in the cellar. Little by little, ma... read more

In a remote, crumbling house in the Fens live four sisters - Agatha, Milly, and Ellen and Esther - identical twins so closely linked as to be almost one person. They have lived there all their lives, trapped still by the fear of their dead father, who governs his daughters' lives from beyond the grave. And then there is George, another inhabitant, imprisoned in the cellar. Little by little, ma... read more

Eleanor & Park

Rainbow Rowell

'Reminded me not just what it's like to be young and in love, but what it's like to be young and in love with a book' John Green, author of The Fault in our StarsEleanor is the new girl in town, and she's never felt more alone. All mismatched clothes, mad red hair and chaotic home life, she couldn't stick out more if she tried.Then she takes the seat on the bus next to Park. Quiet, careful and... read more

'Reminded me not just what it's like to be young and in love, but what it's like to be young and in love with a book' John Green, author of The Fault in our StarsEleanor is the new girl in town, and she's never felt more alone. All mismatched clothes, mad red hair and chaotic home life, she couldn't stick out more if she tried.Then she takes the seat on the bus next to Park. Quiet, careful and... read more

The Unseen

Katherine Webb

From the author of the acclaimed debut THE LEGACY comes a compelling tale of love, deception and illusion. England, 1911. When a free-spirited young woman arrives in a sleepy Berkshire village to work as a maid in the household of The Reverend and Mrs Canning, she sets in motion a chain of events which changes all their lives. For Cat has a past - a past her new mistress is willing to overlook... read more

From the author of the acclaimed debut THE LEGACY comes a compelling tale of love, deception and illusion. England, 1911. When a free-spirited young woman arrives in a sleepy Berkshire village to work as a maid in the household of The Reverend and Mrs Canning, she sets in motion a chain of events which changes all their lives. For Cat has a past - a past her new mistress is willing to overlook... read more

Out Stealing Horses

Per Petterson

Winner of the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.In 1948, when he is fifteen, Trond spends a summer in the country with his father. The events — the accidental death of a child, his best friend’s feelings of guilt and eventual disappearance, his father’s decision to leave the family for another woman — will change his life forever. An early morning adventure out stealing horses leaves T... read more

Winner of the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.In 1948, when he is fifteen, Trond spends a summer in the country with his father. The events — the accidental death of a child, his best friend’s feelings of guilt and eventual disappearance, his father’s decision to leave the family for another woman — will change his life forever. An early morning adventure out stealing horses leaves T... read more

The Cold Dish (Walt Longmire Book 1)

Craig Johnson

'The characters talk straight from the hip and the Wyoming landscape is its own kind of eloquence' New York TimesAfter 25 years as Sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of ending his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody was one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a loca... read more

'The characters talk straight from the hip and the Wyoming landscape is its own kind of eloquence' New York TimesAfter 25 years as Sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of ending his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody was one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a loca... read more

Havana Red

Leonardo Padura

A young transvestite found strangled in a Havana park. The stifling death of a beloved Cuba.

A young transvestite found strangled in a Havana park. The stifling death of a beloved Cuba.

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 200+ profiles.

8c673d5f0330599e031991b8db412f55681792bb

David Courtright

I've edited a wide variety of work—from Stephen King to the International Review of African-American Art. Let's make your work shine!

Brooklyn, NY, United States

Daf1a6cd287e82400caa66b498cf80655f6629df

Krysia Johnson

Freelance proofreader/copy-editor who also has first class information research and administrative skills. Non-native English specialist.

Leamside, near Durham

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

Sign up to read the full review

and view 200+ profiles.