Jennifer Banash

Jennifer Banash – Editor

Experienced editor and published author specializing in YA, Women's Fiction, Thrillers, Contemporary Fiction, Memoir and more.

Overview

I am a NY based, critically acclaimed writer, a former professor of English and creative writing, and have edited and ghostwritten several New York Times bestselling books for major publishers. I am also the author of five Young Adult novels: Silent Alarm, White Lines, Simply Irresistible, In Too Deep, and The Elite (Penguin USA and G.P. Putnam & Sons) Silent Alarm, was a 2015 finalist for the American Library Association’s Best Work of Young Adult Fiction prize. My newest novel, The Rise and Fall of Ava Arcana, received a rave review in Booklist, has over 3k positive reviews on Amazon.com, and is being developed for television by Warner Media. My next novel, The Essential Elizabeth Stone, will be published summer, 2024.


I am highly skilled at line editing and developmental editing, crafting superb query letters that will get your book noticed, and providing book coaching, and detailed manuscript assessment for existing books. Affordable rates!

Services
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs
Fiction
Coming of Age Literary Fiction Paranormal Romance Romantic Comedy Thriller & Suspense Women's Fiction Young Adult
Languages
English (UK) English (US) English (US)
Awards
  • Silent Alarm was shortlisted for the 2015 ALA award for Best Work of YA Fiction.

Work experience

Self-employed

Feb, 2018 — Dec, 2019 (almost 2 years)

In founding the fiction department at the agency, I was responsible for building a network of writers, connecting clients with novelists or screenwriters who had the ability to complete their various projects, and managing contracts, writer-client relations, and business development. In this role, I routinely worked with New York Times best sellers, genre-fiction heroes, busy CEOs, indie darlings, and everyone in between.

Self-employed

May, 2005 — Present

I have worked on hundreds of books in a variety of capacities throughout my years as a ghostwriter and editor, including writing complete manuscripts, performing line edits, and working developmentally with clients, walking them step-by-step through the process of writing and refining their work.

Brentwood School/ The University of Iowa

Aug, 2000 — Jan, 2016 (over 15 years)

In addition to teaching courses in American Literature , I founded the creative writing program at Brentwood, for which I both developed the curriculum and served as the first instructor. At the University of Iowa, I taught everything from Rhetoric and Freshman Comp to speciality courses in Creative Writing and Poetry.

Portfolio

White Lines

Banash, Jennifer

Silent Alarm

Banash, Jennifer

Midnight Picnic

Antosca, Nick

Fires

Antosca, Nick

Don't You Forget about Me (Gossip Girl Novels) (Paperback) #11, Published by Megan Tingley Books
A hot & hilarious STANDALONE romantic comedy for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lauren Blakely, and Julia Kent!"The only thing more humiliating than a guy falling asleep face-down in my crotch would be if he died there... Oh my god, is he DEAD?"All I wanted was litt... read more

Jennifer has 1 review

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Cheryl C.

Cheryl C.

Sep, 2023

Hi I used Jennifer she did a nice job and always responded back and gave me some good advice. I would recommend her.
Jennifer B.
Thanks, Cheryl!

Professionals similar to Jennifer

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Eric Braun

Eric B.

Editor and ghostwriter with 2+ decades in publishing. Specialize in children's fiction and NF but love working on books for any audience.

Minneapolis, MN, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Becky Sweeney

Becky S.

Experienced editor of genre fiction offering support specific to the needs of each individual client and story.

Edinburgh, UK

99% reply rate

View profile
Rebecca Raskin

Rebecca R.

Editor specializing in science and business nonfiction and genre fiction. Experience in-house at HarperCollins and Kensington and agencies.

New York, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile