Jennifer Banash

Jennifer Banash - Ghostwriter

New York, NY, USA

I'm a professional ghostwriter and editor with 15 years of experience working with private clients and major publishers.

Request a quote

Overview

I am a critically acclaimed writer, a former professor of English and creative writing, and have ghostwritten several New York Times bestselling books for major publishers, including Penguin, Forbes, and Alloy Entertainment. A widely published author in my own right, I am also the author of five celebrated young adult novels: Silent Alarm, White Lines, Simply Irresistible, In Too Deep, and The Elite (Penguin USA and G.P. Putnam & Sons). Her most recent book, Silent Alarm, was a 2015 finalist for the American Library Association’s Best Work of Young Adult Fiction prize, and is being developed for television as a Netflix Original Series. I am also the former co-founder and editor of Impetus Press, a small, independent publishing house that championed works of literary fiction with a pop edge.

With over fifteen years of extensive experience in ghostwriting, editing, and developmental editing, I exhibit high standards, and my meticulous attention to detail is the trademark of my editing and brainstorming process. I am highly skilled at bringing a book from the “idea” phase of development through to completion. As a distinguished instructor of English and creative writing for over fourteen years, I often take the hands-on approach to teaching and editing alike, and am proficient in shepherding clients’ projects in all genres of literature, with a speciality in women's and YA fiction.

I have ghostwritten numerous books for celebrity clients and titans of the business industry, but have a special fondness for all genres of fiction. My strong work ethic, dry sense of humor, and collaborative spirit are just a few of the reasons my services are routinely sought out by major publishers and private clients alike.
Services
Short-Form Content
Languages
English (US)
Fiction
Coming of Age
Contemporary Fiction
New Adult
Romantic Comedy
Women's Fiction

Awards

  • Silent Alarm was shortlisted for the 2015 ALA award for Best Work of YA Fiction.

Work experience

Director of Fiction

Gotham Ghostwriters
February, 2018 – December, 2019 (almost 2 years)

In founding the fiction department at this ghostwriting agency, I was responsible for building a network of writers, connecting clients with novelists or screenwriters who had the ability to complete their various projects, and managing contracts, writer-client relations, and business development. In this role, I routinely worked with New York Times best sellers, genre-fiction heroes, busy CEOs, indie darlings, and everyone in between.

Instructor of English and Creative Writing

Brentwood School
August, 2010 – January, 2016 (over 5 years)

In addition to teaching courses in American Literature and 9th grade composition, I founded the creative writing program at Brentwood, for which I both developed the curriculum and served as the first instructor. I also taught senior seminars on Food and Identity, acted as an advisor to ninth-grade students, and served on various faculty committees throughout my tenure at Brentwood.

Jennifer Banash LLC.

Self-employed
May, 2005 – Present (about 15 years)

I have worked on hundreds of books in a variety of capacities throughout my years as a ghostwriter, including writing complete manuscripts, performing line edits, and working developmentally with clients, walking them step-by-step through the process of writing and refining their work.

Portfolio (8 selected works)

Silent Alarm

Jennifer Banash

Alys’s whole world was comprised of the history project that was due, her upcoming violin audition, being held tightly in the arms of her boyfriend, Ben, and laughing with her best friend, Delilah. At least it was—until she found herself on the wrong end of a shotgun in the school library. Her suburban high school had become one of those places you hear about on the news—a place where some dis... read more

Alys’s whole world was comprised of the history project that was due, her upcoming violin audition, being held tightly in the arms of her boyfriend, Ben, and laughing with her best friend, Delilah. At least it was—until she found herself on the wrong end of a shotgun in the school library. Her suburban high school had become one of those places you hear about on the news—a place where some dis... read more

White Lines

Jennifer Banash

A gritty, atmospheric coming of age tale set in 1980s New York CitySeventeen-year-old Cat is living every teenager’s dream—she has her own apartment on the Lower East Side and at night she’s club kid royalty, guarding the velvet rope at some of the hottest clubs in the city. The night with its crazy, frenetic, high-inducing energy—the pulsing beat of the music, the radiant, joyful people and t... read more

A gritty, atmospheric coming of age tale set in 1980s New York CitySeventeen-year-old Cat is living every teenager’s dream—she has her own apartment on the Lower East Side and at night she’s club kid royalty, guarding the velvet rope at some of the hottest clubs in the city. The night with its crazy, frenetic, high-inducing energy—the pulsing beat of the music, the radiant, joyful people and t... read more

In Too Deep (Elite)

Jennifer Banash

If you don't belong here- you just don't belong... The Bramford building's newest resident and small-town transplant Casey McCloy is adapting to life in the Big Apple and loving it. She's got the look, the attitude, and a delish new boyfriend, Drew Van Allen. But she's starting to have second thoughts as to whether the "New York" Casey is the real Casey. And she's not so sure she likes herself... read more

If you don't belong here- you just don't belong... The Bramford building's newest resident and small-town transplant Casey McCloy is adapting to life in the Big Apple and loving it. She's got the look, the attitude, and a delish new boyfriend, Drew Van Allen. But she's starting to have second thoughts as to whether the "New York" Casey is the real Casey. And she's not so sure she likes herself... read more

The Elite

Jennifer Banash

From the top, you can see everything?except yourself. When Casey McCloy steps into the elegant Bramford building, she?s overwhelmed. Fresh from the Midwest, she?s moved to New York?s Upper East Side to live with her grandmother and attend the prestigious Meadowlark Academy. Here all that matters is who you know. The girl to know is Madison Macallister: popular, pretty, platinumblond. She?s not... read more

From the top, you can see everything?except yourself. When Casey McCloy steps into the elegant Bramford building, she?s overwhelmed. Fresh from the Midwest, she?s moved to New York?s Upper East Side to live with her grandmother and attend the prestigious Meadowlark Academy. Here all that matters is who you know. The girl to know is Madison Macallister: popular, pretty, platinumblond. She?s not... read more

Simply Irresistible (Elite)

Jennifer Banash

Small-town girl turned Big Apple beauty, Casey McCloy is really beginning to enjoy the high life in her high-rise. She's climbing the social ladder, to the dismay of her neighbor and rival, Madison Macallister. And Casey could end up as popular as Madison now that the two are set to star in their own reality show, "De-Luxe." But reality TV can be so unreal… Madison loves the attention, but hav... read more

Small-town girl turned Big Apple beauty, Casey McCloy is really beginning to enjoy the high life in her high-rise. She's climbing the social ladder, to the dismay of her neighbor and rival, Madison Macallister. And Casey could end up as popular as Madison now that the two are set to star in their own reality show, "De-Luxe." But reality TV can be so unreal… Madison loves the attention, but hav... read more

Bet Me: A Romantic Comedy (Lucky in Love Book 2)

Lila Monroe

A hot & hilarious STANDALONE romantic comedy for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lauren Blakely, and Julia Kent!"The only thing more humiliating than a guy falling asleep face-down in my crotch would be if he died there... Oh my god, is he DEAD?"All I wanted was little old-fashioned romance. After a parade of Tinder disasters who think chivalry is giving me a pearl necklace on the first date, I made ... read more

A hot & hilarious STANDALONE romantic comedy for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lauren Blakely, and Julia Kent!"The only thing more humiliating than a guy falling asleep face-down in my crotch would be if he died there... Oh my god, is he DEAD?"All I wanted was little old-fashioned romance. After a parade of Tinder disasters who think chivalry is giving me a pearl necklace on the first date, I made ... read more

Generation What?: Dispatches from the Quarter-Life Crisis

Bess Vanrenen

Seemingly a bit ludicrous and even comical, the quarter-life crisis is actually a very real phenomenon afflicting more rudderless twenty-somethings with each passing year. In Generation What?, young up-and-coming writers recount their individual quarrels between hoping to exist on the fringes of childhood and wanting to participate in the arena of adult responsibility.Some heartbreaking, some ... read more

Seemingly a bit ludicrous and even comical, the quarter-life crisis is actually a very real phenomenon afflicting more rudderless twenty-somethings with each passing year. In Generation What?, young up-and-coming writers recount their individual quarrels between hoping to exist on the fringes of childhood and wanting to participate in the arena of adult responsibility.Some heartbreaking, some ... read more

Gossip Girl #11: Don't You Forget About Me: A Gossip Girl Novel by Cecily von Ziegesar (2007-05-01)

Cecily Von Ziegesar

Don't You Forget about Me (Gossip Girl Novels) (Paperback) #11, Published by Megan Tingley Books

Don't You Forget about Me (Gossip Girl Novels) (Paperback) #11, Published by Megan Tingley Books

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Cyn Balog

Accomplished ghostwriter, book doctor, and writing coach, and author of 9 acclaimed novels with Random House, Sourcebooks, and Harlequin

Quakertown, PA, USA

Sean Easley

Multi-published author, editor, and writing mentor who wants to help make your dream a reality.

Dallas, TX, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy