Close this message

Janey Burton

Janey Burton - Editor

London, UK

Publishing consultant offering editorial and contracts services, as well as general advice on traditional or self-publishing.

Overview

I'm a publishing consultant, offering editorial and contracts services, as well as general advice to authors regarding getting an agent or how to self-publish.

Services
Languages
English (UK)
Fiction
Crime & Mystery Horror Humor & Comedy Thriller
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs History Law Psychology

Work experience

Publishing Consultant

JaneyBurton.com

May, 2011 – Present (over 5 years)

I provide consulting, editing and contracts services, mostly to authors.

Apart from the titles available on Amazon which are in my Portfolio, I have edited two PhD theses (not published), and am being consulted on a route to publication for a third. I also provide contracts services to eg. small publishers (Novelicious Books), and other companies involved in Publishing (emc design).

Previously worked at Random House (2011), Penguin (2008-2010), Cyan Books (2006-2008).
Work experience at Watson, Little Ltd and the Graham Maw Christie Agency (2006)
Freelance for Sweet & Maxwell, for the journal Current Law (2003-2005)

See Linkedin or janeyburton dot com for more details.

Portfolio (10 selected works)

Family Law

Frances Burton

Family Law is an accessible, student-friendly textbook which provides a comprehensive foundation in the key topics covered by undergraduate courses. Written with clarity, Family Law offers an introduction not just to the black-letter law but also to the social, economic and historical developments that have helped to shape it, considering key academic debates and areas of controversy. Authored... read more

Family Law is an accessible, student-friendly textbook which provides a comprehensive foundation in the key topics covered by undergraduate courses. Written with clarity, Family Law offers an introduction not just to the black-letter law but also to the social, economic and historical developments that have helped to shape it, considering key academic debates and areas of controversy. Authored... read more

Steiner's War-The Merville Battery

Mr Michael Rodney Strong

This book relates the entire history of a German gun battery in World War 2 using verbatim accounts from British and German servicemen. Full details of the battery's bunkers, guns and casemates at Merville in Normandy are included. The full war history of the battery commander, Leutnant Raimund Steiner, is the central theme.

This book relates the entire history of a German gun battery in World War 2 using verbatim accounts from British and German servicemen. Full details of the battery's bunkers, guns and casemates at Merville in Normandy are included. The full war history of the battery commander, Leutnant Raimund Steiner, is the central theme.

Sid's War

Sid Capon, Michael Strong

The story in his own words of Sid Capon, "a legend in the Parachute Regiment", and his part in the attack on the Merville Battery in Normandy as a soldier in the ninth battalion of the Regiment. He describes his recruit and parachute training, his experiences in the Battle of Normandy, his wounding and recovery and his return to the Battalion. A third of the proceeds of this book is paid to Br... read more

The story in his own words of Sid Capon, "a legend in the Parachute Regiment", and his part in the attack on the Merville Battery in Normandy as a soldier in the ninth battalion of the Regiment. He describes his recruit and parachute training, his experiences in the Battle of Normandy, his wounding and recovery and his return to the Battalion. A third of the proceeds of this book is paid to Br... read more

Under a Croatian Sun

Anthony Stancomb

‘Looking for a good holiday read try Under a Croatian Sun. A story about cultural difference and acceptance. For fans of Driving Over Lemons, Under a Tuscan Sun and A Year in Provence, this is a funny, heart-warming holiday read for people of all ages.’ Mature Times ‘A charming true story of a couple who move from London to a rustic Croatian island.’ Choice magazine ‘A good read.’ Tariq Ali A ... read more

‘Looking for a good holiday read try Under a Croatian Sun. A story about cultural difference and acceptance. For fans of Driving Over Lemons, Under a Tuscan Sun and A Year in Provence, this is a funny, heart-warming holiday read for people of all ages.’ Mature Times ‘A charming true story of a couple who move from London to a rustic Croatian island.’ Choice magazine ‘A good read.’ Tariq Ali A ... read more

The Warm Up: The story behind the Lycra with television's Mr Motivator

Derrick Evans

Derrick Errol Evans was born in Jamaica to a single mum, given away at just three months and raised by his Popa and Auntie. Raised in the religious, strict confines of 1950s Jamaica, Derrick talks openly about his childhood: the sexual abuse he suffered as young as six years old and his journey to Leicester, England aged nine, standing up to the school bully after years of torment, and sleepin... read more

Derrick Errol Evans was born in Jamaica to a single mum, given away at just three months and raised by his Popa and Auntie. Raised in the religious, strict confines of 1950s Jamaica, Derrick talks openly about his childhood: the sexual abuse he suffered as young as six years old and his journey to Leicester, England aged nine, standing up to the school bully after years of torment, and sleepin... read more

The Movie Star's Married Lover (Short Strokes Book 1)

Jane Wilder

Della made friends with the star of the last movie she worked on, and now she's on holiday with him and her husband, in a secluded house in the French countryside. She's trying to keep her lust for the actor to herself - she's much too curvy to appeal to a man that pants-droppingly handsome, it would be embarrassing to let her crush show. But it's very difficult when he's so flirty, and then i... read more

Della made friends with the star of the last movie she worked on, and now she's on holiday with him and her husband, in a secluded house in the French countryside. She's trying to keep her lust for the actor to herself - she's much too curvy to appeal to a man that pants-droppingly handsome, it would be embarrassing to let her crush show. But it's very difficult when he's so flirty, and then i... read more

The Movie Star's Married Lover 2 (Short Strokes)

Jane Wilder

Della and Dan got close in Part 1, with Matt's permission, encouragement, and involvement...and a very hot time was had by all. Now, in Part 2, Della anticipates the natural next development in her relationship with Dan, the handsome Movie Star (and friend) who has demonstrated his desire for her generously curvy body, and Matt is looking forward to watching their affair heat up. Time to play.... read more

Della and Dan got close in Part 1, with Matt's permission, encouragement, and involvement...and a very hot time was had by all. Now, in Part 2, Della anticipates the natural next development in her relationship with Dan, the handsome Movie Star (and friend) who has demonstrated his desire for her generously curvy body, and Matt is looking forward to watching their affair heat up. Time to play.... read more

Family Law

Frances Burton

Family Law provides a comprehensive foundation in the key topics covered by courses. It explains the basic principles of the law and practice in their social, economic and historic context, enabling the reader to understand the doctrinal and practical impact of current radical changes in family law in response to cultural and other influences. This second edition has been fully updated in the ... read more

Family Law provides a comprehensive foundation in the key topics covered by courses. It explains the basic principles of the law and practice in their social, economic and historic context, enabling the reader to understand the doctrinal and practical impact of current radical changes in family law in response to cultural and other influences. This second edition has been fully updated in the ... read more

Core Statutes on Family Law 2012-13 (Palgrave Core Statutes)

Frances Burton

The Palgrave Macmillan Core Statutes series has been developed to meet the needs of today's law students. Compiled by experienced lecturers, each title contains the essential materials needed at LLB level and, where applicable, on GDL/CPE courses. They are specifically designed to be easy to use under exam conditions and in the lecture hall. This new edition of core statutes on family law has ... read more

The Palgrave Macmillan Core Statutes series has been developed to meet the needs of today's law students. Compiled by experienced lecturers, each title contains the essential materials needed at LLB level and, where applicable, on GDL/CPE courses. They are specifically designed to be easy to use under exam conditions and in the lecture hall. This new edition of core statutes on family law has ... read more

The Man Who Was George Smiley: The Life of John Bingham

Michael Jago

"The greatest irony is that it was to George Smiley, modelled largely on Bingham, that le Carré owed his success."—London Review of BooksFollowing the film success of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy John le Carré's hero George Smiley has come to be seen as the perfect spy. Le Carré revealed shortly before the Iraq War that the model for Smiley was the author and MI5 officer John Bingham, 7th Baro... read more

"The greatest irony is that it was to George Smiley, modelled largely on Bingham, that le Carré owed his success."—London Review of BooksFollowing the film success of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy John le Carré's hero George Smiley has come to be seen as the perfect spy. Le Carré revealed shortly before the Iraq War that the model for Smiley was the author and MI5 officer John Bingham, 7th Baro... read more

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 200+ profiles.

Db56a7c074f692940229c352b6084f5fa724ac2a

Alessandra Lusardi

Editor with 15+ years' experience in NY book publishing, committed to developing an author's voice and maximizing their book's potential.

Brooklyn, NY, United States

76b485c5715e6e2150d5b1f214fe55c623d76ec7

Elizabeth Evans

Literary agent turned publishing consultant, specializing in memoir, travel/adventure, popular science, and other stories strange and true.

Milwaukee, WI, United States

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

Sign up to read the full review

and view 200+ profiles.