Jane Hammett

Jane Hammett - Editor

Leighton Buzzard, UK

I am an experienced copy-editor and proofreader. I work with authors, publishers and businesses on fiction and non-fiction.

Request a quote
Reedsy profile URL
Verified identity Lock

Overview

Freelance since 1998, I have worked on thousands of projects, on subjects from YA fiction to birdwatching, and on projects ranging from encyclopaedias to website copy, blogs and press releases. I am proud to be an Advanced Professional Member of the Society for Editors and Proofreaders, and abide by the Society’s Code of Practice.

Who do I work for?
My clients include self-publishing/independent authors (writing fiction and non-fiction for adults and children), businesses, publishers and academic authors. I work with both self-publishing and traditionally published authors, and take pride in helping each one make their work the best it can be. I enjoy working with writers who want to hone their craft. Services I offer include development editing, copy-editing and proofreading for fiction. I advise authors on all aspects of their novels, including plot, dialogue, point of view, characterisation and structure.

I also work with businesses to produce clear, clean, error-free copy, helping to make sure that a business’s communications are written in easy-to-understand English. I can check websites and all company literature (letters, press releases, blogs, sales/marketing/promotional material) to ensure consistency and a professional finish.

Fiction
What genres do I work on?
I only work on genres I know about, am happy reading and am familiar with. For example, I don’t read sci-fi so I don’t edit books in that genre! I work on:

children’s fiction and non-fiction (from pre-school picture books to YA novels)
crime/detective/mystery/action/thriller/suspense
short stories/novellas
romance
erotica and adult fiction
general fiction, both contemporary and historical
women’s fiction
literary fiction.

And non-fiction:

biography, autobiography, memoirs
self-help books.


Subjects
Animals (behaviour, husbandry, welfare), biology, built environment, business/business studies, children's/teenage publishing, earth sciences, education (pre-school, early years, primary, literacy), English language (Old/Middle English – basic), English and Scottish literature and criticism, environment/energy (conservation, birds, countryside/nature, urban, wildlife), fiction (adult, children's, teenage, YA, erotic), finance, geography, history, home and leisure, humanities, ICT, management, media studies, midwifery, nursing, personal development (pregnancy and childbirth, relationships, self-help/popular psychology), poetry, social sciences (crime/criminology, sociology), horses (dressage, show jumping), gymnastics.

In my spare time, I enjoy nature, wildlife, bird-watching and reading – I am a voracious reader and am never without a book. I believe reading is essential for both authors and editors!

Please contact me so we can discuss your requirements.

Languages
English (UK)
Fiction
Children's - Middle Grade
Crime & Mystery
Literature
Romance
Young Adult & Teen
Non-Fiction
Health & wellbeing
Nature
Parenting & Families
Self-help & Self-improvement
Travel

Certifications

  • Advanced Professional member, SfEP

Work experience

Editor and proofreader

Self-employed
June, 1998 – Present (about 20 years)

Portfolio (5 selected works)

Season of the Witch

Natasha Mostert

In her award-winning novel, Mostert blends alchemy, the art of memory, high magic and murder to create a highly original psychological thriller. Gabriel Blackstone is a cool, hip, thoroughly twenty-first century Londoner with an unusual talent. A computer hacker by trade, he is also a remote viewer: able to ‘slam a ride’ through the minds of others. But he uses his gift only reluctantly -- unt... read more

In her award-winning novel, Mostert blends alchemy, the art of memory, high magic and murder to create a highly original psychological thriller. Gabriel Blackstone is a cool, hip, thoroughly twenty-first century Londoner with an unusual talent. A computer hacker by trade, he is also a remote viewer: able to ‘slam a ride’ through the minds of others. But he uses his gift only reluctantly -- unt... read more

Live Well to 101

Dawn Harper

In Live Well to 101, Dr Dawn Harper, from Channel 4's Embarrassing Bodies, urges you to start investing in your health now to improve your chances of enjoying your latter years to the full. This book is for anyone who enjoyed and learnt from The Longevity Book by Cameron Diaz or The Optimum Nutrition Bible by Patrick Holford. 'We are living longer. A girl born today can expect to live beyond h... read more

In Live Well to 101, Dr Dawn Harper, from Channel 4's Embarrassing Bodies, urges you to start investing in your health now to improve your chances of enjoying your latter years to the full. This book is for anyone who enjoyed and learnt from The Longevity Book by Cameron Diaz or The Optimum Nutrition Bible by Patrick Holford. 'We are living longer. A girl born today can expect to live beyond h... read more

What else can a teacher do?

David Hodgson

In What Else Can a Teacher Do? Review Your Career, Reduce Stress and Gain Control of Your Life, David Hodgson surveys and suggests a diverse range of alternative career options suited to teachers’ transferable skill sets. Some teachers reach a point where they question their role in the classroom; they want to consider something different, but don’t know where to start. In this practical handb... read more

In What Else Can a Teacher Do? Review Your Career, Reduce Stress and Gain Control of Your Life, David Hodgson surveys and suggests a diverse range of alternative career options suited to teachers’ transferable skill sets. Some teachers reach a point where they question their role in the classroom; they want to consider something different, but don’t know where to start. In this practical handb... read more

Happy as Harry

Deana Luchia

Happy as Harry is a positive, touching and uplifting book about happiness, written by the perfect life coach - Harry the one-eyed rescue dog, and his owner, Deana Luchia. Perfect for fans of Alfie and George, Haatchi & Little B and The Happiness Project.'Dogs know how to be happy. It's what we do best. We cavort, careen, race and chase. Any day can be a good day, an amazing and fabulous day. Y... read more

Happy as Harry is a positive, touching and uplifting book about happiness, written by the perfect life coach - Harry the one-eyed rescue dog, and his owner, Deana Luchia. Perfect for fans of Alfie and George, Haatchi & Little B and The Happiness Project.'Dogs know how to be happy. It's what we do best. We cavort, careen, race and chase. Any day can be a good day, an amazing and fabulous day. Y... read more

Just Jack

Kate Scott

It's not easy fitting in at a new school. It's even harder to be yourself. A warm and funny story about making new friends and being yourself. Perfect for young fans of WONDER and Frank Cottrell-Boyce.Jack knows LOTS about starting a new school. Since Dad left, he and his mum have moved house five times. He also knows all about fitting in. The trick is to act exactly like everyone else and mak... read more

It's not easy fitting in at a new school. It's even harder to be yourself. A warm and funny story about making new friends and being yourself. Perfect for young fans of WONDER and Frank Cottrell-Boyce.Jack knows LOTS about starting a new school. Since Dad left, he and his mum have moved house five times. He also knows all about fitting in. The trick is to act exactly like everyone else and mak... read more

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

5c930c01c3705233f03284361ef556125bd98b23

Ryan Quinn

Hawk-eyed and supportive copy editor, developmental editor, and writer with ten years of Big Five and indie experience.

Los Angeles, United States

4876996d9d7d774a2087142207cbd0767993a58e

Bryony Sutherland

Traditionally published biographer and ghostwriter, now working as an editor of memoirs, how-tos, and fiction ... with a twist.

England, United Kingdom

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy