Dominic Wakeford

Dominic Wakeford – Editor

Experienced book editor formerly @ HarperCollins and Little Brown, working on a range of fiction including literary, commercial, crime + YA.

Overview

Having previously worked as a commissioning editor at two of the UK’s largest publishing houses, HarperCollins and Little, Brown (a division of Hachette), I know exactly what makes a book stand out in a crowded marketplace.

Whether you’re querying agents for the first time, and would like some advice on making your submission letter as strong as possible, or if you’d like someone to cast an experienced eye over your manuscript, I’m your editor.

I’ve worked on bestselling, prize-winning fiction and non-fiction titles across a range of genres: from literary to commercial, from crime to romance. I know what sells and what doesn’t, and can let you in on the tricks of the trade to ensure your book will go to the top of an editor’s towering to-be-read pile.

I'm available for:

-manuscript appraisals
-query letter assistance
-structural editing
-copyediting
-proofreading

There's nothing I care more about than authors and their work, and helping them to navigate the ever-more complicated world of book publishing – rest assured that working with me will be a fully collaborative experience, and never a dictatorial one.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to get in touch; I so hope we can work together on your book.
Services
Fiction
Coming of Age Contemporary Fiction Historical Fiction LGBTQ Fiction Mystery & Crime Romance Women's Fiction Young Adult
Languages
English (AUS) English (UK) English (US)
Certifications
  • Publishing Training Centre – Proofreading for Editors course

Work experience

HarperCollins

Jul, 2018 — Oct, 2019 (over 1 year)

As Senior Commissioning Editor for the HQ imprint, my brief was to acquire and publish upmarket commercial fiction. My acquisitions included Cold Storage, a thriller published simultaneously with Harper’s global offices in September 2019, the New York Times bestseller A Woman is No Man and Pizza Girl, a literary debut which Doubleday are also publishing in summer 2020. I also acquired the major non-fiction anthology The Queer Bible for publication in 2021.

Working closely with HarperCollins’ 360 and Global Publishing Programmes from the outset gave me an invaluable insight into joined-up international publications, building on my existing experience in this area from Hachette.

Given my personal interest in this area, I was also tasked with monitoring potential film/TV-related opportunities for our team, as well as actively looking for projects that could have life in another medium.

Little, Brown Book Group

Jan, 2014 — Jul, 2018 (over 4 years)

As Commissioning Editor for the Piatkus Fiction imprint, I acquired and edited a wide range of commercial fiction titles, project-managing books from acquisition through to final publication, as well as assisting on structural edits for the ‘superlead’ titles. I also acquired fiction and non-fiction for the Dialogue, Corsair and Constable imprints.

Copywriting formed a substantial part of my role – this included writing cover copy, sales and marketing material, as well as preparing social media posts.

I was also tasked with preparing contract, design, marketing and sales briefs for my books, and liaising across in-house departments, all the while communicating with authors and agents, in order to collaboratively produce the best possible product.

I managed submissions to the imprint, reading and reporting on them, as well as logging any communication from agents.

Working to tight and often simultaneous deadlines on a wide range of projects, this role required diligent organisational skills and superior time and people management, as well as foresight and market awareness.

Portfolio

A gripping historical crime novel, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom ’Crackles with energy and wit’ The Times South London, 1896. William Arrowood, Victorian London’s less salubrious private detective, is paid a visit by Captain Moon, the owner of a pleasure st... read more
Dark Corners

Darren O’Sullivan

From digital bestseller Darren O’Sullivan comes a gripping thriller with a killer twist! You thought you’d escaped your past It’s been twenty years since Neve’s best friend Chloe went missing. Neve has never recovered and promised herself she’d never go back t... read more
Pizza Girl

Jean Kyoung Frazier

Great inventiveness, unfailing intelligence and empathy, and best of all a rare and shimmering wit’ Richard Ford Eighteen years old, pregnant, and working as a pizza delivery girl in suburban Los Angeles, our charmingly dysfunctional heroine is deeply lost. Sh... read more
Rainbow Milk

Paul Mendez

AN OBSERVER TOP TEN DEBUT 2020'Sensuous and thrillingly well written', Observer 'When did you last read a novel about a young, black, gay, Jehovah Witness man from Wolverhampton who flees his community to make his way in London as a prostitute? This might be a... read more
A sumptuously evocative story set in 18th century India from bestselling author Charlotte Betts, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft.'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde on The Apothecary's DaughterIndia,... read more
Seven Days of Us

Francesca Hornak

'One of the best books of the year' Hello!The joyful, sharply observed and life-affirming Christmas story for fans of One Day. Also a Radio 2 Bookclub pick.It's Christmas, and the Birch family is gathering for the first time in years.Olivia, the eldest daughte... read more
'The cruelty and magnificence of Restoration London provides endless fascination . . . there's much to delight in this volume' The Times'Don Jordan's history captures the shifts [Charles II] engineered in trade and culture' NatureDuring the reign of Charles II... read more
The stirring second installment in Terri Nixon's Penhaligon Saga series1910. Anna Garvey and her daughter are still running the Tin Streamer's Arms in Caernoweth, Cornwall, and it finally seems like she has left her tumultuous history behind in Ireland. Meanwh... read more
Closer Than You Think

Darren O’Sullivan

‘Dark, gripping and with a twist that leaves you breathless’ John Marrs He’s watching. She’s waiting. The unmissable new thriller from Darren O’Sullivan, author of Our Little Secret and Close Your Eyes. Having barely escaped the clutches of a serial killer, Cl... read more
The compelling twenty-second mystery in the bestselling Wesley Peterson series, by acclaimed crime writer Kate Ellis. 'A beguiling author who interweaves past and present' The TimesSecrets never stay buried for long . . . When archaeologist Neil Watson unearth... read more
'Haunting' Independent'A powerful story of loss, malice and deception' Ann CleevesThe first gripping historical thriller in the Albert Lincoln series by bestselling crime writer Kate Ellis.1919. The Derbyshire village of Wenfield is still reeling from four yea... read more
‘Gripping’ The Times ‘Fans of Philippa Gregory and other historical fiction writers will love Anne O’Brien’s A Tapestry of Treason’ Yours Her actions could make history – but at what price? 1399: Constance of York, Lady Despenser, proves herself more than a me... read more
Time to Win

Harry Brett

'The Godfather in Great Yarmouth' Ian Rankin'An atmospheric and riveting tale' Guardian* * * * * The Sun'Harry Brett writes a fun plot with witty elegance' The TimesWhen local crime boss Richard Goodwin is pulled from the river by his office it looks like suic... read more
A murder most foul When the landlord of a Yorkshire tavern is killed in plain sight, Freda Simonson, the only witness to the crime, becomes plagued with guilt, believing the wrong man has been convicted. Following her death, it seems that the truth will never ... read more
This Brutal House

Niven Govinden

SHORTLISTED FOR THE GORDON BURN PRIZE 2019'Vivid prose reinventing ideas of motherhood, belonging and taking us into the community of drag balls and protest, both personal and political' Jenni Fagan'A vital book' Andrew McMillan'A powerful and poetic book' Ker... read more
The Last Romeo

Justin Myers

'If you liked Bridget Jones's Diary, try this' BBC News'So funny and sharp, yet tender and emotional too. I loved it!' Jill Mansell'I adored The Last Romeo . . . funny, clever and warm' Adam Kay, author of This is Going to Hurt'Funny, smart, tart' Russell T Da... read more

Dominic has 232 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Tessa G.

Tessa G.

Feb, 2024

Dom was very helpful in all aspects that I asked for, and he is a pleasure to work with. I’m looking forward to our continued collaboration.
Dan S.

Dan S.

Feb, 2024

Very professional, experienced and communicative. Am pleased to continue working with this able gentleman.
Katherine Z.

Katherine Z.

Jan, 2024

Dom is such a pleasure to work with! He is able to immediately grasp a manuscript's themes and character arcs and offers great advice on how to strengthen narrative, voice and any plot-holes or inconsistencies. We collaborated during the developmental editing phase and he went above and beyond my expectations - he is really an experienced and enthusiastic mentor who instills confidence and crea...
Read more
Mordechai S.

Mordechai S.

Jan, 2024

Dom's communication throughout this process was clear, up front and helpful. His editorial feedback on my writing was the same. He was beyond fair when it came to pricing. I highly recommend him to anyone looking for productive, clear, helpful editorial work.
Deirdre O.

Deirdre O.

Jan, 2024

Dominic was wonderful. Totally professional as well as encouraging and friendly. His insights have changed my attitude as well as my writing. Hiring him was one of the best things I've done since I began this odessy.

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Dominic and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Dominic

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Aoife Harrison

Aoife H.

Publishing professional with an M.Phil in Children's Literature. Special interests include YA, fantasy and children's fiction for all ages.

Dublin, Ireland

95% reply rate

View profile
Megan McKeever

Megan M.

A 20 year veteran of the publishing industry, Megan spent a decade at Simon & Schuster and has acquired and edited many bestsellers.

New York, NY, United States

100% reply rate

View profile
Lindsey Rose

Lindsey R.

Experienced editor from a Big Five publisher specializing in mystery, suspense, and thrillers.

New York, United States

100% reply rate

View profile