Dominic Wakeford

Dominic Wakeford – Editor

Experienced book editor formerly @ HarperCollins and Little Brown, working on a range of fiction including literary, commercial, crime + YA.

Overview

Having previously worked as a commissioning editor at two of the UK’s largest publishing houses, HarperCollins and Little, Brown (a division of Hachette), I know exactly what makes a book stand out in a crowded marketplace.

Whether you’re querying agents for the first time, and would like some advice on making your submission letter as strong as possible, or if you’d like someone to cast an experienced eye over your manuscript, I’m your editor.

I’ve worked on bestselling, prize-winning fiction and non-fiction titles across a range of genres: from literary to commercial, from crime to romance. I know what sells and what doesn’t, and can let you in on the tricks of the trade to ensure your book will go to the top of an editor’s towering to-be-read pile.

I'm available for:

-manuscript appraisals
-query letter assistance
-structural editing
-copyediting
-proofreading

There's nothing I care more about than authors and their work, and helping them to navigate the ever-more complicated world of book publishing – rest assured that working with me will be a fully collaborative experience, and never a dictatorial one.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to get in touch; I so hope we can work together on your book.
Services
Fiction
Coming of Age Contemporary Fiction Historical Fiction LGBTQ Fiction Mystery & Crime Romance Women's Fiction Young Adult
Languages
English (AUS) English (UK) English (US)
Certifications
  • Publishing Training Centre – Proofreading for Editors course

Work experience

HarperCollins

Jul, 2018 — Oct, 2019 (over 1 year)

As Senior Commissioning Editor for the HQ imprint, my brief was to acquire and publish upmarket commercial fiction. My acquisitions included Cold Storage, a thriller published simultaneously with Harper’s global offices in September 2019, the New York Times bestseller A Woman is No Man and Pizza Girl, a literary debut which Doubleday are also publishing in summer 2020. I also acquired the major non-fiction anthology The Queer Bible for publication in 2021.

Working closely with HarperCollins’ 360 and Global Publishing Programmes from the outset gave me an invaluable insight into joined-up international publications, building on my existing experience in this area from Hachette.

Given my personal interest in this area, I was also tasked with monitoring potential film/TV-related opportunities for our team, as well as actively looking for projects that could have life in another medium.

Little, Brown Book Group

Jan, 2014 — Jul, 2018 (over 4 years)

As Commissioning Editor for the Piatkus Fiction imprint, I acquired and edited a wide range of commercial fiction titles, project-managing books from acquisition through to final publication, as well as assisting on structural edits for the ‘superlead’ titles. I also acquired fiction and non-fiction for the Dialogue, Corsair and Constable imprints.

Copywriting formed a substantial part of my role – this included writing cover copy, sales and marketing material, as well as preparing social media posts.

I was also tasked with preparing contract, design, marketing and sales briefs for my books, and liaising across in-house departments, all the while communicating with authors and agents, in order to collaboratively produce the best possible product.

I managed submissions to the imprint, reading and reporting on them, as well as logging any communication from agents.

Working to tight and often simultaneous deadlines on a wide range of projects, this role required diligent organisational skills and superior time and people management, as well as foresight and market awareness.

Portfolio

A gripping historical crime novel, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom ’Crackles with energy and wit’ The Times South London, 1896. William Arrowood, Victorian London’s less salubrious private detective, is paid a visit by Captain Moon, the owner of a pleasure st... read more
Dark Corners

Darren O’Sullivan

From digital bestseller Darren O’Sullivan comes a gripping thriller with a killer twist! You thought you’d escaped your past It’s been twenty years since Neve’s best friend Chloe went missing. Neve has never recovered and promised herself she’d never go back t... read more
Pizza Girl

Jean Kyoung Frazier

Great inventiveness, unfailing intelligence and empathy, and best of all a rare and shimmering wit’ Richard Ford Eighteen years old, pregnant, and working as a pizza delivery girl in suburban Los Angeles, our charmingly dysfunctional heroine is deeply lost. Sh... read more
Rainbow Milk

Paul Mendez

AN OBSERVER TOP TEN DEBUT 2020'Sensuous and thrillingly well written', Observer 'When did you last read a novel about a young, black, gay, Jehovah Witness man from Wolverhampton who flees his community to make his way in London as a prostitute? This might be a... read more
A sumptuously evocative story set in 18th century India from bestselling author Charlotte Betts, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft.'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde on The Apothecary's DaughterIndia,... read more
Seven Days of Us

Francesca Hornak

'One of the best books of the year' Hello!The joyful, sharply observed and life-affirming Christmas story for fans of One Day. Also a Radio 2 Bookclub pick.It's Christmas, and the Birch family is gathering for the first time in years.Olivia, the eldest daughte... read more
'The cruelty and magnificence of Restoration London provides endless fascination . . . there's much to delight in this volume' The Times'Don Jordan's history captures the shifts [Charles II] engineered in trade and culture' NatureDuring the reign of Charles II... read more
The stirring second installment in Terri Nixon's Penhaligon Saga series1910. Anna Garvey and her daughter are still running the Tin Streamer's Arms in Caernoweth, Cornwall, and it finally seems like she has left her tumultuous history behind in Ireland. Meanwh... read more
Closer Than You Think

Darren O’Sullivan

‘Dark, gripping and with a twist that leaves you breathless’ John Marrs He’s watching. She’s waiting. The unmissable new thriller from Darren O’Sullivan, author of Our Little Secret and Close Your Eyes. Having barely escaped the clutches of a serial killer, Cl... read more
The compelling twenty-second mystery in the bestselling Wesley Peterson series, by acclaimed crime writer Kate Ellis. 'A beguiling author who interweaves past and present' The TimesSecrets never stay buried for long . . . When archaeologist Neil Watson unearth... read more
'Haunting' Independent'A powerful story of loss, malice and deception' Ann CleevesThe first gripping historical thriller in the Albert Lincoln series by bestselling crime writer Kate Ellis.1919. The Derbyshire village of Wenfield is still reeling from four yea... read more
‘Gripping’ The Times ‘Fans of Philippa Gregory and other historical fiction writers will love Anne O’Brien’s A Tapestry of Treason’ Yours Her actions could make history – but at what price? 1399: Constance of York, Lady Despenser, proves herself more than a me... read more
Time to Win

Harry Brett

'The Godfather in Great Yarmouth' Ian Rankin'An atmospheric and riveting tale' Guardian* * * * * The Sun'Harry Brett writes a fun plot with witty elegance' The TimesWhen local crime boss Richard Goodwin is pulled from the river by his office it looks like suic... read more
A murder most foul When the landlord of a Yorkshire tavern is killed in plain sight, Freda Simonson, the only witness to the crime, becomes plagued with guilt, believing the wrong man has been convicted. Following her death, it seems that the truth will never ... read more
This Brutal House

Niven Govinden

SHORTLISTED FOR THE GORDON BURN PRIZE 2019'Vivid prose reinventing ideas of motherhood, belonging and taking us into the community of drag balls and protest, both personal and political' Jenni Fagan'A vital book' Andrew McMillan'A powerful and poetic book' Ker... read more
The Last Romeo

Justin Myers

'If you liked Bridget Jones's Diary, try this' BBC News'So funny and sharp, yet tender and emotional too. I loved it!' Jill Mansell'I adored The Last Romeo . . . funny, clever and warm' Adam Kay, author of This is Going to Hurt'Funny, smart, tart' Russell T Da... read more

Dominic has 245 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Andrew T.

Andrew T.

Jun, 2024

This was the second time I have used Dominic as a developmental editor and would have no hesitation recommending him to others. He is easy to work with, always responsive and his comments are clear and logical. He helped with my manuscript, synopsis and the covering letter to publishing agents and all were significantly improved by his input. If there was one issue that I thought could be impro...
Read more
Katie D.

Katie D.

Jun, 2024

Dom is a gem of an editor and one that I have no hesitation in recommending to anyone in search of a collaborative, thoughtful and professional edit. Working with Dom has not only been enjoyable but has done wonders for my confidence and skill as a writer. I'm grateful for all the care and formatting he's so clearly put into my book. Any editor will edit your work but Dom goes that extra mile t...
Read more
Anne F.

Anne F.

Jun, 2024

The editorial assessment I received from Dom was more than I had hoped for. I adopted every recommendation and his industry knowledge and experience shone through. He was thorough and incisive in his analysis of what was needed to hone my manuscript – evolution not revolution was how he put it! As a writer trying to navigate the agent submission process his advice and support have been invaluab...
Read more
Fazi G.

Fazi G.

Jun, 2024

Another project delivered on time and with great communication throughout. Dominic is a very good editor to work with. Highly recommended.
Christopher W.

Christopher W.

May, 2024

This is my second engagement with Dominic. He was very professional in his work and takes care to keep the writers voice while he is editing. I have learned a great deal from his feedback, so much so that I doing a writing course with Tom Bomley to embed what I have learned from his editing. Dominic is very supportive and encouraging while also being realistic about my work. This I appreciate,...
Read more

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Dominic and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Dominic

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Rebecca Petruck

Rebecca P.

Developmental editor + published author / 20 years experience / I love to mentor writers in both early and later-stage planning and revision

Creston, NC, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Jenny Page

Jenny P.

Hello! I’ve worked on bestsellers by Elton John, Candice Carty-Williams, Erica James and Louise Pentland. Love crime and women's fiction.

London, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Laura Joyce

Laura J.

I'm an editor, book coach, crime and thriller nerd, and MA/MFA instructor. My clients have written prize-winners and bestsellers. Join them!

Sheffield, UK

100% reply rate

View profile