Clem Flanagan

Clem Flanagan - Editor

London

Eagle-eyed copy-editor and proofreader specialising in commercial fiction and non-fiction, YA and fantasy.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

Editor with 5+ years of experience working across fiction and non-fiction, with particular interests in YA, fantasy, sci-fi, historical fiction and mind, body & spirit/self-help (the less woo-woo end of that spectrum).

I completed a BA in Creative Writing and English Lit and an MLitt in Publishing Studies, and have spent my life writing creatively and analysing what makes a good story GREAT. I'm a stickler for consistency and hate typos, so I'm a terrific proofreader – but I'm also available for copy-editing jobs if they fit in the genres mentioned above.

I have worked – and am interested in working – on all sorts of projects, from short stories to novellas and novels. I'm also a native French and Dutch speaker, and speak some German, which comes in handy when editing texts that mention any foreign words.

Some of my favourite books – if you were wondering! – include The Wheel of Time series, The Red Queen series, Circe, The Lord of the Rings, The Signature of All Things, One Day, The Fates Divide, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. And Harry Potter, obvs.
Languages
English (UK)
Fiction
Contemporary Fiction
Epic Fantasy
New Adult
Young Adult Fantasy
Non-Fiction
Health & wellbeing
Self-help & Self-improvement

Certifications

  • MLitt Publishing Studies
  • BA Creative Writing & English Literature

Work experience

Core Editor

Cornerstones Literary Agency
December, 2019 – Present (about 2 months)

I freelance as a Core Editor for Cornerstones, a wonderful literary agency. I read through an author's full manuscript and assess the plot, characterisation, style and language, world-building and overall publishing potential – basically, the full works. I love deep-diving into a manuscript in this way and offer an author a detailed report that will help them shape their book into a publishable project.

Editor

Hay House UK
January, 2018 – Present (about 2 years)

My role as editor is really varied, taking me from writing book blurbs (my favourite part!) to adapting healthy cookery books to British English and preparing book files for print. I have the privilege of working on lots of different titles ranging from self-help to health, from the esoteric to the latest science. I also read submissions and assess them for publication. When we have author events on, I love to work in our pop-up bookshop.

Publisher

Thomson Reuteres
October, 2016 – October, 2017 (about 1 year)

As the publisher at Thomson Reuters' legal publishing arm in Scotland, I commissioned all new frontlist titles, acting as the first point of contact between our authors and TR. Titles spanned a wide spectrum of markets, from university study-guides to reference titles and annotated acts.

Freelance proofreader and editor

Self-employed
May, 2014 – December, 2015 (over 1 year)

I freelanced as a proofreader and editor (and sometimes content writer) for several independent presses and websites, including Lumphanan Press, Freight Books, Cargo Publishing, Endeavour Press and TripAdvisor. I worked on a wide variety of material, including a manual on Qigong, an award-winning contemporary novel, historical novels and, you guessed it, some travel pieces!

Portfolio (9 selected works)

Waking Up in Paris: Overcoming Darkness in the City of Light

Sonia Choquette

Now in tradepaper: New York Times best-selling author shares her journey to find a new life in Paris after a devastating divorce.Devastated by the end of her decades-long marriage, renowned spiritual teacher and intuitive guide Sonia Choquette undertook an unexpected move and relocated to Paris, the scene of many happy memories from her life as a student and young mother. Arriving in the after... read more

Now in tradepaper: New York Times best-selling author shares her journey to find a new life in Paris after a devastating divorce.Devastated by the end of her decades-long marriage, renowned spiritual teacher and intuitive guide Sonia Choquette undertook an unexpected move and relocated to Paris, the scene of many happy memories from her life as a student and young mother. Arriving in the after... read more

Outside Verdun

Arnold Zweig

A new translation of a forgotten masterpiece of German World War I literature, based on the author's own first-hand experiences of combatThe war, an operation instigated by men, still felt to him like a storm decreed by fate, an unleashing of powerful elements, unaccountable and beyond criticism.Arnold Zweig's novel was first published in 1933 and is based on his own experiences in the German ... read more

A new translation of a forgotten masterpiece of German World War I literature, based on the author's own first-hand experiences of combatThe war, an operation instigated by men, still felt to him like a storm decreed by fate, an unleashing of powerful elements, unaccountable and beyond criticism.Arnold Zweig's novel was first published in 1933 and is based on his own experiences in the German ... read more

The Other Ida

Amy Mason

Other Ida

Other Ida

First Time Solo

Iain Maloney

Shortlisted for the Guardian's Not the Booker Award<>A gripping and ultimately deeply effecting literary debut, First Time Solo is more than a war story, it is a beautifully rendered portrait of men preparing for conflict and a society on the brink of seismic social change. It's 1943 and Jack Devine, a farmer's son, is finally called up to the RAF. Jack dreams of becoming a pilot, breaking hea... read more

Shortlisted for the Guardian's Not the Booker Award<>A gripping and ultimately deeply effecting literary debut, First Time Solo is more than a war story, it is a beautifully rendered portrait of men preparing for conflict and a society on the brink of seismic social change. It's 1943 and Jack Devine, a farmer's son, is finally called up to the RAF. Jack dreams of becoming a pilot, breaking hea... read more

The Hat of Victor Noir

Adrian Mathews

One Parisian night, English teacher Philip Kovacs comes home to find his apartment disturbed… A strange scent lingers in the air, his typewriter has been stolen, his personal belongings stirred. In the Père Lachaise cemetery, a woman leaves a letter in a black hat by the gravestone of the legendary 19th century journalist, Victor Noir. The letter bears Kovacs’s name. Little does she know she i... read more

One Parisian night, English teacher Philip Kovacs comes home to find his apartment disturbed… A strange scent lingers in the air, his typewriter has been stolen, his personal belongings stirred. In the Père Lachaise cemetery, a woman leaves a letter in a black hat by the gravestone of the legendary 19th century journalist, Victor Noir. The letter bears Kovacs’s name. Little does she know she i... read more

The Guinea Stamp: Spies, smuggling and romantic adventure

Alice Chetwynd Ley

A classic pre Regency romance with a dramatic twist! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Jane Aiken Hodge and Jane Austen. Nothing is as it seems when spies are in your midst…1804, EnglandAttractive heiress, Joanna Feniton, has been betrothed to the Honourable Algernon Cholcombe, a wealthy nobleman, since childhood.But when a chance encounter leads her to an attractive stranger her heart... read more

A classic pre Regency romance with a dramatic twist! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Jane Aiken Hodge and Jane Austen. Nothing is as it seems when spies are in your midst…1804, EnglandAttractive heiress, Joanna Feniton, has been betrothed to the Honourable Algernon Cholcombe, a wealthy nobleman, since childhood.But when a chance encounter leads her to an attractive stranger her heart... read more

Stalingrad Heroes (Brothers at War Book 2)

Alan David

Stalingrad, 1942. The German troops have reached the gates of Stalingrad, and they intend to bring it down. Little do they know, this is the campaign that will finally bring down the Third Reich. Max Eckhardt is the SS Officer leading the attack on Stalingrad; his faith in Hitler’s reign has been unshakeable—until now. Kurt, his brother, and a tank commander, is pounding a bloody trail into th... read more

Stalingrad, 1942. The German troops have reached the gates of Stalingrad, and they intend to bring it down. Little do they know, this is the campaign that will finally bring down the Third Reich. Max Eckhardt is the SS Officer leading the attack on Stalingrad; his faith in Hitler’s reign has been unshakeable—until now. Kurt, his brother, and a tank commander, is pounding a bloody trail into th... read more

The Fall Guy

Ritchie Perry

The British Intelligence outfit SR(2) have lost too many agents already trying to stop the European cocaine trade. Now they need someone unknown to succeed where they have failed — they need Philis.Smuggler turned secret agent, whether he’s courting danger or women, he’s as villainous as he is seductive. Philis has no interest in helping the authorities—until a long-time friend is brutally tor... read more

The British Intelligence outfit SR(2) have lost too many agents already trying to stop the European cocaine trade. Now they need someone unknown to succeed where they have failed — they need Philis.Smuggler turned secret agent, whether he’s courting danger or women, he’s as villainous as he is seductive. Philis has no interest in helping the authorities—until a long-time friend is brutally tor... read more

The Last Tiger

Tony Black

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Courtney Andersson

Experienced science fiction &amp; fantasy editor in love with the art &amp; science of editing. I'll help you tell your story, your way.

Reno, NV, USA

Katie McCoach

Developmental editor. Let’s create your best story!

Los Angeles, United States

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy