Beth Attwood

Beth Attwood – Editor

Proofreader/CE with several years' experience, including in-house at Harlequin. I read everything but specialize in romance/women's fiction.

Overview

My name is Beth and I’m a professional proofreader and copy editor. I have several years of experience working in the publishing industry, with many spent working full-time as a proofreader for Harlequin. I am a quick yet careful editor who has never missed a deadline and is adaptable to any style.

I will turn your book around at a reasonable pace because let’s face it, your readers are waiting! I will save you from any less-than-stellar reviews complaining about that one (delicious) time you wrote scone instead of sconce. I will never overstep, never alter your voice, and never suggest a big change without an explanation.

I’m here to use my rigorous in-house training to provide you with the highest quality work and polish your book until it shines. While I bring a wealth of experience in the romance industry to the table, I’m thrilled to work on any genre you’ve written!

Services Provided:

A proofread is a straight read of your book, ideally the final read before publication, doing a sweep for any lingering typographical, grammatical, or punctuation errors as well as any inconsistencies in style or plot details.

A solid proofread is an essential step for any book’s journey from conception to reader. When all your edits and copy edits are complete, and you need a fresh set of eyes to catch anything you might have missed, the proofreader provides the final pass, ensuring your work is as perfect as possible.

I also provide copy editing services if you think your book might need a bit extra love.

A copy edit is a much closer, slower sentence-level read of your book focusing on correcting spelling, grammar, or punctuation errors, sentence structure, repetition, redundancy, and plot discrepancies as well as ensuring your book adheres to a consistent style.

Your completed copy edit would include a cohesive style sheet of your book detailing any decisions made regarding punctuation, hyphenation, capitalization, number treatment, as well as a list of characters, locations, and any nonstandard spellings. You can pass this along as supplement for your proofreader or use this as a reference for future books.
Services
Fiction
Contemporary Fiction Fantasy Mystery & Crime Romance Science Fiction Thriller & Suspense Women's Fiction Young Adult
Languages
English (AUS) English (CAN) English (NZ) English (UK) English (US)

Work experience

Self-employed

Jan, 2016 — Present

Harlequin Enterprises Ltd.

Jul, 2013 — Dec, 2015 (over 2 years)

Harlequin Enterprises Ltd.

Oct, 2010 — Jun, 2013 (over 2 years)

Portfolio

A New York Times BestsellerCosmopolitan Best Book Club Book of 2019PopSugar Must-Read Book of 2019Glamour Best Book of 2019“Fraught with danger, filled with mystery, and meticulously researched, The Lost Girls of Paris is a fascinating tale of the hidden women... read more
Under My Skin

Lisa Unger

PopSugar’s Best Mysteries & Thrillers to Read in Fall 2018 Nominated for the 2019 Edgar AwardCrimeReads Best Book of 2018 Booklist’s Best New Book One of the Most Anticipated Crime Books of 2018 from CrimeReads One of Fall 2018’s Most Exciting New Mysteries & ... read more
Bestselling author Kimberly Belle is back with a “domestic thriller [that] will keep you reading into the wee hours of the night.” —Redbook"Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will eat up Kimberly Belle's latest novel."—Bookreporter.com Everyone has se... read more
The Last Affair

Hunt, Margot

She was never meant to be his…Two ruthless enemies. One cage. Zero chance of escape. An explosive lust that can’t be contained.Council assassin Jade Lakotesh survives by trusting no one. Attachments a weakness. Sex a weapon. Her mission success rate flawless. ... read more
29 Dates

Melissa de la Cruz

“A heartwarming, sparkling romantic comedy about what happens when what your heart wants and what your parents want don’t match…Melissa de la Cruz enchants and delights in her usual style. Completely unputdownable!” —Sandhya Menon, New York Times bestselling a... read more
The victim was an investigative journalist working the biggest story of his career.He found something that shook him to his core.What secret did he take to his grave?Detective Gabriel Ward is a former Army intelligence officer with degrees in computer science ... read more
When a lost lady discovers that love is found far from home.After confessing her love for Lord Cunningham, Lady Rose Darby is whisked away by her father in the dead of night and locked in an old asylum. With no one but her paid companion, Miss Flint, for compa... read more
Then & Now: Book 1

Karen A. Leppert

Seth Mathis races away from what his peers are running toward: college, a career, wife, family…the white picket fence lifestyle lived by most people in his quaint hometown.But then he meets Sarah Matthews, who stops Seth dead in his tracks with her quick-wit, ... read more
Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult & Liane Moriarty.Good mother or bad? Who decides....Widowed nurse Kate and mum of two Madeleine couldn't be more different in their approaches to parenting.Kate knows her husband's death has made her more protective of her daug... read more
The wooded hills of Oxfordshire conceal the remains of the aptly named Ashdown House—a wasted pile of cinders and regret. Once home to the daughter of a king, Ashdown and its secrets will unite three women across four centuries in a tangle of intrigue, deceit ... read more
From the critically-acclaimed author of The Day I Died comes a terrifying twist on a locked-room mystery that will keep readers guessing until the last pageOnly in the dark can she find the truth . . .Since her husband died, Eden Wallace's life has diminished ... read more
A People Magazine and POPSUGAR pick! “[May's] adventures illuminate the world of intrepid female artists in the late 1800s […] The Other Alcott comes alive in its development of the relationship between Louisa and May.” --The New York TimesElise Hooper’s debut... read more
He wants to destroy her reputation.He wants to destroy her life.He wants to destroy . . . her.Nessa Donati used to be a happily married mother with a successful music blog and satellite radio show. But that was before her husband John relapsed on drugs and wen... read more
Each raindrop writes a word on her skin...After a long sickness, Lady Letitia Seton is finally free. But the last fractures in her mind won't heal until she confronts old wounds. Intent on finding answers about a murderous conspiracy against her family and to ... read more
A heart prepared to die that has never lived or loved…Born with fragile health, Dawn Uxbridge has lived a sheltered existence. Her lonely days are filled by drawing fanciful landscapes and nurturing plants. When tragedy strikes, she finds herself alone and pen... read more

Beth has 39 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Irena D.

Irena D.

Aug, 2023

I've been working with Beth for years now and can safely say she is incredibly fast and efficient! Simply a delight to work with. :)
Emily M.

Emily M.

Oct, 2022

I've worked with Beth on two books now--fiction/ romance. She is AMAZING. Her copyedits go beyond standard grammar and punctuation. She also checks for clarity and consistency, and truly just takes your books to the next level. I trust her work immensely and will continue to work with her. She also has great turnaround time--in the two to three-week range. But, I do recommend booking in advance...
Read more
Samantha C.

Samantha C.

Sep, 2022

Beth was an absolute delight to work with! She was highly professional, very kind and made an excellent turn around time of my manuscript. I'd highly recommend working with her! :D
Karolina W.

Karolina W.

Aug, 2022

I worked with Beth on proofreading my debut novel, and it was an absolute pleasure! Beth is super nice and pleasant to communicate with, and she has excellent attention to detail which is exactly what you want from an editor. Your book will be in good hands with Beth. :)
Erin B.

Erin B.

Aug, 2022

Beth did an incredible job proofreading my manuscript. She found the usual culprits - grammar, punctuation, etc. She also found places where wording could be tightened or clarified. I would love to work with her again!

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Beth and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Beth

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Mary Beth Constant

Mary Beth C.

Sensitive, seasoned copy editor dedicated to strengthening each author's particular voice

Orlando, United States

100% reply rate

View profile
Harriet Low

Harriet L.

I'm a children's and young adult editor with nearly ten years of publishing industry experience, working across age range and genre.

Bristol, RI, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Daniel Maurer

Daniel M.

Award-winning editor with 25+ years of experience editing novels, non-fiction books, and journalism.

New York, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile