Ronit Wagman

Ronit Wagman – Editor

Editor of NYT-bestselling and award-winning literary fiction and memoir. Former acquisitions editor at Doubleday/Penguin Random House.

Overview

Are your characters complex? Is their behavior credible? Is the story well-paced? Does the plot have tension? Will readers be compelled to see the story through to the end? Drawing from my experience as an acquisitions editor at a leading publishing house, I will provide insights into your manuscript's strengths and weaknesses, along with personalized recommendations for improvement.


I work closely with authors at every stage of their journey, whether they're gearing up to submit their manuscript to an in-house editor, aiming to land a literary agent, or considering self-publishing.


Among the authors I've worked with are #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner, Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick Alka Joshi (author of THE HENNA ARTIST), renowned cartoonist and playwright Jules Feiffer, and the late U.S. Senator Carl Levin.


My career in books followed a BFA in musical theater from Syracuse University, where I cultivated a deep understanding of storytelling and dramatic theory. This background enriches my editorial perspective, allowing me to approach manuscripts with both artistic sensitivity and editorial acumen. Let's collaborate to elevate your manuscript to its fullest potential.


"What a pleasure it was to work with Ronit! Her insightful comments and spot-on suggestions helped make THE HENNA ARTIST the kind of novel that readers want to get lost in, devour and recommend to all their friends!”

—Alka Joshi, THE HENNA ARTIST


“Ronit's feedback helped me finesse my manuscript so that it was in great shape and ultimately helped me land a US deal. I am forever grateful! Ronit provided me with a windfall of helpful feedback on my memoir. She was both supportive and insightful, helping me to draw out the central themes in my book and encouraging me to dig deeper so that I was able to get more ‘blood on the page.' Her gentle guidance helped me write in a way that was more emotionally compelling for readers.”

—Natasha Scripture, MAN FAST


“Ronit was an exceptional editor. She seemed to have an intuitive sense of what I was trying to describe and helped me figure out the clearest way to express myself. She was kind, sensitive and generous and always framed her suggestions in an encouraging and empowering way. I learned so much from Ronit. Her editing made my book immeasurably better.”

—Leah Vincent, CUT ME LOOSE

Services
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs LGBTQ Non-Fiction
Fiction
Coming of Age Contemporary Fiction Contemporary Romance Literary Fiction Romantic Comedy Women's Fiction
Languages
English (US)
Awards
  • Barnes & Noble Discover selection (On the Come Up)
  • Finalist for the LA Times Book Prize (Isabella: The Warrior Queen)
  • Finalist for the National Jewish Book Award (Backing into Forward)
  • Finalist for the NAACP Image Award (On the Come Up)
  • Finalist for the Thurber Prize for American Humor (The Lost Book of Mormon)
  • New York Times Notable Book (Saul Steinberg: A Biography)
  • Indie Next List (The Drowning House)
  • Longlisted for the PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography (Isabella: The Warrior Queen)
  • Finalist for the Minnesota Book Award (The Healing)

Work experience

Penguin Random House Inc.

Nov, 2011 — Nov, 2015 (about 4 years)

Random House Inc.

May, 2009 — Nov, 2011 (over 2 years)

Random House Inc.

May, 2007 — May, 2009 (about 2 years)

Random House Inc.

May, 2005 — May, 2007 (about 2 years)

Detroit Metro Times

May, 2003 — Aug, 2004 (over 1 year)

Pitched and wrote articles on art, theatre, and culture for Detroit’s largest alternative newsweekly, including a 4,000-word cover story that was featured on the Association of Alternative Newsweeklies’ website.

The Daily Orange (Syracuse University)

Sep, 2000 — May, 2003 (over 2 years)

Portfolio

Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
The Healing

Jonathan Odell

Plantation mistress Amanda Satterfield’s intense grief over losing her daughter crosses the line into madness when she takes a newborn slave child as her own and names her Granada. Troubled by... read more
Developmental Editing
An electrifying memoir about a young woman’s self-destructive spiral after being cast out by her ultra-Orthodox Jewish familyIn the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, this brutally h... read more
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
An NAACP Image Award FinalistAn ALA/YALSA Alex Award NomineeAnnMarie is growing up fast. After years of living in foster homes and homeless shelters, the twelve-year-old girl can take care of ... read more
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
The award-winning cartoonist, playwright, and author delivers a witty, illustrated rendition of his life, from his childhood as a wimpy kid in the Bronx to his legendary career in the arts. A ... read more
Developmental Editing
Man Fast: A Memoir

Scripture, Natasha

Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Developmental Editing
Loaded Blessings

Faith Quintero

Developmental Editing
All at Sea: A Memoir

Aitkenhead, Decca

Developmental Editing
Inspired by the midcentury memoirs of Frances Conway, Enchanted Islands is the dazzling story of an independent American woman whose path takes her far from her native Minnesota when she and h... read more
Developmental Editing
Avi Steinberg is stumped. After defecting from yeshiva to attend Harvard, he has nothing but a senior thesis on Bugs Bunny to show for himself. While his friends and classmates advance in the ... read more
Developmental Editing
Mourning for her daughter and her crumbling marriage, photographer Clare Porterfield returns to her childhood home in Galveston, Texas, hoping to find distraction in mounting an exhibition fea... read more
Developmental Editing
Elm Howells has a loving family and a distinguished career at an elite Manhattan art auction house. But after a tragic loss throws her into an emotional crisis, she pursues a reckless course o... read more
Developmental Editing
The gripping story of the author’s aunt, a Jewish dance instructor who was betrayed to the Nazis by the two men she loved, yet managed to survive WWII by teaching dance lessons to the SS at Au... read more
Developmental Editing
Is the Book of Mormon the Great American Novel? Decades before Melville and Twain composed their great works, a farmhand and child seer named Joseph Smith unearthed a long-buried book from a h... read more
Developmental Editing

Ronit has 11 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Julie K.

Julie K.

Oct, 2023

I'm so happy with the feedback Ronit provided. She helped me understand overall needs in my work but also gave me plenty of actionable advice. I learned ways to improve my WIP, but I'm also going to be able to use this feedback in my future work. Thank you!
Ronit W.
I'm so glad the feedback was helpful, Julie! Looking forward to our phone call next week.
Maria M.

Maria M.

May, 2023

Working with Ronit was a pleasure and I very much felt like she "got me." Her enthusiasm for my story made me feel that yes it is actually possible that I could complete a novel which I would be proud to have written. Her editorial letter was full of good suggestions that led to a very profitable phone conversation. Ronit has that way of addressing a story problem as if this were something we ...
Read more
Ronit W.
Thank you for your extremely kind words, Maria. It was a pleasure collaborating with you on this manuscript, and I'm grateful for the opportunity to be a part of its development. I wish you the bes...
Read more
Shaun B.

Shaun B.

Dec, 2022

Ronit helped me re-craft my query letter for my novel. She helped me to hone in on the essentials and tighten the letter overall. She was always professional and worked quickly. Thanks to her, I am already starting to receive requests for my manuscript based on the query letter alone.
Ronit W.
So happy to hear it! Good luck!!
Kamaria C.

Kamaria C.

Oct, 2022

Ronit provided thorough, thoughtful feedback on the first draft of my fiction novel. In addition to commenting on its strengths and weaknesses, she recommended concrete next steps that I can take to revise it. The depth of her expertise and knowledge came through in her work, and I would recommend her to other writers seeking support with their manuscripts.
Ronit W.
Thank you for your generous review, Kamaria! I'm glad to hear that my feedback was helpful. I truly enjoyed working with you and offering insights, and I'm excited about the progress you'll make wi...
Read more
Patty G.

Patty G.

Apr, 2022

Very detailed and complete editing job. Was easy to work with Ronit and definitely recommend her for editing projects. I ended up putting my book on hold but it was for other reasons.

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Ronit and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Ronit

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Katie Arnold-Ratliff

Katie A.

Published novelist, magazine editor and journalist, experienced ghostwriter--and encouraging, nurturing mentor.

Maplewood, NJ, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Allison Moore

Allison M.

15 years as an editor at major trade publishers, passionate about making good stories star-worthy and positioning pitches for success

New York, NY, USA

98% reply rate

View profile
Lucy Carroll

Lucy C.

Editor with 8+ years experience developing projects for leading publishers in non-fiction, dedicated to guiding first-time authors.

London, United Kingdom

100% reply rate

View profile