Simon Avery

Simon Avery – Designer

I'm a book cover designer with experience in lots of genres and I have worked with tons of indie authors and publishers worldwide

Overview

I'm a book cover designer with experience in lots of genres and I have worked with tons of indie authors and publishers, both in Europe and the US.

Lots of the books I've designed covers for have gone on to become category best sellers, and some have sold over 200k copies. I understand what works well on Amazon and have won several awards for my fiction and non-fiction covers.
Services
Non-Fiction
Economics Self-Help & Self-Improvement Sports & Outdoors
Fiction
Literary Fiction Mystery & Crime Thriller & Suspense Women's Fiction
Awards
  • e-Book Cover Design Award Winner for April 2015 in Fiction - www.thebookdesigner.com
Certifications
  • BA Honours Graphic Design

Work experience

Self-employed

Jan, 2014 — Present

After working as a creative director in design agency for many years I decided to start designing book covers and haven't looked back.

I love it and and it turns out I'm pretty good at it too.

Nice Graphic Design & Art Direction

Sep, 2013 — Present

My very own design agency, I'm lucky enough to work with some fantastic clients and thank my lucky stars daily I took the plunge.

Wilddog Design

May, 2002 — Sep, 2013 (over 11 years)

I came to Wild Dog as a senior design and became the Creative Director where I ran the design department and oversaw (and did most of!) the design work.

Design Revolution

Jul, 2001 — May, 2002 (10 months)

My 1st role in a general design agency, working on books and with corporate clients

Esquire Magazine

Jan, 2001 — Jul, 2002 (over 1 year)

I was lucky enough work for this awesome magazine straight out of college, working under a great art director it gave me good understanding of typography

Portfolio

“His poetry is alive with colour, light, sound and music…to Flecker, poetry was a combination of acute perception and intellectual and emotional activity and, in order to develop these creative gifts, the poet needed an enthusiasm for the world in every detail... read more
A serial killer dubbed the “Face Ripper” is taunting police. His victims are businessmen with links to the military and the murderer has covered his tracks to leave no clues. Sounds like the perfect job for autistic detective Jonathan Roper, but he’s been snap... read more
An adulterous couple hear something dreadful happening next door; a movie-star is trapped in her hotel room; elsewhere a young man is buried alive on his uncle's farm; while another man wakes up, unsure of who he is or how he got there, in a perfectly white pr... read more
Bread for the Table

Tara Botel Doherty

BREAD FOR THE TABLEbyTara Botel DohertyBread for the Table relates a single day in the life of Sage a 30-year-old aspiring jewelry designer working as a waitress in a pseudo New York deli in Los Angeles. A postcard from her mother triggers a series of flashbac... read more
The Five Year Mark is collection of personal stories and lessons I have learnt , while building a business. In short, easy to read chapters, I cover a range of principles and lessons learnt during our company’s first five years, including: vision; leadership; ... read more
"Informative and entertaining in equal measures, HIRED, FIRED, FLED will have you hooked from the very first page." - Kaye Holland, TNT Magazine UK"A witty and entertaining read with plenty of laugh-out-loud moments and some incisive nuggets of wisdom."- Sarah... read more
Being dumped by your BFF may feel like the worst betrayal you could ever face,worse than being–•ditched by your man,•snubbed by your dog (the cat does it regularly, so that doesn’t count), or•fired by your housekeeper.But in every crisis there’s opportunity, r... read more
There are humans behind the big, bad vilified banks, there are humans behind the calculations of Wall Street, there are humans behind all the legal and illegal financial machinations in the news--they are not always the best humans, and they are not always the... read more
The creative writing bible Catherine Quinn, bestselling author of Thief Taker BACK TO CREATIVE WRITING SCHOOL It’s about using 30 imaginative writing exercises to experiment with new ideas. It’s about defeating the blank page. It’s about producing the best kin... read more
The Modigliani Girl

Jacqui Lofthouse

"A writer of exceptional promise"The Daily Mail"There were five members of the Girl Novelists Dry Martini Club but – according to Hilary – Julia Claiborne was the richest. Of all the Martini Girls, Julia had the largest house and the most prestigious address –... read more
The Joy of Oysters. Preparing, cooking, and above all eating. It doesn't matter whether you've never eaten an oyster or you're a lifetime lover. This is the book for you featuring recipes old and new. With a bit of history, a bit of culture and a bit of fun th... read more
The Brighton Maverick - The Complete Series - REVISED EDITIONA contemporary novel of love, life and adventure in Brighton's LanesAs Rick Matthews sat shivering on the midnight train to Brighton three things dawned on him. He had a boyfriend who resembled a Hol... read more
The stunning debut thriller by bestselling author Dominic Piper, Kiss Me When I’m Dead introduces the enigmatic, London-based private investigator Daniel Beckett.When Beckett is offered double his usual fee to track down Viola Raleigh, the missing daughter of ... read more
"Tears at the funny bits, tears at the sad bits, blushes at the naughty bits, a thoroughly entertaining read".‘Comic twists, dark moments and well-drawn characters are three of the pleasures of the rollicking read that is Sam Derbyshire’s funny, smart commenta... read more
Murder…kidnapping…human trafficking…life extending bio medicines…Scotland Yard detectives forced to admit they are baffled following the disappearance of a massively wealthy philanthropist who seems to have vanished into thin air.This can only be a case for Jo... read more
Polly Polyamorous

Daisy Diamond

Polly wants more from life.A more interesting job. A more satisfying relationship. More excitement. More fun. More sex.Most of these things seem like impossible dreams, but more sex feels like a good place to start. Which is why when Polly’s new work mate, Del... read more
Jez Campbell’s Dogstar Trilogy is redefining the werewolf myth, ‘a must-read horror’ Commended at the Hollywood Halloween Book FestivalCommendation at the London Book Festival'Campbell's books paint a dangerous and seedy portrait of London, oozing a sense of g... read more
Christmas Romance / Christmas Fiction for 2016. Perfect for fans of Bridget Jones' Baby. NEW laugh-out-loud baby fiction and romantic comedy, from bestselling romance author, Suzy K Quinn.If you laughed with the Unmumsy Mum, you’ll LOVE this new baby romance -... read more
The Good Enough Mother

Anoushka Beazley

Simon has 10 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Denise M. B.

Denise M. B.

Nov, 2021

Simon is amazing! Very accommodating! Pleasure to work with!
Denise M. B.

Denise M. B.

Jul, 2021

It's always a pleasure to work with Simon!
Denise M. B.

Denise M. B.

Jun, 2021

Simon is wonderful with work with and he provides high quality, engaging designs!
Phil A.

Phil A.

Apr, 2021

Having worked on my memoir for 40 years, I wanted the 'perfect' cover, and the right professional to guide me through the process to achieve that. Simon left me in no doubt about his professionalism, reassuring and providing me with all the options I needed and producing a final result that I was delighted with. I will have no hesitation in using him again for any additional work.
Simon A.
Great author to work with!
Anthony H.

Anthony H.

Jan, 2019

Simon did a wonderful job on our cover, and came up with the perfect design in the first go.
Simon A.
Thanks Anthony - was a pleasure to work with you

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Simon and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Simon

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Dan Van Oss

Dan V.

I specialize in Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Thriller covers, and will work with you to make sure your cover is both creative and commercial.

Solon, Iowa, USA

99% reply rate

View profile
Achiraya Jenjarrussakul

Achiraya J.

Collaborate with me and our Award-Winning team for exceptional book designs; each seasoned member offers unique expertise.

95% reply rate

View profile
Susan Malikowski

Susan M.

I’ve designed covers for 20+ years, with award-winning and bestselling titles in management, leadership, self-help, spirituality in work.

Downingtown, PA, USA

100% reply rate

View profile