Dominic Forbes

Dominic Forbes – Designer

I'm a graphic designer specialising in book covers.

Overview

I have over 20 years experience designing covers for bestselling authors such as Stuart MacBride, Robin Hobb, Jack Higgins, Raymond E. Feist, George R. R. Martin, Conn Iggulden and Andrew Taylor. I can work across a wide variety of styles and genres including Crime/Thriller, SF/Fantasy, Historical and Literary as well as Non-Fiction.

During my design career at HarperCollins I have commissioned and art directed many top illustrators and photographers as well as working with a wide range of picture libraries to source the right imagery for any budget. I have excellent knowledge of print production such as foiling, Pantone colours, embossing etc.

Freelance clients include Faber, Canongate, Bonnier Zaffre, Blink, John Blake and many other presses.

I can also do marketing design to promote books.

My design process for Mrs Whistler was recently featured on the Spine Magazine book cover design blog.

Please get in touch to discuss any projects I can help you with.
Services
Fiction
Action & Adventure Fantasy Historical Fiction Literary Fiction Mystery & Crime Thriller & Suspense
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Self-Help & Self-Improvement
Languages
English

Work experience

Self-employed

Jun, 2018 — Present

I have extensive experience designing book covers in-house at a major publisher and have now set up a studio on my own. Feel free to get in touch to discuss any projects.

HarperCollins

Mar, 2010 — Jun, 2018 (over 8 years)

Working at HarperCollins I designed book covers for adult fiction and non-fiction titles.

Portfolio

WELCOME TO THE DARK HEART OF CORNWALL . . .'One of the very best crime writers we have' Mark Billingham'A chilling tale' Lee Child'Great stuff' Mick Herron'Full of menace and secrets' Tom Wood'Martyn Waites is already crime fiction royalty . . . I bloody loved... read more
Magician (Riftwar Saga)

Raymond E. Feist

Title: Magician <>Binding: Paperback <>Author: Raymond E Feist <>Publisher: Harper Collins Paperbacks
Brand New!! Re-check ISBN before Purchase
The Ashes of London

Andrew Taylor

Edition Harper (an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers), 2017. ISBN: 978-0-00-811909-6. PAPERBACK. 492 pages, size: 12.9 x 19.8 x 3.5 cm. The new and unread book remains in excellent condition throughout. Text all clean, neat and tight. Prompt dispatch from UK.
The Book of You

Claire Kendal

Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won?t leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there. Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can?t be... read more
The ultimate Rome story From the spectacle of gladiatorial combat to the intrigue of the Senate, from the foreign wars that secure the power of the empire to the betrayals that threaten to tear it apart, this is the remarkable story of the man who would become... read more
From his early career in IndyCar racing and on to his unparalleled success in Formula One, we learn in comprehensive, engaging and highly entertaining detail how a car actually works.The world's foremost designer in Formula One, Adrian Newey OBE is arguably on... read more
The Ashes of London

Andrew Taylor

Edition Harper (an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers), 2017. ISBN: 978-0-00-811909-6. PAPERBACK. 492 pages, size: 12.9 x 19.8 x 3.5 cm. The new and unread book remains in excellent condition throughout. Text all clean, neat and tight. Prompt dispatch from UK.
I Still Dream

James Smythe

We Begin Our Ascent

Joe Mungo Reed

The perfect neighbors tell the perfect lies…A top 10 Amazon Kindle bestseller. A dark and twisty psychological thriller from a rising star in the genre, perfect for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR. When Helen moves into an exciting new neighborhood, she finds her... read more

Dominic has 9 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Conor D.

Conor D.

Dec, 2020

Dom was a consummate professional throughout and made the process very quick and easy. He showed his mastery of the historical fiction genre by presenting me with some great choices for initial ideas. From there it was not long before the final product. The finalised cover has made a considerable difference to my sales and visibility. I am very happy with the whole experience and would thorough...
Read more
Tom R.

Tom R.

Oct, 2020

Great work that met and exceeded expectations.
Jeremy S.

Jeremy S.

Sep, 2020

Dom came up with a brilliant cover for Traumata. He read the whole book, then prepared TWENTY sample covers for it, all to a professional standard. I told him which elements I liked and he prepared another eight options from which I picked the final cover. The only problem I had was choosing, as they were all excellent. It was also a pleasure working with him. Nothing was too much trouble. I l...
Read more
Dominic M.

Dominic M.

Jan, 2020

I've used Dominic'c talents on two occasions now and both times he has proven to be creative, punctual and professional throughout. A pleasure to deal with :)
Stephen M.

Stephen M.

May, 2019

Loved working with Dominic. As a first time novelist the cover art was a particular concern (aka a scary thing to contemplate and imagine). It was great to work with the calm and clarity, and not to edition the range of ideas Dominic brought to the process.

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Dominic and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Dominic

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Larasita Apsari

Larasita A.

I specialize in watercolor-ish art with warm hues and pastel tones, creating captivating visuals perfect for romance and young adult genres.

100% reply rate

View profile
Andy Catling

Andy C.

An illustrator of children's picture books, Young Adult books and book covers. A humorous style with expressive characters.

Brighton, United Kingdom

100% reply rate

View profile
Mark Mechan

Mark M.

Hello! I can help give your book the cover that it deserves: bespoke, beautiful and bold. I've spent 30 years designing and illustrating.

Hamilton, UK

90% reply rate

View profile