Dominic Forbes

Dominic Forbes - Designer Tick

London, UK

I'm a graphic designer specialising in book covers.

Request a quote
Verified identity Lock

Overview

Reviews (2)
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey

I have over 20 years experience designing covers for bestselling authors such as Stuart MacBride, Robin Hobb, Jack Higgins, Raymond E. Feist, George R. R. Martin, Conn Iggulden and Andrew Taylor. I can work across a wide variety of styles and genres including Crime/Thriller, SF/Fantasy, Historical and Literary as well as Non-Fiction.

During my design career at HarperCollins I have commissioned and art directed many top illustrators and photographers as well as working with a wide range of picture libraries to source the right imagery for any budget. I have excellent knowledge of print production such as foiling, Pantone colours, embossing etc.

Freelance clients include Faber, Canongate, Bonnier Zaffre, Blink, John Blake and many other presses.

I can also do marketing design to promote books.

My design process for Mrs Whistler was recently featured on the Spine Magazine book cover design blog.

Please get in touch to discuss any projects I can help you with. A

Languages
English
Fiction
Adventure
Crime & Mystery
Fantasy
Historical Fiction
Literature
Thriller
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs
Self-help & Self-improvement

Work experience

Art Director

Self-employed
June, 2018 – Present (8 months)

I have extensive experience designing book covers in-house at a major publisher and have now set up a studio on my own. Feel free to get in touch to discuss any projects.

Managing Designer

HarperCollins
March, 2010 – June, 2018 (over 8 years)

Working at HarperCollins I designed book covers for adult fiction and non-fiction titles.

Portfolio (15 selected works)

The Perfect Neighbors: A gripping psychological thriller with an ending you won’t see coming

Rachel Sargeant

The perfect neighbors tell the perfect lies…A top 10 Amazon Kindle bestseller. A dark and twisty psychological thriller from a rising star in the genre, perfect for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR. When Helen moves into an exciting new neighborhood, she finds herself in a web of evil with no escape.Behind the shutters lies a devastating secret…When Helen moves abroad with her loving husband Gary,... read more

The perfect neighbors tell the perfect lies…A top 10 Amazon Kindle bestseller. A dark and twisty psychological thriller from a rising star in the genre, perfect for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR. When Helen moves into an exciting new neighborhood, she finds herself in a web of evil with no escape.Behind the shutters lies a devastating secret…When Helen moves abroad with her loving husband Gary,... read more

We Begin Our Ascent

Joe Mungo Reed

I Still Dream

James Smythe

The Ashes of London

Andrew Taylor

Edition Harper (an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers), 2017. ISBN: 978-0-00-811909-6. PAPERBACK. 492 pages, size: 12.9 x 19.8 x 3.5 cm. The new and unread book remains in excellent condition throughout. Text all clean, neat and tight. Prompt dispatch from UK.

Edition Harper (an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers), 2017. ISBN: 978-0-00-811909-6. PAPERBACK. 492 pages, size: 12.9 x 19.8 x 3.5 cm. The new and unread book remains in excellent condition throughout. Text all clean, neat and tight. Prompt dispatch from UK.

How to Build a Car: The Autobiography of the World’s Greatest Formula 1 Designer

Adrian Newey

From his early career in IndyCar racing and on to his unparalleled success in Formula One, we learn in comprehensive, engaging and highly entertaining detail how a car actually works.The world's foremost designer in Formula One, Adrian Newey OBE is arguably one of Britain's greatest engineers and this is his fascinating, powerful memoir.How to Build a Car explores the story of Adrian's unrival... read more

From his early career in IndyCar racing and on to his unparalleled success in Formula One, we learn in comprehensive, engaging and highly entertaining detail how a car actually works.The world's foremost designer in Formula One, Adrian Newey OBE is arguably one of Britain's greatest engineers and this is his fascinating, powerful memoir.How to Build a Car explores the story of Adrian's unrival... read more

The Gates of Rome (Emperor Series, Book 1)

Conn Iggulden

The ultimate Rome story From the spectacle of gladiatorial combat to the intrigue of the Senate, from the foreign wars that secure the power of the empire to the betrayals that threaten to tear it apart, this is the remarkable story of the man who would become the greatest Roman of them all: Julius Caesar. In the city of Rome, a titanic power struggle is about to shake the Republic to its core... read more

The ultimate Rome story From the spectacle of gladiatorial combat to the intrigue of the Senate, from the foreign wars that secure the power of the empire to the betrayals that threaten to tear it apart, this is the remarkable story of the man who would become the greatest Roman of them all: Julius Caesar. In the city of Rome, a titanic power struggle is about to shake the Republic to its core... read more

The Book of You

Claire Kendal

Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won?t leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there. Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can?t be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young wo... read more

Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won?t leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there. Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can?t be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young wo... read more

The Ashes of London

Andrew Taylor

Edition Harper (an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers), 2017. ISBN: 978-0-00-811909-6. PAPERBACK. 492 pages, size: 12.9 x 19.8 x 3.5 cm. The new and unread book remains in excellent condition throughout. Text all clean, neat and tight. Prompt dispatch from UK.

Edition Harper (an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers), 2017. ISBN: 978-0-00-811909-6. PAPERBACK. 492 pages, size: 12.9 x 19.8 x 3.5 cm. The new and unread book remains in excellent condition throughout. Text all clean, neat and tight. Prompt dispatch from UK.

The Midnight Bell (Sean Dillon Series, Book 22)

Jack Higgins

Brand New!! Re-check ISBN before Purchase

Brand New!! Re-check ISBN before Purchase

Magician (Riftwar Saga)

Raymond E. Feist

Title: Magician <>Binding: Paperback <>Author: Raymond E Feist <>Publisher: Harper Collins Paperbacks

Title: Magician <>Binding: Paperback <>Author: Raymond E Feist <>Publisher: Harper Collins Paperbacks

The Old Religion: Dark and Chillingly Atmospheric.

Martyn Waites

WELCOME TO THE DARK HEART OF CORNWALL . . .'One of the very best crime writers we have' Mark Billingham'A chilling tale' Lee Child'Great stuff' Mick Herron'Full of menace and secrets' Tom Wood'Martyn Waites is already crime fiction royalty . . . I bloody loved this book' Steve CavanaghHe was running from his past.She was running from her future.Sometimes helping a stranger is the last thing yo... read more

WELCOME TO THE DARK HEART OF CORNWALL . . .'One of the very best crime writers we have' Mark Billingham'A chilling tale' Lee Child'Great stuff' Mick Herron'Full of menace and secrets' Tom Wood'Martyn Waites is already crime fiction royalty . . . I bloody loved this book' Steve CavanaghHe was running from his past.She was running from her future.Sometimes helping a stranger is the last thing yo... read more

Dominic has 2 reviews

StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Professionalism
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Quality
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Value
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Communication
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey

Dominic Miller

I have a damn good cover. Excellent collaboration with a fellow Dominic. Nothing was too much trouble despite a somewhat tight deadline. Was happy to effect some changes that arose from the proof copies too. Don't hesitate - he's a winner :)

Read more

Dominic Miller, December 2018


Randy Green

I am delighted to recommend Dominic Forbes as a book cover designer. The only true measure of a designer is the finished product; I was very pleased with the cover Dom created for my book. An experienced professional, he produced excellent quality work. He took time to understand exactly what I wanted and the target market I wished to reach, then delivered as promised (or before). His expertis...

Read more

Randy Green, October 2018

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

4f08d5cecbcb35d4666062bbaa67db95a4f55c27

Mark Thomas

A highly collaborative designer, producing impactful covers, interiors and marketing images for a wide range of genres. I cannot scuba dive.

Cardiff, United Kingdom

C811ec721801a12347ccba747e86230a4de0844c

Brian Chojnowski

Designer, photographer, and illustrator with 17 years experience – a dad with 6 years experience. Let's get your book looking hot.

Chicago, IL, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy