Roisin Dunnett

Roisin Dunnett – Editor

Practised and perceptive editor, specialising in literary, sci-fi, LGBTQ+ fiction, crime and short stories.

Overview

I'm a publishing professional with years of editorial experience. I have overseen the development of writing projects of all genres from first drafts through rounds of edits to print ready. I'm an enthusiastic reader with a nuanced and sensitive approach to editorial work. I read very widely but especially love literary fiction, science fiction, LGBTQI writing and quest narratives.

After years as a bookseller in Daunt and Waterstones I began writing reports for Literary Scouting company Dialogue Scouting. I began working at independent press Penned in the Margins as a Publishing Coordinator, and am now the Assistant Editor and Sales Manager. I manage publishing projects, commission fiction and edit manuscripts. I was granted a place on the competitive Editing Training Scheme run by the Publishing Training Centre and The Literary Consultancy, where I subsequently completed courses in Editing Fiction, Copy Editing and Substantive Editing.

I have worked on a vast range of manuscripts from commercial thrillers to experimental prose. I will approach your writing project with sensitivity and insight aiming to bring out the best in style and story.

-Editorial Assessment

-Developmental Editing

-Copy Editing



Services
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs
Fiction
Coming of Age Contemporary Fiction LGBTQ Fiction Magical Realism Mystery & Crime Science Fiction Short Story
Languages
English (UK)
Certifications
  • Publishing Training Centre Editorial Training Scheme
  • Publishing Training Centre: Editing Fiction
  • Publishing Training Centre: Copy Editing
  • Publishing Training Centre: Substantive Editing

Work experience

Penned in the Margins

May, 2019 — Present

-Reading and commissioning fiction.

-Editing manuscripts.

-Proofreading manuscripts.

-Supporting the director across all publication projects.

-Liaising with authors, agents designers and others involved in publication.

-Managing rights and contracts.

-Attending conferences and sales meetings.

-Managing and timelining publishing projects, from contracting, through editorial and cover design, to print and publication.

-Publicity and marketing, specialising in relationships with bookshops. .

Dialogue Scouting

Jan, 2017 — Aug, 2018 (over 1 year)

-Producing thorough and fluent reports on books from a broad spectrum of genres, to tight deadlines.

-Providing detailed plot summary and a context conscious commentary

-Assesment with regard to manuscript's suitability for television or film adaptation.

Portfolio

Feral Borough

Pugh, Meryl

Heavy Time

Overall, Sonia

An Archive of Happiness

Reeder, Elizabeth

Shortlisted for the Historical Writers Association Debut Crown AwardIn the tradition of Jane Eyre and Rebecca—The Glass Woman by Caroline Lea in which a young woman follows her new husband to his remote home on the Icelandic coast in the 1680s, where she faces... read more
“A haunting dystopian thriller” from the acclaimed author of A Season for Martyrs— “Fans of The Handmaid’s Tale won’t want to miss this one” (Publishers Weekly, starred review). In modern, beautiful Green City, the capital of Southwest Asia, gender selection, ... read more
House of Beauty

Melba Escobar

A thought-provoking Colombian crime novel set in and around a beauty salon in Bogota ‘This delicate, merciless filleting of race and gender politics is highly recommended’ Guardian ‘A revelation. A rewarding read and an unexpected insight into a foreign societ... read more
BESTSELLING PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE, AND A TOP RICHARD & JUDY SELECTIONOVER 1,000 5* REVIEWS – this is why readers love this book: 'Grips to the point of OBSESSION''My life STOPPED while I read this book''My heart was THUMPING in my chest''This is EDGE OF YOUR ... read more
Devil's Day

Andrew Michael Hurley

BOOK OF THE YEAR IN THE TIMES, SUNDAY TIMES, FT, METRO AND MAIL ON SUNDAY'The new master of menace' Sunday TimesAfter the blizzard of a century ago, it was weeks before anyone got in or out. By that time, what had happened there, what the Devil had done, was a... read more
Amnesia

Michael Ridpath

What if you woke up to discover that you'd killed the only woman you had ever loved?Alastair Cunningham wakes up in hospital with almost total amnesia. But he knows that something terrible happened in his past, something that haunts him still. A young family f... read more
The Water Cure

Sophie Mackintosh

*This ebook edition includes an exclusive extract from Sophie Mackintosh's hotly anticipated second novel, Blue Ticket*British Vogue 'Star of the Future' for 2020Independent Best Books of the Decade 'A gripping, sinister fable' Margaret Atwood (via Twitter)'An... read more
In The Dark

Cara Hunter

'Your next riveting, twisty read!' SHARI LAPENA'Reminded me of Hitchcock at his finest, where twist follows twist at a breath-taking pace' Daily Mail___________________________________DO YOU KNOW WHAT THEY'RE HIDING IN THE HOUSE NEXT DOOR? ____________________... read more
Exquisite

Sarah Stovell

She loves me. She loves me not.Bo Luxton has it all – a loving family, a beautiful home in the Lake District, and a clutch of bestselling books to her name.Enter Alice Dark, an aspiring writer who is drifting through life, with a series of dead-end jobs and a ... read more
The Killer You Know

S. R. Masters

I'll murder three strangers. And you'll know it was me . . . 'A blinder of a read' SUN'A scary, compelling and a completely original page-turner' IRISH INDEPENDENT'An original and gripping thriller' LAURA MARSHALLSummer 1997. When Will jokes about becoming a s... read more
The Easy Way Out

Steven Amsterdam

EVAN IS A SUICIDE ASSISTANT. HIS JOB IS LEGAL - JUST.'A poignant, sharply funny story that raises questions about life, death, and love' Louise O'Neill'You might just want to find and hug a nurse after finishing this thoughtful and ethically nuanced novel' Gua... read more
The New York Times bestselling author of Bird Box returns with a supernatural thriller of love, redemption, and murder.NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NEWSWEEK“This one haunts you for reasons you can’t quite put your finger on. . . . [Josh Malerman]... read more

Roisin has 5 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

David S.

David S.

Aug, 2022

Roisin was clear in her choice of edits and in charge of her knowledge of my story. Her perspective on my story was extremely useful. As writers we tend to get wrapped up in our tales. Knowing what is working and what isn't can be difficult to acknowledge but Roisin you can trust has an eagle eye view. In terms of her choice of edits Roisin tended to go for clarity rather than flowery language,...
Read more
L Grey S.

L Grey S.

Oct, 2021

Roisin was superb to work with and I was glad that she agreed to take on the work of a novice writer like myself. Choosing Roisin was an easy decision because she was the only one who took interest in understanding me and highlighting what I had said in my request. Roisin's excitement for my story was the seal of the deal. I wanted to work with a quirky creative editor for my first book. When...
Read more
Richard H.

Richard H.

Jan, 2021

Roisin was perceptive, thorough and generous with her advice. I am really pleased with the outcome. I have lots of concrete action points and a much better understanding of what a reader may want from my book. She was kind but critical, exactly what I was hoping for. Thanks Roisin!
Tim J.

Tim J.

Sep, 2020

After working on my story for many months I was keen to obtain a professional analysis of what I had written. In addition to providing a detailed edit of my text which included suggested changes to both text and structure Roisin also provided many useful comments which have made me read my work in a new light as I started on a new draft. She also provided a detailed report of nearly seven pag...
Read more
Chip R.

Chip R.

Jun, 2020

Highly recommend! I loved working with Roisin, and look forward to doing so again. Her developmental and line edits for my two stories were extremely helpful. Both were challenging and encouraging. She is genuinely interested in helping bring out the best in the story, and very clear and professional and engaged. Her edits offered substantial and helpful feedback, with concrete criticism and...
Read more

Professionals similar to Roisin

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Kari Barlow

Kari B.

I'm a former journalist and unapologetic grammar nerd, and I love working on education, general self-help, and lifestyle-related content.

Pensacola, FL, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Julie Artz

Julie A.

I help authors who dream of a life spent crafting stories that matter slay their doubt demons so they can write with confidence.

Redmond, WA, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Christopher Ryan

Christopher R.

Narrative is my specialty, be it fiction, memoir, or CNF. A meticulous, forthright editor, I offer both developmental and close editing.

Helsinki, Finland

100% reply rate

View profile