Randall Klein

Randall Klein – Editor

I'm an editor (Random House, Diversion Books) and a published novelist here to help you get your manuscript into shape for the marketplace.

Overview

I'm a professional editor with ten years in the publishing industry under my belt (Random House, then Diversion Books). I have edited authors across genres, with a focus in mystery / suspense / thriller and romance. I am also a published author, with my book, Little Disasters, published by Viking in May of 2018. After thirteen years in New York, I now live in Charlottesville with my wife and our very photogenic dog.
Services
Fiction
Action & Adventure Literary Fiction Mystery & Crime Romance Thriller & Suspense Women's Fiction
Languages
English (US)

Work experience

Self-employed

Dec, 2016 — Present

I currently work for both agents and authors doing assessments and developmental edits on full-length books.

Diversion Books

Sep, 2013 — Dec, 2016 (about 3 years)

As the primary editor for Diversion Books, I edited over one hundred authors in the three-year span, editing across genres both fiction and non-fiction. Please see below for a sample of some of the books I edited.

Random House

May, 2008 — Feb, 2013 (almost 5 years)

I worked for the Ballantine / Bantam Dell imprint of the Random House Publishing Group, and helped to acquire the first books for the Alibi digital imprint. I worked primarily on mystery / suspense / thriller.

Portfolio

Into the Storm

Lisa Bingham

RueAnn Boggs meets Charles Tolliver, a handsome Brit with a secret job, and in the course of twenty-four hours, RueAnn is swept off her feet—seduced, wed, and then left by dashing Charlie, who hastily departs for an assignment in England. When weeks go by and ... read more
After the Fall

Lisa Bingham

With INTO THE STORM, Lisa Bingham wove a spellbinding romance set during the Blitz. Now, she turns her eye to the Pacific in this gorgeous WWII tale of courage, fear, and love on an island doomed to fall.At the dawn of WWII, the Philippines is a haven for thos... read more
The co-author of the New York Times bestselling House of Night series returns with the mesmerizing second book in The Escaped series.In Amber Smoke, Kristin Cast introduced her legions of readers to Alek and Eva. Alek, immortal son of the Furies, has been char... read more
"With a unique twist on Greek mythology and heart-stopping action, AMBER SMOKE keeps you riveted to the very last page." —#1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout"With the perfect mix of thrills and chills, along with characters who pop off ... read more
Nothing stays buried forever, especially not the past. Two men stand out in a crowd overlooking the Ohio River. A plane is being taken from the water where it crashed decades before. Both men helped put it there. Jim Christensen’s daughter, Melissa, has been t... read more
Combustion

Martin J. Smith

"A page-turner with a kicker at the end—you can’t ask for anything better. Intricately plotted and full of character, this one is a great ride that burns with the intensity of a California wildfire."—Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestsellerThe dry season... read more
Presidents' Day

Seth Margolis

For readers of David Baldacci and Brad Meltzer comes a timely political thriller from the bestselling author of Losing Isaiah.In this twisting, ferocious novel of suspense, the presidential race has a number of men all clawing to get to the top. Each man has a... read more
The Semper Sonnet

Seth Margolis

A long-lost manuscript may reveal the past—or destroy the future—in “a wildly imaginative thriller that fans of Dan Brown and Steve Berry will love” (Phillip Margolin, New York Times–bestselling author). Lee Nicholson is ready to take the academic world by sto... read more
Blending romance with a message for social justice, Amanda Heger pens a second “rompy Rom Com at its best” in the Wanderlove series, this one under the lights of Hollywood. Marisol Gutierrez has come to Los Angeles with a single goal: win the prestigious grant... read more
For Annie London, a month in a Central American rainforest means handing out mosquito nets, giving medical aid, and teaching children about the birds and the bees. With any luck, it will also land her application in the “accepted” pile at a top-tier medical sc... read more
You’ve finished your book. That’s step one. Book publicist Dana Kaye now takes you through step two: getting your book into the hands of legions of readers.How we read books is changing rapidly, and so is where we buy them. From the rise of eBooks to the impac... read more
By Any Name

Cynthia Voigt

From the award-winning author of Homecoming and Dicey's Song comes a heartfelt adult novel perfect for readers of Judy Blume.Rida is an orphan out of California who dances for the troops in the USO. Spencer is a naval officer with roots deep in New England’s u... read more
Little Disasters

Randall Klein

A gripping novel about two young married couples--expectant parents and new friends--whose lives collide in a pile-up of deceits and indiscretionsIt was the exhilaration of new parenthood that first united Michael and Paul, outside the Brooklyn hospital where ... read more
In the small Idaho town of Sweetwater, Chas McPherson tends his blackbelly sheep and keeps his thoughts to himself. Unable to care for his terminally ill father, he must hire a home-care nurse for a job no one in his or her right mind would take. But one woman... read more
Both Sides Now

Barbara Ferrer

For fans of Elizabeth Berg's TALK BEFORE SLEEP and the novels of Jodi Picoult comes the provocative new novel from Barbara Ferrer.In grief, they find each other. Through loss, they find love.They meet in a hospital corridor. Libby is there for Ethan, her mento... read more
In 1959 Cuba, Natalia San Martín was nothing short of a princess: sheltered, pampered, and courted by her very own prince, a childhood friend turned lifelong love. All that changed on the fateful New Year's Eve when Fidel Castro and his followers seized contro... read more
Good art can make a person cry; great art can make a person kill. Paire Anjou came to New York to be an artist, but thus far has only achieved an artist boyfriend--the enfant terrible of the art world, Derek Rosewood. On her way to his show, where his controve... read more
The Euthanist

Alex Dolan

In this auspicious debut, Alex Dolan announces himself as a virtuoso of psychological suspense and a rightful heir to masters of the genre like Gillian Flynn and Megan Abbott. A young woman helps to end the lives of people with terminal diseases, her reasons h... read more
From the author of Look For Her“Emily Winslow is a precise and expert analyst of the darkest parts of the human psyche.” — Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of Closed CasketOutside the city of Cambridge, England, the badly decomposed body of a y... read more
From the author of Look For Her“Emily Winslow is a precise and expert analyst of the darkest parts of the human psyche.” — Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of Closed CasketSet in the richly evoked pathways and environs of Cambridge, England, Th... read more

Randall has 20 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Kelly S.

Kelly S.

May, 2024

Well done. Thanks.
Kelly S.

Kelly S.

May, 2024

Well done. Thanks.
D S.

D S.

Mar, 2024

I found Randall to be a professional and experienced editor whom I would be happy to recommend. His observations as to what works and what doesn't are sound and based on his expertise; his suggestions for revision are well-reasoned and attest to his careful reading, Besides that, as an actual editor in the publishing business, his opinions are especially relevant to anyone serious about ...
Read more
Suzanne C.

Suzanne C.

Jun, 2023

This is my second collaboration with Randall. Both experiences were 5 stars. His insights are excellent and he delivers his critiques with clear, practical solutions. Would definitely use again!
Suzanne C.

Suzanne C.

Apr, 2023

I’ve worked with many professional editors in my career and Randall is one of the best. His willingness to take to a manuscript to the next level is phenomenal. He not only understood where my story was, he saw the potential of where it could be and provided concrete guidance to get it there. He pays attention to the sweeping themes and character arcs while also picking up inconsistencies at a ...
Read more

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Randall and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Randall

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Sam Buchan-Watts

Sam B.

I am a writer and editor, with extensive experience of publishing and editing poetry collections, magazines and artists' books.

Edinburgh, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Fiona Watson

Fiona W.

20+ years as an editor/proofreader/project manager working across fiction and non-fiction books, educational resources and magazines.

Huddersfield, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Steven Genise

Steven G.

Author, freelancer, and former prose editor for CASCADIA MAGAZINE, focusing on literary fiction/creative nonfiction.

Seattle, Washington

98% reply rate

View profile