Natasha MacKenzie

Natasha MacKenzie – Designer

A coffee addicted book designer helping authors and publishers bring their stories to life! Go on, judge a book by it's cover...

Overview

Hi! My name is Nat - originally from Canada but finding my way around the industrial streets of Manchester -
I absolutely love designing book covers. I've been art directing and designing eye-catching book covers across a range of genres, for the past five years. My work has been featured in Entertainment Weekly and Spine Magazine, and I have been honoured to design the covers for some award winning books.

Before I became a book designer, I studied graphic design and upon obtaining my degree I went back to complete my Masters in Publishing with UAL in London. My love of books (and of reading!) is what pushes me to keep developing my skills as an artist. I care about the stories I design for – without them I would not be able to do what it is I do. Every great design, begins with an even better story.

Having such an eclectic design background and skill set - creating and implementing region wide marketing campaigns, working with established and new companies to develop brand identity, and designing book covers across a range of genres - has allowed me to create not only stunning, but effective work for my clients be they publishing houses or self-published authors. I am able to look at design from a multitude of angles ensuring that what you get is not only a striking piece of art, it will fit perfectly within your market and be a complete embodiment of your work, and of you.

I could not imagine doing anything else, and because of that I genuinely put everything I can into my work. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with Q's, ideas, or just a chat! I look forward to chatting with you about your story, and how I can bring it to life.
Services
Fiction
Action & Adventure Fantasy Science Fiction Thriller & Suspense Young Adult
Languages
English
Awards
  • 2007, 3rd Place Emerging Designer Award, WCFW
  • 2009, Best Design Award, WCFW
Certifications
  • Masters in Publishing
  • Bachelors Degree in Graphic Design & Illustration

Work experience

Self-employed

May, 2017 — Present

As a book designer, I design fiction covers that are not only striking and eye catching, but are truly representative of the authors work. Working on illustrated titles I take ownership for all stages of the design process, from initial concept through to page layout, image profiling and manipulation, to preparation and final handover to production.

Self-employed

Apr, 2015 — Apr, 2019 (about 4 years)

Pretty & Inked Magazine is an alternative lifestyle and tattoo magazine based out of North America. I was responsible for overseeing each issue released from initial concept to final print production and distribution, and everything in-between. I managed a staff of 5 while commissioning writers, photographers and designers to assist with completion. My role also involved market research, project management, photo shoot design, budget and cost analysis, print and distribution, as well as networking and negotiation.

Promoworx

Mar, 2013 — Oct, 2016 (over 3 years)

As a lead graphic designer, I created effective, striking and intelligent design work within a limited time frame. Working with various companies across a broad range of industries, and across the UK, I assisted in the overall development and production of their brand. With a specialisation in brand development, I worked with numerous start ups helping them release their companies overall identity, fine tuning their brand guidelines. I have worked on a multitude of projects from small scale, such as business cards and promo materials, to large scale, such as poster print, vehicle wraps, and cross country campaigns.

Portfolio

Strange Ink

Gary Kemble

Spine-chilling horror in the vein of Joe Hill. After moving into a new house, journalist Harry Hendrick wakes up with tattoos that aren’t his... When washed-up journalist Harry Hendrick wakes one morning with a hangover and a strange symbol tattooed on his nec... read more
The definitive story of Harley Quinn by her co-creator, Paul Dini, and Pat Cadigan, revealing the secrets of her history even as she seeks to kill Batman.When she was only seven years old, Harleen Quinzel witnessed her father being beaten up by thugs, and then... read more
Firefly

Nancy Holder

The first original novel tying into the critically acclaimed and much-missed Firefly series from creator Joss Whedon.The Battle of Serenity Valley was the turning point that led the Independents to their defeat at the hands of the Alliance. Yet the Browncoats ... read more
Adapting what may be the most popular of graphic novels, by the edgy Hard Case Crime author, adding layers and exploring the nature of morality. A tragic, unnamed engineer-turned-criminal is immersed in chemicals that disfigure him bizarrely, driving him mad a... read more
Green Valley

Louis Greenberg

Chilling near-future SF for fans of Black Mirror and True Detective. When Lucie Sterling’s niece is abducted, she knows it won’t be easy to find answers. Stanton is no ordinary city: invasive digital technology has been banned, by public vote. No surveillance ... read more
The Spider Dance

Nick Setchfield

A genre-defying page turner that fuses thriller and speculative fiction with dark fantasy in a hidden world in the heart of Cold War Europe. THE TRUE COLD WAR IS FOUGHT ON THE BORDERS OF THIS WORLD, AT THE EDGES OF THE LIGHT. It’s 1965 and Christopher Winter i... read more
The War in the Dark

Nick Setchfield

A genre-defying page turner that fuses thriller and speculative fiction with dark fantasy in a hidden world in the heart of Cold War Europe.Europe. 1963. And the true Cold War is fought on the borders of this world, at the edges of the light.When the assassina... read more
The Devouring Gray

Christine Lynn Herman

For fans of Stranger Things, Riverdale and The Raven Cycle. Can a group of teenagers hold back the otherworldly horror that stalks the woods? On the edge of town a beast haunts the woods, trapped in the Gray, its bonds loosening... Uprooted from the city, Viol... read more

Natasha has 73 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Will B.

Will B.

Mar, 2024

Natasha from Miss Nat Mack Studios is THE perfect partner for work on covers. We worked together on a trilogy of covers over the course of three years and she balanced both her artistic creativity with my vision of the cover to make an engaging series of books that consistently receives compliments and praise. I highly recommend her to anyone interested in having their cover stand out in a prof...
Read more
David D.

David D.

Oct, 2023

Natasha is a passionate artist, able to glean from the writing provided so much about the core story message. She provided three highly professional cover designs, each unique from the other, helping to find the tone and direction of the book in a single image. Highly recommend her services.
Krysta M.

Krysta M.

May, 2023

Nat is such a pleasure to work with!! Her artwork is amazing and she is a fabulous communicator. High recommend working with her.
Claire B.

Claire B.

Apr, 2023

I loved working with Nat! She really brought my vision to life and worked with me to combine elements from different cover concepts and deliver a gorgeous piece of art that I'm really excited to use. I hope we can work together again!
Tanya R.

Tanya R.

Mar, 2023

This is my third collaboration with Natasha. Every time she is insightful, sensitive to my requests, and creative. I am so fortunate that I found her to design my covers. I highly recommend her!

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Natasha and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Natasha

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Anna Arkhipova

Anna A.

An illustrator with a love of painting fantasy characters that pop with personality and vibrant color!

Seattle, WA, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Christine Foltzer

Christine F.

Art director, graphic designer, and illustrator with over 16 years of experience specializing in Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror.

Jersey City, NJ, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Peter O'Hara

Peter O.

Passionate about using my illustration and graphic design skills to enable clear communication. Seeking to work with other creatives.

West Chester, PA, USA

100% reply rate

View profile