Natalie Bolderston

Natalie Bolderston - Editor

London, UK

Award-winning writer and versatile editor working in genre fiction publishing. Especially interested in fantasy, poetry and women's fiction.

Request a quote

Overview

I am an award-winning writer and an experienced copyeditor and proofreader. I am currently Assistant Editor at Sapere Books, where I work on commercial fiction titles across a number of genres, including historical fiction, romance, women's fiction and thrillers. I am skilled at both technical editing (spotting grammatical errors, inconsistencies, tense confusion, awkward phrasing, formatting errors and so on) and more in-depth critiques. This can include assessing writing style, characterisation, dialogue, level of detail, narrative pace, and more.

I am most interested in fantasy, historical fiction, poetry, children's fiction, and women's fiction. However, I would be open to working on projects outside of this remit, as I read widely across most genres.


In the past, I have also copyedited and proofread poetry, business magazine articles, careers guides, and academic blurbs. I am therefore comfortable with editing specialist and technical language. The book that I took responsibility for copyediting while working at Pavilion Poetry (Fourth Person Singular by Nuar Alsadir) went on to be shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Collection, one of the biggest poetry prizes in the UK.


Additionally, I have been part of several fiction and poetry workshops in the past – both as an assistant and as a participant. I am therefore able to give constructive feedback, highlighting the strengths of a piece as well as areas that could be improved.


I am available for proofreading, copyediting and developmental editing services.
Languages
English (UK)
English (US)
Fiction
Cultural & Ethnic
Fantasy
Historical Fiction
Poetry
Romance
Women's Fiction

Certifications

  • University of Liverpool: English BA (Hons) - 1st class

Awards

  • 2016 Felicia Hemans Prize for Lyrical Poetry
  • 2017 Miriam Allott Poetry Prize
  • 2018 Silver Creative Future Writers' Award
  • 2018 Timothy Corsellis Poetry Prize Runner-up
  • 2018 Bi'an Writers' Award Runner-up
  • 2019 BBC Proms Poetry Competition Runner-up
  • 2019 National Poetry Competition - 3rd Place
  • 2020 Eric Gregory Award
  • 2020 Rebecca Swift Women Poets' Prize

Work experience

Assistant Editor

Sapere Books
June, 2019 – Present (almost 2 years)

Sapere Books is a genre fiction eBook publisher, specialising in historical fiction, crime, romance, and women's fiction. My role involves:
• Proofreading and copyediting manuscripts. In particular, I look out for typos, inconsistencies, grammatical errors, tense confusion, and special characters that have not formatted properly.
• Reading new submissions and conveying my thoughts to the editorial director (my overall impression, the strengths of the submission, and areas for improvement).

Editorial Assistant

Rowman & Littlefield International
May, 2017 – June, 2019 (about 2 years)

I assisted with the publication of monographs, edited collections and textbooks on RLI's Philosophy, Cultural Studies, Anthropology and Geography lists. I am therefore comfortable with editing material that may feature technical or specialist language.

Publishing Assistant (internship)

Liverpool University Press
September, 2016 – June, 2017 (9 months)

I assisted with the publication of three volumes of contemporary poetry, as part of the press’ Pavilion Poetry series. I was the copyeditor for Fourth Person Singular by Nuar Alsadir, an innovative work that features specialist language from a variety of fields. The book went on to be shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Collection, one of the biggest poetry prizes in the UK.

Creativity through writing intern / volunteer

The Windows Project
May, 2016 – May, 2017 (about 1 year)

The Windows Project is a Liverpool-based arts charity. Here, my role involved helping to select submissions to the organisation's poetry magazine, Smoke, and helping out at writing advice desks (providing editorial feedback to aspiring writers).

Portfolio (14 selected works)

Fourth Person Singular (Pavilion Poetry LUP)

Nuar Alsadir

Shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Collection 2017A Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for PoetryClaudia Rankine described the poems in Alsadir's first book as 'lawless,' 'provocative, and 'heartbreaking' as they 'converse from the inside out...come alive in the back and forth of a mind attempting to understand what it means to be in relation to.'Fourth Person Singular... read more

Shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Collection 2017A Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for PoetryClaudia Rankine described the poems in Alsadir's first book as 'lawless,' 'provocative, and 'heartbreaking' as they 'converse from the inside out...come alive in the back and forth of a mind attempting to understand what it means to be in relation to.'Fourth Person Singular... read more

Another You: A haunting love story reaching back to the Second World War

Jane Cable

A book that will stay with you long after the story ends! Perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain, Nora Roberts, Lorna Cook and Victoria Connelly.Sometimes the hardest person to save is yourself… Marie Johnson fell in love with The Smugglers pub when she first moved to Dorset with her husband, Stephen.But when Stephen’s wandering eye caused the breakdown of their marriage, and the costs of runni... read more

A book that will stay with you long after the story ends! Perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain, Nora Roberts, Lorna Cook and Victoria Connelly.Sometimes the hardest person to save is yourself… Marie Johnson fell in love with The Smugglers pub when she first moved to Dorset with her husband, Stephen.But when Stephen’s wandering eye caused the breakdown of their marriage, and the costs of runni... read more

In Honour Bound (Brides By Chance Regency Adventures Book 1)

Elizabeth Bailey

Fall in love with this charming Regency adventure! Perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Jane Aiken Hodge and Jane Austen.Can a free-spirited tomboy learn to fit in with respectable society…?1799, SuffolkWhen her father dies in battle, seventeen-year-old Isolde Cavanagh is forced to rely on the protection of an old family friend.But when she arrives at the imposing estate of Bawdse... read more

Fall in love with this charming Regency adventure! Perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Jane Aiken Hodge and Jane Austen.Can a free-spirited tomboy learn to fit in with respectable society…?1799, SuffolkWhen her father dies in battle, seventeen-year-old Isolde Cavanagh is forced to rely on the protection of an old family friend.But when she arrives at the imposing estate of Bawdse... read more

Children at the Gate

Reid Banks, Lynne

Natalie has 1 review

Professionalism
Professionalism
Quality
Quality
Value
Value
Communication & Punctuality
Communication & Punctuality

Claire D. Bennett
Natalie did an amazing job copy-editing my book. I am so grateful she wanted to bless my work with her talent. She really lifted my prose to the next level, and I can safely say that my book is now the best it can ever be thanks to Natalie's input. Not only did she respect my personal style of writing, but she also enhanced it where there was room for improvement – dream come true for an author...
Read more

Claire D. Bennett, April 2021

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Blair Thornburgh

Former Senior Editor with 10 years in publishing, YA/kids author with Harper, S&S, Abrams. Bring me your YA, fantasy, romance, and more!

Downingtown, PA, USA

NaNá Stoelzle

Editing fiction is my bag: young adult, memoirs, mysteries - you name it! Making manuscripts the best they can be is my life's work.

Casper, WY, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy