Michelle Horn

Michelle Horn - Editor

Michelle offers copyediting and developmental editing for indie authors. Her genres include general fiction and health and wellness.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview


The most important aspect of your work is the story you tell. There are several ways to refine the story, depending on your concerns and goals and your budget.

I offer editing packages that will review your work from a broad perspective. For a fiction book, this includes feedback about the plot, characters, setting, storytelling elements, and point of view. For a nonfiction book, this includes feedback about logic, order, presentation, clarity, and relevance. This edit can be bundled with a copy edit or be a standalone service.

I also offer a copy editing, which will check for grammar, usage, punctuation, and spelling according to the style you need for your publishing goals.

I will help you create something you're proud of, and I'm excited to go on this journey with you. It can be hard to know what a person is like to work with, so here is what others have had to say about working with me:

"You did a great job, really the kind of edit I imagined in my mind before this even started."

“Michelle has an amazing eye for detail...Michelle went beyond what I expected and added great value.”—B. Bansal (Author, nonfiction)

“Michelle is a wonderful fiction editor. She has a keen eye for consistency and the ability to find great solutions for plot dilemmas.” —C.R. Preston (Author, fiction)

“You are truly a professional editor: organized, detailed, and conscientious.”—D. Stocco, designer

“Michelle found things that we completely missed. Once I read the story again, I was impressed at how well the story read.”— S. Smith (Author, fiction)

How can I help you? I offer several levels of copyedits depending on your goals and your budget. I also offer coaching and developmental editing.

I would love to hear from you and give you a free sample.
Languages
English (US)
Non-Fiction
Health & wellbeing
History
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Mystery & Crime
Thriller & Suspense
Women's Fiction

Work experience

Professional editor

Excellent Edits
July, 2005 – Present (over 14 years)

Helping writers polish their works. Clients include publishers and independent authors as well as Fortune 500 businesses.

Portfolio (10 selected works)

Sudan

Ninie Hammon, Art Ayris

IS A FATHER'S LOVE STRONGER THAN THE CHAINS OF SLAVERY?Sudan 2000. The largest nation in Africa has become a killing field. Two million tribal people are dead, victims of a brutal civil war or massacred by their own government in systematic, cold-blooded genocide. But that's not why human rights photojournalist Ron Wolfson is risking his life there. He's chasing action and danger on a differen... read more

IS A FATHER'S LOVE STRONGER THAN THE CHAINS OF SLAVERY?Sudan 2000. The largest nation in Africa has become a killing field. Two million tribal people are dead, victims of a brutal civil war or massacred by their own government in systematic, cold-blooded genocide. But that's not why human rights photojournalist Ron Wolfson is risking his life there. He's chasing action and danger on a differen... read more

A Daily Dose of Women's Wisdom

Christiane Northrup

For decades, Christiane Northrup has been helping women navigate their lives with grace and joy. This elegant, compact volume offers her trademark wisdom in a fresh form, filled with pointed reminders “to help you develop a deeper respect for, and connection to, your own body and its exquisite guidance system [to] create a vibrantly healthy body, mind, and spirit.”Each beautifully designed bla... read more

For decades, Christiane Northrup has been helping women navigate their lives with grace and joy. This elegant, compact volume offers her trademark wisdom in a fresh form, filled with pointed reminders “to help you develop a deeper respect for, and connection to, your own body and its exquisite guidance system [to] create a vibrantly healthy body, mind, and spirit.”Each beautifully designed bla... read more

Killing It: An Education

Camas Davis

Camas Davis was at an unhappy crossroads. A longtime magazine editor, she had left New York City to pursue a simpler life in her home state of Oregon, with the man she wanted to marry, and taken an appealing job at a Portland magazine. But neither job nor man delivered on her dreams, and in the span of a year, Camas was unemployed, on her own, with nothing to fall back on. Disillusioned by the... read more

Camas Davis was at an unhappy crossroads. A longtime magazine editor, she had left New York City to pursue a simpler life in her home state of Oregon, with the man she wanted to marry, and taken an appealing job at a Portland magazine. But neither job nor man delivered on her dreams, and in the span of a year, Camas was unemployed, on her own, with nothing to fall back on. Disillusioned by the... read more

Charleston's Daughter (The Low Country Series Book 1)

Sabra Waldfogel

A Charleston belle with slavery on her conscience. A slave with rebellion in her heart. In South Carolina in 1858, no friendship could be more dangerous.Caro Jarvie’s father, who owns her, loves her and educates her. He raises her for a life she can never have—as a wealthy planter’s daughter. When he dies, he can’t protect her, and she is cast back into slavery. But she can’t forget her father... read more

A Charleston belle with slavery on her conscience. A slave with rebellion in her heart. In South Carolina in 1858, no friendship could be more dangerous.Caro Jarvie’s father, who owns her, loves her and educates her. He raises her for a life she can never have—as a wealthy planter’s daughter. When he dies, he can’t protect her, and she is cast back into slavery. But she can’t forget her father... read more

The Memory Closet: A Psychological Suspense Novel

Ninie Hammon

Each memory could be her last...When Anne Mitchell was 11, a horrific accident took the life of her little sister—and every one of Anne's childhood memories went with her.For 25 years, people have told her that losing memories is normal. Trauma will do that to a young girl.But Anne knows it is a lie.Dark, fractured memories lurk in the shadows of her mind like monsters. They glide past her mir... read more

Each memory could be her last...When Anne Mitchell was 11, a horrific accident took the life of her little sister—and every one of Anne's childhood memories went with her.For 25 years, people have told her that losing memories is normal. Trauma will do that to a young girl.But Anne knows it is a lie.Dark, fractured memories lurk in the shadows of her mind like monsters. They glide past her mir... read more

Power Yoga: Strength, Sweat, and Spirit

Leah Cullis

Expand your energy and raise your sense of personal power with power yoga, the athletic and dynamic style of yoga that delivers high intensity and quick results. In Power Yoga: Strength, Sweat, and Spirit, you will learn the poses, practices, and philosophy of this fitness- and focus-boosting training method to strengthen your body and awaken your spirit. This potent practice is a complete wor... read more

Expand your energy and raise your sense of personal power with power yoga, the athletic and dynamic style of yoga that delivers high intensity and quick results. In Power Yoga: Strength, Sweat, and Spirit, you will learn the poses, practices, and philosophy of this fitness- and focus-boosting training method to strengthen your body and awaken your spirit. This potent practice is a complete wor... read more

Sister of Mine: A Novel

Laurie Petrou

"Propulsive." —Refinery29's "Best Psychological Suspense Novels to Read After Gone Girl""A twisty, claustrophobic nail-biter." —Entertainment Weekly’s Hot Summer Thrillers"Sibling rivalry on steroids." —BookTribFor fans of Sarah Pinborough and Liane Moriarty comes a taut domestic suspense about the lies we tell to hold our lives together.Sisters, like secrets, are best kept close.Penny and Hat... read more

"Propulsive." —Refinery29's "Best Psychological Suspense Novels to Read After Gone Girl""A twisty, claustrophobic nail-biter." —Entertainment Weekly’s Hot Summer Thrillers"Sibling rivalry on steroids." —BookTribFor fans of Sarah Pinborough and Liane Moriarty comes a taut domestic suspense about the lies we tell to hold our lives together.Sisters, like secrets, are best kept close.Penny and Hat... read more

Husbands and Other Sharp Objects: A Novel

Marilyn Simon Rothstein

A heartwarming, hilarious novel for anyone who has ever had a family, from the author of Lift and Separate.After a lifetime of marriage, Marcy Hammer is ready to get herself unhitched—just as everyone else in her life is looking for a commitment. Her new boyfriend, Jon, wants to get serious, and her soon-to-be ex-husband, Harvey, is desperate to get back together. When her headstrong daughter ... read more

A heartwarming, hilarious novel for anyone who has ever had a family, from the author of Lift and Separate.After a lifetime of marriage, Marcy Hammer is ready to get herself unhitched—just as everyone else in her life is looking for a commitment. Her new boyfriend, Jon, wants to get serious, and her soon-to-be ex-husband, Harvey, is desperate to get back together. When her headstrong daughter ... read more

Lift and Separate: A Novel

Marilyn Simon Rothstein

Marcy Hammer’s life has been turned upside down. Her husband, the head of a global brassiere empire, didn’t think twice about leaving her after thirty-three years of marriage for a 32DD lingerie model. Now Harvey the Home-Wrecker is missing in action, but Marcy’s through thinking about what a cliché he is. What she needs now is a party-size bag of potato chips, a good support system, and a new... read more

Marcy Hammer’s life has been turned upside down. Her husband, the head of a global brassiere empire, didn’t think twice about leaving her after thirty-three years of marriage for a 32DD lingerie model. Now Harvey the Home-Wrecker is missing in action, but Marcy’s through thinking about what a cliché he is. What she needs now is a party-size bag of potato chips, a good support system, and a new... read more

Your Workout PERFECTED

Nick Tumminello

Every workout is intended to do one thing: maximize results. Whether that result is fitness, function and performance, fat loss, or physique improvements, you want your efforts to pay off. What if you had the opportunity to have the NSCA Personal Trainer of the Year observe your workout and show you how you could make it better? Now you do have access to that expertise, with Your Workout PERFE... read more

Every workout is intended to do one thing: maximize results. Whether that result is fitness, function and performance, fat loss, or physique improvements, you want your efforts to pay off. What if you had the opportunity to have the NSCA Personal Trainer of the Year observe your workout and show you how you could make it better? Now you do have access to that expertise, with Your Workout PERFE... read more

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Deborah Meghnagi Bailey

Editor with 16+ years of experience including 8 years at independent publishing house Toby Press. Avid reader whose first love is fiction.

John Paine

I have 30+ years of experience in New York publishing. I edit both fiction and nonfiction titles, from developmental to line/copy editing.

Easthampton, MA, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy