leah woodburn

leah woodburn – Editor

I've worked in the book industry for 15 years, most recently as Associate Publisher, co-running a list at a major publishing house.

Overview

I’m a highly experienced editor and publisher with fifteen years of experience within a major UK publishing house. In 2013 I co-founded Headline’s literary imprint, Tinder Press, the home of established authors like Patrick Gale, Maggie O’Farrell, Deborah Moggach and Sarah Winman, and a diverse range of exciting new talent.

In my time I’ve worked on a broad range of books, including literary fiction, crime and thriller, women’s fiction and narrative memoir. My authors have achieved commercial success, nominations for major literary prizes like the Costa, Women’s Prize, Arthur C. Clarke, Priz Goncourt, and have been selected for promotions such as the Richard & Judy and Waterstones bookclubs.

My experience as a publisher means I have a good commercial eye and an extensive awareness of the market, which I can bring to bear on any books I work on. I also know what makes publishers tick; I know the kind of conversations that take place within acquisitions meetings, what goes down well and what doesn’t, and can advise accordingly.

I’ve always loved editing – the act of sitting down with a manuscript and helping smooth it into shape gives me huge enjoyment and satisfaction. I have great respect for writers and am very passionate about the importance of the editing process. As a result, I like to think I’m a sensitive, nurturing and insightful editor who would be unswervingly focussed on helping you make your book the very best it can be.
Services
Fiction
Literary Fiction Psychological Thriller Women's Fiction
Languages
English (UK)

Work experience

Hachette Book Group

Jun, 2011 — Oct, 2019 (over 8 years)

Co-founded and co-ran the Tinder Press imprint at Headline Publishing Group

Hachette Book Group

Sep, 2009 — Mar, 2011 (over 1 year)

Acquired and published fiction for Headline and Headline Review.

Hachette Book Group

Jun, 2007 — Sep, 2009 (over 2 years)

Managed editorial projects and ran Headline's audiobook list

Hachette Book Group

Aug, 2004 — Sep, 2009 (about 5 years)

Assisted an Associate Publisher and two senior Commissioning Editors, working on a range of literary, crime and thriller titles

Portfolio

Cuckoo

Julia Crouch

CUCKOO by Julia Crouch is the original psychological thriller: a dark, deliciously unsettling drama in the vein of I LET YOU GO, THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.'Brilliant... truly chilling' Sophie HannahRose has it all - the gorgeous children, ... read more
From the No 1 Bestselling author PENNY VINCENZI - LOVE IN THE AFTERNOON AND OTHER DELIGHTS brings together searing journalism, ten short stories and other work in a single edition for the first time. 'A charming miscellany... brought to life with touching, Nor... read more
The Family

Martina Cole

Once you're in the family, you're in it for life... Devastatingly powerful, THE FAMILY by the 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and Sunday Times No.1 bestseller Martina Cole reaches the darkest corners of family life. Philip Murphy expects loyalty... read more
Sophie Hannah says Julia Crouch is 'brilliant' and Erin Kelly calls her 'one of the best writers in a strong field'. A woman has to stop her husband's lover from ruining her life in this stunning psychological thriller, HER HUSBAND'S LOVER, from the acclaimed ... read more
Beth Lowe has been sent a parcel. Inside is a letter informing her that her long-estranged mother has died, and a scrapbook Beth has never seen before. Entitled The Book of Summers, it's stuffed with photographs and mementos complied by her mother to record th... read more
Do Not Feed the Bear

Rachel Elliott

'Beguiling and astute' Sarah Winman 'Astoundingly good' Deborah Moggach'Wonderfully redemptive' Sarah HaywoodA life-affirming novel about broken but loving families, people making mistakes but doing their best, grief and getting stuck - for readers of ELEANOR ... read more
The Son

Michel Rostain

Selected for the Waterstones Eleven list for 2013.We first meet Michel eleven days after the death of his son Lion. Lion was lost, suddenly, to a virulent strain of meningitis and it's left his father and entire family reeling. We join Michel on his personal j... read more
The House of Birds

Morgan Mccarthy

Morgan McCarthy's THE HOUSE OF BIRDS is a beautiful and bewitching story of love, war and second chances that will be adored by readers of Kate Morton, Virginia Baily and Lucinda Riley. Oliver has spent years trying to convince himself that he's suited to a li... read more
Gather the Daughters

Jennie Melamed

'An exceptional debut' Sunday Telegraph'Obsessed with The Handmaid's Tale? This brilliant book is the one for you' Stylist'An intriguing, gorgeously realised and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart' Kate HamerOn a small isolated island... read more
The Decision

Penny Vincenzi

1960s fashion, affairs and heartbreak feature in THE DECISION from No 1 bestselling novelist Penny Vincenzi 'Teeming with memorable characters' Woman & HomeSet against a vibrant sixties backdrop, this is the story of two bright young things: Eliza, an ex-deb m... read more
Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2018Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MUR... read more
The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin

'A boundlessly moving inquisition into mortality, grief and passion . . . it conjures characters with such dimension that you mourn them too, a magic rare enough to leave one astonished' ObserverThe NEW YORK TIMES Top Ten BestsellerIt's 1969, and holed up in a... read more
*A Richard & Judy Bookclub Pick Spring 2016*A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS is the unforgettable and completely captivating new novel from Sarah Winman, author of the international bestseller WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.Marvellous Way... read more
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 COSTA NOVEL AWARDFrom the internationally bestselling author of WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT comes a heartbreaking celebration of love in all its forms, and the moments that illuminate the life of one man.This is almost a love story. But it's... read more
Sarah Winman's bestselling, critically-acclaimed debut novel WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT continues to captivate and enchant readers.The Sunday Times bestseller This is a book about a brother and sister. It's a book about childhood and growing up, friendships and fam... read more

Professionals similar to leah

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Christopher Impiglia

Christopher I.

A creative developmental and copy editor specializing in art books (catalogues, monographs, surveys, etc.).

New York, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Aparna Kumar

Aparna K.

A former Penguin editor, I have edited books by Pulitzer and Booker Prize winners. I edit and consult on fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

London, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Diana Gill

Diana G.

I have over 20 years of editorial experience at Big5 publishers, specializing in commercial genre fiction and select narrative non-fiction.

100% reply rate

View profile