Lauren Humphries-Brooks

Lauren Humphries-Brooks – Editor

Specializing in genre and literary fiction since 2015, with publishers and imprints including Macmillan, Tor, St. Martin's, and Erewhon.

Overview

I’ve been a freelance editor since 2015. I work with large and small publishers, editing services, and private clients. I have amassed a resume encompassing literary fiction and non-fiction, genre fiction (including sci-fi/fantasy, horror, romance, LGBTQ+, and mystery/thrillers), academic publications, and film and television.


My clients run the gamut from experienced, award-winning authors, to new writers looking for guidance through the editing process, and include Pulitzer Prize nominees, first-time fantasy authors, family historians, and film critics.


I'm passionate about writing and editing - every book is worthwhile, every writer has a story to tell. I strive to help authors create something splendid, something of which they can be proud.


I am a writer myself, with a Master’s in Creative Writing from the University of Edinburgh. I believe that a good editor works for the good of the author.


My goal is to make a book the best it can be.

Services
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs
Fiction
Fantasy Historical Romance Horror LGBTQ Fiction Magical Realism Mystery & Crime Science Fiction
Languages
English (AUS) English (CAN) English (NZ) English (UK) English (US)

Work experience

Self-employed

Oct, 2015 — Present

Editing: Copy and content editing on fiction and non-fiction manuscripts accepted for publication, including novels, novellas, short stories, and journal articles. Work closely with established and first-time authors to improve structure, dialogue, grammar, and syntax in accordance with in-house style guides and genre writing conventions. Experience with literary fiction, horror, sci-fi/fantasy, mystery/thrillers, romance/erotica, LGBTQ+ fiction, and academic manuscripts.

Proofreading: Grammar, syntax, spelling/punctuation, and formatting for e-book and print publication. Experience with British and American spelling and grammar, and multiple style guides (CMoS, MLA, APA, AP, Harvard).

Writing: Suggest changes in manuscripts. Advise the author on additional dialogue, scenes, pacing, structure, and maintaining character voice. Work with authors in creating new scenes.

Hamilton College

Sep, 2012 — Oct, 2015 (about 3 years)

Teaching: Taught academic and creative writing to international and multilingual students at Hamilton College’s ESOL Center. Provided one-on-one tutorials, grammar instruction for non-English speakers. Coached workshops on spoken English, grammar, syntax, and academic jargon for first year students in the ESOL program.

Academic Writing and Literacy: Guided students in proper use of APA, AP, CMoS, and MLA citation styles. Edited and proofread academic papers, dissertations, creative writing assignments, grant applications, and cover letters.

Program Development: Co-wrote ESOL Handbook, a guide for ESOL students to navigate academic language, grammar, and thesis writing. Developed workshop guidelines, exercises, and schedules. Wrote student progress reports for each academic term. Bi-annual analysis of strengths and weaknesses of the current ESOL program, with suggestions for improvement.

Portfolio

Rogue Protocol is the third entry in Martha Wells's Hugo, Nebula, Alex, and Locus Award-winning, New York Times and USA Today bestselling series, The Murderbot Diaries.Starring a human-like android who keeps getting sucked back into adventure after adventure, ... read more
Lionhearts

Nathan Makaryk

History and myth collide in Nathan Makaryk's Lionhearts, a riveting story of vengeance, redemption and war, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.All will be well when King Richard returns . . . but King Richard has been captured. To raise the money for his rans... read more
A TIME 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time A Time Magazine Best Fantasy Book of 2018 L. Penelope's Song of Blood & Stone is a treacherous, thrilling, epic fantasy about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers.The kingdoms of Elsira and Lagrimar ... read more
Copy Editing
Made with Reedsy
The Hut

Zeeba Ansari

What paths do we take to end up where we are? And how do they shape the person we become? Zeeba Ansari's debut novel, The Hut, explores these questions as it follows the fortunes of a young ma... read more
Developmental Editing
Made with Reedsy
Children of Alpheios

Diana Fedorak

A genetically engineered colony on a new world. A baby born different than everyone else. A mother who will do anything to save him. On planet Eamine, twenty-one-year-old Alina must protect her baby when Mandin is born with a remarkable DNA anomaly. The colony... read more
Unanimity

Alexandra Almeida

UNANIMITY is a literary, sci-fi novel for the fans of Becky Chambers's A Closed and Common Orbit, Alex Garland's DEVS and Ex Machina, and Charlie Brooker's Black Mirror. Weaving near-future sci-fi elements with social commentary and queer romantic suspense, th... read more
Hateland

Daryl Johnson

A former Department of Homeland Security analyst takes a long view on the domestic terrorism threat from radicalized individuals and hate groups of various ideologies.America is a land in whic... read more
Copy Editing
Finding Baba Yaga is a mythic yet timely novel-in-verse by the beloved and prolific New York Times bestselling author and poet Jane Yolen, “the Hans Christian Andersen of America” (Newsweek).A... read more
Copy Editing
The Scapegracers

H.A. Clarke

An outcast teenage lesbian witch finds her coven hidden amongst the popular girls in her school, and performs some seriously badass magic in the process. Skulking near the bottom of West High’s social pyramid, Sideways Pike lurks under the bleachers doing magi... read more
'Under Palombo’s skillful hand, the entangled world of the Borgias comes vividly to life, exposing the dark facets of class structure and the all-consuming greed that comes with ambition--and love." - Heather Webb, internationally bestselling author of Last Ch... read more
Drinking Games

Sarah Levy

Part memoir and part social critique, Drinking Games is about how one woman drank and lived — until sobriety freed her.On paper, Sarah Levy’s life looked like it was perfect. She was 28, living in New York City, working a great job, and going out with friends ... read more
Bestselling British master of science fiction Adrian Tchaikovsky brings readers a new, mind-expanding science fantasia in The Expert System's BrotherAfter an unfortunate accident, Handry is forced to wander a world he doesn’t understand, searching for meaning.... read more
Rosebud

Paul Cornell

“An elegant, elegiac examination of identity, fictionality, God and humanity itself”—Tamsyn MuirA multilayered, locked-room science fiction novella from Paul Cornell in which five digital beings unravel their existences to discover the truth of their humanity.... read more
Corrections in Ink

Keri Blakinger

Corrections in Ink is an electric and unforgettable memoir about a young woman's journey—from the ice rink, to addiction and a prison sentence, to the newsroom—emerging with a fierce determination to expose the broken system she experienced.An elite, competiti... read more
Corey J. White concludes his pulse-pounding space opera in Static Ruin. As the most wanted voidwitch in the galaxy has no place left to run―except back to those who created her.She killed the man who trained her. She killed the fleet that came for her. She kil... read more
PRISM AWARD-WINNING AUTHORA superb, standalone adventure in Leanna Renee Hieber's groundbreaking, critically acclaimed Strangely Beautiful series, full of passion and power. From childhood, Violet Rychman has dreamed of a coming war, of death and battle on an ... read more

Lauren has 110 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Scott S.

Scott S.

Feb, 2024

I’ve been working with Lauren on my latest novel. Lauren’s insight has been very helpful with its progression and with setting a schedule for its completion.
Q L.

Q L.

Jan, 2024

Incredible editor to work with. Responsive, communicative, and her feedback has truly helped me understand how to write better and how to improve my book. Amazing <333
Scott S.

Scott S.

Jan, 2024

Lauren is very professional, explaining from the beginning as to how the editing process with her works. Lauren's critique was clear, to the point, and has helped me to tighten the narrative to the novel I am currently writing. I hope to be able to work with Lauren I the future.
Moll R.

Moll R.

Dec, 2023

Lauren was very helpful and communicative through the process. The edits she sent back were helpful and explanatory. I felt that my work was valued and was glad she took the time to give thoughtful feedback,
Sahara L.

Sahara L.

Dec, 2023

Lauren was very easy to get in touch with and explained the process simply before getting started. I have enjoyed working with you so far and will continue to work with her in the future. For my assessment, her breakdowns of critics were easy to understand and allowed me to make changes in my draft without issue. I appreciated her working with me as a new writer and working around both of our f...
Read more

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Lauren and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Lauren

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Mary-Theresa Hussey

Mary-Theresa H.

Award winning editor with 25+ years in traditional publishing. Specializing in genre fiction. Looking to help make good stories well told.

New York, United States

97% reply rate

View profile
Alasdair Craig

Alasdair C.

Experienced editor of non-fiction. Expertise in History, Biography, Politics, Philosophy. Formerly Commissioning Editor at Hurst Publishers.

Edinburgh, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Dennis Kouba

Dennis K.

Manuscript Editor and Proofreader. Your partner for a book that is clear, compelling, and a pleasure to read.

Portland, Maine, USA

100% reply rate

View profile