Lara Jones

Lara Jones - Editor

New York, NY, USA

I'm an editor at Simon & Schuster with 5 years of experience working on #1 internationally bestselling fiction and non-fiction titles.

Request a quote

Overview

Reviews (2)
As an editor, I've worked on a variety of projects including thrillers, women's fiction, psychological suspense, mysteries, crime procedurals, literary fiction, fiction in translation, and memoirs (I'd be happy to discuss my involvement on any of the titles below). No matter the genre, I strive to help authors create a dynamic finished manuscript and ensure a smooth publication process. I'm available to help at any stage of your writing process, from development to line edits to proofreading to drafting query letters. I'd love to chat about how I can help you get to the next stage of your book!
Languages
English (US)
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs
True Crime
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Horror
Literary Fiction
Mystery & Crime
Thriller & Suspense
Women's Fiction

Certifications

  • Columbia Publishing Course (2014)

Work experience

Assistant Editor

Simon & Schuster--Emily Bestler Books/Atria Books
June, 2015 – Present (over 4 years)

-Acquires books for Emily Bestler Books, a division of Atria Books at Simon & Schuster
-Edits manuscripts, providing big-picture editorial letters and detailed line edits
-Evaluates proposals, writes pass letters, creates acquisition materials
-Researches and contacts potential authors to develop book concepts for publication
-Collaborates on every stage of publication, from cover design to marketing and publicity plans
-Acts as author's advocate in house

Editorial Assistant

Europa Editions
September, 2014 – April, 2015 (7 months)

-Evaluated manuscripts and wrote readers reports
-Proofread acquired manuscripts, drafted jacket copy
-Translated Italian media hits for jacket and marketing purposes
-Wrote reading group guides, sales and marketing copy, social media posts, and monthly newsletters

Portfolio (8 selected works)

Vessel: A Novel

Lisa A. Nichols

An astronaut returns to Earth after losing her entire crew to an inexplicable disaster, but is her version of what happened in space the truth? Or is there more to the story…. A tense, psychological thriller perfect for fans of Dark Matter and The Martian. After Catherine Wells’s ship experiences a deadly incident in deep space and loses contact with NASA, the entire world believes her dead. M... read more

An astronaut returns to Earth after losing her entire crew to an inexplicable disaster, but is her version of what happened in space the truth? Or is there more to the story…. A tense, psychological thriller perfect for fans of Dark Matter and The Martian. After Catherine Wells’s ship experiences a deadly incident in deep space and loses contact with NASA, the entire world believes her dead. M... read more

American Magic: A Thriller

Zach Fehst

In this fast-paced, international thriller, chaos erupts after a shadowy figure with ties to an elite and ancient society posts incantations on the dark web that allow people to perform real magic.When an enigmatic message uploaded to the dark web turns out to contain an ancient secret giving regular people the power to do impossible things, like levitate cars or make themselves invisible, Ame... read more

In this fast-paced, international thriller, chaos erupts after a shadowy figure with ties to an elite and ancient society posts incantations on the dark web that allow people to perform real magic.When an enigmatic message uploaded to the dark web turns out to contain an ancient secret giving regular people the power to do impossible things, like levitate cars or make themselves invisible, Ame... read more

The Good Assassin: A Novel

Paul Vidich

“The Good Assassin opens up Hemingway’s Cuba. Possessing Alan Furst’s attention for period detail and the deft character touches of John Le Carré, Vidich has quickly carved out a place for himself among the very first rank of espionage writers. It’s a masterful effort and the author’s best work to date.” —Michael Harvey, New York Times bestselling author of The Chicago Way “The Good Assassin i... read more

“The Good Assassin opens up Hemingway’s Cuba. Possessing Alan Furst’s attention for period detail and the deft character touches of John Le Carré, Vidich has quickly carved out a place for himself among the very first rank of espionage writers. It’s a masterful effort and the author’s best work to date.” —Michael Harvey, New York Times bestselling author of The Chicago Way “The Good Assassin i... read more

Sailing Lessons: A Novel

Hannah McKinnon

On the shores of Cape Cod, the Bailey sisters reunite with their long-lost father for a summer of hope and forgiveness in this heartfelt novel from the author of the “sharp and evocative” (Kirkus Reviews) Mystic Summer, The Lake Season, and The Summer House, sure to appeal to “fans of Elin Hilderbrand” (Booklist).Wrenn Bailey has lived all her life on Cape Cod with her mother Lindy, older sist... read more

On the shores of Cape Cod, the Bailey sisters reunite with their long-lost father for a summer of hope and forgiveness in this heartfelt novel from the author of the “sharp and evocative” (Kirkus Reviews) Mystic Summer, The Lake Season, and The Summer House, sure to appeal to “fans of Elin Hilderbrand” (Booklist).Wrenn Bailey has lived all her life on Cape Cod with her mother Lindy, older sist... read more

The Young Wives Club: A Novel

Julie Pennell

Southern Living’s Best New Summer Books In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives. Laura Landry’s ... read more

Southern Living’s Best New Summer Books In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives. Laura Landry’s ... read more

The Mansion: A Novel

Ezekiel Boone

In this white-knuckle thriller from the internationally bestselling author of the “apocalyptic extravaganza” (Publishers Weekly) The Hatching series, a family moves into a home equipped with the world’s most intelligent, cutting-edge, and intuitive computer ever—but a buried secret leads to terrifying and catastrophic consequences. After two years of living on cheap beer and little else in a b... read more

In this white-knuckle thriller from the internationally bestselling author of the “apocalyptic extravaganza” (Publishers Weekly) The Hatching series, a family moves into a home equipped with the world’s most intelligent, cutting-edge, and intuitive computer ever—but a buried secret leads to terrifying and catastrophic consequences. After two years of living on cheap beer and little else in a b... read more

Ultimatum: A Thriller

Anders de la Motte

A follow up to his “breakneck” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) MemoRandom, this gripping new thriller from the internationally bestselling author Anders de la Motte takes you deep inside the world of police intelligence: a world of secrecy, betrayal, and deadly competition, where one second you’re on top, and the next you’re fighting for your life.David Sarac of the Stockholm Police Force’... read more

A follow up to his “breakneck” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) MemoRandom, this gripping new thriller from the internationally bestselling author Anders de la Motte takes you deep inside the world of police intelligence: a world of secrecy, betrayal, and deadly competition, where one second you’re on top, and the next you’re fighting for your life.David Sarac of the Stockholm Police Force’... read more

Zack: A Thriller (Zack Herry)

Mons Kallentoft, Markus Lutteman

The gripping first thriller in a chilling new series from the reigning master of Scandinavian crime fiction—Mons Kallentoft, author of the acclaimed Malin Fors novels—is an instant international sensation.Zack Herry is the golden boy who has stumbled into a career in the Stockholm police force. At night, he hangs out at the clubs, partying with the people he should really be arresting. He know... read more

The gripping first thriller in a chilling new series from the reigning master of Scandinavian crime fiction—Mons Kallentoft, author of the acclaimed Malin Fors novels—is an instant international sensation.Zack Herry is the golden boy who has stumbled into a career in the Stockholm police force. At night, he hangs out at the clubs, partying with the people he should really be arresting. He know... read more

Lara has 2 reviews

Professionalism
Professionalism
Quality
Quality
Value
Value
Communication & Punctuality
Communication & Punctuality

Michael Conrad
Lara did a great job catching my blindspots. She was thorough in her criticisms and her insights into my character design were invaluable.

Michael Conrad, November 2019


larry center
Very good job!

larry center, July 2019

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Michael Mandarano

Nocturnal copy editor, proofreader, ebook formatter and human spell-checker. Freelancer who will work for Nutella.

Toronto, ON, Canada

David Haviland

Bestselling, award-winning publisher, editor, and author of 6 books, for Harper, Penguin, Little Brown, etc. Handle fiction and non-fiction.

Brighton, UK

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy