Julia Maguire

Julia Maguire – Editor

Editor with 13 years of experience. Big picture to line editing on children's books (picture and middle grade) and everything in between.

Overview

I have my Masters in Publishing from NYU and have worked as a children's book editor for 13 years at Simon and Schuster and Penguin Random House. My list included picture books (Finding Wild, Margaret and the Moon, She Made a Monster, Fruit Bowl), middle grade (Annie's Life in Lists, Just Under the Clouds) and a few YA titles (Everyone We've Been, No One Here is Lonely), including graphic novels. I worked on fiction and non-fiction as well as anthology. Recently, I moved out of New York but I still want to be involved in the creation of books for children.

I can help with brainstorming or fine tuning ideas you have brewing, making big picture changes as well as small structural edits, line editing and everything in between. I am also happy to answer any questions you have about the publishing process in general and get your manuscript into its strongest version.
Services
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Children’s Non-Fiction Comics Non-Fiction
Fiction
Comics & Graphic Novels Middle Grade Picture Books
Awards
  • New York Times Best Illustrated for She Made a Monster by Lynn Fulton, illustrated by Felicita Sala

Work experience

Penguin Random House

Aug, 2014 — Sep, 2019 (about 5 years)

Simon and Schuster

Sep, 2007 — Aug, 2014 (almost 7 years)

Portfolio

A Swirl of Ocean

Melissa Sarno

A touching, timeless novel--perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lauren Wolk--about a girl who discovers that the ocean is holding secrets she never could have imagined.Twelve-year-old Summer loves the ocean. The smell, the immensity, the feeling she gets when s... read more
Getting ready to start middle school? Well, you'll need to know what to expect. Get to know every person you'll meet and how they can help (and who to stay away from!)."Mahoney authentically captures the universal indignities of middle school, the challenges o... read more
"Thoughtful, timely and Super-Engaging. So glad the powerhouse young people coming up have Kazoo as a blueprint, a roadmap, and a glimpse into history." -Jacqueline Woodson"Astonishing comics about world-changing women. What could possibly be better?"--Neil Ga... read more
Our entire lives are online, but what if the boy you love actually lives there? For fans of Adam Silvera comes a story about the future of relationships.Eden has always had two loves: her best friend, Lacey, and her crush, Will. And then, almost simultaneously... read more
The Seekers

Hari & Deepti

A small band of brave adventurers journey to save their village in this stunning debut picture book from papercut artists Hari & Deepti. Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker's Journey.Mio and Nao live in the valley of Krum, above a great river that provides everyt... read more
"For any kid or parent that's having a bit of a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day, this book is an instant pick me up. Great for siblings, too!" --Red Tricycle "After reading aloud, listeners might discover their own ways to unbudge curmudgeons."--Publ... read more
Fruit Bowl

Mark Hoffmann

Who belongs in the fruit bowl? Apples, check. Blueberries, check. Tomato, che-- Wait, what?! Tomato wants to join the other fruits, but does he belong? The perfect mix of botany and a bunch of bananas!All the fruit are in the bowl. There's Apple and Orange. St... read more
Can you still have a home if you don't have a house? In the spirit of The Truth About Jellyfish and Fish in a Tree comes a stunning debut about a family struggling to find something lasting when everything feels so fleeting.Always think in threes and you'll ne... read more
Annie's Life in Lists

Kristin Mahoney

If you love kids like: 1. Anatastia Krupnik2. Ramona Quimby3. The Penderwicksthen you will love Annie! For Annie, lists are how she keeps her whole life in order. And there is a lot to keep track of!Annie's a shy fifth grader with an incredible memory and a lo... read more
A 2018 New York Times/New York Public Library Best Illustrated Children's Books On the bicentennial of Frankenstein, join Mary Shelley on the night she created the most frightening monster the world has ever seen.On a stormy night two hundred years ago, a youn... read more
A true story from one of the Women of NASA!Margaret Hamilton loved numbers as a young girl. She knew how many miles it was to the moon (and how many back). She loved studying algebra and geometry and calculus and using math to solve problems in the outside wor... read more
Finding Wild

Megan Wagner Lloyd

*"Sometimes the most striking picture books are the ones that make readers see something in a new way, or that creatively express a concept regularly pondered but rarely put into words."--Shelf Awareness, starred review"Lloyd’s sparkling debut celebrates natur... read more
Pig and Pug

Lynne Berry

Pig and Pug are very different (but not really). See how their similarities show up in this mischievous picture book that’s perfect for pet lovers.Pig and Pug are petite and portable pets—one in a pocket, one in a purse. They are also two spunky spirits: Pug, ... read more
Amazing things are happening all around you. You just need to know where to look—and this whimsical picture book is the perfect place to start.Have you ever wished for something extraordinary? Like the ability to fly? Or to breathe underwater? What if you coul... read more

Professionals similar to Julia

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Daveda Lamont

Daveda L.

Comprehensive nonfiction editing, over 35 yrs. Arts, how-to, instructional, innovators' autobiographies. New and established authors.

NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Robert Weinstein

Robert W.

I provide a complete range of editorial and editing services from full-length texts to short magazine articles and columns.

Freehold, NJ, USA

99% reply rate

View profile
Joe Rhatigan

Joe R.

I work with my authors to create engaging manuscripts–creating content that readers reach for, relate to, relish, and remember.

Asheville, NC, USA

91% reply rate

View profile