Jordan Mulligan

Jordan Mulligan – Editor

An experienced editor specialising in literary and historical fiction, as well as memoir, looking to help make your work the best it can be.

Overview

I'm an experienced editor working at the literary end of book publishing, across both fiction and non-fiction. I have had a hand in some of the biggest books in the industry today, but my passion is for helping to hone exciting new voices and help them find a readership.

Working as an Assistant Editor at 4th Estate I've been closely involved in publishing huge names like Jonathan Franzen, Hilary Mantel, Jon McGregor and Elizabeth Day.

But the most rewarding aspect has been building a list of my own; discovering talented authors like Kirstin Innes, and helping to draw the best out of her writing and bring it to a wide audience. I've taken non-fiction all the way from vague outline, to critically acclaimed finished book, working closely with the author to help shape their vision and make sure their voice shines through. I've also taken finished novels and found the one or two crucial little flaws that can be improved upon to take a book from good to great. Working hands on with a text and with an author is the reason I got into the industry, and is the thing I still love most about it.

During my time at 4th Estate I've also seen thousands of query letters from authors and agents. It was my responsibility to read them, and pass on to my superiors the titles I thought worth pursuing. I know what makes a submission stand out from the crowd and catch a publisher's eye.

'Jordan is hands down the best editor I've worked with. His passion for and championing of my book, his clear understanding of and support for what I was trying to do and his light but effective touch on line edits all contributed hugely to the success of my novel Scabby Queen. I would work with him again in a heartbeat' Kirstin Innes, author of Scabby Queen
Services
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Political Science & Current Affairs
Fiction
Coming of Age Contemporary Fiction Historical Fiction LGBTQ Fiction Literary Fiction Thriller & Suspense
Languages
English (AUS) English (CAN) English (NZ) English (SA) English (UK) English (US)
Certifications
  • MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow
  • MA in English Literature from the University of Glasgow

Work experience

4th Estate, HarperCollins Publishers

Sep, 2016 — Present

Working as an Assistant Editor has given me the opportunity to work on some of the biggest titles in the industry. I've been involved in publishing Jonathan Franzen, Joyce Carol Oates, Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche and Hilary Mantel.

But it has also given me a chance to discover authors of my own. I've taken non-fiction all the way from vague outline, to critically acclaimed finished book, working closely with the author to help shape their vision and make sure their voice shines through. I've also taken finished novels and found the one or two crucial little flaws that can be improved upon to take a book from good to great. Working hands on with a text and with an author is the reason I got into the industry, and is the thing I still love most about it.

Over my time at 4th Estate I've also seen thousands of query letters from authors and agents. It was my responsibility to read them, and pass on to my superiors the titles I thought worth pursuing. I know what makes a submission stand out from the crowd and catch a publisher's eye

Portfolio

The Sunday Times bestseller Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlisted for the Booker Prize ‘It is a book not read, but lived’ Telegraph ‘Mantel has taken us to the dark heart of history ... and what a show’ The Times The Sunday Times bestselling... read more
CONTAINS SIXTEEN PAGES OF PHOTOS Who made the phone call that got HBO to launch the show? What’s the significance of all those eggs? And, what the hell ever happened to the Russian? In Woke Up This Morning, Michael Imperioli and Steve Schirripa have all the an... read more
’This is essential’ Margaret Atwood on Twitter ‘She's one of the most acute and perceptive analysts of the furtive growth of fascism. Everyone should know about this’ Philip Pullman ’Vibrates with outrage’ The Times ‘It couldn’t happen here’ Ece Temelkuran hea... read more
Scabby Queen

Kirstin Innes

‘Gripping and moving. A literary triumph’ Nicola Sturgeon ‘A humane and searching story’ Ian Rankin ‘Kirstin Innes is aiming high, writing for readers in the early days of a better nation’ A.L. Kennedy A NEW STATESMAN BOOK OF THE YEAR • A SCOTSMAN BOOK OF THE ... read more
For readers of Modern Lovers and Conversations with Friends, an addictive, humorous, and poignant debut novel about the shock waves caused by one couple's impulsive marriage. ‘A tender, devastating and funny exploration of love and friendship and the yearning ... read more

Jordan has 75 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Django J.

Django J.

May, 2024

Ideal. Hire him.
Matthew F.

Matthew F.

May, 2024

Jordan was fantastic to work with. He expressed a deep interest in my work, correctly identified the key themes, effectively identified areas I needed to work on. He provided a great blend of positive reinforcement and constructive criticism. I would definitely work with him again!
Craig N.

Craig N.

May, 2024

Jordan did an editorial assessment. He’s very perceptive, and very fast in digesting even the most complex writing. I will definitely work with him again. Craig
Jay R.

Jay R.

Apr, 2024

This was my first time engaging a professional editor, and I was very nervous about it, but I needn't have been. Jordan was friendly and positive, without pulling punches, which has made me much more comfortable with the whole process. Unavoidably, things were delayed on both ends due to outside factors - but I was very impressed by Jordan's attitude to the delays. He was very forthright about...
Read more
Natalie F.

Natalie F.

Apr, 2024

I enjoyed working with Jordan. He helped me with my agent pitch pack (query letter and synopisis). He had great suggestions for both and he also provided a review/report of my novel's prologue and first three chapters. He was very insightful and I made changes based on Jordan's recommendations that I feel made my presentation stronger. I wouldn't hesitate to work with Jordan again.

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Jordan and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Jordan

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Jessica Felleman

Jessica F.

Literary Agent and Developmental Editor with an MFA in Writing with a focus on literary speculative fiction and prescriptive nonfiction.

New York, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Nicholas Vari

Nicholas V.

Copy editor and proofreader specializing in religious non-fiction with 9 years of experience.

Charlotte, NC, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
D. Ann Williams

D. Ann W.

Editor/sensitivity reader with 10+ yrs of experience. Worked with all big 5 publishers. Specialize in genre: romance, historicals, mystery.

Newark, NJ, USA

90% reply rate

View profile