Jeff Hart

Jeff Hart – Editor

Author of EAT BRAINS LOVE and UNDEAD WITH BENEFITS (Harper Teen). Freelance editor and consultant.

Overview

I'm the author of the YA zom-rom-coms EAT BRAINS LOVE (now a movie!) and UNDEAD WITH BENEFITS, both published by Harper Teen. As a ghostwriter, I've written several other young adult novels, many of which have appeared on the NYT Best Sellers list. As an editor and consultant, I've helped craft numerous book proposals that were sold on spec to major publishing houses and shaped many first drafts into publishable manuscripts.

As an author and an editor, I've experienced all sides of the publishing process. From coffee-soaked mornings when it seems like that first draft will never get finished to those late nights feeling like a pincushion while poring over an editor's brutal notes -- I've been there. Beyond a keen eye for the market and an incisive red pen for what works on the page, I've found that what's often most valuable for a writer is a confidant. It's important to have an editor that's been through the process, who you feel comfortable bouncing ideas off, and who will share in both your blunders and successes.

Wherever you are with your manuscript, I can guide you to the next level. I'm available for query critiques, assessment reads, and more in-depth edits. Looking for someone to take a pass at your first draft? Need help sculpting an idea into an outline? Want someone to punch-up your dialogue? I'm ready to assist on projects big and small.

The most fulfilling moments of my career have been when the inherently lonesome writing process gave way to a feeling of community. It takes a team to bring a book into the world and I want to be part of yours!

A NOTE ON REQUESTS: When sending me a request, please attach the first 2,500 words of your manuscript. It's easiest for me to assess where your project is at by starting from the beginning. (These pages also tend to be the most polished!)
Services
Fiction
Comics & Graphic Novels Contemporary Fiction Epic Fantasy Gaming & LitRPG Horror Middle Grade Science Fiction Young Adult Fantasy
Languages
English (US)
Awards
  • NYC Midnight Screenwriting Championship runner-up
  • Two-time semi-finalist in The L Magazine’s Literary Upstart
  • Eat, Brains, Love shortlisted for YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers
Certifications
  • University at Buffalo B.A. in English

Work experience

Self-employed

Aug, 2011 — Present

Published two books of my own: EAT BRAINS LOVE and UNDEAD WITH BENEFITS.

Creative consultant on a NYT best-selling YA series; edited or ‘punched-up’ in progress manuscripts prior to publication; authored book proposals that sold to major publishing houses; collaborated with editors on creative direction for various IPs and brands.

Portfolio

Ashfall Prophecy

Lore, Pittacus

Ashfall Legacy

Lore, Pittacus

With its heartwarming blend of guts, romance, and humor, this road trip–ready sequel to Eat, Brains, Love is The Walking Dead meets John Hughes.Jake and Amanda are in love, on the run—and undead. They've picked up a new psychic friend, ex-government-zombie-hun... read more
A laugh-out-loud funny, surprisingly romantic, zombie road trip novel filled with heart—and brains. Eat, Brains, Love is perfect for fans of Isaac Marion's Warm Bodies.The good news: Jake's dream girl, Amanda Blake, finally knows his name.The bad news: it's be... read more
Made with Reedsy
Goliath: Book One of WorldSim Trilogy

Hall, C. S.

Made with Reedsy
Millions of Little Threads

Pantano, Robert

Made with Reedsy
Rolo the Pet Earthling

Ness, Hans

Dorothy Must Die

Paige, Danielle

Jeff has 15 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Holly T.

Holly T.

Jan, 2024

Jeff was very thorough and gave great feedback. I understood what he was trying to communicate, and I appreciated how he highlighted parts of the story that were examples of what he suggested I improve in other areas. He also commented on the things that he liked, which to me was as important as the things that needed work. Jeff is an editor who's both constructive and encouraging at the same ...
Read more
Arthur B.

Arthur B.

Oct, 2023

Was a pleasure to work with!
Jamie O.

Jamie O.

Sep, 2023

Jeff was skillful, helpful, and professional in all stages of the collaboration.
Hans N.

Hans N.

Jul, 2023

Jeff was so helpful in identifying where my story wasn't quite working and needed more development. His feedback was very constructive and he offered helpful suggestions. This is my second project with Jeff and I'd definitely hire him again.
Robert P.

Robert P.

Jun, 2023

This was my second time working with Jeff, and it was another outstanding experience. Jeff is incredibly thoughtful and accommodating. It is clear he not only cares about his work but is also incredibly talented. His edits and notes didn't only rightly point out potential weak points and inconsistencies, but he also provided legitimately helpful, good ideas to consider to resolve the issues. Co...
Read more

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Jeff and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Jeff

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Wes Miller

Wes M.

Mystery/thriller/horror enthusiast and accomplished Executive Editor with 15 years' experience in the book industry. Keep me turning pages!

New York, NY, USA

97% reply rate

View profile
Anja Schmidt

Anja S.

25 years' experience editing nonfiction—including food/drink, memoirs, history, wellness—and fiction. Efficient, timely, and professional.

Long Beach, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Rachel Solomon

Rachel S.

Experienced editor with an eye for details. Specialties include romance, YA, MG. Multi-pubbed author at Simon & Schuster and Penguin.

Seattle, WA, USA

100% reply rate

View profile