Jeff Hart

Jeff Hart - Editor

Brooklyn, NY, USA

Author of EAT BRAINS LOVE and UNDEAD WITH BENEFITS (Harper Teen). Freelance editor and consultant.

Request a quote

Overview

I'm the author of the YA zom-rom-coms EAT BRAINS LOVE (now a movie!) and UNDEAD WITH BENEFITS, both published by Harper Teen. As a ghostwriter, I've written several other young adult novels, many of which have appeared on the NYT Best Sellers list. As an editor and consultant, I've helped craft numerous book proposals that were sold on spec to major publishing houses and shaped many first drafts into publishable manuscripts.

As an author and an editor, I've experienced all sides of the publishing process. From coffee-soaked mornings when it seems like that first draft will never get finished to those late nights feeling like a pincushion while poring over an editor's brutal notes -- I've been there. Beyond a keen eye for the market and an incisive red pen for what works on the page, I've found that what's often most valuable for a writer is a confidant. It's important to have an editor that's been through the process, who you feel comfortable bouncing ideas off, and who will share in both your blunders and successes.

Wherever you are with your manuscript, I can sherpa you to the next level. I'm available for query critiques, assessment reads, and more in-depth edits. Looking for someone to take a pass at your first draft? Need help sculpting an idea into an outline? Want someone to punch-up your dialogue? I'm ready to assist on projects big and small.

The most fulfilling moments of my career have been when the inherently lonesome writing process gave way to a feeling of community. It takes a team to bring a book into the world and I want to be part of yours!

A NOTE ON REQUESTS: When sending me a request, please attach the first 2,500 words of your manuscript. It's easiest for me to assess where your project is at by starting from the beginning. (These pages also tend to be the most polished!)
Languages
English (US)
Fiction
Action & Adventure
Fantasy
Literary Fiction
Middle Grade
Science Fiction
Thriller & Suspense
Young Adult

Certifications

  • University at Buffalo B.A. in English

Awards

  • NYC Midnight Screenwriting Championship runner-up
  • Two-time semi-finalist in The L Magazine’s Literary Upstart
  • Eat, Brains, Love shortlisted for YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers

Work experience

Author/Editor/Consultant

Self-employed
August, 2011 – Present (over 11 years)

Published two books of my own: EAT BRAINS LOVE and UNDEAD WITH BENEFITS.

Creative consultant on a NYT best-selling YA series; edited or ‘punched-up’ in progress manuscripts prior to publication; authored book proposals that sold to major publishing houses; collaborated with editors on creative direction for various IPs and brands.

Portfolio (16 selected works)

Eat, Brains, Love

Jeff Hart

A laugh-out-loud funny, surprisingly romantic, zombie road trip novel filled with heart—and brains. Eat, Brains, Love is perfect for fans of Isaac Marion's Warm Bodies.The good news: Jake's dream girl, Amanda Blake, finally knows his name.The bad news: it's because they both contracted a mysterious zombie virus and devoured the brains of half their senior class. Now Jake and Amanda are on the ... read more

A laugh-out-loud funny, surprisingly romantic, zombie road trip novel filled with heart—and brains. Eat, Brains, Love is perfect for fans of Isaac Marion's Warm Bodies.The good news: Jake's dream girl, Amanda Blake, finally knows his name.The bad news: it's because they both contracted a mysterious zombie virus and devoured the brains of half their senior class. Now Jake and Amanda are on the ... read more

Undead with Benefits (Eat, Brains, Love Book 2)

Jeff Hart

With its heartwarming blend of guts, romance, and humor, this road trip–ready sequel to Eat, Brains, Love is The Walking Dead meets John Hughes.Jake and Amanda are in love, on the run—and undead. They've picked up a new psychic friend, ex-government-zombie-hunter Cass, and are making a break for Iowa, where a cure for the rapidly spreading zombie virus is rumored to be waiting. But in order to... read more

With its heartwarming blend of guts, romance, and humor, this road trip–ready sequel to Eat, Brains, Love is The Walking Dead meets John Hughes.Jake and Amanda are in love, on the run—and undead. They've picked up a new psychic friend, ex-government-zombie-hunter Cass, and are making a break for Iowa, where a cure for the rapidly spreading zombie virus is rumored to be waiting. But in order to... read more

Ashfall Legacy

Lore, Pittacus

Dorothy Must Die

Paige, Danielle

Endgame: Sky Key (Endgame Series Book 2)

Frey, James, Johnson-Shelton, Nils

Endgame: The Calling (Endgame Series Book 1)

Frey, James, Johnson-Shelton, Nils

Jeff has 9 reviews

Professionalism
Professionalism
Quality
Quality
Value
Value
Communication & Punctuality
Communication & Punctuality

Robert Pantano
Jeff was a pleasure to work with all around. He was clear, communicative, and the quality of his work showcased a genuine interest and ability to help with the project. His feedback and notes were extremely thoughtful and valuable to the project. He was personable and easy to work as well, which made the entire process both valuable and pleasant.

Robert Pantano, November 2022


David Hundsness
Jeff did a line edit for me, going beyond proofreading and copy editing, plus he raised some good plot questions. He was very thorough and he gave me a helpful perspective on some style issues.

David Hundsness, November 2022


Cody Wagner
Jeff was really amazing to work with. He went above and beyond, answering so many questions that were technically outside the scope of work. He is really knowledgeable about the industry and has so many insights about writing, agents, publishing, and everything in between. Highly recommended.

Cody Wagner, September 2022


Andrew Abel
My second round with Jeff was fantastic. In addition to his careful edits, his thoughtful comments included excellent suggestions that added color and power to the project. His recommendations in regard to character were especially strong: He pointed out areas that would be better expressed through dialogue, he had excellent suggestions regarding the introduction of characters, and he suggested...
Read more

Andrew Abel, July 2022


Andrew Abel
My experience working with Jeff has been fantastic. His comments have pushed me in new directions, and my draft is much better as a result. Terrific guy. Down to earth yet professional.

Andrew Abel, July 2022

Read more reviews

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Isabella Betita

Formerly with S&S. Passionate about stories. Experience with YA and Adult science fiction/fantasy, literary, and speculative fiction.

New York, NY, USA

Lucy Vilankulu

Experienced copy editor and proofreader with publishing, agency and direct-author experience.

Minneapolis, MN, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy