Emily Daluga

Emily Daluga – Editor

I'm a kid's book editor with six years of experience who specializes in middle-grade and YA fiction and loves all things spooky and strange!

Overview

Hi, I'm Emily (she/her)! I’m an editor with six years of industry experience who’s passionate about helping authors to make their stories shine. Most recently, I worked at Abrams Books as an associate editor and focused mostly on middle-grade and YA fiction. I adore both quiet, contemporary stories as well as genre stories with an interesting twist—especially ones that feature a diverse case of queer characters, monsters of all kinds, or tug-at-your-heartstrings emotions. Some of my favorite books (that I didn’t edit) include Hell Followed with Us, Emergency Contact, Ella Enchanted, The Magic Fish, and Jane Eyre.


I believe in the power of stories, and one of my favorite things about getting to edit books is to help authors realize their vision. I love getting into the weeds and working to fine-tune character arcs and make sure that your stories themes are as strong as they can be. And throughout everything, I love getting to be an author’s cheerleader and making sure that you feel supported throughout the entire editorial process!

Services
Fiction
Coming of Age Horror LGBTQ Fiction Middle Grade Young Adult
Languages
English (US)

Work experience

Magic Cat Publishing

Oct, 2023 — Present

NBC Universal

Oct, 2023 — Present

Abrams Books

Jul, 2023 — Present

Abrams Books

Mar, 2021 — Jun, 2023 (over 2 years)

The Manuscript Academy

Feb, 2020 — Present

Abrams Books

Feb, 2019 — Mar, 2021 (about 2 years)

Abrams Books

Oct, 2017 — Feb, 2019 (over 1 year)

Portfolio

A sweet and swoony YA rom-com about two friends making a pact to find summer romance like they’ve seen in the movies—and finding love where they least expect it along the way! Hayley always has a crush. The problem is, her crushes never like her back. After he... read more
The heir to an arcane bloodline must outwit their ambitious rival to stop a ruthless magical adversary in a YA fantasy debut perfect for fans of A Lesson in Vengeance and Hell Followed With Us Rat Evans, nonbinary heir to one of the oldest magical bloodlines i... read more
Brian and Ezra’s story continues in the moving sequel to Thanks a Lot, Universe, which New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone called “a glorious ode to the beauty of preteen friendship” Brian knows that anxiety and depression aren’t things that are magica... read more
Now in paperback, a moving contemporary middle-grade novel for anyone who’s ever felt like they don’t belong Brian has always been anxious, whether at home, or in class, or on the basketball court. His dad tries to get him to stand up for himself and his mom h... read more
An equal parts heart-pounding and heartfelt middle-grade mystery about facing––and accepting––your fears, perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Parker InheritanceBones Malone feels like he can’t do anything right in his new small town: He almost punched ... read more
A hilarious and irreverent coming-of-age YA novel in which three teens facing uncertain futures embark on a madcap adventure that challenges each of their identities Hattie Larken doesn’t know if she’s ever really been real in her life. A compulsive liar with ... read more
Beguiled

Cyla Panin

A dark and enthralling story about a young woman who makes a deal with a spirit to try and gain her independence—and the twisted price she has to pay for itElla is a 17-year-old weaver whose entire livelihood depends on her loom. She dreams of opening her own ... read more
A gothic YA fantasy debut about a young woman striving to break her sister's curse and stop the killing in her small French town—now in paperbackSeventeen-year-old Marie mixes perfumes to sell on market day in her small 18th-century French town. She wants to m... read more
The gripping sequel to Winter, White and Wicked that boasts the thrills of Mad Max: Fury Road and the icy magic of Frozen Sylvi Quine, the best rig driver on Layce, has braved the dangers of the Shiv Road to save her friend and learned the truth of her power o... read more
Winter, White and Wicked

Shannon Dittemore

Mad Max: Fury Road meets Frozen in this striking YA fantasy about a rig driver’s journey to save her friend Twice-orphaned Sylvi has chipped out a niche for herself on Layce, an island cursed by eternal winter. Alone in her truck, she takes comfort in two thin... read more
The third book in the spine-chilling Fright Watch series follows the local monster mask maker—and a mask that comes to life on Halloween nightHaving suffered from anxiety attacks since she was eight years old, creating monsters has become a sort of therapy for... read more
The Ladies in White want you to join their family—forever. . . After defeating the Oldies, Quinn and Mike thought that things would settle down on Goodie Lane. But then new neighbors move in. Maybe it’s because they all work at the interior design firm, but Ab... read more
The Stitchers

Lorien Lawrence

A teenager picks up where her late father left off investigating her peculiar elderly neighbors in this spooky series opener.Something strange is happening on Goodie Lane . . . Thirteen-year-old Quinn Parker knows that there’s something off about her neighbors... read more

Emily has 1 review

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Sharon C.

Sharon C.

Feb, 2024

Emily was so wonderful to work with! Her editorial letter was kind, thoughtful, encouraging, and extremely detailed. I could tell she really put a great deal of time and effort into my story. She discussed in great lengths my characters and my plot and gave me a lot of EXTREMELY helpful suggestions for revising. I highly recommend her services for anyone who is looking for AMAZING professional ...
Read more
Emily D.
Thank you so much, Sharon!! I really appreciate the lovely review! :)

Professionals similar to Emily

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Simran Sandhu

Simran S.

A creative and collaborative editor with 5 years experience in Children's and YA publishing.

London, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Margaret Milan Wright

Margaret M.

Developmental Editor specializing in Y/A and middle grade, formerly at Penguin and Simon and Schuster

Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Madison Moore

Madison M.

Honest, constructive, and compassionate feedback from a full-time editor and published author. I edit kid lit, from picture books to YA.

Chicago, IL, USA

100% reply rate

View profile