Dayne Sislen

Dayne Sislen – Designer

20+ years illustrating and designing picture books and early chapter books. Cute kids and fun animals are my favorite things to illustrate.

Overview

For over 20 years, I have worked as an award-winning designer and art director in advertising and marketing. The last 15 years I have specialized in children's picture books and early chapter book design and illustration. Using my strong background in design and illustration, I am able to completely design, illustrate, layout and prepare your picture book manuscript digital files for publication. I can work closely with your printer of choice to make sure you have the best printed or digital book possible.

I live and breathe picture books. I love to work with authors and publishers to brings their manuscripts to life on the page with my illustrations. Designing perfect characters is my favorite part of the process. I strive to make each illustrated book unique and perfect for the story and vision of the author. I also design each page as I am working so you see each finished spread with art and text in place as we progress. I hope we can work together to turn your manuscript into an exciting professional picture book or early chapter book.

It's easy to work with anyone anywhere in the world with an Internet connection. After carefully reading your book and discussing your vision with you, I will send you sketches of the main characters and page by page storyboards for you to approve. You will be involved in each step of the process.

See what others say about my work:

"Dayne had a vision for "Shark Dentists and Other Stories" from the start. She created winning characters to accompany the story and provided excellent guidance on the layout. I am glad I found Dayne, and can't imagine how this book would have come together without her." -Stephanie Krell, Intelligent Design Press, LLC

"Dayne created beautiful, heartwarming illustrations with expressive attention to every detail for my children's book, "Gigi and Grandma Remember". It was a pleasure working with such a talented, insightful and professional illustrator." -Maggie Konopa, Children's Book Author, Petite Owl Press

"I jump at the chance to work with Dayne, it's amazing to watch an idea come to life under her pencil. Her talent is boundless, and she is a lot of fun." -Liz Sullivan, Art Director
Services
Non-Fiction
Children’s Non-Fiction
Fiction
Holiday Humor & Comedy Picture Books
Languages
English
Awards
  • Art Director’s awards, Years 1994, 1999, 2020, 2022

Work experience

Self-employed

Mar, 1991 — Present

For over 30 years, I have worked as an award-winning designer and art director in advertising and marketing. The last 12 years I have specialized in picture books and early chapter book design and illustration. Using my strong background in design and illustration, I am able to completely design, illustrate, do book layout and production to prepare your picture book manuscript digital files for publication. I can work closely with your printer of choice to make sure you have the best printed or digital book possible.

It's easy to work with anyone anywhere in the world with an Internet connection. After carefully reading your book and discussing your vision with you, I will send you sketches of the main characters and page by page storyboards for you to approve. You will be involved in each step of the process.

Portfolio

A Unique Christmas Mystery for Kids!Bet you don't think there's anything mysterious about a snowman!! But hold onto your hat. Snowmen are just the beginning of a mystery adventure for six-year-old Belinda, and for your kids too!! Every day in Advent, Belinda d... read more
A rhyming picture book for 2-8 year olds, their parents and grandparents. At the dinner table, a clever boy uses his imagination to avoid eating his peas. With a stuffed mouse on his head, he tries to convince Grandma that the mouse is hungry and needs to be f... read more
Teen Roach

La Tisha Honor

Who would have thought the savior of all animal species would be . . . a cockroach?It's the year 2050, and roaches have evolved into an anthropomorphic species. They have arms and legs. They can think rationally, raise families, and run businesses. In Teen Roa... read more
Gigi notices Grandma sometimes forgets, but she learns to help by giving Grandma clues to trigger her memory. Their bond is strong and they can still spend a silly and fun filled day together, despite a few bumps in the road. Grandma can't remember, but it isn... read more
An endearing children's book in the tradition of Ken Ham, Shark Dentists and Other Stories uses playful characters from the natural world to illustrate the careful planning of a loving Creator.From a busy termite to a friendly monkey, children will learn about... read more

Dayne has 1 review

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Barbara E.

Barbara E.

Aug, 2019

I cannot wait to finish my next book and hope that I will be lucky enough to have the help of Dayne Sislen again. My book is not a "typical" picture book - not a board book or picture book. Nor is it the usual chapter book. It is, literally, a storybook, and Dayne carefully read the story and meticulously transformed it into the little girl I had hoped to see. Many illustrators could give "Beli...
Read more
Dayne S.
Thank you Barbara. You were a joy to work with, you knew what you wanted and you communicated your directions very clearly. Your manuscript is very well written. It gave me lots of clues and a grea...
Read more

Professionals similar to Dayne

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Ffion Evans

Ffion E.

Children's book illustrator specialising in mythical and magical creatures, monsters, insects, animals and nature inspired art.

Norderstedt, Germany

100% reply rate

View profile
Roya Asgari

Roya A.

I'm an illustrator who creates captivating and visually appealing illustrations that captivate audiences and convey messages effectively.

Los Angeles, CA, USA

97% reply rate

View profile
Mark Brenneman

Mark B.

I'm a multi-disciplined artist with a passion for helping other artists and designers reach their full potential.

Eugene, OR, USA

100% reply rate

View profile