Dayne Sislen

Dayne Sislen - Designer Tick

St. Louis, Missouri, USA

10+ years illustrating and designing picture books and early chapter books. Cute kids and fun animals are my favorite things to illustrate.

Request a quote
Reedsy profile URL https://reedsy.com/dayne-sislen
Verified identity Lock

Overview

For over 20 years, I have worked as an award-winning designer and art director in advertising and marketing. The last 11 years I have specialized in children's picture books and early chapter book design and illustration. Using my strong background in design and illustration, I am able to completely design, illustrate, do book layout and production to prepare your picture book manuscript digital files for publication. I can work closely with your printer of choice to make sure you have the best printed or digital book possible.

I live and breathe picture books. I love to work with authors and publishers to brings their manuscripts to life on the page with my illustrations. Designing perfect characters is my favorite part of the process. I strive to make each illustrated book unique and perfect for the story and vision of the author. I also design each page as I am working so you see each finished spread with art and text in place as we progress. I hope we can work together to turn your manuscript into an exciting professional picture book or early chapter book.

It's easy to work with anyone anywhere in the world with an Internet connection. After carefully reading your book and discussing your vision with you, I will send you sketches of the main characters and page by page storyboards for you to approve. You will be involved in each step of the process.

See what others say about my work:

"Dayne had a vision for "Shark Dentists and Other Stories" from the start. She created winning characters to accompany the story and provided excellent guidance on the layout. I am glad I found Dayne, and can't imagine how this book would have come together without her." -Stephanie Krell, Intelligent Design Press, LLC

"Dayne created beautiful, heartwarming illustrations with expressive attention to every detail for my children's book, "Gigi and Grandma Remember". It was a pleasure working with such a talented, insightful and professional illustrator." -Maggie Konopa, Children's Book Author, Petite Owl Press

"I jump at the chance to work with Dayne, it's amazing to watch an idea come to life under her pencil. Her talent is boundless, and she is a lot of fun." -Liz Sullivan, Art Director
Languages
English
Non-Fiction
Art
Calendars
Children's Books (Non-Fiction)
Comics (non fiction)
Fiction
Children's Picture Books
Holiday
Humor & Comedy
Poetry

Work experience

Illustrator/Designer

Self-employed
March, 1991 – Present (about 28 years)

For over 20 years, I have worked as an award-winning designer and art director in advertising and marketing. The last 11 years I have specialized in picture books and early chapter book design and illustration. Using my strong background in design and illustration, I am able to completely design, illustrate, do book layout and production to prepare your picture book manuscript digital files for publication. I can work closely with your printer of choice to make sure you have the best printed or digital book possible.

It's easy to work with anyone anywhere in the world with an Internet connection. After carefully reading your book and discussing your vision with you, I will send you sketches of the main characters and page by page storyboards for you to approve. You will be involved in each step of the process.

Portfolio (6 selected works)

There's a Mouse on My Head!

Donna L Warwick

A rhyming picture book for 2-8 year olds, their parents and grandparents. At the dinner table, a clever boy uses his imagination to avoid eating his peas. With a stuffed mouse on his head, he tries to convince Grandma that the mouse is hungry and needs to be fed not only the peas, but the rest of his dinner as well. The boy's little sister wants to add her own ideas to their pretend story and ... read more

A rhyming picture book for 2-8 year olds, their parents and grandparents. At the dinner table, a clever boy uses his imagination to avoid eating his peas. With a stuffed mouse on his head, he tries to convince Grandma that the mouse is hungry and needs to be fed not only the peas, but the rest of his dinner as well. The boy's little sister wants to add her own ideas to their pretend story and ... read more

Shark Dentists and Other Stories

Vincent Immordino

An endearing children's book in the tradition of Ken Ham, Shark Dentists and Other Stories uses playful characters from the natural world to illustrate the careful planning of a loving Creator.From a busy termite to a friendly monkey, children will learn about the world around them and how it came to be. Most of all, they will read how they are unique among all of God's creation.Includes a stu... read more

An endearing children's book in the tradition of Ken Ham, Shark Dentists and Other Stories uses playful characters from the natural world to illustrate the careful planning of a loving Creator.From a busy termite to a friendly monkey, children will learn about the world around them and how it came to be. Most of all, they will read how they are unique among all of God's creation.Includes a stu... read more

Gigi and Grandma Remember

Maggie Konopa

Gigi notices Grandma sometimes forgets, but she learns to help by giving Grandma clues to trigger her memory. Their bond is strong and they can still spend a silly and fun filled day together, despite a few bumps in the road. Grandma can't remember, but it isn't her fault. That's why Gigi will remember for her. Gigi shows children they can still engage in normal activities with their loved one... read more

Gigi notices Grandma sometimes forgets, but she learns to help by giving Grandma clues to trigger her memory. Their bond is strong and they can still spend a silly and fun filled day together, despite a few bumps in the road. Grandma can't remember, but it isn't her fault. That's why Gigi will remember for her. Gigi shows children they can still engage in normal activities with their loved one... read more

Teen Roach

La Tisha Honor

Who would have thought the savior of all animal species would be . . . a cockroach?It's the year 2050, and roaches have evolved into an anthropomorphic species. They have arms and legs. They can think rationally, raise families, and run businesses. In Teen Roach, Rylee, a teenage anthropomorphic roach lives with her family in Cookieville, a community of roaches lodged in Mr. Applehead’s baseme... read more

Who would have thought the savior of all animal species would be . . . a cockroach?It's the year 2050, and roaches have evolved into an anthropomorphic species. They have arms and legs. They can think rationally, raise families, and run businesses. In Teen Roach, Rylee, a teenage anthropomorphic roach lives with her family in Cookieville, a community of roaches lodged in Mr. Applehead’s baseme... read more

ROUND: The story of a girl who learned to believe in herself

S.R. Taylor

Her name is Olivia Catherine Amanda Mae Brown, but her teasing classmates call her "Round." What Olivia really wants is to be a butterfly and dance in the play, The Backyard Ballet. But some mean girls in her class have bullied her into believing that she's too fat to be floating gracefully in the air. Before she can forget their taunts and truly believe in herself, she'll need to learn valuab... read more

Her name is Olivia Catherine Amanda Mae Brown, but her teasing classmates call her "Round." What Olivia really wants is to be a butterfly and dance in the play, The Backyard Ballet. But some mean girls in her class have bullied her into believing that she's too fat to be floating gracefully in the air. Before she can forget their taunts and truly believe in herself, she'll need to learn valuab... read more

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Thumb 6ec8d0983e8101f56ed56af178804df04664691b

Eva Ruutopõld

Ready to help. Ready to listen. Ready to make it great and keep it on budget and on time.

New Hampshire, USA

Thumb 75a193faba1e4975b7fb4f3d61c9611c8857092b

Nate Fakes

I am a professional cartoonist in L.A.

Los Angeles, CA, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy