Ruoxi Chen

Ruoxi Chen – Editor

Award-winning book editor and publishing consultant specializing in speculative fiction of all stripes: SFF, horror, anything crossover

Overview

I've acquired and edited internationally bestselling and critically acclaimed books that have won or been nominated for the NAACP Image Award, the Lambda Literary Award, the Shirley Jackson Award, the ALA Alex Award, Arthur C. Clarke Award, the World Fantasy Award, the Nebula Award, and the Hugo Award, among others. My editorial work has been honored with a Hugo Award for Best Editor, the top honor for the Publishers Weekly Star Watch program, and numerous nominations.


I specialize in fantasy, science fiction, horror, and speculative fiction for the adult market, and have experience with novels, novellas, and short stories. Authors I've worked with include Tochi Onyebuchi, Freya Marske, Alexandra Rowland, Emily Tesh, Zin E. Rocklyn, Seth Dickinson, Sarah Gailey, and Nghi Vo, amongst others. I've worked with both debut and established authors.


Whether it's unlocking your query letter, diving deep on your prose for line edit, or a big picture conversation on longterm career strategy, come work with me to jumpstart your writing goals.


Services
Fiction
Contemporary Fiction Cultural & Ethnic Fantasy LGBTQ Fiction Magical Realism Romantic Fantasy Science Fiction Women's Fiction
Languages
English (US)
Awards
  • Winner of the 2022 Hugo Award for Best Editor, Longform
  • Winner of the 2022 Publishers Weekly Star Watch Program
  • Finalist for the 2023 Hugo Award for Best Editor, Longform
  • Finalist for the 2024 Hugo Award for Best Editor, Longform
  • Finalist for the 2023 Ember Award for Unsung Contributions to the Genre (FIYAH Magazine's Ignyte Awards)

Work experience

Self-employed

Jun, 2013 — Present

Provides services including publishing strategy, manuscript evaluation, developmental editing, line editing, copyediting, proofreading, content editing, copywriting, and permissions research for agencies, publishers, and individual clients.

Clarion West Writers Workshop

May, 2024 — Present

2024 faculty for the Clarion West Writers Workshop

Macmillan

Oct, 2017 — Apr, 2024 (over 6 years)

Acquisitions, strategy, and editorial work on all things speculative; spearheaded award-winning and bestselling titles featured in national media. Select authors include Tochi Onyebuchi, Freya Marske, Emily Tesh, and Nghi Vo.

Portfolio

A 2023 Pick for Vulture | The Washington Post | Publishers Weekly | Men's Health | IGN | Polygon | Goodreads | Amazon | Nerd Daily | WeAreBookish | Paste | Books, Bones & Buffy | The Escapist ... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Riot Baby

Onyebuchi, Tochi

Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Developmental Editing
In this new standalone novel, Hugo Award-winning author Nghi Vo introduces a beguiling fantasy city in the tradition of Calvino, Mieville, and Le Guin. A demon. An angel. A city. The demon Vit... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
An Instant National Bestseller!An Indie Next Pick!A Most Anticipated in 2021 Pick for Oprah Magazine | USA Today | Buzzfeed | Greatist | BookPage | PopSugar | Bustle | The Nerd Daily | Goodrea... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
"Lyrical, mesmerizing, and otherworldly. . . stunning proof that Nghi Vo is one of the most original writers we have today. A beautiful, brutal, monstrous Hollywood fantasy.”—Taylor Jenkins Re... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Nghi Vo's Hugo Award-winning Singing Hills Cycle returns with a standalone gothic mystery that unfolds in the empire of Ahn."A remarkable accomplishment of storytelling."—NPR on The Empress of... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Instant National Bestseller and International Bestseller!Hugo Award and Arthur C. Clarke Award finalist!A thrillingly told queer space opera about the wreckage of war, the family you find, and... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
An International Bestseller!Winner of the 2022 Romantic Novel Award in Fantasy!Locus Award Finalist!An Indie Next pick and LibraryReads pick—with four starred reviews!A Best of 2021 Pick for N... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Swordcrossed

Freya Marske

High heat. Low stakes. Sharp steel.The cozy, low stakes of Legends & Lattes meets the scorching bodyguard fantasy of Jennifer L. Armentrout's From Blood and Ash in this enemies-to-lovers roman... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Goliath

Tochi Onyebuchi

A New York Times Editors' Choice Pick!A Best Book of the Year for Time | NPR | The Guardian | Gizmodo| Portalist | New York Public LibraryA Most Anticipated Pick for USA Today | Bustle | Buzzf... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
A Taste of Gold and Iron

Alexandra Rowland

Now an Indie Next pick! A Most Anticipated Pick for BookRiot | FanFi Addict | The Nerd Daily | io9 | We Are Bookish | BuzzfeedBook of the Year for Kirkus Reviews, Book of the Year for Gizmodo,... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Magic for Liars

Sarah Gailey

A 2020 LOCUS AWARD FINALIST FOR BEST FIRST NOVELSharp, mainstream fantasy meets compelling thrills of investigative noir in Magic for Liars, a fantasy debut by rising star Sarah Gailey. Ivy Ga... read more
Proofreading
Network Effect

Martha Wells

WINNER of the 2021 Hugo, Nebula and Locus Awards!The first full-length novel in Martha Wells' New York Times and USA Today bestselling Murderbot Diaries series. An Amazon Best of the Year So F... read more
Proofreading
From Astounding Award Winner and Crawford Award Finalist Emily TeshA Buzzfeed Summer 2020 Must-Read A Book Riot Must-Read Fantasy of 2020The conclusion to the World Fantasy Award-winning Green... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Asunder

Kerstin Hall

"There is no doubt in my mind that Kerstin Hall is one of the great imaginative minds writing fantasy today."—Isabel Cañas, USA Today Bestselling author of Vampires of El NorteSabriel meets Wi... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Second Spear

Kerstin Hall

Kerstin Hall's Second Spear is the thrilling follow-up to the Nommo Award finalist, The Border Keeper“A labyrinth of demons, dead gods, cranky psychopomps, and broken all-too-human lives. Hall... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Star Eater

Kerstin Hall

From Nommo Award finalist Kerstin Hall comes “a layered and incisive examination of power.”—Rory Power, New York Times bestselling author of Wilder GirlsAll martyrdoms are difficult.Elfreda Ra... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
A "Best Of" pick in BookBub | Lit Hub | Book Riot | The Mary SueHighly anticipated in Library Journal | Goodreads | io9 | Smart Bitches, Trashy Books | Tor.com | We Are Bookish | The Portalist... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
A Best SFF of 2022 pick by The Washington Post | Book Riot | Quill to LiveThe City Inside, a near-future epic by the internationally celebrated Samit Basu, pulls no punches as it comes for you... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Flowers for the Sea

Zin E. Rocklyn

Winner of the Shirley Jackson AwardWinner of the Pulver AwardAn Ignyte Award FinalistA Library Journal Editor's Pick! A Den of Geeks Best Books of 2021!Flowers for the Sea is a dark, dazzling ... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Exordia

Seth Dickinson

Michael Crichton meets Marvel’s Venom in award-winning author Seth Dickinson’s science fiction debut"Agonizing and mesmerizing, a devastating and extraordinary achievement."—The New York Times... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Running Close to the Wind

Alexandra Rowland

A queer pirate fantasy standalone adventure by Alexandra Rowland, the author of A Taste of Gold and Iron"Come for the irrepressible gremlin of a narrator, stay for the plot-relevant cake compe... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
A Power Unbound

Freya Marske

An Indie Next and LibraryReads "Hall of Fame" Pick!A Power Unbound is the final entry in Freya Marske’s beloved, award-winning Last Binding trilogy, the queer historical fantasy series that be... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
A Restless Truth

Freya Marske

"A breathtaking romp of a plot, prose as sparkling and luxuriant as a diamond sautoir, and at the heart of it all a sense of wondrous possibility."—The New York TimesNow an International Bests... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
The Crawford and Hugo Award-Winning Series Finalist for the Nebula Award for Best Novella; shortlisted for the Lambda Literary Award, the Locus Award, the Ignyte Award; One of Book Riot's Best... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Nghi Vo's Hugo and Crawford Award-winning series, The Singing Hills Cycle, continues...Lambda Award FinalistIgnyte Award FinalistHugo Award Finalist for Best NovellaLocus Award Finalist for Be... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
From Locus and Ignyte finalist, Crawford Award winner, and bestselling author Nghi Vo comes the second installment in a Hugo Award-winning series"A stunning gem of a novella that explores the ... read more
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching
The Border Keeper

Hall, Kerstin

Developmental Editing Editorial Assessment Book Coaching

Professionals similar to Ruoxi

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Lusana Taylor-Khan

Lusana T.

Versatile, experienced UK-based editor. Diverse repertoire but specialise in contemporary romance and non-fiction humanities titles.

Camberley, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Susannah Noel

Susannah N.

Friendly, supportive editor at Macmillan for 25 years. Teacher of editing. Favorite genres are women's fiction, memoir, historical fiction.

Barre, VT, United States

100% reply rate

View profile
James Osborne

James O.

Publisher-in-chief of Broken River Books, and freelance editor of crime, mystery, and horror fiction.

Norman, OK, USA

96% reply rate

View profile