Tanu Srivastava

Tanu Srivastava – Editor

Experienced editor focusing on books for teens and younger children! Previously at HarperCollins, Scholastic, and Penguin Random House.

Overview

I joined HarperCollins Children's Books in 2018, after almost an year of editorial internships at Penguin Random House and Scholastic. In my time at Harper, I was fortunate enough to work on New York Times-bestselling books like Redemption Prep as well as books that have won major awards, such as the Morris-winning If These Wings Could Fly. I've also worked on books that have received praise from The Daily Show, The Today Show, NPR, Barnes & Noble, and more.

Editing books is a joyous and wholly immersive experience for me. I'm honored to be trusted by authors with the words they've written, and I'm committed to elevating each book I work on to its truest form. I'm fiercely proud of all the books I've worked on, so do feel free to ask about them!

Being an editor means being a collaborator, not a dictator, so I don't require all of my edits to be implemented. I'm more interested in offering multiple solutions and asking questions when I notice something that could be refined. At Harper, I'd offer both detailed editorial letters and some in-line comments. We can customize these notes, thoughts, and suggestions to be in the format that works best for you.

I read just about every genre across age groups, but as an editor I specialize in Middle Grade (roughly ages 8-12) and Young Adult (ages 13 and up). Within these ages, I'm happy to read any genre-- contemporary, romance, sci-fi, mystery/thriller, comedy-- and would be thrilled to work on your book! I specialize in developmental edits and query letter feedback. If you're not quite sure what stage your manuscript has reached and which level of editing would be best, please do reach out. I'd be happy to evaluate a sample and go over the strongest options with you.
Services
Fiction
Coming of Age Contemporary Romance LGBTQ Fiction Middle Grade Picture Books Romantic Comedy Science Fiction Young Adult
Languages
English (UK) English (US)

Work experience

HarperCollins

Jun, 2018 — Sep, 2021 (over 3 years)

Self-employed

Jan, 2023 — Present

Penguin Random House, Scholastic

Jun, 2017 — May, 2018 (11 months)

Portfolio

#1 Kids Indie Next List * Parents Magazine Best Book of the Year * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of the Year * SLJ Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * Junior Library Guild Selection * Edgar Award Nominee * Four Starred Reviews... read more
Perfect for fans of Laura Ruby, Laurie Halse Anderson, and Mindy McGinnis, Kyrie McCauley’s stunning YA debut is a powerful story about the haunting specter of domestic violence and the rebellious forces of sisterhood and first love. Winner of the William C. M... read more
NPR's "All Things Considered," calls Queer Ducks "teenager-friendly. It's a young adult book filled with comics and humor and accessible science, and it's filled with research on the diversity of sexual behavior in the animal world."This groundbreaking illustr... read more
Not Here to Be Liked

Michelle Quach

“A smart romance with heart and guts and all the intoxicating feelings in between.” —Maureen Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of 13 Little Blue EnvelopesEmergency Contact meets Moxie in this cheeky and searing novel that unpacks just how complicated ... read more
Bump

Matt Wallace

A moving and triumphant middle grade contemporary debut from award-winning author Matt Wallace about a heroic young girl—who dreams of becoming a pro wrestler—learning to find courage and fight for what she loves. Perfect for fans of Kelly Yang, Meg Medina, an... read more
When Lola Visits

Michelle Sterling

Four starred reviews! In an evocative picture book brimming with the scents, tastes, and traditions that define a young girl’s summer with her grandmother, debut author Michelle Sterling and illustrator Aaron Asis come together to celebrate the gentle bonds of... read more
Boogie Boogie, Y'all

C. G. Esperanza

Author-illustrator C. G. Esperanza delivers a celebratory ode to graffiti and the Boogie Down Bronx through an infectious read-aloud beat and colorful illustrations that leap right off the page! Perfect for fans of Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut and Keith Hari... read more
From debut author Antwan Eady and artist Gracey Zhang comes a glowing tale about the young dreaming big. A perfect story to demonstrate how pride in where we come from can bring a shining confidence.When Nigel looks up at the moon, his future is bright. He ima... read more
Oona

Kelly DiPucchio

This comical and heartfelt picture book is a winning celebration of invention, creativity, and friendship. With gorgeous underwater scenes and a crowd-pleasing tale, this is one little mermaid who is here to make a splash! New York Times bestselling author Kel... read more
In this simmering, joyous novel, I’ll Be the One author Lyla Lee delivers a tender romance set between two brave teens who decide that when the script isn’t working, it’s time to rewrite it themselves. The first rule of watching K-dramas: Never fall in love wi... read more
The Initial Insult

Mindy McGinnis

In the first book of a suspenseful YA duology, award-winning author Mindy McGinnis draws inspiration from Edgar Allan Poe and masterfully delivers a dark, propulsive mystery in alternating points of view that unravels a friendship . . . forevermore. Perfect fo... read more
We Can Be Heroes

Kyrie McCauley

Kyrie McCauley, author of the William C. Morris YA Debut Award winner If These Wings Could Fly, delivers a powerful contemporary YA novel about the lasting bonds of friendship and three girls fighting for each other in the aftermath of a school shooting. Perfe... read more
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel comes to high school in acclaimed author Katie Henry’s coming-of-age YA contemporary about a girl who accidentally falls into the world of stand-up comedy. Perfect for fans of John Green and Becky Albertalli!Sixteen-year-old Izzy is u... read more
Meet Bessie Lee! The Teeny Houdini chapter book series from author Katrina Moore and illustrator Zoe Si begins with a simply magical story. The adventures of Teeny Houdini come in short, easy-to-read chapters full of hilarious illustrations—a favorite series f... read more
Private Label

Kelly Yang

The Devil Wears Prada meets Far from the Tree in #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelly Yang’s powerful love story about two teens searching for their place in the world.Serene dreams of making couture dresses even more stunning than her mom’s, but for now... read more
Parachutes

Kelly Yang

Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern immigrant story from New York Times bestselling author Kelly Yang about two girls navigating wealth, power, friendship, and trauma. They’re called parachutes: teenagers dropped off to live in private homes a... read more
The Samosa Rebellion

Shanthi Sekaran

Critically acclaimed author Shanthi Sekaran makes her middle grade debut with this timely and stunning novel in which a young boy and his friends must rescue his grandmother from a relocation camp after their country’s descent into xenophobia. Perfect for fans... read more
White Smoke

Tiffany D. Jackson

The Haunting of Hill House meets Get Out in this chilling YA psychological thriller and modern take on the classic haunted house story from New York Times bestselling author Tiffany D. Jackson!Marigold is running from ghosts. The phantoms of her old life keep ... read more
Diverse book recommended by The Today Show * A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year * Bank Street Best Book of the Year * YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults * ALA’s Rainbow Book List Top 10 for Teen ReadersThe world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. De... read more
One Jar of Magic

Corey Ann Haydu

From the critically acclaimed author of Eventown comes a hopeful and empowering tale set in an enchanting world of magic and mysterious family secrets—perfect for fans of Anne Ursu, Rebecca Stead, and Wendy Mass.Magic is like a dream. Delightful. Terrifying. U... read more
Redemption Prep

Samuel Miller

A New York Times bestseller! Twin Peaks meets Riverdale in this twisty atmospheric mystery from the critically acclaimed author of A Lite Too Bright, Samuel Miller, about the search for a missing girl at an elite prep school.Everyone knows Emma. Neesha’s her b... read more
They Both Die at the End meets The Loneliest Girl in the Universe in this mind-bending sci-fi mystery and tender love story about two boys aboard a spaceship sent on a rescue mission, from two-time National Book Award finalist Eliot Schrefer. Stonewall Honor A... read more

Tanu has 17 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Renee Y.

Renee Y.

May, 2024

As always, Tanu is a joy to work with! We very much appreciate her thoughtful and thorough work. We look forward to working with her again soon!
Debby G.

Debby G.

Apr, 2024

Working with Tanu was a pleasure. She was available, responsive, and the changes she suggested were spot on. I know my book will be better because of her input.
Yolanda K.

Yolanda K.

Apr, 2024

Tanu was a pleasure to work with. She finished in a timely manner and gave me suggestions. I will definitely use her again.
Sarah M.

Sarah M.

Apr, 2024

Tanu was fantastic to work with! She provided exactly what I needed to polish my story for publication. Highly recommend! I hope to work with Tanu again in the future!
RJ H.

RJ H.

Nov, 2023

This is the second time I work with Tanu and SHE IS A GODSEND! Opinions in publishing vary so widely; often, people provide exactly opposite feedback and it can feel impossible to know who to listen to. But Tanu’s feedback is always SO valuable and spot-on. On both projects we’ve worked on together, she’s understood my goals and been able to push me to a place that’s even better than what I’d t...
Read more

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Tanu and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Tanu

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Kait Feldmann

Kait F.

Hello! I'm an editor of award-winning picture books with a decade of experience romping around Scholastic and HarperCollins.

Los Angeles, CA, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Elinor Cooper

Elinor C.

Passionate and precise editor and former literary agent with nearly two decades' experience of children's books, fiction and non-fiction.

Göteborg, Sweden

100% reply rate

View profile
Sharon Umbaugh

Sharon U.

Literary and contemporary fiction editor previously with Big Five and imprints - Penguin Random House, Plume, Dutton. All genres considered

Hawaii

100% reply rate

View profile