Amy Elizabeth Bishop

Amy Elizabeth Bishop – Editor

Literary agent with a particular passion for all things YA, romance, and historical.

Overview

I'm a literary agent, poet, and freelancer, with a sharp editing eye and a knowledge of the current publishing marketplace.

In my current position, I handle short story and essay submissions, as well as evaluate longer work, which means I'm comfortable working with various forms and lengths, and understand what makes these projects successful.

I can bring the expertise of working in the publishing industry to a manuscript. Not only can I hone work editorially, I can help point projects in a direction that is salable. I've seen projects in all stages -- from that first query letter -- to a ready-for-publication work and understand the process. I've worked with NYT and USA Today Bestselling authors.

Being a writer myself has also let me collaborate more effectively with my clients, in terms of making sure that during the editing process, their style, voice, and the direction they want to take their work in still shines through.

One of the reasons I wanted to enter publishing was to help writers like you find their voice and get their talent out into the world. Let's take the plunge together.
Services
Fiction
Chick Lit Coming of Age Fantasy Historical Fiction Literary Fiction Romance Social & Family Issues Young Adult Fantasy
Languages
English (US)

Work experience

Dystel, Goderich & Bourret

Jul, 2015 — Present

I assist the president, Jane Dystel, with many of her projects in all stages as well as maintain a client list of my own (specializing in romance and historical fiction, though I'm actively reading and acquiring in other genres).

Portfolio

June Hur's elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody YA historical mystery tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.I have a mouth, but I mustn't speak;Ears, but I mustn't hear;Eyes, but I mustn't see.1800, Joseon (Korea). H... read more
A young widow restores a dilapidated mansion with the assistance of a charming, eccentric genius, only to find the house is full of dangerous secrets in this effervescent Gilded Age debut novel It’s 1875, and Alva Webster has perfected her stiff upper lip afte... read more
Fractured Tide

Leslie Lutz

Lost meets Stranger Things in this eerie, immersive YA thriller, thrusting seventeen-year-old Sia into a reality where the waters in front of her and the jungle behind her are as dangerous as the survivors alongside her. Sia practically grew up in the water sc... read more
Daughter of Sparta

Andrews, Claire

An electrifying debut novel for fans of Celeste Ng and Jean Kwok, The Last Story of Mina Lee is a poignant mother-daughter story and surprising mystery that illustrates the devastating realities of being an immigrant in America.Margot Lee’s mother, Mina, isn’t... read more
Rob Paulsen is one of Hollywood’s busiest, most talented, and most passionate performers. If you don’t know him by name, you will know him by the many characters he has brought to life: Pinky from Pinky and the Brain and Yakko from Animaniacs, the tough, but l... read more
Running doesn't have to suck. Ease yourself into a comfortable routine (promise!) with this hilarious and approachable guide to workouts and nutrition from an experienced athlete.We've all side-eyed the chipper runners jogging by in their short-shorts and "Fun... read more
As the year began, the New York Times headlined four stories that symptomized the decay in public morals the editors so frequently decried: financier Jim Fisk was gunned down in a love triangle; suffragist and free love advocate Victoria Woodhull was running f... read more
Dillon

Satoko Silverberg

A seductive older widow from New York's Upper East Side is gifted a most spiteful dog from the local pound. She dubs the scrawny and inelegant creature Dillon—a name fit for a lion. As she falls in love with a debonair and quite well-connected magnate, the dog... read more
Elle has a choice...or so they say. After kidnapping her, what reason would she have to stay in Caetera? She doesn’t know how she got here. She doesn’t know why. Worst of all, she can’t figure out how to return to Earth on her own. Just give it a week...or so ... read more
Honour Your Calling The Professional's Guide for Quitting Your Job and Doing Your Soul WorkI’m done with my career, now what?If you feel done with your career path or trapped by your job, what will you do and how will you do it, are questions on your mind. May... read more
Elle Jones coveted an executive position. Running from her past, Elle developed a strong drive. Her mantra: Executive by thirty! She landed the job and celebrated her long-awaited success. That was…until she left the office late one night. When she stepped fro... read more

Amy has 69 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Madison K.

Madison K.

May, 2021

This is my second time working with Amy and, as always, she has been lovely to work with. Amy is able to think through and pick up on things I may not have realized, and she comes from a place of gentle honesty. With high praise, I recommend her to anyone who wants their story to be told well. She helps get that job done beautifully! I'm looking forward to working with her again in the future.
Margaret H.

Margaret H.

Oct, 2020

It is obvious that Amy Elizabeth Bishop loves what she does. Her enthusiasm for my project was contagious, helping me to turn my rough draft into a polished manuscript. She worked on both macro and microelements, making recommendations on story arch and character development, right down to specific word choice and punctuation. She has mastered the fine art of pointing out places that need work ...
Read more
Pat Mooney S.

Pat Mooney S.

Sep, 2020

Amy did an excellent job identifying weaknesses in my manuscript.
Jason S.

Jason S.

Sep, 2020

Amy was absolutely wonderful to work with. Her editing was spot on, shining a light on many issues that I had as well as bringing attention to new challenges as well as offering ways to fix the plot holes, lack of character depth and pacing, etc. I thought my work was decent before Amy took on the project, and after her efforts, I can actually see a means for my work to become much, much bet...
Read more
Julia M.

Julia M.

Aug, 2020

,

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Amy and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Amy

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Jodi Fodor

Jodi F.

Editor with an MFA and a lot of energy. I love to work in memoir, fiction, and humor. My forte: lean prose that moves.

Los Angeles, CA, United States

100% reply rate

View profile
Nell McPherson

Nell M.

From bestselling business titles to novels and short story collections, I've helped authors polish their prose for over a decade.

Jacksonville, FL, United States

99% reply rate

View profile
Harriet Low

Harriet L.

I'm a children's and young adult editor with nearly ten years of publishing industry experience, working across age range and genre.

Bristol, RI, USA

100% reply rate

View profile