Alison Imbriaco

Alison Imbriaco – Editor

After 20 years of copyediting, I'm still excited about working with fiction authors, hearing your voice, providing meticulous support.

Overview

As a freelance copy editor and proofreader who has worked on more than 200 fiction and nonfiction books, I've developed great respect for authors who can imagine a story and shape it into paragraphs and pages, who can develop characters and give them conversations.

Let me show you what I do and how I work. When you request an offer from me, I'll use your attached sample to give you a sample of what I do. You'll see the kind of corrections I make and suggestions I offer, and you'll see how I use the Comment feature to explain the thinking behind suggested changes or corrections. You'll also see that because I work entirely in Word's Track Changes, you maintain complete control of your manuscript.

I love the challenge of working on fiction. With so many pieces, from point of view to timeline and from dialogue to action, making sure the details fit together is like doing a jigsaw puzzle. I'll check that time is allowed for the action, whether it's hours or months. And I'll help you give the reader a "moving" picture of what's happening, ensuring, for example, that you don't have a character leaning against the door and then suddenly getting up from a chair.

Fact-checking is a copy editor's primary responsibility. In fiction, it might be the name of a song a character remembers or the name of a town she visits. Historical fiction adds another layer of fact-checking because one anachronism can break the connection you've made with your reader. Did you know that a character from the twelfth century would not have had a pocket? I’ve become adept at recognizing what needs to be checked, from the types of carriages used in the nineteenth century to the type of currency used in the twelfth century, and then using the internet to find the facts.

After so many years working with publishers including WaterBrook Multnomah (a division of Penguin Random House), Kregel Publications, and Abingdon Press, as well as self-publishing authors like you, catching spelling and grammatical errors is almost automatic. Still, I'll go through your work meticulously, again and again--frequently checking Merriam-Webster online and the latest Chicago Manual of Style--to be sure I've done the best I can.

Coworkers have told me I'm a real wordsmith, and I'll bring that skill to your manuscript. I might suggest a slight rearrangement of words that will make a sentence clearer and easier to read. Perhaps a good word should be replaced with a great word in a key sentence. Or perhaps a good word is used a bit too often and becomes a dull one. Or maybe it's a sentence structure that's repeated too often. I'll suggest subtle changes to help you make your sentences vibrant and effective.

Let me have your back. I'm looking forward to working with you on your book.
Services
Fiction
Action & Adventure Chick Lit Christian Fiction Coming of Age Contemporary Fiction Historical Fiction Historical Romance Young Adult
Languages
English (US)

Work experience

Self-employed

Apr, 2001 — Present

20 years of copyediting and proofreading experience includes
fact checking proper nouns, trademark names, websites, endnotes, and more; editing to ensure consistency, flow, clarity, and general integrity while correcting grammatical errors; creating style sheets; editing fiction for consistency of internal references, including point of view and time line.

Clients include WaterBrook Multnomah (a division of Penguin Random House), Kregel Publications, Abingdon Press, and NavPress (past), as well as individuals.

Enslow Publishers

Jun, 2003 — Nov, 2008 (over 5 years)

Enslow Publishers is a publisher of educational fiction and nonfiction books for children and young adults. As a freelance writer I wrote books for middle-school age children. Most were for a series on endangered species.

Group Publishing

Jan, 2003 — Jan, 2011 (about 8 years)

Editing ministry resources including curriculum for children and adults and books for pastors

Group Publishing

Oct, 1998 — Jan, 2003 (over 4 years)

Copyediting ministry resources including curriculum for children and adults.

Portfolio

The Old Testament book of Daniel comes to life in this novel for fans of Lynn Austin's Chronicles of the Kings series or Francine Rivers' Mark of the Lion series. Finalist for the Christy Award Survival. A Hebrew girl first tasted it when she escaped death nea... read more
Angel Falls

Casey, Kathryn

Severed Roots

Huzcotoq, Nego

Songs of Spring

Wark, Naomi

The Printed

Fitzgerald, Cameron

Toyful Love

Castelnero, Gordon

Shephard Farm

Wade, Anthony

The drama of the Old Testament comes to life as Judah's most notorious king ascends to the throne in this gripping novel from the award-winning author of Isaiah's Daughter. At eight years old, Shulle has known only life in a small village with her loving but p... read more
Vibrant historic Yellowstone National Park comes to life in this romantic mystery about a man hiding the truth, braving the west to become something more--and the woman who must confront his deception.A man who can't read will never amount to anything--or so N... read more
Heirloom recipes, family secrets…and a chance for love The youngest heir to a French-Italian restaurant dynasty, food writer Juliette D’Alisa has spent her life negotiating her skill with words and her restaurant aspirations. When her brother Nico offers her a... read more
An Old Order Mennonite couple's vows and beliefs are challenged in this stirring contemporary novel for fans of Cindy Woodsmall or Shelley Shepherd Gray.Anthony and Marty Hirschler are part of an Old Order Mennonite community in Pine Hill, Indiana. The couple ... read more
Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district--and in their lives.When an impoverished sc... read more
“Know your own happiness. You want nothing but patience - or give it a more fascinating name, call it hope.” ― Jane Austen, Sense and SensibilityJust a few years after their father’s business scandal shatters their lives, Jane and Celia Woodward find themselve... read more
An ideal sanctuary and a dream come true–that’s what Margaret Lane feels as she takes in God’s gorgeous handiwork in Mount Rainier National Park. It’s 1927 and the National Park Service is in its youth when Margie, an avid naturalist, lands a coveted position ... read more
Stunning Yosemite National Park sets the stage for this late 1920s historical romance with mystery, adventure, heart, and a sense of the place John Muir described as "pervaded with divine light."Watercolorist Olivia Rutherford has shed her humble beginnings to... read more

Alison has 46 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Melissa A.

Melissa A.

Jul, 2024

Pinned
Truly I can't rave enough about Alison. She is 10 stars in a 5-star world. She is AMAZING by every standard. She responded quickly to my initial request and stayed in close communication throughout the project. Her edits were STELLAR, and she explained clearly why she made certain choices. And her prices were reasonable too! I will definitely contract with her next time I need an editor.
Joy B.

Joy B.

Dec, 2023

Pinned
Alison did a spectacularly meticulous job of line editing my long, complex, and comma-challenged manuscript. Her changes- sometimes accompanied with extensive feedback - improved my book and helped me as a writer. I very much appreciated her professionalism, patience, and timeliness. She responded quickly and thoroughly to all of my questions. This was my first time working with an editor ...
Read more
Koren F.

Koren F.

Jul, 2023

Pinned
As a debut author, I was nervous about the editing phase. Alison helped me through the process and clearly communicated what I needed to do, and what to expect as an outcome of our collaboration. Her suggestions to improve my prose were spot-on, and they matched my tone and how I write. She met our agreed upon deadline, and when I had an unexpected family issue delay me, Alison was happy to acc...
Read more
Kaila H.

Kaila H.

Jul, 2024

It took me quite a while to go through the edits, so the first word that pops into my mind is THOROUGH. I was also really grateful for the timeline she created. It was very useful to see the entire story mapped out and I was able to adjust one section of the story to give the action more breathing space.
Bobucci B.

Bobucci B.

Jun, 2024

The details Alison was able to flesh out really added some sparkle and pushed my story to the next level. I was hoping I could work with Alison. Her expertise was exactly what this story needed. Thank you so much!

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Alison and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Alison

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Gary Sunshine

Gary S.

Nurturing editor with 15+ years of experience at Kensington, S&S, and Hal Leonard. Loves middle grade, YA, mystery, and TV/film.

Beacon, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Jim Thomas

Jim T.

Crafting a work of fiction is a gloriously arduous process. With over twenty years of experience at one of the big NYC houses, I can help.

Perry Hall, MD, United States

100% reply rate

View profile
Brooke Goode

Brooke G.

I'm a career editor with a love of the perfectly crafted sentence, specializing in travel, memoir, literary fiction, and women's lit.

New Jersey, United States

100% reply rate

View profile