Tania Strauss

Tania Strauss - Editor

Brooklyn, NY, United States

As both a writer and an editor, I give authors advice they can actually use, and approach writing assignments with an eye for detail.

Request a quote
Verified identity Lock

Overview

I'm a writer and editor living in Brooklyn, NY. I studied creative writing at the University of Michigan and have held full-time positions in book publishing, film, and nonprofits.

As a freelance editor of books and screenplays, companies I've worked with include United Talent Agency, Elyse Cheney Literary Associates, and NY Book Editors. I also read, analyze, and evaluate books for film adaptation. My own work has appeared in several notable publications, and I offer a variety of professional writing services, including ghostwriting.

Languages
English (US)
Fiction
Adventure
Crime & Mystery
Historical Fiction
Literature
Plays & Screenplays
Science Fiction
Women's Fiction

Work experience

Writer & Editor

Self-employed
March, 2012 – Present (over 6 years)

As a freelance editor of books and screenplays, companies I've worked with include United Talent Agency, Elyse Cheney Literary Associates, and NY Book Editors, where I currently serve as Project Manager. I also read, analyze, and evaluate books for film adaptation.

I also professional experience as a freelance journalist, blogger, corporate copywriter, and grantwriter. My writing has appeared in T: The New York Times Style Magazine, Bustle, Gather Journal, Allure, and other publications. I also work on personal projects and offer a variety of professional writing services, including ghostwriting.

Story Analyst

United Talent Agency
April, 2011 – January, 2012 (9 months)

Completed full written coverage on screenplays of every genre, including detailed development analysis of story, character, technique, and commercial/audience potential. Also provided similar coverage on published and unpublished book manuscripts and evaluated these works for film adaptation.

Associate

Elyse Cheney Literary Associates
January, 2011 – March, 2012 (about 1 year)

Did in-depth editorial work on fiction manuscripts and nonfiction book proposals in preparation for submission to publishers; held one-on-one editorial meetings with current and prospective agency clients; composed editorial letters; managed the process of submitting client projects to publishers for sale; evaluated queries, proposals, and manuscripts for representation; assorted administrative tasks.

Portfolio (2 selected works)

The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P.: A Novel

Adelle Waldman

The national bestseller, named a best book of the year by The New Yorker, NPR, Slate, The Economist, The New Republic, Bookforum, Baltimore City Paper, The Daily Beast, National Journal, San Francisco Chronicle, Chicago Reader, Cosmopolitan, Elle, Buzzfeed and many others. A New York Times Editors' Choice and a Washington Post Notable book."Adelle Waldman's debut novel, The Love Affairs of Nat... read more

The national bestseller, named a best book of the year by The New Yorker, NPR, Slate, The Economist, The New Republic, Bookforum, Baltimore City Paper, The Daily Beast, National Journal, San Francisco Chronicle, Chicago Reader, Cosmopolitan, Elle, Buzzfeed and many others. A New York Times Editors' Choice and a Washington Post Notable book."Adelle Waldman's debut novel, The Love Affairs of Nat... read more

Among the Ten Thousand Things: A Novel

Julia Pierpont

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • Features an exclusive conversation between Julia Pierpont and Lena DunhamFor fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable cha... read more

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • Features an exclusive conversation between Julia Pierpont and Lena DunhamFor fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable cha... read more

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

314a86de7ff03e1816779b68190da0e0eeb2912f

Alice Sutherland-Hawes

I'm a Children's & YA and Rights agent giving me a unique insight into the US, UK and foreign markets.

London, UK

F073abc9c9d68cf7216115cbcf69f715ee23945d

Kimberly Daly

Senior editor specializing in non-fiction, previously of Workman Publishing

New York, NY, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy