Sarah Baldwin

Sarah Baldwin - Designer

London, UK

Senior Designer creating recognisable Bestsellers in Childrens, Teen and YA Fiction for UK Publishers incl, Hachette UK, Bloomsbury.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

I'm a senior book cover designer with over 7 years experience working in-house at London's most well known publishers; incl. Hachette UK, Bloomsbury. I've worked on best sellers, book club picks and award winners.

Most of my portfolio features Children, Teen and YA Fiction, but I can comfortably work within Poetry, Non-Fiction, and Adult readers.

I love creating concept-led cover art that's deceptively simple. I want to bring the instant impact that piques your interest in a book. As you read and the story reveals itself I like the cover to take on even deeper meaning.

I'm well known for my creative lettering. Check out my website for ways I've used lettering to translate to football kicks, golf strokes and famous lines from detective dramas. I always have my iPad and iPencil with me when watching TV!

My favourite thing is having the title and artwork interact with each other. For one example, my MOXIE cover, I wanted the letters in the title to be knocked off course by the power of the fist! They're the covers that are memorable and achieve the most impact.

Services
Languages
English
Fiction
Children's
Contemporary Fiction
Fantasy
Literary Fiction
Romance
Women's Fiction
Young Adult
Non-Fiction
Self-Help & Self-Improvement

Certifications

  • BA(Hons) Design–Visual Communications from Dublin Institute of Technology

Work experience

Senior Designer

Bloomsbury Publishing
November, 2018 – March, 2022 (over 3 years)

Working in-house in Children's Fiction Department

Designer

Hachette Children's Group
December, 2015 – October, 2018 (almost 3 years)

In-house Designer on Teen/YA Fiction titles

Designer

Grub Street Publishing
December, 2014 – December, 2015 (about 1 year)

Designing book covers for Cookery and History titles.

Portfolio (4 selected works)

Havenfall

Sara Holland

"Vibrant." – Emily A. Duncan, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Saints "An enchanting and thrilling contemporary fantasy." – Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely A safe haven between four realms. The girl sworn to protect it--at any cost. New York Times bestselling author Sara Holland crafts a breathtaking new contemporary fantasy perfect f... read more

"Vibrant." – Emily A. Duncan, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Saints "An enchanting and thrilling contemporary fantasy." – Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely A safe haven between four realms. The girl sworn to protect it--at any cost. New York Times bestselling author Sara Holland crafts a breathtaking new contemporary fantasy perfect f... read more

The Wild Way Home

Sophie Kirtley

'So good I read it twice' - Hilary McKay, author of The Skylarks' War'This thrilling time-slip adventure oozes magic and heart' - Bookseller EDITOR'S CHOICEWhen Charlie's longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie's world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the hospital and makes for the ancient forest on the edge of town. There Charlie finds a boy fl... read more

'So good I read it twice' - Hilary McKay, author of The Skylarks' War'This thrilling time-slip adventure oozes magic and heart' - Bookseller EDITOR'S CHOICEWhen Charlie's longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie's world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the hospital and makes for the ancient forest on the edge of town. There Charlie finds a boy fl... read more

The Lightning Catcher

Clare Weze

Alfie has noticed a few things since his family moved to Folding Ford. He really misses life in the city. He and his sister don't exactly fit in here. But the most interesting one is that the weather is BONKERS. One frost-covered branch on one tree in the middle of June? A tiny whirlwind in a bucket in the garden? Only in Folding Ford. Armed with his bike, a notepad and his new best mate Sam, ... read more

Alfie has noticed a few things since his family moved to Folding Ford. He really misses life in the city. He and his sister don't exactly fit in here. But the most interesting one is that the weather is BONKERS. One frost-covered branch on one tree in the middle of June? A tiny whirlwind in a bucket in the garden? Only in Folding Ford. Armed with his bike, a notepad and his new best mate Sam, ... read more

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu

From the author of Moxie, soon to be a major Netflix production The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.How can one family have so many secrets?Every year, summer begins when the Callahans arrive on Mariposa Island. That's when Elena Finney gets to escape her ... read more

From the author of Moxie, soon to be a major Netflix production The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.How can one family have so many secrets?Every year, summer begins when the Callahans arrive on Mariposa Island. That's when Elena Finney gets to escape her ... read more

Sarah has 4 reviews

Professionalism
Professionalism
Quality
Quality
Value
Value
Communication & Punctuality
Communication & Punctuality

Aquala Riley
Sarah did a wonderful job! The cover she designed was gorgeous. Sarah was very professional. I had a delay in publishing she worked with me. I definitely recommend Sarah to design your cover.

Aquala Riley, March 2022


Chris Upton
Sarah was amazing from start to finish, always getting back to me and going the extra mile to help create my book. It looks incredible which is down to her creative prowess and attention to detail! I whole heartedly recommend Sarah to anyone.

Chris Upton, January 2022


Bena Stutchbury
Sarah is a professional to the end and tried hard to help me by giving me a very good deal, as I had a design in mind that we agreed upon. Sadly, days before our collaboration began I saw a book recently published with the same idea. We discussed an alternative, but I should have suggested at the time that we start from the beginning with our negotiations. The result was, that on a tight budget...
Read more

Bena Stutchbury, December 2021


Dane Johns
Sarah was wonderful to work with. She had great, creative ideas for the book layout and the end result was far better than what I originally envisioned. Sarah was a true professional and kept open communication throughout the entire process. I highly recommend working with Sarah Baldwin if you have the opportunity.

Dane Johns, November 2021

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Leslie Harrington

An illustrator with over 14 years as a monthly contributor to Highlights Magazine for Children focusing on educational/book illustration.

Seattle, WA, USA

Charlie Utting

Sci-Fi & Fantasy Illustrator based out of Seattle, WA. Charlie believes in a future where somehow, against all odds, we all make it.

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy